Official Lumagen RadianceMini 3D thread. - Page 45 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 14Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-24-2014, 08:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ScottJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 1,509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by smuggymba View Post
So, the Lumagen mini is for my Media room which will start soon.

While the media room is being built, I wanted to use Lumagen MINI to improve the quality of live TV streaming. The quality is same as before even though the output says it's 1080p. Need to know if it's possible to upscale live internet TV and if yes, what am I doing wrong.

I was hoping to improve the PQ but it's pretty much the same as before.
It sounds like you're trying to polish a turd. Your TV was doing the upscaling previously. Now the Radiance is doing the upscaling. I would expect the difference to be marginal. There are a few noise-reduction settings that might help, but it's going to be small.

It reminds me of a family friend who bought this and expected to get an HD-quality picture from an SD broadcast. Not gonna happen.
ScottJ is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-24-2014, 08:46 PM
Senior Member
 
smuggymba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottJ View Post
It sounds like you're trying to polish a turd. Your TV was doing the upscaling previously. Now the Radiance is doing the upscaling. I would expect the difference to be marginal. There are a few noise-reduction settings that might help, but it's going to be small.

It reminds me of a family friend who bought this and expected to get an HD-quality picture from an SD broadcast. Not gonna happen.
That's what I want to know. If the $900.00 TV was already doing the scaling, why buy a $1500.00 thing to do the same thing. Well at least I get to use it for scope viewing when the media room starts.

That's exactly my question - Can it upscale live SD broadcast or not? Looks like the answer is No.
smuggymba is offline  
Old 11-24-2014, 09:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ScottJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 1,509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by smuggymba View Post
That's what I want to know. If the $900.00 TV was already doing the scaling, why buy a $1500.00 thing to do the same thing. Well at least I get to use it for scope viewing when the media room starts.

That's exactly my question - Can it upscale live SD broadcast or not? Looks like the answer is No.
Yes of course it can, that's exactly what it's doing, as was your tv before. But scaling cannot create detail that isn't there. All it can do is magnify the low-resolution source.

You're right, it's crazy to buy a Radiance for this purpose alone, because there's not much it can do to help.
ScottJ is online now  
Old 11-24-2014, 09:13 PM
Senior Member
 
smuggymba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottJ View Post
Yes of course it can, that's exactly what it's doing, as was your tv before. But scaling cannot create detail that isn't there. All it can do is magnify the low-resolution source.

You're right, it's crazy to buy a Radiance for this purpose alone, because there's not much it can do to help.
Thanks.

The purpose of the Lumagen Mini is to be video processor for the media room. Since media room is not ready yet, I wanted to see how it works with plugging it to a TV. It's ok if it didn't work out.

One question though - Why do we call it up-scaling if it can't add in details? Zooming is not up-scaling...right. It did say up-scaling from 480/720p to 1080p. Anyway, that's not why I bought it Just curious.
smuggymba is offline  
Old 11-24-2014, 10:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ScottJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 1,509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by smuggymba View Post
One question though - Why do we call it up-scaling if it can't add in details? Zooming is not up-scaling...right. It did say up-scaling from 480/720p to 1080p. Anyway, that's not why I bought it Just curious.
Digital zoom is exactly upscaling. It's creating new pixels, from 480 up to 1080 (vertically), by interpolating between the pixels it has. But how would it create any more detail? Those details are gone, either never recorded (if it was originally 480) or lost when it was downconverted to 480.

It's like trying to blow up 8mm home movie film to a movie-theater-size screen. It's going to look like crap no matter how fancy your lenses are.
ScottJ is online now  
Old 11-25-2014, 09:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 2,051
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Official Lumagen RadianceMini 3D thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by smuggymba View Post
Source = Roku live TV (some international channels for which I have a subscription)

This is your problem here. Probably already up converted from 480i or 576i sources and then heavily compressed for the Internet. You need better quality source material if you're going to put this on a big screen it will look even worse.

- AVStefan
If you like someone's post, just use the Like button to give thanks.
AVfile is offline  
Old 11-26-2014, 01:58 AM
Member
 
rfpublic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVfile View Post
This is your problem here. Probably already up converted from 480i or 576i sources and then heavily compressed for the Internet. You need better quality source material if you're going to put this on a big screen it will look even worse.
Last week I was working on a very nice home theater that had the entire history of video sources upscaled by a Radiance 2144 to a Sony 4k projector. As you would expect, the Bluray player had a great image. But here is where it got interesting. I tested the Laserdisk Player, the VHS, and the Beta Player. All of these low res video sources were a bit grainy. But I thought that the Radiance did a very nice job of scaling them up to a watchable 130 inch 4k@60Hz image.

I say that you should hook up the Radiance Mini to your 42 inch TV. It will be fun and you will get a chance to play with your new video processor. The Mini has mosquito noise reduction that will help clean up the compressed video from your cable or sat box. If possible, set your video sources to output everything at the native resolution. Then use the Mini scale the video up to the native resolution of your TV (1080p?). This will give you a better image, even on a small TV.

Randy
rfpublic is offline  
Old Today, 02:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pres2play's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrp View Post
I just want to let people know that we are discontinuing the RadianceMini and have only a few left. If you are considering a purchase of a RadianceMini-3D, you will have to move quickly.

After the few RadianceMini-3D units we have are sold out, the recently introduced Radiance 2020 would be the alternative to consider. The Radiance 2020 has more inputs, a second output, improved pipeline accuracy, a larger CMS 3D LUT (9x9x9), and Darbee DVP(TM) image enhancement. Information on the Radiance 2020 is on our website at lumagen.com.

Sorry to hear that Jim, great item. Is there a trade-in option for those who wish to upgrade to a Radiance 2020?


Also, in light of the 4 HDMI inputs, I'd imagine virtual inputs do not exist on 2020.

OLED Display: Samsung S9C
Pres2play is offline  
Old Today, 11:44 AM
jrp
AVS Special Member
 
jrp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
Posts: 1,061
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pres2play View Post
... Is there a trade-in option for those who wish to upgrade to a Radiance 2020? Also, in light of the 4 HDMI inputs, I'd imagine virtual inputs do not exist on 2020.
Anyone with a current video processor (including non-Lumagen units) can contact us at sales@lumagen.com for information on trade-in values for upgrading to one the current Radiance processors. Please include the video processor model you are interested in trading in, the Radiance model(s) you are interested in upgrading to, and the name of your dealer if you are working with one. We will get back to you with options and trade in values.

If you prefer call us at 503-574-2211 and select the sales option. Note that our normal business hours are 9 AM to 5 PM Pacific time, Monday through Friday.

===

The Radiance 2020 has Virtual Inputs, but is limited to four (same as the 2021 it is based on). So you could, for example, assign all four inputs to physical input 1.

Jim Peterson
Lumagen
jrp is online now  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off