DVDO EDGE !! - Page 34 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #991 of 7106 Old 09-16-2008, 09:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Magnus_CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Was the recent introduction of Reon equipped AVR's the primary motivation for DVDO to release a VP at this price point?
Magnus_CA is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #992 of 7106 Old 09-16-2008, 09:31 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,211
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 511 Post(s)
Liked: 666
Is the REON even in the same class?

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
post #993 of 7106 Old 09-16-2008, 09:53 PM
T2k
 
T2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 3,930
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
As a chip, perhaps, depending on implementation.
As Reon-based AVR vs EDGE... not really, IMO, a dedicated scaler, especially sucha feature-filled unit like EDGE for its price is far ahead of any integrated solutions.
T2k is offline  
post #994 of 7106 Old 09-16-2008, 10:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MSmith83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 56
My only experience with a Reon is the one in my Denon DVD-2930CI. Its de-interlacing performance is below my expectations for such a highly touted chip, and my previously owned VP30 had a better handle of 480i de-interlacing for all DVD content. For instance, the Denon has trouble keeping a lock onto cadences and there are several visual aberrances during normal viewing of even simple film content. However, its noise reduction at the lowest setting is very good at removing problematic edge halos with very little detail loss.
MSmith83 is offline  
post #995 of 7106 Old 09-16-2008, 10:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Magnus_CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know a dedicated VP will be far more flexible and have more features, but I wonder if the Edge would even be a sparkle in DVDO's eye if the chips in the integrated AVR's weren't evolving.
Magnus_CA is offline  
post #996 of 7106 Old 09-16-2008, 11:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MSmith83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 56
It's worth noting that elaborate Anchor Bay solutions are also appearing in AVRs (e.g., YAMAHA RX-V3900 and RX-Z7).
MSmith83 is offline  
post #997 of 7106 Old 09-17-2008, 04:29 AM
Senior Member
 
02fx4dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnus_CA View Post

Was the recent introduction of Reon equipped AVR's the primary motivation for DVDO to release a VP at this price point?

I think DVDO realized there was a market for multi input scaling/deinterlacing processors, under the $1k point, and no (decent) products to fill the void.
02fx4dude is offline  
post #998 of 7106 Old 09-17-2008, 06:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
scsiraid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 1,887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnus_CA View Post

Was the recent introduction of Reon equipped AVR's the primary motivation for DVDO to release a VP at this price point?


What AVR's have the Reon other than the Onkyo/Integra? O/I's implementation is very poor and even outputs HD in rec 601 screwing up the color. I have the Reon turned off in my Onkyo 875 and am waiting for my Edge to arrive.
scsiraid is offline  
post #999 of 7106 Old 09-17-2008, 06:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
scsiraid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 1,887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSmith83 View Post

It's worth noting that elaborate Anchor Bay solutions are also appearing in AVRs (e.g., YAMAHA RX-V3900 and RX-Z7).

Yamaha's implementation only addresses SD... HD passes thru as is so your monitor has to deinterlace 1080i.
scsiraid is offline  
post #1000 of 7106 Old 09-17-2008, 07:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
bluechunks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Posts: 932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by 02fx4dude View Post

I think DVDO realized there was a market for multi input scaling/deinterlacing processors, under the $1k point, and no (decent) products to fill the void.

Not to mention their snazzy new ABT2010 processor. If nothing else, the Edge also becomes a great technology demonstrator to OEM's.
bluechunks is offline  
post #1001 of 7106 Old 09-17-2008, 09:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
Jeff_DML's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: San Diego
Posts: 788
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnus_CA View Post

Was the recent introduction of Reon equipped AVR's the primary motivation for DVDO to release a VP at this price point?

I was considering the 875 because of the reon then found out about the EDGE so they got me.
Jeff_DML is offline  
post #1002 of 7106 Old 09-17-2008, 11:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
jmallory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Essexville, MI
Posts: 621
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by 02fx4dude View Post

I think DVDO realized there was a market for multi input scaling/deinterlacing processors, under the $1k point, and no (decent) products to fill the void.

Well, there was always a market for a under 1K processor / hub. It was the ABT2010 that enabled a product to be made for that price.

