Official Lumagen RadianceMini 3D thread. - Page 43 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 12Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1261 of 1277 Old 08-29-2014, 11:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 462
Lumagen Radiance (XE/XE+/XE3D/XE/XE+/XE3D/Mini-3D/XD/XD3D) New 081514 Firmware Update

Release Notes

Added faster serial port IO to enable faster operation with calibration software. (Update time ~3 minutes @57k)

Download Link

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS + CalMAN ColorChecker
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, CalPC, ControlCAL
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1262 of 1277 Old 08-30-2014, 01:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pres2play's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Both Chromapure and the Radiance are throwing patterns up when I try to use the grayscale and CMS controls on the Mini3D. Must I disable the Radiance signal generator in CP or disconnect the vp from the laptop???
Pres2play is online now  
post #1263 of 1277 Old 08-30-2014, 01:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pres2play's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gordon Fraser View Post
You could ask lumagen direct but i don't see one on their site. I think i wrote somethign a few years ago but i can't find the link to it.

MENU 0910 turns on service mode and gets you access to the CMS stuff.

Choose the 10 or 11 point greyscale adjustment. and press OK

You will then see on screen data stating the control level, it's luminance, then R G B values.
If you adjust R G or B levels up or down you will see the Luminance level alter,,,ie add G and luminance goes up...to maintain gamma you then go back and move the luminance back to where you need it to be for your chosen gamma target and when you do that the R G B values will move either up or down relative to each other to maintain the correct greyscale. You may find that due to the non linearity of your display you need to iterate this bit a few times.

to change the pattern used press 4 to cycle through the options.

I'm not sure I know where to set luminance in relation to the gamma target.
Pres2play is online now  
post #1264 of 1277 Old 08-30-2014, 07:20 AM
Senior Member
 
AV_mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 37
^^^^^^^^^^^^
Disable Signal Generator when operating the Radiance manually, otherwise the Cal SW will keep changing the patterns.

In Chromapure, the Gamma adjustment tab shows Gamma (obviously) but also shows the Reg-Green-Blue balance, so you can adjust Greyscale and Gamma together.

Adjust luminance, trim the RGB, re-adjust luma - repeat at each stimulus point.

Regards, Mike.
AV_mike is offline  
post #1265 of 1277 Old 08-30-2014, 08:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pres2play's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV_mike View Post
^^^^^^^^^^^^
Disable Signal Generator when operating the Radiance manually, otherwise the Cal SW will keep changing the patterns.

In Chromapure, the Gamma adjustment tab shows Gamma (obviously) but also shows the Reg-Green-Blue balance, so you can adjust Greyscale and Gamma together.

Adjust luminance, trim the RGB, re-adjust luma - repeat at each stimulus point.

Regards, Mike.

I'm familiar with the gamma module in Chromapure, but what about in the Radiance? For example, at point 5 in the grayscale adjustments, the luminance is 40.2. Do I try to keep it there while I balance the RGB values?


EDIT: I notice from 60 to 100 IRE the luminance is 100.00. Should all intensity levels show the same luminance of 100.00?

Last edited by Pres2play; 08-30-2014 at 08:14 AM.
Pres2play is online now  
post #1266 of 1277 Old 08-30-2014, 08:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pres2play's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConnecTEDDD View Post
Lumagen Radiance (XE/XE+/XE3D/XE/XE+/XE3D/Mini-3D/XD/XD3D) New 081514 Firmware Update

Release Notes

Added faster serial port IO to enable faster operation with calibration software. (Update time ~3 minutes @57k)

Download Link

Thank you Ted!
ConnecTEDDD likes this.
Pres2play is online now  
post #1267 of 1277 Old 08-30-2014, 01:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Pres2play's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV_mike View Post
^^^^^^^^^^^^
Disable Signal Generator when operating the Radiance manually, otherwise the Cal SW will keep changing the patterns.

In Chromapure, the Gamma adjustment tab shows Gamma (obviously) but also shows the Reg-Green-Blue balance, so you can adjust Greyscale and Gamma together.

Adjust luminance, trim the RGB, re-adjust luma - repeat at each stimulus point.

Regards, Mike.

Oh, got it now. What a dumb mistake not seeing it. Thanks!!!
Pres2play is online now  
post #1268 of 1277 Old Yesterday, 12:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gordon Fraser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: S.E. England
Posts: 1,591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pres2play View Post
Oh, got it now. What a dumb mistake not seeing it. Thanks!!!
PRES2PLAY: 60-100 shoudl not all have 100 stimulus values. Reset the greyscale to default and 10 should 10, 20 will be 20, 70 will be 70. Then measure gamma sweep. If the adjustment is a long way out..ie you want 2.2 and it's pretty even at 2.0 or 2.4 all the way across go to the lumagens GAMMA adjustment and use that to get more of it at 2.2 ish...then do the greyscale using the multi-point stuff to fine tune gamma and rgb balance the way it's been described in posts above.

