Official Lumagen RadianceMini 3D thread. - Page 42 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 11Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1231 of 1249 Old 07-29-2014, 08:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 1,952
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 54
I have to ask, are there any more KNOWN fixes planned before we download this again?
AVfile is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1232 of 1249 Old 07-29-2014, 12:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
Paul Butler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: The Old World
Posts: 607
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by avfile View Post
i have to ask, are there any more known fixes planned before we download this again?
lol
Paul Butler is offline  
post #1233 of 1249 Old 07-29-2014, 01:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,145
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 131
It's a little bit like the Whack-A-Mole game...
thrang is offline  
post #1234 of 1249 Old 07-29-2014, 02:06 PM
jrp
AVS Special Member
 
jrp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
Posts: 1,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVfile View Post
I have to ask, are there any more KNOWN fixes planned before we download this again?
We are always working on improving things. So, there is always this chance. However, yes, we are working on a release for this week.

This release is to improve the Chroma Burst pattern on the Spears and Muncil disc. It turns out there are two concerns with the patterns themselves. One is that they violate Nyquist sampling. This is a common thing in test patterns and so is not unexpected. However, do note that real video obeys Nyquist sampling criteria. So, these type of test patterns must be taken with a grain of salt.

The second issue is these patterns, when converted to RGB, create negative RGB values. These values would not be generated by real video, or even animated video, since they start in the RGB domain and values would be no less than zero.

We have always clamped RGB into the correct range, but Patrick added some new FPGA code to help with this particular exception to normal video.

We did find a Chroma filter in our FPGA code that was supposed to be off, that was actually still on. We will correct this setting as well. This change will show a small improvement in Chroma bandwidth since it eliminates the unnecessary filtering.
AVfile, alex_t, cinema mad and 1 others like this.

Jim Peterson
Lumagen
jrp is offline  
post #1235 of 1249 Old 07-29-2014, 02:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,145
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Jim

Is it ok to run the 2143 with the fan off in a climate controlled room, with the unit sitting open on a tabletop, nothing above it? Finding the fan even in low mode is a little wheezy...

Thanks
thrang is offline  
post #1236 of 1249 Old 07-29-2014, 02:17 PM
jrp
AVS Special Member
 
jrp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
Posts: 1,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by thrang View Post
It's a little bit like the Whack-A-Mole game...
LOL...

Not how I imagine the value of free improvements but the word picture is amusing, and has some truth to it. If you want the best video you will be doing a Radiance software update on a regular basis, and just before the next release
dsinger and thrang like this.

Jim Peterson
Lumagen
jrp is offline  
post #1237 of 1249 Old 07-29-2014, 03:21 PM
jrp
AVS Special Member
 
jrp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
Posts: 1,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by thrang View Post
Is it ok to run the 2143 with the fan off in a climate controlled room, with the unit sitting open on a tabletop, nothing above it? Finding the fan even in low mode is a little wheezy...
For 2K output this should be fine. For 4k output, if we allow "off" as an option (I think we do), and you have a normal room temperature (say 75F, 24C) with plenty of air space around the 2143, it should be fine with the fan set to off. I have tested 4k60 output here with the fan off and vents blocked and it worked. However, this could be different on different units as the FPGA chips vary in speed.

Note that there are two temperature standards for the FPGA. The lower temperature is for meeting specified performance specs. This is the temperature we shoot for and why there is a fan. If you exceed this temperature, no harm will come to the chip, but it might not function at maximum speed, and in this case you would notice issues with the video. So if you have solid video with the fan off, your specific unit in your specific environment is okay with the fan set to off.

There is a much higher temperature specification for maximum recommended operating temperature. Above this temperature you are affecting the life of the FPGA. However, the unit would almost certainly begin to show video issues well below this temperature. However, as I found in my testing for this case, I do not think you would get close even with the fan off and the vents blocked.

