DVDO Duo vs Lumagen Radiance XS/XE - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 84 Old 02-28-2010, 04:28 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all, I had a brief look and not sure if this comparison has previously been made. I am about to purchase my first video processor and my installer has suggested the new DVDO Duo. It's a good price point, but as I would like this to last a while (5yrs), I want to make the right decision.

I intend to pair the video processor with a JVC HD990 (or similar price and quality). I am not technical to the extent of a lot on here, but would like to understand, are there significant differences in end result, between the DVDO and Lumagen? Are there any real gaps? The second display is a Samsung LED 8000.

I am only concerned about the video quality, as I will be using a Meridian HD621 to strip the audio, coupled with a G68 and five DSP5200's. Currently, I only have 4 inputs I can think of; digital TV receiver, PS3, Apple TV and satellite box.

I'd appreciate your thoughts, as not easy to organise a side by side, in Australia. Am I right in thinking the only difference between the Lumagen XS and XE, is the number of inputs? I will be using HDMI only. Also, if possible, I'd like an upgrade path to HDMI 1.4 and 3D (if that ever takes off).

If anyone has good pricing on either the DVDO Duo, Lumagen XS or XE, please PM me. I can organise pick up in the US.

Many thanks in advance.

Cheers,

Chris
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 84 Old 02-28-2010, 05:46 AM
AVS Special Member

Chris:

Good to see you on this side of the pobd!

I am a Lumagen RadianceXE owner and know its ins and outs. I do my own calibration as I have all the necessary hardware and software to do so.

I have a very good friend of mine who has a DVDO Duo. I went over to his house and did the following:

1. Calibrated his system using the DUO

2. Calibrated his system using the RadianceXE