New DVDO iScan Duo [2.0 firmware released] - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 3841 Old 02-08-2010, 08:02 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,415
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 636 Post(s)
Liked: 714
Quote:
Originally Posted by prepress View Post

Chris Botti Live. The one in Boston with Sting, Katherine McPhee, Yo-Yo-Ma, John Mayer, etc. Turning on Game Mode for that particular input solved the problem. I never really noticed a problem with other BDs (now that I have a few more I can check them if I want) and never with DVDs.

I had no issues with that BD or BD ISO. Although I only use the BD ISO to watch it now with my Popcorn Hour C200.

That disc does sound superb with the 7.1 96Khz 24bit Dolby True HD(or is it DTS-MA...It's one of those)

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 3841 Old 02-08-2010, 09:20 AM
Member
 
clefranc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Franin View Post

Why that long??

Because I'm too cheap to pay 100$ to send the DUO by air across the country.
And I'm pretty sure the distributor will be cheap on the shipping too.

Christian
clefranc is offline  
post #633 of 3841 Old 02-08-2010, 10:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
prepress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

I had no issues with that BD or BD ISO. Although I only use the BD ISO to watch it now with my Popcorn Hour C200.

That disc does sound superb with the 7.1 96Khz 24bit Dolby True HD(or is it DTS-MA...It's one of those)

Hm. I have no issue if I go straight to the TV, as I recall.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
prepress is offline  
post #634 of 3841 Old 02-08-2010, 03:31 PM
CIH USER
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 17,257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by clefranc View Post

And I'm pretty sure the distributor will be cheap on the shipping too.

Christian

Thats true!

_________________________

Frank

Franin is offline  
post #635 of 3841 Old 02-10-2010, 02:08 AM
Member
 
lungan71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am very close to pulling the trigger on this, just want to be as informed as possible before purchase. A couple of questions I can't find a "definitive" answer to:


Does the Duo accept 720p24 input?

Can I force 1080p24 output even if the signal input is 50 or 60Hz?

Can it perform inverse telecine to output 1080p24 from a 1080i60 signal?

I'm a bit disappointed with the long switching times I now have between my JVC HD750 and Onkyo receiver. Anyone with a JVC-projector and the Duo, how long does it take to re-handshake when a signal changes resolution/frequency and how long does the handshake take when you change inputs on the Duo?


TIA

/Fredrik
lungan71 is offline  
post #636 of 3841 Old 02-10-2010, 06:25 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Q of BanditZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: blurayoasis.com
Posts: 15,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lungan71 View Post

I am very close to pulling the trigger on this, just want to be as informed as possible before purchase. A couple of questions I can't find a "definitive" answer to:


Does the Duo accept 720p24 input?

Can I force 1080p24 output even if the signal input is 50 or 60Hz?

Can it perform inverse telecine to output 1080p24 from a 1080i60 signal?

I'm a bit disappointed with the long switching times I now have between my JVC HD750 and Onkyo receiver. Anyone with a JVC-projector and the Duo, how long does it take to re-handshake when a signal changes resolution/frequency and how long does the handshake take when you change inputs on the Duo?


TIA

I'd honestly recommend waiting on a purchase until you see/hear about the next major firmware coming out. That's my advice to anyone waiting on the fence.

Great ISF Job by Chad B.
Q of BanditZ is offline  
post #637 of 3841 Old 02-10-2010, 07:00 AM
Member
 
lungan71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Q, I appreciate your thoughts and input.

Apart from dual hdmi-out not yet working as advertized, what other reasons would you list as worthy to wait for?

/Fredrik
lungan71 is offline  
post #638 of 3841 Old 02-10-2010, 07:08 AM
Member
 
clefranc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lungan71 View Post

Thanks Q, I appreciate your thoughts and input.

Apart from dual hdmi-out not yet working as advertized, what other reasons would you list as worthy to wait for?

I agree with Q of BanditZ.

More, I own a JVC DLA-RS15 (little brother?), and I'm getting HDCP warnings all the time. Anchor Bay support told me they can't replicate this annoying issue (with other display of course). I can only hope the next firmware (this year?) will solve the problem.

Christian
clefranc is offline  
post #639 of 3841 Old 02-10-2010, 11:02 PM
CIH USER
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 17,257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by Q of BanditZ View Post

I'd honestly recommend waiting on a purchase until you see/hear about the next major firmware coming out. That's my advice to anyone waiting on the fence.

+1 I agree.

_________________________

Frank

Franin is offline  
post #640 of 3841 Old 02-11-2010, 02:58 PM
Member
 
R10KYJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Q of BanditZ View Post

I'd honestly recommend waiting on a purchase until you see/hear about the next major firmware coming out. That's my advice to anyone waiting on the fence.

Any hints to what features this may include? When it is due out for the public, and whether we are talking about the Duo, or the Edge as well? They are very similar chipsets, aren't they?

Thanks
R10KYJ is offline  
post #641 of 3841 Old 02-11-2010, 08:37 PM
Member
 
clefranc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by R10KYJ View Post

Any hints to what features this may include? When it is due out for the public, and whether we are talking about the Duo, or the Edge as well?