Jim Peterson
Lumagen
jrp is offline  
post #1238 of 1249 Old 07-31-2014, 10:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 451
Lumagen Radiance (XE/XE+/XE3D/XE/XE+/XE3D/Mini-3D/XD/XD3D) New 072014 Firmware Update

Release Notes

Small horizontal and vertical chroma improvements.

Added a CUE (chroma upsample error) setting under Input: Video Setup: RES: Picture.

Fixed an issue to handle 720p50 framepacked 3D source. (Update time ~9 minutes @57k)

Download Link

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS + CalMAN ColorChecker
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, CalPC, ControlCAL
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is online now  
post #1239 of 1249 Old 08-02-2014, 10:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 1,952
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrp View Post
xvYcc color is not currently supported by Radiance units. It is on our "under consideration" list. However, since it extends the range of data required I expect it to require more additional FPGA resources than available in the XE/XD/XS/Mini units. So, when we tackle xvYcc color, it will likely only be available in the 20XX and 21XX units.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrp View Post
The second issue is these patterns, when converted to RGB, create negative RGB values. These values would not be generated by real video, or even animated video, since they start in the RGB domain and values would be no less than zero.

We have always clamped RGB into the correct range, but Patrick added some new FPGA code to help with this particular exception to normal video.
Does this mean XvYcc could soon be passed? I would really like this ability.

Thanks for the updates.

Stefan

- AVStefan
If you like someone's post, just use the Like button to give thanks.
AVfile is offline  
post #1240 of 1249 Old 08-02-2014, 10:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 1,952
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConnecTEDDD View Post
Lumagen Radiance (XE/XE+/XE3D/XE/XE+/XE3D/Mini-3D/XD/XD3D) New 072014 Firmware Update

Release Notes

Small horizontal and vertical chroma improvements.

Added a CUE (chroma upsample error) setting under Input: Video Setup: RES: Picture.

Fixed an issue to handle 720p50 framepacked 3D source. (Update time ~9 minutes @57k)

Download Link
A bug was found so this version was pulled and is being reworked...
Not shocked, as it sounds like a fairly major update.
AVfile is offline  
post #1241 of 1249 Old 08-03-2014, 04:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 451
Lumagen Radiance (XE/XE+/XE3D/XE/XE+/XE3D/Mini-3D/XD/XD3D) New 072114 Firmware Update

Release Notes

Small horizontal and vertical chroma improvements.

Added a CUE (chroma upsample error) setting under Input: Video Setup: RES: Picture.

Fixed an issue to handle 720p50 framepacked 3D source. (note: bug occurred in 072014 and this update replaces it) (Update time ~9 minutes @57k)

Download Link

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS + CalMAN ColorChecker
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, CalPC, ControlCAL
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is online now  
post #1242 of 1249 Old 08-05-2014, 02:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Socio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 2,260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Hello,


I just joined the Lumagen mini 3D club so to speak and have a question:


I want to use the Lumagen for full screen 2.35 instead of the projector zoom and test out the NLS feature with 16.9 content; I started with a full top to bottom 16.9 image, I then followed Brolicbeasts video on the subject however do not get a full sized image in either 16.9, 2.35, or enabling NLS all have huge black bars top and bottom.


I went over Brolic's settings several times to make sure I did not miss anything, where might I have gone wrong?


Thanks


EDIT: To get this to work properly does the projector have to have the ability to output 2.35 aspect ratio?


My JVC X30 only does 4.3 and 16.9.

Last edited by Socio; 08-05-2014 at 04:22 PM.
Socio is offline  
post #1243 of 1249 Old 08-05-2014, 10:04 PM
jrp
AVS Special Member
 
jrp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
Posts: 1,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Socio:

You need to first setup the Radiance for 2.35 by following the instructions in our TechTip 16. Among the steps include setting the Radiance output aspect ratio setting to 2.35, and using the "Output Shrink" to only use the 2.35 portion of the projector raster. TechTip 16 is on our support/manuals page.