-- Jim
jmallory is offline  
post #1003 of 7106 Old 09-17-2008, 11:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
scsiraid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 1,887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmallory View Post

Well, there was always a market for a under 1K processor / hub. It was the ABT2010 that enabled a product to be made for that price.

Yes.... And likely 2010 and EDGE will help bootstrap AVR mfgrs currently messing with other chips to step up to DVDO processing and drive chip sales for ABT. Until the 2010, the FPGA based DVDO solution was unaffordable for AVR's.
scsiraid is offline  
post #1004 of 7106 Old 09-17-2008, 01:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MSmith83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by scsiraid View Post

Yamaha's implementation only addresses SD... HD passes thru as is so your monitor has to deinterlace 1080i.

Ah, so Yamaha's implementation isn't so elaborate.

Those AVRs utilize the somewhat advanced feature of PReP, so I assumed it would also do 1080i de-interlacing.
MSmith83 is offline  
post #1005 of 7106 Old 09-17-2008, 02:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DCIFRTHS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scsiraid View Post

What AVR's have the Reon other than the Onkyo/Integra? O/I's implementation is very poor and even outputs HD in rec 601 screwing up the color. I have the Reon turned off in my Onkyo 875 and am waiting for my Edge to arrive.

Ditto.
DCIFRTHS is offline  
post #1006 of 7106 Old 09-17-2008, 03:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fyzziks's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Altadena, CA
Posts: 1,512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scsiraid View Post

Yamaha's implementation only addresses SD... HD passes thru as is so your monitor has to deinterlace 1080i.

The manual for the 3900 indicates otherwise - it clearly states on p. 94 that you can upscale HDMI->HDMI signals, as well as adjust aspect ratio and turn on/off PReP.
fyzziks is offline  
post #1007 of 7106 Old 09-17-2008, 05:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scsiraid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 1,887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fyzziks View Post

The manual for the 3900 indicates otherwise - it clearly states on p. 94 that you can upscale HDMI->HDMI signals, as well as adjust aspect ratio and turn on/off PReP.

My knowledge was based on the earlier models such as the 3800. It appears that they have introduced new models which now do handle HD digital inputs. The 3800 couldnt. (Found the reference to ABT)
scsiraid is offline  
post #1008 of 7106 Old 09-17-2008, 05:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MSmith83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by scsiraid View Post

My knowledge was based on the earlier models such as the 3800. It appears that they have introduced new models which now do handle HD digital inputs. The 3800 couldnt. (Found the reference to ABT)

More specifically, the 3900 and Z7 apparently use the ABT2010. In my opinion, it would be a waste if those AVRs didn't do HD processing.
MSmith83 is offline  
post #1009 of 7106 Old 09-17-2008, 05:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scsiraid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 1,887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSmith83 View Post

More specifically, the 3900 and Z7 apparently use the ABT2010. In my opinion, it would be a waste if those AVRs didn't do HD processing.

Agree. Thats why I was shocked with the older 3800 when I was shopping for an AVR (and unfortunatly ended up with the Onkyo). If I were shopping today, the Yamaha looks like a winner!
scsiraid is offline  
post #1010 of 7106 Old 09-18-2008, 06:50 AM
Member
 
cjgpers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Easter Ross, Scotland
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjgpers View Post

If "Game Mode" is turned ON, will the Edge still FRC from a 60hz input to a 50hz output, or does using "Game Mode" turn FRC off?

Can anyone answer this question? I just can't see how FRC'ing from 60hz to 50hz with "Game Mode" on will deliver what "Game Mode" promises.

And I'm now hearing rumours that the 50hz/60hz automatic output switching problem has been fixed for PAL users. Has this been confirmed officially? I can't pre-order until I get confirmation on this.

What exactly does Rightrateâ„¢ do. The official spec only says:

1. "High-Performance Framerate Conversion which enables 1080p-24Hz output of film-based content."

2. "Anchor Bay's high performance frame rate conversion also supports converting film sources from 24 frames per second to 60 frames per second for NTSC format and from 25 frames per second to 50 frames per second for PAL/SECAM format."

So, does Rightrate only do 24hz to 60hz and 25hz to 50hz, or does it also to 60hz to 50hz and visa-versa?

