DVDO EDGE !! - Page 242 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 17Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #7231 of 7244 Unread 09-30-2016, 04:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 8,230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 393 Post(s)
Liked: 198
But then it didn't occur to you that connections/cables could be the problem either. Loss of a color is a common problem that goes back to component days.
Gary J is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7232 of 7244 Unread 09-30-2016, 07:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,764
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1611 Post(s)
Liked: 1050
Exactly as I suspected, Deoxit costs much more than a new HDMI cord, so for anyone hoping to see if cleaning might help, don't hold your breath.

[When I get a chance, I might check out if this iffy cord works on other devices in other systems around the house though]
m. zillch is offline  
post #7233 of 7244 Unread 09-30-2016, 07:55 PM
Member
 
newStevea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Delran , New Jersey 08075
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by m. zillch View Post
I agree most solid state, non-mechanical, low current electronics don't suffer much from being left on 24/7, it's the notion that oxidation (electrical contact film) is a function of use or electrical flow that I disagreed with.

HDMI cords are so cheap these days I wonder if buying deoxit is even worth it but your mention of cleaning did prompt me to visually inspect it. Under an unaided eye the pins all look normal but I did notice the outer surface has some sort of "film" on it. I guess in theory the internal pins which can't be inspected as easily do too, not sure.

For demonstration purposes I gave a quick, cursory wipe using merely my finger and the film [related to fumes from the weird sticky exterior issue?...hmm...] easily wiped off. I'm reluctant to now swap this cable back in to see is it is OK since I don't want to ruin a good thing, but here's a photo I took with my iphone 5 showing the white film on right and the shiny gold surface on the casual finger wiped left side one:
Wow, the plating on one of those connectors is so horribly worn that I think I may have laughed for 3 or 4mins. If it's that worn on the outside I'd have to agree that the surfaces on the internal pins probably aren't ideal . The really funny thing is that even the "good" connector shows a lot more wear than any HDMI cable I've ever used.

It's absolutely no surprise that these are "cheap" HDMI cables . The shiny gold connector shows signs of some pitting. You are right about even bothering cleaning these & re-inserting them.

(He,he.he,he............. thanks for the "cheap" entertainment. Your DVDO Edge has it's work cut out for it using these HDMI "cords" as you like to call them (& as such it's a good thing they're cheap)

Last edited by newStevea; 09-30-2016 at 08:01 PM.
newStevea is offline  
post #7234 of 7244 Unread 09-30-2016, 08:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,764
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1611 Post(s)
Liked: 1050
Cheap cords (as zillions of people call them) are definitely the way to go in this instance. Looks like that three dollars I spent on this one (they're even cheaper now) was well worth the decade, or so, of use it gave me, in fact I suspect it still works fine if I wipe clean the second end (no Deoxit necessary).

In A/V reproduction accuracy, there IS no concept of "accounting for personal taste/preference". As art consumers we don't "pick" the level of bass, nor the tint/brightness of a scene's sky, any more than we pick the ending of a novel or Mona Lisa's type of smile. "High fidelity" means "high truthfulness", faithful to the original artist's intent: an unmodified, neutral, accurate copy of the original master, ideally being exact and with no discernable alterations, aka "transparency".

Last edited by m. zillch; 09-30-2016 at 08:20 PM.
m. zillch is offline  
post #7235 of 7244 Unread 11-05-2016, 07:03 AM
Newbie
 
master30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I own a edge for a few years, I wan't to look at 3d content.
What firmware version should I use and where can I download it.

What is the button for video pass through, I want to use my edge as a hdmi switch only

I got the version with the extra hdmi input on the front
master30 is offline  
post #7236 of 7244 Unread 11-05-2016, 10:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,764
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1611 Post(s)
Liked: 1050
Quote:
Originally Posted by master30 View Post
I own a edge for a few years, I wan't to look at 3d content.
What firmware version should I use and where can I download it.

What is the button for video pass through, I want to use my edge as a hdmi switch only

I got the version with the extra hdmi input on the front
My understanding, but I am not 100% sure, is that only the EDGE Green, not the one you have, can pass-through [no processing allowed] 3D content. Sorry.

Other than turning off all processing I don't think there is a direct video pass through either on the non-Green units. Doing this should effectively be just as good, I would think, although theoretically it would be nice to bypass the circuits entirely, yes.