The projector should be set up in normal 16:9 mode, and does not need to have a 2.35 mode.

That said, I don't understand why you have excessive black at the top and bottom. So to help we will need more information. I suggest we take this off line and ask that you email us at support@lumagen.com with more information, or call us at 503-574-2211.

Jim Peterson
Lumagen
jrp is offline  
post #1244 of 1249 Old 08-06-2014, 12:07 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Josh Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Planet Boston, source of the spice, Melange.
Posts: 20,005
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by Socio View Post
I want to use the Lumagen for full screen 2.35 instead of the projector zoom and test out the NLS feature with 16.9 content; I started with a full top to bottom 16.9 image, I then followed Brolicbeasts video on the subject however do not get a full sized image in either 16.9, 2.35, or enabling NLS all have huge black bars top and bottom.

I went over Brolic's settings several times to make sure I did not miss anything, where might I have gone wrong?

Thanks

EDIT: To get this to work properly does the projector have to have the ability to output 2.35 aspect ratio?

My JVC X30 only does 4.3 and 16.9.
Your projector has a 1920x1080 pixel panel. It projects a 1.78:1 image. There is nothing a Radiance or any other external electronic device can do to change that. The only way to alter the shape of the projected image is to add an anamorphic lens in front of your projector.

With that said, if you wish to use the "Zoom Method" for Constant Image Height, the Radiance can shrink all content you watch down to fit within the middle 2.35:1 portion of the frame (using only approximately 800 pixels of height). You will always have black bars at the top and bottom of the projected image. That cannot be helped without an anamorphic lens. The idea is that you zoom your projector so that the letterbox bars spill off the top and bottom of your 2.35:1 screen onto your wall. If your wall is a dark color, the letterbox bars should not be noticeable there.
AVfile likes this.

Josh Z
Writer/Editor, High-Def Digest (Blog updated daily!)
Curator, Laserdisc Forever

My opinions are my own, and do not necessarily reflect those of my employers.

Josh Z is online now  
post #1245 of 1249 Old 08-06-2014, 02:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Socio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 2,260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh Z View Post
Your projector has a 1920x1080 pixel panel. It projects a 1.78:1 image. There is nothing a Radiance or any other external electronic device can do to change that. The only way to alter the shape of the projected image is to add an anamorphic lens in front of your projector.

With that said, if you wish to use the "Zoom Method" for Constant Image Height, the Radiance can shrink all content you watch down to fit within the middle 2.35:1 portion of the frame (using only approximately 800 pixels of height). You will always have black bars at the top and bottom of the projected image. That cannot be helped without an anamorphic lens. The idea is that you zoom your projector so that the letterbox bars spill off the top and bottom of your 2.35:1 screen onto your wall. If your wall is a dark color, the letterbox bars should not be noticeable there.
I see; I have been using the projector zoom for full 2.35:1 screen image with 2.35: 1 sources.

So what I have to do is use that same zoom setting with the Lumagen modified image for full screen image on my 2.35:1 screen.

Makes sense, I was thrown off a bit by Brolicbeasts video as it looked like the Lumagen replaced projector zoom when it really has to work in conjunction with it.


Thanks!
Socio is offline  
post #1246 of 1249 Old 08-13-2014, 02:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 451
Lumagen Radiance (XE/XE+/XE3D/XE/XE+/XE3D/Mini-3D/XD/XD3D) New 072214 Firmware Update

Release Notes

A bugfix for CUE filtering from 072114 firmware when upscaling.

Improved the CUE filter menu, filter did not immediately turn on when enabled (Update time ~9 minutes @57k)

Download Link

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS + CalMAN ColorChecker
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, CalPC, ControlCAL
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is online now  
post #1247 of 1249 Old 08-17-2014, 08:14 AM
Senior Member
 
zbroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My mini stopped working suddenly. It powers on and "appears" to respond to remote clicks since the led flashes...