And finally, is there an official launch date for the UK. All I'm being told by people in the UK is that the product hasn't been launched yet so nobody can answer any questions about the specification.
cjgpers is offline  
post #1011 of 7106 Old 09-18-2008, 06:58 AM
Member
 
cjgpers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Easter Ross, Scotland
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjgpers View Post

Does the Edge have automatic aspect ratio control. For example, the HDMI output from my Sky+HD box can be any of the following:
1080i 16:9
576p 16:9
576p 4:3

Will the Edge automatically select the correct aspect ratio based on the HDMI aspect ratio flag?

Does anyone know the answer to this question?
cjgpers is offline  
post #1012 of 7106 Old 09-18-2008, 09:56 AM
Senior Member
 
Pia-chan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sharks Territory
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
At this point in time, Josh is the only person that can definitively answer your questions (if he chooses to do so)

"Good wine is a necessity of life for me" -- Thomas Jefferson
Pia-chan is offline  
post #1013 of 7106 Old 09-18-2008, 10:00 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Josh@dvdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Campbell, CA
Posts: 1,517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjgpers View Post

Does anyone know the answer to this question?

We have turned this option off on EDGE due to some sources outputting a unreliable signal.

Josh Allen
DVDO Product Manager
Josh@DVDO.com
Josh@dvdo is offline  
post #1014 of 7106 Old 09-18-2008, 10:43 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Joseph Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 10,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Great to see you back here, Josh. Now, the question everyone wants answered, even if it's the same one we already know - any word on a ship date for the Edge?

That didn't take long, did it?

Joe Clark

Joseph Clark is online now  
post #1015 of 7106 Old 09-18-2008, 10:45 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Josh@dvdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Campbell, CA
Posts: 1,517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joseph Clark View Post

Great to see you back here, Josh. Now, the question everyone wants answered, even if it's the same one we already know - any word on a ship date for the Edge?

That didn't take long, did it?

Initial shipments of EDGE are scheduled to start next week.

Josh Allen
DVDO Product Manager
Josh@DVDO.com
Josh@dvdo is offline  
post #1016 of 7106 Old 09-18-2008, 10:47 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Josh@dvdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Campbell, CA
Posts: 1,517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjgpers View Post

Can anyone answer this question? I just can't see how FRC'ing from 60hz to 50hz with "Game Mode" on will deliver what "Game Mode" promises.

PAL <-> NTSC conversion is available with Game Mode and does not hinder game play.

Josh Allen
DVDO Product Manager
Josh@DVDO.com
Josh@dvdo is offline  
post #1017 of 7106 Old 09-18-2008, 10:52 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Joseph Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 10,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Thanks, Josh. That's really good news. I was on the AVS pre-order list, so, of course, I can expect mine right away, correct?

Joe Clark

Joseph Clark is online now  
post #1018 of 7106 Old 09-18-2008, 02:24 PM
Member
 
lokiWoden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh@dvdo View Post

Initial shipments of EDGE are scheduled to start next week.

AVS e-mailed me today saying their intial shipment is "on the way" from DVDO to AVS.
So my pre-order through AVS will be filled soon!

Since the production units are shipping soon, has the NDA (non-disclosure agreement) been lifted or modified so that the beta testers can discuss their impressions with their equipment?
lokiWoden is offline  
post #1019 of 7106 Old 09-18-2008, 02:31 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Joseph Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 10,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Darn. That probably means I'm going to have to wait for the next show. I didn't get that email. Oh, well, I have plenty to do rebuilding one of my UnRAID boxes that needs some work. This video/computer hobby means there's always something to do.

Joe Clark

Joseph Clark is online now  
post #1020 of 7106 Old 09-18-2008, 03:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DCIFRTHS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lokiWoden View Post

AVS e-mailed me today saying their intial shipment is "on the way" from DVDO to AVS.
So my pre-order through AVS will be filled soon!

Since the production units are shipping soon, has the NDR been lifted or modified so that the beta testers can discuss their impressions with their equipment?

What domain was the email sent from? I'd like to add it to my white list.

Thanks!
DCIFRTHS is offline  
Reply Video Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off