DVDO EDGE !! - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 7104 Old 07-23-2008, 07:43 AM
Member
 
EmoryS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I, for one, think the HDMI Audio Only feature of the EDGE is one of the best features!

I am seriously looking at getting a VP50Pro, but since there is only one HDMI output I still haven't quite figured out how to get the higher resolution audio into a receiver without corrupting the video.

To bad the HDMI Audio Only feature can't be added to the VP50Pro.

-EmoryS

"No matter where you go, there you are."
EmoryS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 7104 Old 07-23-2008, 07:56 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Q of BanditZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: blurayoasis.com
Posts: 15,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh@dvdo View Post

Per several requests I have added a PDF that compares EDGE to the VP50PRO and VP50 to the opening post of this thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

Comparison PDF is nice. It shows how serious DVDO is about the performance of The Edge. Still though, you can see where it is not for the serious VP crowd. I still would really like to put one in my set up and see just how well it performs with my vast assortment of components...

The PDF is very helpful.

All I can say is, on paper, it's still pretty remarkable how much territory the Edge does indeed cover considering the price points across the product line.

I really do think 2 HDMI outs should be standard and I think that's huge here for the Edge.

Great ISF Job by Chad B.
Q of BanditZ is offline  
post #93 of 7104 Old 07-23-2008, 08:23 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Jason Turk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Rochester, NY USA
Posts: 12,451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I concur. When I saw that dual HDMI output feature last week I was quite impressed. Well thought out for sure.
Jason Turk is offline  
post #94 of 7104 Old 07-23-2008, 08:49 AM
Newbie
 
parkes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh@dvdo View Post

A 33% vertical stretch can be accomplished by using the Vertical Zoom control on the input.

To clarify on the 2.35:1 question. If I understand correctly, the EDGE will only allow a zoom as compared to a stretch that would be on the VP line. Correct?
parkes is offline  
post #95 of 7104 Old 07-23-2008, 09:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Magnus_CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Josh,

Can you post the promotional PDF you just sent out to retailers?

Also, can you say a little more about the Black Bar eliminator feature?

Thanks!
Magnus_CA is offline  
post #96 of 7104 Old 07-23-2008, 09:07 AM
Senior Member
 
macboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ouch. I see that it is limited to standard resolutions at only 60 Hz output (50 Hz for PAL) in addition to 24 Hz. This is definitely not being marketted for us CRT projector fanboys, or indeed, for anyone with a display that is not natively 1920x1080 or 1280x720 (which is most people since most HD displays are not natively at a standard resolution!). I bought my Lumagen VisionHDP largely based on its programmable output resolution capability. Part of Lumagen's philosphy is to produce products which do not impose arbitrary limitations. If DVDO shared the same mind-set, then this box would have blown away the competition. Too bad.

-=-
If PacMan had affected us as kids, we'd all be running around in dark rooms, munching pills and listening to electronic music.

MacBoy
macboy is offline  
post #97 of 7104 Old 07-23-2008, 09:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
dlm10541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Take a look at the rest of the DVDO offering-specifically the VP series. I think you will find no arbitrary limitations on these products.

This product is not designed for the high end market like the Lumagen and DVDO VP series
dlm10541 is offline  
post #98 of 7104 Old 07-23-2008, 09:51 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Gary Murrell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 10,927
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by macboy View Post

Ouch. I see that it is limited to standard resolutions at only 60 Hz output (50 Hz for PAL) in addition to 24 Hz. This is definitely not being marketted for us CRT projector fanboys, or indeed, for anyone with a display that is not natively 1920x1080 or 1280x720 (which is most people since most HD displays are not natively at a standard resolution!). I bought my Lumagen VisionHDP largely based on its programmable output resolution capability. Part of Lumagen's philosphy is to produce products which do not impose arbitrary limitations. If DVDO shared the same mind-set, then this box would have blown away the competition. Too bad.

if you want those features get a VP unit, that is the entire point here as Don just said

-Gary
Gary Murrell is offline  
post #99 of 7104 Old 07-23-2008, 11:31 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
jackox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: France
Posts: 633
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh@dvdo View Post

The hardware of the Beta units is exactly the same as production units. The chassis (cosmetics) of Beta units is different from production units in that the plastics on the front of the the production units will have a higher quality finish on them.

