VP30 "Load .abt file now .. " message on first powering up - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 10-30-2011, 04:44 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Tassie Devil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Dilston, Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I've gone crosseyed Googling for answers to this and suspect it might be a power supply problem but am not sure. I took the power supply apart and can see nothing wrong with the caps. Replacing them looks a nightmare anyway with lots of gobs of white glue everywhere. But it might not be the PS.

I did get as copy of 1.14 firmware and connected to the VP30 from the laptop using the tera_term program via a U232-P9 USB converter. It took awhile to go in and everything then seemed ok. Switch off and on again -> no problem.

But after a complete power down (not just at the front of the VP30) two hours later the old message appeared once again.

Now this fault first occurred out of the blue on first power on so either the PS will not offer enough juice to kick start the processor or there is a memory problem (something BTW I can relate to these days).

All suggestions gratefully received

John

A hi-fi & video nut for 50+ years!
Tassie Devil is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 10-30-2011, 04:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Fudoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 1,338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
It's a known problem with the USB converter.

Find a physical RS232 port, either on a older PC or notebook. Some current mainboards offer a RS232 header internally, so you just need a breakout cable.

Once you have found one, you just start Teraterm and it will resume the update on the VP30.
Fudoh is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 10-30-2011, 05:29 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Tassie Devil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Dilston, Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fudoh View Post

It's a known problem with the USB converter.

Find a physical RS232 port, either on a older PC or notebook. Some current mainboards offer a RS232 header internally, so you just need a breakout cable.

Once you have found one, you just start Teraterm and it will resume the update on the VP30.

Thanks for that.

But why did it flip to give that message in the first place? It was operating fine, then had a fit on powering on, refused to operate and displayed that message. Nothing odd was done to it previously.

John

A hi-fi & video nut for 50+ years!
Tassie Devil is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 10-30-2011, 06:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Fudoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 1,338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
can't say for sure, but a complete power cycle is recommended after any update.
If the VP30 prompts for another upload after booting up, it's safe to say that something with the initial upload went wrong (checksum for example).
Fudoh is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 10-31-2011, 07:42 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Tassie Devil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Dilston, Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ken kindly gave me the answer. His message:

To check if the VP30 has the current firmware, press the “Info” button on the remote control. The info screen will show what firmware version is currently loaded. It should be v1.14.
Try resetting the unit:

1. Disconnect the power from the back of unit.
2. Press and hold “menu” and “exit” buttons on the front panel while reconnecting power.
3. Continue to hold buttons for 3 seconds then release.

The unit will reset to factory default.

So yes, that all worked fine with the correct firmware installed.

John

A hi-fi & video nut for 50+ years!
Tassie Devil is offline  
Reply Video Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off