Convergent-AV
ISF, Home Theater Consultants and Distribution, U.K.
Gordon Fraser is offline  
post #1269 of 1277 Old Yesterday, 03:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pres2play's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gordon Fraser View Post
PRES2PLAY: 60-100 shoudl not all have 100 stimulus values. Reset the greyscale to default and 10 should 10, 20 will be 20, 70 will be 70. Then measure gamma sweep. If the adjustment is a long way out..ie you want 2.2 and it's pretty even at 2.0 or 2.4 all the way across go to the lumagens GAMMA adjustment and use that to get more of it at 2.2 ish...then do the greyscale using the multi-point stuff to fine tune gamma and rgb balance the way it's been described in posts above.

Here are the actual settings that threw me off at the beginning. Once I hit "default" the values from points 1-5 all reset, which was a relief.





In Chromapure I used the WB controls to balance RGB for each intensity so it confused me for a moment to see grayscale and gamma together in the Lumagen controls. Then AV_Mike mentioned the CP gamma module and that cleared things up.


I do have a question about setting the white point. CP says to set the White Balance using gain and offset at 80% and 20% IRE; Lumagen says use 100 IRE, and to use only the display WB controls to do this. The 2-point adjustment is quite accurate, but when I try at 100 IRE the white color point is slightly off target. What is the proper way to set the white point at 100 IRE?
Pres2play is online now  
post #1270 of 1277 Old Yesterday, 09:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gordon Fraser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: S.E. England
Posts: 1,591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 25
If you have a Lumagen then i'd set 100 percent stimulus using the rgb gains in the display...If the low stimulus points are miles out you could try doing some small adjustments in the display for them with it's two point controls...but generally i'd just do 100 in display then do the rest with the Lumagen....

Convergent-AV
ISF, Home Theater Consultants and Distribution, U.K.
Gordon Fraser is offline  
post #1271 of 1277 Old Yesterday, 11:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pres2play's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gordon Fraser View Post
If you have a Lumagen then i'd set 100 percent stimulus using the rgb gains in the display...If the low stimulus points are miles out you could try doing some small adjustments in the display for them with it's two point controls...but generally i'd just do 100 in display then do the rest with the Lumagen....

That must be my mistake there, I've been using the 10th interval of the panel's 10-pt white balance to set at 100.
Pres2play is online now  
post #1272 of 1277 Old Yesterday, 10:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Pres2play's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Adjusted color points and saved in Lumagen, but post-cal looks identical to pre-cal measurement. The Mini3D was not connected to the laptop since I was using the Lumagen controls and remote. Must the computer still be connected to the vp?




Corrections made in color management...








Post calibration result



Last edited by Pres2play; Yesterday at 10:39 PM.
Pres2play is online now  
post #1273 of 1277 Old Today, 12:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gordon Fraser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: S.E. England
Posts: 1,591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pres2play View Post
Adjusted color points and saved in Lumagen, but post-cal looks identical to pre-cal measurement. The Mini3D was not connected to the laptop since I was using the Lumagen controls and remote. Must the computer still be connected to the vp?



Looks to me like you either didn't Save your settings or you measured the Reference test patterns, not the Adjusted test patterns from the scaler for your post charts.

Convergent-AV
ISF, Home Theater Consultants and Distribution, U.K.
Gordon Fraser is offline  
post #1274 of 1277 Old Today, 06:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pres2play's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 54
I used reference: Menu>Other>Test Patterns>Reference


So reference patterns are for pre-calibration only?


I use reference WRGB to profile my i1D3 to my i1pro before each session. Am I using the correct patterns?


Thank you so much for your help
Pres2play is online now  
post #1275 of 1277 Old Today, 07:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pres2play's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 54
BTW, the gamut colors in the scaler also shows BLACK color. Is this used for flat panels?
Pres2play is online now  
post #1276 of 1277 Old Today, 09:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gordon Fraser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: S.E. England
Posts: 1,591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 25
The reference patterns do not show any adjustments that have been set in the scaler. If you are using the scaler to do calibrations then you should always use adjusted patterns as they actually show the changes you have applied in the scaler

Convergent-AV
ISF, Home Theater Consultants and Distribution, U.K.
Gordon Fraser is offline  
post #1277 of 1277 Old Today, 02:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Pres2play's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Thanks, that worked!





Inside points are slightly off in the advanced color chart. I'll try the calibration at 75% later in the week.





Grayscale looks good, too!


Pres2play is online now  
Reply Video Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off