Darbee vision darblet - Page 141 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 229Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4201 of 9354 Old 10-11-2012, 04:40 PM
Member
 
hrc4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: sweden
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
hi!
issues here.. frown.gif¨ only in 3d material....
when darbee in hdmi chain screen goes blank now and then?.....tried everything i can think off...(even hdmi extender inbetween)
oppo93->darbee-> epson tw9000
tried different hdmi cables without luck.... =/
even with 3d approved cables....
without darbee no issues...
faulty darbee??
/H
hrc4u is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4202 of 9354 Old 10-11-2012, 07:37 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
sdrucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,953
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 610 Post(s)
Liked: 405
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post

Regarding the Harmony DB, not when I looked several weeks ago. However, it only takes a few minutes to learn the commands, since there are so few.

It's there now. I found it under 'Audio/Video Switch', 'Darbee Vision' manufacturer, and the 'DVP 5000' model, with the latest Harmony software (7.7.0) and installed it on my Harmony 900 a couple of days ago. Try doing the network update and see if it turns up.

The menu could be organized better--more Darbee and less Darbee fit on separate pages:(.

Audio Gear: Trinnov Altitude 16/24, NAD M27 and Wyred4Sound MMC-7 amps
Display: Panasonic VT50, Lumagen Radiance Mini. Misc.: Oppo 103, Samsung K8500 UHD player, JRiver
Speakers: PSB Imagine T2, Center, Imagine T Wides and Side Surrounds, Imagine S rear surrounds,
PSB Imagine XA Dolby AE Speakers (4), HSU ULS-15 subs (2) - 9.2.4
sdrucker is offline  
post #4203 of 9354 Old 10-11-2012, 08:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
henrich3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,548
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 569 Post(s)
Liked: 490
Quote:
Originally Posted by hrc4u View Post

hi!
issues here.. frown.gif¨ only in 3d material....
when darbee in hdmi chain screen goes blank now and then?.....tried everything i can think off...(even hdmi extender inbetween)
oppo93->darbee-> epson tw9000
tried different hdmi cables without luck.... =/
even with 3d approved cables....
without darbee no issues...
faulty darbee??

Is the Deep Color option in the Oppo's HDMI menu turned off?
henrich3 is offline  
post #4204 of 9354 Old 10-12-2012, 03:49 AM
Member
 
hrc4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: sweden
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by henrich3 View Post

Is the Deep Color option in the Oppo's HDMI menu turned off?

hi! mm yes i tried with deep color off...no difference...
i'm out of ideas... =(
/H
hrc4u is offline  
post #4205 of 9354 Old 10-12-2012, 07:26 AM
Member
 
hrc4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: sweden
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarbeeDr View Post

Sorry to hear about this issue.
We will work with Oppo to determine the cause.
Please stay tuned.
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1399154/darbee-vision-darblet/510#post_22127105

hi!
did you resolve this issue?
i have the exact same problem frown.gif
oppo93->darbee v3->epson tw9000 (6010)
/Harry
hrc4u is offline  
post #4206 of 9354 Old 10-12-2012, 08:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
barrelbelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,216
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 272 Post(s)
Liked: 380
I got the green light from the Mrs. I will be getting the Darbee for Christmas this year. I Can't wait. I've never owned a video processor before. Though I've owned every audio one of substance, all the way back to the 1970's. Some were great. Some were awful. I was moved to buy Darbee because of the impressive reviews by very credible, critical and skeptical people on this forum and elsewhere.

Question? Has anyone, or even DrDarbee, who owns a Darbee Darblet used it with a PS3, XBox 360 Nintendo Wii or HTPC Game? Was there any signal lag? were there any color space distortion or anomalies? Were there obvious and substantial visual graphic image improvements? Under which settings...POP...HD? Any thoughts about using this technology as an end of the chaingraphic imaging device in a state of the art gaming PC rig & gaming console in a PC/game room setup?
barrelbelly is offline  
post #4207 of 9354 Old 10-12-2012, 08:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 8,090
Mentioned: 161 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2621 Post(s)
Liked: 1973
IScan Duo, Darbee, LG55LHX, Calman 5RC3a, Spectracal C6 profiled off NonEn i1Pro.
Calibration a litlle smoother with Darbee set at HD 50%. Before calibration - Max HD 60%, after calibration Max HD 80%.
Also, on AutoCal CMS, without Darbee on, Blue was just over the 3% line. With Darbee on, Blue now below the 3% line.
Will view the results tonight.