Hi Josh !

Will it be possible to switche from the Beta's face to the production unit face ?
jackox is offline  
post #100 of 7104 Old 07-23-2008, 11:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
shamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by macboy View Post

If DVDO shared the same mind-set...

If they shared the same mindset as Lumagen, prices would be going up too!
shamus is offline  
post #101 of 7104 Old 07-23-2008, 11:38 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
jackox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: France
Posts: 633
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As far as I understand it, EDGE is not a replacement unit of the VP line, it is a whole new concept.

The VP50Pro is still the flagship of DVDO scalers.

That being said Edge features few extras that seem realy interesting, 6 HDMI inputs, Audio dedicated HDMI out (I love that feature ! A must have for HD audio codec) and more easy to use.

On the other hand the VPs still show more flexibility and more options, price wise I feel that EDGE is a complementary unit in the DVDO range and it will not take the place of the VP50 or the VP50Pro. It strikes at another market, mostly LCD and plasma users, even though I am conviced it could also be a very good addition in a projector based home theater.
jackox is offline  
post #102 of 7104 Old 07-23-2008, 11:40 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Perfectly put. That is exactly how I view The Edge.

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
post #103 of 7104 Old 07-23-2008, 11:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
westgate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: ʇuoɯɹ
Posts: 5,624
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by parkes View Post

To clarify on the 2.35:1 question. If I understand correctly, the EDGE will only allow a zoom as compared to a stretch that would be on the VP line. Correct?

also to josh@dvdo/anyone:
Would the zoom method result in a lesser pq than the stretch method?
westgate is offline  
post #104 of 7104 Old 07-23-2008, 11:45 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
jackox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: France
Posts: 633
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

Perfectly put. That is exactly how I view The Edge.

Hi Joe !

The only thing is I already have a VP50Pro (which is not yet perfect, but is getting better and better with a very promised future).
I currently use the VP50Pro in a setup where EDGE would be more apropriate.

Well ... things to come anyway ...
jackox is offline  
post #105 of 7104 Old 07-23-2008, 12:30 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Stevetd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Western, NC
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Pardon my green-ness but, I'm not very knowledgeable about video processing. This unit has gotten my attention. First: I'm assuming each input can be set individually? This will be a huge plus as my a/v unit uses global settings, a real bummer. Second: Will I have a problem with a Pio 5010FD and 6010FD regarding the resolution limitations talked about in this thread? Thanks.

Steve
Stevetd is online now  
post #106 of 7104 Old 07-23-2008, 12:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HiHoStevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Las Vegas & Cedar Hills
Posts: 3,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yeah, I got the "autoreply" message also... apparently whoever is supposed to be reviewing the potential Beta Testers is currently on vacation.

There are just two theories for successfully quarreling with a woman -- neither one works!
The Barn - Use Password = AVSForum
HiHoStevo is offline  
post #107 of 7104 Old 07-23-2008, 12:42 PM
Member
 
rlemesle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Angers, France
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh@dvdo View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by shamus View Post

Sorry Josh... its hard to explain.

I have a 2.35 screen and zoom out a 2.35 image to fit it. I set display to 16x9 and screen to 2.35. I now just simply set the input aspect ratio to whatever setting the movie is and everything fits perfectly on my screen without the use of a lens.

This can be accomplished using the input aspect ratio of EDGE but it is not as easy as it is on the VP50PRO which has specific features (Output Aspect Ratio controls for Display and Screen) which EDGE does not.

To do what shamus want (which is what I want too), you need to use zoom at less than 100% and the zoom function of the VP50Pro is from 100% to 150%. So if the EDGE as the same zoom range as the VP50Pro, the EDGE will not be able to do that...

Am I right ?