Any answer will be totally speculative, since Anchor Bay staff chooses to ignore completely this forum. Even if you ask them directly, the response to your questions will be as evasive as it can be.

We've no way to know what Anchor Bay may (or not) include in the next software. Their software roadmap is rather erractic, and they don't listen to their customers about new features or any other firmware modifications.

Christian
clefranc is offline  
post #642 of 3841 Old 02-11-2010, 09:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
HDgaming42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 610
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by R10KYJ View Post

Any hints to what features this may include? When it is due out for the public, and whether we are talking about the Duo, or the Edge as well? They are very similar chipsets, aren't they?

Thanks

Anyone who could answer your question(s), can't. Anyone who is using beta firmware is a beta tester, and bound by a NDA. Whatever cryptic hints they choose to provide are about all you'll get. Even then, DVDO could view such information as violating the spirit of the NDA, potentially jeopardizing that individual's future as a beta tester.

It sucks, but we'll have to be patient. I'm hoping its worth the wait...
HDgaming42 is online now  
post #643 of 3841 Old 02-12-2010, 06:16 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Q of BanditZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: blurayoasis.com
Posts: 15,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDgaming42 View Post

Anyone who could answer your question(s), can't. Anyone who is using beta firmware is a beta tester, and bound by a NDA. Whatever cryptic hints they choose to provide are about all you'll get. Even then, DVDO could view such information as violating the spirit of the NDA, potentially jeopardizing that individual's future as a beta tester.

It sucks, but we'll have to be patient.

Correct.

Quote:


I'm hoping its worth the wait...

It is.

Great ISF Job by Chad B.
Q of BanditZ is offline  
post #644 of 3841 Old 02-12-2010, 12:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dazzerxxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by R10KYJ View Post

Any hints to what features this may include? When it is due out for the public, and whether we are talking about the Duo, or the Edge as well? They are very similar chipsets, aren't they?

Thanks

I think they share the ABT2010 but I'm not sure if "CMS" type features are a function of the ABT2010 or performed by additional FPGA's. I don't know if either the Edge and/or Duo have FPGA's. This may/may not be a limitation but that's speculation on my part.

D
dazzerxxx is offline  
post #645 of 3841 Old 02-15-2010, 08:09 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Q of BanditZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: blurayoasis.com
Posts: 15,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dazzerxxx View Post

I think they share the ABT2010 but I'm not sure if "CMS" type features are a function of the ABT2010 or performed by additional FPGA's.



This.

Quote:


I don't know if either the Edge and/or Duo have FPGA's. This may/may not be a limitation but that's speculation on my part.

D

Duo does. Can't speak for the Edge up or down.




Aside: Not impressed with the fact that I sent a very brief, straight forward email to tech support two Thursdays ago now and still ne'er a peep. This was after calling them and getting the voicemail. I know that wouldn't have yielded better results.

Great ISF Job by Chad B.
Q of BanditZ is offline  
post #646 of 3841 Old 02-15-2010, 09:24 AM
CIH USER
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 17,257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by Q of BanditZ View Post

Aside: Not impressed with the fact that I sent a very brief, straight forward email to tech support two Thursdays ago now and still ne'er a peep. This was after calling them and getting the voicemail. I know that wouldn't have yielded better results.

When they dont respond it can be very annoying.

_________________________

Frank

Franin is offline  
post #647 of 3841 Old 02-15-2010, 09:32 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Q of BanditZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: blurayoasis.com
Posts: 15,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Franin View Post

When they dont respond it can be very annoying.

It just doesn't inspire a lot of confidence and it just doesn't look good.

I'd be more than content if 24-48 hours after I sent my email if I'd simply seen any kind of acknowledgement whatsoever.

"We'll look into this and get back ASAP. We got your message." Perfectly fine. I understand that they're busy and I understand that they have lots of other customers and issues to deal with, but really, dead silence for well over a week's worth of business days is pretty hard to make excuses for after a point.

Great ISF Job by Chad B.
Q of BanditZ is offline  
post #648 of 3841 Old 02-15-2010, 08:13 PM
CIH USER
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 17,257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by Q of BanditZ View Post

It just doesn't inspire a lot of confidence and it just doesn't look good.

I'd be more than content if 24-48 hours after I sent my email if I'd simply seen any kind of acknowledgement whatsoever.

"We'll look into this and get back ASAP. We got your message." Perfectly fine. I understand that they're busy and I understand that they have lots of other customers and issues to deal with, but really, dead silence for well over a week's worth of business days is pretty hard to make excuses for after a point.

Spot on!

_________________________

Frank

Franin is offline  
post #649 of 3841 Old 02-16-2010, 02:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
prepress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 60
They were more responsive before the economy forced the layoffs mentioned earlier in the thread, I'd say. Fewer people to carry the load.

I had a rare event last night with a couple of dropouts (one audio, one audio and video) while watching a DVD. Usually those are with cable only. Handshake issues, perhaps?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
prepress is offline  
post #650 of 3841 Old 02-16-2010, 04:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,607
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Does anyone avoid drop outs by using a AVR as a hub rather than the DUO?

