Official Lumagen RadianceMini 3D thread. - Page 45 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 14Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1321 of 1326 Old Yesterday, 08:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ScottJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 1,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by smuggymba View Post
So, the Lumagen mini is for my Media room which will start soon.

While the media room is being built, I wanted to use Lumagen MINI to improve the quality of live TV streaming. The quality is same as before even though the output says it's 1080p. Need to know if it's possible to upscale live internet TV and if yes, what am I doing wrong.

I was hoping to improve the PQ but it's pretty much the same as before.
It sounds like you're trying to polish a turd. Your TV was doing the upscaling previously. Now the Radiance is doing the upscaling. I would expect the difference to be marginal. There are a few noise-reduction settings that might help, but it's going to be small.

It reminds me of a family friend who bought this and expected to get an HD-quality picture from an SD broadcast. Not gonna happen.
ScottJ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1322 of 1326 Old Yesterday, 08:46 PM
Senior Member
 
smuggymba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottJ View Post
It sounds like you're trying to polish a turd. Your TV was doing the upscaling previously. Now the Radiance is doing the upscaling. I would expect the difference to be marginal. There are a few noise-reduction settings that might help, but it's going to be small.

It reminds me of a family friend who bought this and expected to get an HD-quality picture from an SD broadcast. Not gonna happen.
That's what I want to know. If the $900.00 TV was already doing the scaling, why buy a $1500.00 thing to do the same thing. Well at least I get to use it for scope viewing when the media room starts.

That's exactly my question - Can it upscale live SD broadcast or not? Looks like the answer is No.
smuggymba is offline  
post #1323 of 1326 Old Yesterday, 09:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ScottJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 1,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by smuggymba View Post
That's what I want to know. If the $900.00 TV was already doing the scaling, why buy a $1500.00 thing to do the same thing. Well at least I get to use it for scope viewing when the media room starts.

That's exactly my question - Can it upscale live SD broadcast or not? Looks like the answer is No.
Yes of course it can, that's exactly what it's doing, as was your tv before. But scaling cannot create detail that isn't there. All it can do is magnify the low-resolution source.

You're right, it's crazy to buy a Radiance for this purpose alone, because there's not much it can do to help.
ScottJ is offline  
post #1324 of 1326 Old Yesterday, 09:13 PM
Senior Member
 
smuggymba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottJ View Post
Yes of course it can, that's exactly what it's doing, as was your tv before. But scaling cannot create detail that isn't there. All it can do is magnify the low-resolution source.

You're right, it's crazy to buy a Radiance for this purpose alone, because there's not much it can do to help.
Thanks.

The purpose of the Lumagen Mini is to be video processor for the media room. Since media room is not ready yet, I wanted to see how it works with plugging it to a TV. It's ok if it didn't work out.

One question though - Why do we call it up-scaling if it can't add in details? Zooming is not up-scaling...right. It did say up-scaling from 480/720p to 1080p. Anyway, that's not why I bought it Just curious.
smuggymba is offline  
post #1325 of 1326 Old Yesterday, 10:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ScottJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 1,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by smuggymba View Post
One question though - Why do we call it up-scaling if it can't add in details? Zooming is not up-scaling...right. It did say up-scaling from 480/720p to 1080p. Anyway, that's not why I bought it Just curious.
Digital zoom is exactly upscaling. It's creating new pixels, from 480 up to 1080 (vertically), by interpolating between the pixels it has. But how would it create any more detail? Those details are gone, either never recorded (if it was originally 480) or lost when it was downconverted to 480.

It's like trying to blow up 8mm home movie film to a movie-theater-size screen. It's going to look like crap no matter how fancy your lenses are.
ScottJ is offline  
post #1326 of 1326 Old Today, 09:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 2,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Official Lumagen RadianceMini 3D thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by smuggymba View Post
Source = Roku live TV (some international channels for which I have a subscription)

This is your problem here. Probably already up converted from 480i or 576i sources and then heavily compressed for the Internet. You need better quality source material if you're going to put this on a big screen it will look even worse.

- AVStefan
If you like someone's post, just use the Like button to give thanks.
AVfile is offline  
Reply Video Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off