Richard.
rlemesle is offline  
post #108 of 7104 Old 07-23-2008, 01:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
bobloblaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Merrimack, NH
Posts: 507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The price of the EDGE definitely makes it attractive. One question it brings to mind is how it may effect the DVDO trade-in program. For example, right now you can trade-in a VP30 w/ABT102 for $1600 in credit towards a new processor. I'll be surprised if these trade-in values remain the same and DVDO would allow you to trade a VP30/ABT102 combo for 2 EDGE processors (but it would be sweet!)

BDP-83 EAP (first 50)
bobloblaw is offline  
post #109 of 7104 Old 07-23-2008, 01:46 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Jason Turk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Rochester, NY USA
Posts: 12,451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Obviously there are pros to the VP series...otherwise they would 1. not have come out with the Edge or 2. discontinued the VP series. But, what this represents is a HUGE advancement in lower priced VP's. There are TONS of applications...people now can broaden their range of prepro/receiver choices because they don't have to worry about video processing in those...people can now make many projectors a CIH setup for a LOT less money...it is only barely more than a 6x1 HDMI switch, plus you have all the other benefits.

Is it for everyone? No...but at this price I'll be getting some for all my displays...
Jason Turk is offline  
post #110 of 7104 Old 07-23-2008, 02:50 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
jackox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: France
Posts: 633
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I back up that Jason !

I realy do think EDGE was the VP a lot of people were waiting for !
At this price range, nothing can deliver like the EDGE does !
jackox is offline  
post #111 of 7104 Old 07-23-2008, 03:44 PM
Senior Member
 
02fx4dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackox View Post

I realy do think EDGE was the VP a lot of people were waiting for !
At this price range, nothing can deliver like the EDGE does !

There's definetely a market for a decent VP under $1000, and not much to chose from for decent upconverting of SD content.

Let's hope the EDGE is released soon.
02fx4dude is offline  
post #112 of 7104 Old 07-23-2008, 04:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JackB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Pauma Valley, CA USA
Posts: 1,778
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
This looks like a nice unit but seems to be missing a glaring inexpensive(I think)feature. That is to offer two HDMI video outputs. I just added a Samsung DLP RPTV to my video room(Bat cave as my wife calls it) for average/normal TV watching. I have a 100" ceiling mounted DLP projector for movies and big sports events. I would think that many if not most of AVS hobbyists have a setup similar to mine. Am I correct in saying this product does not satisfy this basic need?

Right now I chase this problem by sending my HDDVD via HDMI to the projector. I send Direct TV component to the projector and it's HDMI output to the new Samsung. This works but it would be really nice to have both inputs output via HDMI to the two sets. I would love to have it's processing improve much of the Direct TV content, even the HD stuff I suspect. My AVR is older and does not have HDMI and I don't want to replace it at this time.

That being said, could this Monoprice device be my solution:

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

I hesitate to spend $799 on a quality product and then screw up the signal with a $15 device that could have been designed in originally for a very small product cost.

Jack

Jack
JackB is offline  
post #113 of 7104 Old 07-23-2008, 04:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
anam8tr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: West Palm
Posts: 503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackB View Post

This looks like a nice unit but seems to be missing a glaring inexpensive(I think)feature. That is to offer two HDMI video outputs. I just added a Samsung DLP RPTV to my video room(Bat cave as my wife calls it) for average/normal TV watching. I have a 100" ceiling mounted DLP projector for movies and big sports events. I would think that many if not most of AVS hobbyists have a setup similar to mine. Am I correct in saying this product does not satisfy this basic need?

Right now I chase this problem by sending my HDDVD via HDMI to the projector. I send Direct TV component to the projector and it's HDMI output to the new Samsung. This works but it would be really nice to have both inputs output via HDMI to the two sets. I would love to have it's processing improve much of the Direct TV content, even the HD stuff I suspect. My AVR is older and does not have HDMI and I don't want to replace it at this time.

That being said, could this Monoprice device be my solution:

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

I hesitate to spend $799 on a quality product and then screw up the signal with a $15 device that could have been designed in originally for a very small product cost.