Gary J
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Gary J is offline  
post #651 of 3841 Old 02-16-2010, 04:44 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 22,883
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 358
new firmware is up

Firmware v2.0 (beta)
Release date: February 15, 2010

http://www.anchorbaytech.com/support...o_Software.php

* New features:

* Color Management System
* Support for Audio only optical and coax sources
* HDCP is enabled on the output only if input is encrypted
* New automation commands

* Bug fixes

* Some audio formats were not supported with some AVRs because of EDID limitation.
* HDMI audio output may not come out of reset properly.
* AVI InfoFrame of Audio HDMI output may not correctly reflect the video format.
* Audio delay was not correctly adjusted for progressive formats with Game Mode turned on.
* Switching to DSD audio input could cause the output to remain muted.
markrubin is online now  
post #652 of 3841 Old 02-16-2010, 05:01 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,415
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 636 Post(s)
Liked: 714
The new firmware has been working well for me. Although I didn't have issues with the previous fiormware either.

I do need to check out DSD over HDMI through the DUO.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
post #653 of 3841 Old 02-16-2010, 05:32 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
HogPilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Good Ol' US of A
Posts: 2,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

The new firmware has been working well for me. Although I didn't have issues with the previous fiormware either.

I do need to check out DSD over HDMI through the DUO.

Any end-user feedback/details on the CMS? Controls, flexibility, ease of use, etc?

There are 10 types of people: those who understand binary, and those who don't.

HogPilot is offline  
post #654 of 3841 Old 02-16-2010, 05:44 AM
CIH USER
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 17,257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Oh cool CMS. Looks like I have to call my isf calibrator again.

_________________________

Frank

Franin is offline  
post #655 of 3841 Old 02-16-2010, 05:47 AM
CIH USER
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 17,257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Before I upgrade I have Windows 7 is that going to issue a problem?

_________________________

Frank

Franin is offline  
post #656 of 3841 Old 02-16-2010, 06:13 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Q of BanditZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: blurayoasis.com
Posts: 15,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Franin View Post

Before I upgrade I have Windows 7 is that going to issue a problem?

Not at all.

It's been hard sitting on this. I'm glad everyone is finally seeing this new firmware.

Now you know what comments like "turning heads at this price point" and so forth meant.


As an aside: This firmware did fix my video drop out problem as well.




Quote:
Originally Posted by HogPilot View Post

Any end-user feedback/details on the CMS? Controls, flexibility, ease of use, etc?

A baby could use it.




Quote:
Originally Posted by prepress View Post

They were more responsive before the economy forced the layoffs mentioned earlier in the thread, I'd say. Fewer people to carry the load.

I'm not sure about specifics, but I know it's a LOT fewer vs. a year or so ago.

Anyways, we can all see that the "silence" has not been in vain.

Quote:


I had a rare event last night with a couple of dropouts (one audio, one audio and video) while watching a DVD. Usually those are with cable only. Handshake issues, perhaps?


The new firmware will probably fix it.

Great ISF Job by Chad B.
Q of BanditZ is offline  
post #657 of 3841 Old 02-16-2010, 06:14 AM
CIH USER
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 17,257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by Q of BanditZ View Post

Not at all.

It's been hard sitting on this. I'm glad everyone is finally seeing this new firmware.

As an aside: This firmware did fix my video drop out problem as well.





A baby could use it.

Thanks Q

_________________________

Frank

Franin is offline  
post #658 of 3841 Old 02-16-2010, 06:19 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
HogPilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Good Ol' US of A
Posts: 2,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Q of BanditZ View Post

A baby could use it.

Lol, I guess that's a start. How does it work? RGB, HSL, etc? Can it correct primaries and secondaries? How fine are the adjustments and what kind of range do they have? Does the CMS work just for gamut correction, or does it have parametric greyscale and per-color gamma correction?

Details, we need details man!

There are 10 types of people: those who understand binary, and those who don't.

HogPilot is offline  
post #659 of 3841 Old 02-16-2010, 06:26 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Q of BanditZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: blurayoasis.com
Posts: 15,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HogPilot View Post

Lol, I guess that's a start. How does it work? RGB, HSL, etc? Can it correct primaries and secondaries? How fine are the adjustments and what kind of range do they have? Does the CMS work just for gamut correction, or does it have parametric greyscale and per-color gamma correction?

Details, we need details man!

I'm really not a big expert on a lot of that so I don't want to steer anyone wrong on the subject but from what I've seen...and I admit I've not had a lot of time with it...I'm going to say a lot of that is there.

Again, considering the price point this Duo resides at, I think what's there is downright remarkable and robust, all things considered.



I'd be keeping an eye on their site for maybe a PDF addendum to the manual that goes into all of the CMS details. I'd think we'd see that pretty soon.

I'd feel a lot better about people taking their word on the subject vs. mine.

Great ISF Job by Chad B.
Q of BanditZ is offline  
post #660 of 3841 Old 02-16-2010, 06:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
prepress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Franin View Post

Oh cool CMS. Looks like I have to call my isf calibrator again.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
prepress is offline  
Reply Video Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off