UN65HU9000 with SEK-3500U - Mine
UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U / UN32EH5300 / 2 X LG 55LHXs - wife's ! New addition UN40J5200AF
PN64F8500 up for sale
p5browne is offline  
post #4208 of 9354 Old 10-12-2012, 08:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
desertdome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Elkhorn, NE
Posts: 3,147
Mentioned: 156 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1022 Post(s)
Liked: 1075
Quote:
Originally Posted by barrelbelly View Post

Was there any signal lag?
If you search the thread for lag you will find that user's haven't experienced any lag when gaming. Here is the the answer from DarbeeDr earlier in the thread:
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarbeeDr 
I have answered this a couple of times, mostly for those interested in video gaming and audio sync.

Another way to put the answer is this:

The HDMI 1.4 spec demands 165 MHz for 1080p/60fps, or put another way, allows 165,000,000 ops/sec.

Since we pass a (10bit/color channel) pixel to the output within this specification, we are putting pixels (first in, first out) across our circuit with a total latency of 3 microseconds.

The latency is inconsequential for any human factors of perception for image or audio, even for video gaming.

High Impact AV
- ISF Level II Video Calibrator, THX-HAA Level III Audio Designer/Calibrator
- Colorimetry Research CR-250 Spectroradiometer & CR-100 Colorimeter
- Murideo Fresco SIX-G/SIX-A Generator/Analyzer (HDMI 2.x, HDR, UHD)
- ACO Pacific and Earthworks Class 1 microphones
desertdome is offline  
post #4209 of 9354 Old 10-12-2012, 08:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
Texas steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Houoston Tx
Posts: 597
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12

Ordered my Darbee today.     planning on the output of the D2v to my Panny 7000 on a 106" screen.    Inputs are Oppo 83 and DTV.  Regarding settings and potential issues  - for Oppo I should turn off Deep Color.   Any other thoughts/adjustments?


Texas Steve
Texas steve is offline  
post #4210 of 9354 Old 10-12-2012, 08:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nickbuol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Marion, Iowa
Posts: 2,632
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 498 Post(s)
Liked: 568
Don't laugh, but I borrowed Battleship from a co-worker yesterday, and ignoring the horrible acting, script, plot and such, it was a clean image, and with the Darblet turned on, it was super sharp and a great picture.
nickbuol is offline  
post #4211 of 9354 Old 10-12-2012, 11:40 AM
Senior Member
 
roknrol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by hrc4u View Post

hi! mm yes i tried with deep color off...no difference...
i'm out of ideas... =(
/H

Have you tried different 3D material? Especially content you know was working fine on your system before the Darbee?
roknrol is offline  
post #4212 of 9354 Old 10-12-2012, 12:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
flint350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Baltimore, Md.
Posts: 2,197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 30

I recently added a Mede8er 1000X3D media player to my chain and the Darblet will not pass the video from it for some reason.  All other components work (Oppo BD-93, Denon AVR4520CI, PS3, Roku, Epson 6010) and the Mede8er works when the Darblet is removed.  So, it is probably an issue btwn the Darblet and the Mede8er.  I have looked at the video settings in the Mede8er and can't find anything that should be problematic with the Darblet.  Having to remove it from the system to play media files on the hdd in the Mede8er is inconvenient and I am hoping to find a resolution to this.


Ray
"You cannot reason a person out of a position he did not reason himself into in the first place." -Jonathan Swift
flint350 is offline  
post #4213 of 9354 Old 10-12-2012, 12:28 PM
Member
 
phxdsrtrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Received my Darbee yesterday. Watched my two primary sources, Directv and my Pioneer Elite blue ray player on my Samsung 64" plasma. Decided on HD 65% for my viewing preferences. The improved contrast and perception of increased detail and focus made the purchase well worth while. Just my 2 cents, but another thumbs up for the Darbee.