Setup: Denon receiver -> mini input 1 -> projector


I did the following:
1) I restarted the mini by unplugging it. After restart same issue.
2) I replaced the HDMI from the receiver to the mini - same issue
3) I tried using the HDMI Input 2 BUT, since I never really changed inputs and since I don't have an image to look at, I typed 2 - Input to change to input 2. Not sure if that did it though? But any case, still no image.

If I bypass the mini by plugging the receiver into the projector directly I get my image back.

The mini was purchased in 2011 so warranty is out... Is it time to send it in for service or are there any other troubleshooting steps I can take?

Thank you.

GO HABS GO!
zbroke is offline  
post #1248 of 1249 Old 08-17-2014, 09:43 AM
jrp
AVS Special Member
 
jrp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
Posts: 1,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 32
zbroke:

When the Mini is on if you press OK do you see the Info screen? If so, it might actually be HDMI cabling related. We have found that HDMI cables (and connectors) do show age sometimes. If you see the Status Screen look to see if HDCP is On for the input but Off for the output. This would say that an issue developed that the Mini cannot validate the projector HDCP. One thing to try is to (with all power in the theater disconnected) unplug and re-plug all the HDMI connectors a few times each. We have seen that this can help clean the contacts and restore operation in some cases.

If you do not see the status screen when you press OK, then it could be the power supply failing, or it could be the Mini. It takes less voltage from the power supply to light the LED, and it might not be enough to power the unit. You can measure the supply voltage under load by taking the cover off, and measuring from the back pin of the power connector to the case with a DC volt meter. It should measure about 5 VDC. You can purchase a new Power supply from us, or buy a 5 VDC (make sure it is NOT more than 5 VDC) at 4 Amps with a 2.5 mm positive center-pin barrel power connector, if it is the power supply.

It is possible a bit in the Flash ROM has "flipped" which can keep the unit from working. This is not common but can happen. If this is what happened, and the bad bit is not in the Boot Sector, you might be able to recover the unit with a boot-mode update as described in the TechTip that comes with the update.

If the issue is not resolved after trying the above, we would need you to send us the unit for evaluation.

Please continue this conversation by emailing support@lumagen.com so we can discuss further options.

Jim Peterson
Lumagen

Last edited by jrp; 08-17-2014 at 10:02 AM.
jrp is offline  
post #1249 of 1249 Old 08-17-2014, 11:14 AM
Senior Member
 
zbroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrp View Post
zbroke:

When the Mini is on if you press OK do you see the Info screen? If so, it might actually be HDMI cabling related. We have found that HDMI cables (and connectors) do show age sometimes. If you see the Status Screen look to see if HDCP is On for the input but Off for the output. This would say that an issue developed that the Mini cannot validate the projector HDCP. One thing to try is to (with all power in the theater disconnected) unplug and re-plug all the HDMI connectors a few times each. We have seen that this can help clean the contacts and restore operation in some cases.

If you do not see the status screen when you press OK, then it could be the power supply failing, or it could be the Mini. It takes less voltage from the power supply to light the LED, and it might not be enough to power the unit. You can measure the supply voltage under load by taking the cover off, and measuring from the back pin of the power connector to the case with a DC volt meter. It should measure about 5 VDC. You can purchase a new Power supply from us, or buy a 5 VDC (make sure it is NOT more than 5 VDC) at 4 Amps with a 2.5 mm positive center-pin barrel power connector, if it is the power supply.

It is possible a bit in the Flash ROM has "flipped" which can keep the unit from working. This is not common but can happen. If this is what happened, and the bad bit is not in the Boot Sector, you might be able to recover the unit with a boot-mode update as described in the TechTip that comes with the update.

If the issue is not resolved after trying the above, we would need you to send us the unit for evaluation.

Please continue this conversation by emailing support@lumagen.com so we can discuss further options.
Thank you Jim for the quick response. I've sent an email to support with new info to share.

Thanks.

GO HABS GO!
zbroke is offline  
Reply Video Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off