In A/V reproduction accuracy, there IS no concept of "accounting for personal taste/preference". As art consumers we don't "pick" the level of bass, nor the tint/brightness of a scene's sky, any more than we pick the ending of a novel or Mona Lisa's type of smile. "High fidelity" means "high truthfulness", faithful to the original artist's intent: an unmodified, neutral, accurate copy of the original master, ideally being exact and with no discernable alterations, aka "transparency".
m. zillch is offline  
post #7237 of 7244 Unread 11-05-2016, 10:46 AM
Newbie
 
master30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by m. zillch View Post
My understanding, but I am not 100% sure, is that only the EDGE Green, not the one you have, can pass-through [no processing allowed] 3D content. Sorry.

Other than turning off all processing I don't think there is a direct video pass through either on the non-Green units. Doing this should effectively be just as good, I would think, although theoretically it would be nice to bypass the circuits entirely, yes.
It's time to say goodbye to the edge.

I better buy a hdmi switch with edid , so I can still use my old yamaha rxv1800 and enjoy 3D (and 4K) on my new Epson tw9300
master30 is offline  
post #7238 of 7244 Unread 11-05-2016, 10:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,764
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1611 Post(s)
Liked: 1050
Quote:
Originally Posted by master30 View Post
It's time to say goodbye to the edge.

I better buy a hdmi switch with edid , so I can still use my old yamaha rxv1800 and enjoy 3D (and 4K) on my new Epson tw9300
I guess you are already aware your Yamaha, a nice machine otherwise, can't pass 3D because being from 2009 and only HDMI 1.3a it can't pass 3D. You need at least HDMI 1.4

HDMI guide:
http://denon.custhelp.com/app/answer...1.4-and-2.0%3F
m. zillch is offline  
post #7239 of 7244 Unread 11-05-2016, 11:05 AM
Newbie
 
master30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by m. zillch View Post
I guess you are already aware your Yamaha, a nice machine otherwise, can't pass 3D because being from 2009 and only HDMI 1.3a it can't pass 3D. You need at least HDMI 1.4

HDMI guide:
http://denon.custhelp.com/app/answer...1.4-and-2.0%3F
Yes, Thank you.

I want to upgrade the yamaha in the future, a switch is the poor man's solution for now
m. zillch likes this.
master30 is offline  
post #7240 of 7244 Unread 11-07-2016, 12:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,764
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1611 Post(s)
Liked: 1050
Are there discrete IR codes that give direct access to say pan horizontal and vertical controls?
m. zillch is offline  
post #7241 of 7244 Unread 11-28-2016, 10:30 AM
Senior Member
 
dlbsyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Irving, Tx
Posts: 483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by m. zillch View Post
My understanding, but I am not 100% sure, is that only the EDGE Green, not the one you have, can pass-through [no processing allowed] 3D content. Sorry.

Other than turning off all processing I don't think there is a direct video pass through either on the non-Green units. Doing this should effectively be just as good, I would think, although theoretically it would be nice to bypass the circuits entirely, yes.
Quote:
Originally Posted by master30 View Post
It's time to say goodbye to the edge.

I better buy a hdmi switch with edid , so I can still use my old yamaha rxv1800 and enjoy 3D (and 4K) on my new Epson tw9300
I own the original Edge. It will absolutely pass through 3d. There is an option in the settings to enable it. You might need the latest firmware for this option, I'm not sure. After going 4K, I'm not using the unit as much as I used too, mostly to upscale LD and S-VHS sources.
dlbsyst is online now  
post #7242 of 7244 Unread 11-28-2016, 04:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BiggAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,728
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 443 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Mine seems to be on the fritz. It's had issues on several occasions outputting audio, in addition to two HDMI inputs that randomly black out for a few seconds. With the audio, it will lock on with the AVR for a few seconds and then die. I finally gave up tonight and set it to output audio on the video output, and then I routed through the TV to the AVR via optical, which is fine for any of my low-quality/1080p sources like my HTPC, Wii U or TiVo (my UHD BD, Roku Ultra, and Chromecast Ultra are connected directly to the TV, with separate HDMI and optical for the UHD BD and Roku, respectively).

I'm about to give up on the thing next time around and run my 1080p sources through the AVR.
BiggAW is online now  
post #7243 of 7244 Unread Today, 06:50 AM
Newbie
 
1959console's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had an EDGE GREEN for years and love it. I'd like to find a pristine spare. Any recommendations?
1959console is online now  
post #7244 of 7244 Unread Today, 08:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BiggAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,728
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 443 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Update: My issues are probably my AVR, not my EDGE Green. My UHD BD is doing the same thing now. Still not sure if the EDGE Green has a place in my next setup, especially if I finally cut the cord, and don't have any crappy Comcast channels to try and fix up before sending them to my UHDTV.
BiggAW is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Video Processors



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off