Will an upscaler(Dvdo Edge)work for me? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 12-15-2011, 07:11 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
keywhiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
New to this forum and to HDTV in general. I hope this question hasn't already been asked and answered a thousand times here, so I'll try to keep it simple and brief. Here's my system:

Toshiba 40FT2U LCD 1080p/60 HZ monitor
Yamaha RX-V471 receiver
Sony BDP-S580 Blu-Ray/DVD player
Magnavox DVR from cable provider (Charter)

Everything is connected via HDMI cables.

Certainly not a high-end system, but I'm very pleased with the picture quality of the DVD and HiDef TV stations. The problem is I live in a semi-rural area and the cable provider only provides a small number of HD channels. The SD channels don't really look even as good as they did on my old CRT television.

Will the Dvdo Edge improve the video quality of these signals substantially with the equipment I have? Does it actually bring them close to the HD/1080p quality I'm getting now?

Is there other equipment that would do the same thing better/cheaper? I've heard of receivers that have built-in upscaling. Might I do better to return the receiver I have and put the money I'd spend on an upscaler towards one of those?

Thanks in advance for any and all responses!
keywhiz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 12-15-2011, 07:16 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
jackox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: France
Posts: 633
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The EDGE might help bu won't do any miracles.
Also its noise reduction filter is not very effecient.

You should get better results using an Algolith Flea or Mosquito (beware, these come either YUV either HDMI).
You might have kuck looking on Ebay.
jackox is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 12-15-2011, 01:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DonoMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 3,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yeah, I was going to recommend those Algolith units as well. Also, HQV and VXP both have better noise reduction than ABT (when it's implemented - don't buy a receiver with Reon and expect it to do a good job with this - not sure about the newer receivers with Vida). ABT stuff only does deringing ("mosquito noise reduction") which is better than nothing but unacceptable in the higher priced products. I don't blame them for it in the Edge due to the low price, but it's unacceptable in the iScan Duo, for example.

"Vintage" is good for wine, not for A/V equipment.

-Dan D.
DonoMan is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 12-15-2011, 02:19 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
keywhiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what sort of results can I expect with one of these units?
keywhiz is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 12-15-2011, 02:47 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
jackox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: France
Posts: 633
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Awesome results with a Flea HDMI.

I reviewed one years ago and I was blown away !
I had a VPS3800 at that time and if I was not running SDI I would have had the Flea in my setup.
So sad Algolith is no longer ...
jackox is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 12-17-2011, 05:00 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Is the flea still available?

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
joerod is online now  
post #7 of 9 Old 12-17-2011, 09:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Anthony A.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada EH?
Posts: 2,539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

Is the flea still available?

Only used. They are out of business for a few years.

Dedicated Theater Construction Thread

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Home Automation Construction Thread

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Anthony A. is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 12-17-2011, 10:05 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anthony A. View Post

Only used. They are out of business for a few years.

Figures. I would love to try one. Thanks.

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
joerod is online now  
post #9 of 9 Old 12-18-2011, 11:37 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 112
I will check ebay from time to time.

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
joerod is online now  
Reply Video Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off