Dilema, receiver has a QDEO processor, projector has Reon HQV... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 12-27-2011, 11:24 PM - Thread Starter
EJ
AVS Special Member
 
EJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Minot, ND
Posts: 2,779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have not used either, as the Onkyo is new, and I just ordered the Epson projector with the Reon processor. I had planned to have the Onkyo scale everything to 1080p to the projector. Does anyone know if the processor in the Epson can be turned off?

My first thought is to try it with both on. Any ideas would be appreciated.

Former USSB uplink operator.
EJ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 12-28-2011, 08:11 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Josh Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Planet Boston, source of the spice, Melange.
Posts: 20,091
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 358
If you scale to 1080p in the receiver, there will be nothing for the projector to scale. This will effectively bypass the processing in the projector. It will only kick in if you feed the projector something less than the native resolution.

Both QDEO and Reon are good scaling solutions. You should get good results no matter which you decide to use.

Josh Z
Writer/Editor, High-Def Digest (
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
)
Curator,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


My opinions are my own, and do not necessarily reflect those of my employers.

Josh Z is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 12-28-2011, 01:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rovingtravler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Clovis, NM
Posts: 1,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Very true as stated above.

You cannot turn off the processor. This is because of many things. If you use keystone, guess what you are using, the video processor. Depending on the machine when you adjust the brightness or contrast that to can be the video processor, etc etc.

David

"You buy a Ferrari when you want to be somebody. You buy a Lamborghini when you are somebody." - Frank Sinatra
rovingtravler is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 12-28-2011, 11:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kilian.ca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ex-50Hz, now 60Hz
Posts: 1,901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
If you turn off (or remove) the video processor there will be no video, sounds reasonable?

Even when you feed the display 1080p, you might still need the vp to do colour space conversion, chroma upsampling, frame rate duplication (for 24p) and of course the usual picture adjustments. There might also be background non-defeatable video processing going on and some degree of overscan unless there is a way to disable that.

Audiosceptics accept audio trials using 25 people. A recent Oxford study with over 353,000 patient records from 639 separate clinical trials shows for every 1,000 people taking diclofenac or ibuprofen there would be 3 additional heart attacks, 4 more cases of heart failure and 1 death every year.

Kilian.ca is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 01-05-2012, 01:27 AM - Thread Starter
EJ
AVS Special Member
 
EJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Minot, ND
Posts: 2,779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks everyone. I'll use both and give it a try.

Former USSB uplink operator.
EJ is offline  
Reply Video Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off