Jack

I tried that Y split on my system and it was very flaky. I went with the 4x2 and it works great. Not sure where you are in relation to LA, but your more than welcome to borrow the Y split if you'd like.
anam8tr is offline  
post #114 of 7104 Old 07-23-2008, 04:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Fudoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 1,338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
With those passive splitters you can run into HDCP problems (experienced it myself). There are active 1x2 (or more ports) splitters or matrix-switches for $99 out there which will work perfectly and are not THIS expensive as well.....
Fudoh is offline  
post #115 of 7104 Old 07-23-2008, 04:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Magnus_CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackB View Post

This looks like a nice unit but seems to be missing a glaring inexpensive(I think)feature. That is to offer two HDMI video outputs. I just added a Samsung DLP RPTV to my video room(Bat cave as my wife calls it) for average/normal TV watching. I have a 100" ceiling mounted DLP projector for movies and big sports events. I would think that many if not most of AVS hobbyists have a setup similar to mine. Am I correct in saying this product does not satisfy this basic need?

Right now I chase this problem by sending my HDDVD via HDMI to the projector. I send Direct TV component to the projector and it's HDMI output to the new Samsung. This works but it would be really nice to have both inputs output via HDMI to the two sets. I would love to have it's processing improve much of the Direct TV content, even the HD stuff I suspect. My AVR is older and does not have HDMI and I don't want to replace it at this time.

That being said, could this Monoprice device be my solution:

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

I hesitate to spend $799 on a quality product and then screw up the signal with a $15 device that could have been designed in originally for a very small product cost.

Jack


It may be a low cost option to add but I think you're in the minority of people looking to support 2 HDMI display devices with one VP. This box can't be all things to all people at this price tag.
Magnus_CA is offline  
post #116 of 7104 Old 07-23-2008, 05:19 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Josh@dvdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Campbell, CA
Posts: 1,517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by HiHoStevo View Post

Yeah, I got the "autoreply" message also... apparently whoever is supposed to be reviewing the potential Beta Testers is currently on vacation.

There are several people receiving the questionnaires within Anchor Bay. One of these people did have the auto reply feature turned on. I am the one reviewing the questionnaires and I don't plan on going vacation any time soon.

Josh Allen
DVDO Product Manager
Josh@DVDO.com
Josh@dvdo is offline  
post #117 of 7104 Old 07-23-2008, 05:45 PM
 
bearfun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shamus View Post

If they shared the same mindset as Lumagen, prices would be going up too!

I already talked with one on LUMAGENS techs and thay are coming out with a lower coast solution as well ,but he said it would not be under a thousand for there unit.So still no real comparisons with any other ,,,yet.I think there will be fare more competition for scalers under a grand than ever before.They have to get competitive before the newer display technology and better cheaper on board processors wipes them out.The law of business is expand and change ,improve before someone beats you to it .
bearfun is offline  
post #118 of 7104 Old 07-23-2008, 05:55 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Gino AUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Cairns, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackox View Post

Hi Josh !

Will it be possible to switch from the Beta's face to the production unit face ?

I'd like to know this too.

( B ) ( G ) ( R ) BlendZilla DownUnder ( R ) ( G ) ( B ) - Tubes of Fury
Gino AUS is offline  
post #119 of 7104 Old 07-23-2008, 06:35 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Josh@dvdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Campbell, CA
Posts: 1,517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gino AUS View Post

I'd like to know this too.

Because of the front panel HDMI, IR and LED being in this face plate it is not something that most consumers would be able to swap out themselves. It is certainly something that we can consider, understood that this is something that we would have to charge for.

Josh Allen
DVDO Product Manager
Josh@DVDO.com
Josh@dvdo is offline  
post #120 of 7104 Old 07-23-2008, 08:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 6,358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 204
What interests me the most about this product is what it isn't.

This is DVDO's attempt--a good one I think--to get some market penetration into the budget video processor market. The question remains what they will offer as a true update to the VP50Pro to service the high end and offer competition to the Lumagen Radiance, which has created a lot of interest because of its unique feature set.

The NEXT announcement from DVDO should be really interesting. If they can offer custom gamma/grayscale adjustments and color management in a VP50Pro replacement, this segment is going to have a lot to offer.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is online now  
Reply Video Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off