-Curtiss
phxdsrtrat is offline  
post #4214 of 9354 Old 10-12-2012, 12:32 PM
Member
 
hrc4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: sweden
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by roknrol View Post

Have you tried different 3D material? Especially content you know was working fine on your system before the Darbee?

yes i tried couple of different titles..all play fine without darbee in chain...will do some more testing tonight..but
isn't promising ...
/H
hrc4u is offline  
post #4215 of 9354 Old 10-12-2012, 04:48 PM
Member
 
hrc4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: sweden
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
knock on wood!....did a factory reset on the oppo..and watched 30mins of 3d without issues....so far so good.. smile.gif
(no clue though what have been the issue in oppo)
cheers!....time for a whisky to celebrate!....maybe to early...but im positive... smile.gif
/H
hrc4u is offline  
post #4216 of 9354 Old 10-12-2012, 04:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blastermaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sunny Okanagan
Posts: 1,765
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 413 Post(s)
Liked: 515
Watched Prometheus 3D last night with the Darblet at 50% HD and it was truly fantastic, especially the opening scene. This movie is eye candy and is a great show-off for the Darblet. I'm very content with my purchase!

Video: Optoma HD3300, Panamorph UH480, Darbee Darblet, Samsung BD D6700 Blu Ray player, DIY Seymour Centerstage XD 138" Curved Screen
LCR - Tannoy DC12i, Sides - Tannoy IW63, Rears - Tannoy Saturn DC6ti Bookshelf, Ceilings - Tannoy CMS 603DC (TF), Tannoy CMS 601DC (TR), 3 Micro Marty/1 Full Marty DIY subs
Amplification: Emotiva XPA-3, Emotiva XPA-2, Outlaw Audio 7700, 2x Inuke 6000DSP
Receiver: Anthem MRX 720
blastermaster is offline  
post #4217 of 9354 Old 10-12-2012, 04:57 PM
Member
 
hrc4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: sweden
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by blastermaster View Post

Watched Prometheus 3D last night with the Darblet at 50% HD and it was truly fantastic, especially the opening scene. This movie is eye candy and is a great show-off for the Darblet. I'm very content with my purchase!

yeah also watched it earlier this week...not any pop out ..but nice 3d depth anyway... =)
hrc4u is offline  
post #4218 of 9354 Old 10-12-2012, 05:02 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 29,088
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4810 Post(s)
Liked: 2838
Quote:
Originally Posted by barrelbelly View Post

I got the green light from the Mrs. I will be getting the Darbee for Christmas this year. I Can't wait. I've never owned a video processor before. Though I've owned every audio one of substance, all the way back to the 1970's. Some were great. Some were awful. I was moved to buy Darbee because of the impressive reviews by very credible, critical and skeptical people on this forum and elsewhere.
Question? Has anyone, or even DrDarbee, who owns a Darbee Darblet used it with a PS3, XBox 360 Nintendo Wii or HTPC Game? Was there any signal lag? were there any color space distortion or anomalies? Were there obvious and substantial visual graphic image improvements? Under which settings...POP...HD? Any thoughts about using this technology as an end of the chaingraphic imaging device in a state of the art gaming PC rig & gaming console in a PC/game room setup?

I've had zero issues with signal lag while gaming on my Xbox 360 with my Darblet in the HDMI chain.

53TB unRAID2--41TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
Sony 65x850C--Samsung UBD-K8500--Sony HT-NT3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #4219 of 9354 Old 10-12-2012, 06:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fight4yu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 1,736
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickbuol View Post

Don't laugh, but I borrowed Battleship from a co-worker yesterday, and ignoring the horrible acting, script, plot and such, it was a clean image, and with the Darblet turned on, it was super sharp and a great picture.

I got it from netflix yesterday, and yes, great CG and make Darbee looks very sharp! Agree that plot is ....rolleyes.gif
fight4yu is offline  
post #4220 of 9354 Old 10-12-2012, 09:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
barrelbelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,216
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 272 Post(s)
Liked: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

I've had zero issues with signal lag while gaming on my Xbox 360 with my Darblet in the HDMI chain.

Thanks for the feedback. Did you notice any visible improvement in gaming that was comparable to movies or Broadcast? Or did the XBox just look the same?
barrelbelly is offline  
post #4221 of 9354 Old 10-12-2012, 09:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dmusoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bridgeport, CT
Posts: 2,767
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 227 Post(s)
Liked: 124

I received and installed the Darbee in my system last night and after a few glitches(confused input and output ports), i got things working and settled on Game mode at 55% so far when i watched the VP debates and streaming Prometheus today from VUDU. The picture was sharp. I tried HD mode but with picture motion and sitting 14-ft away from my 60" plasma TV, it was tough to see the changes. With Game mode at 50% - 55%, the visuals are good, maybe a tad too sharp for now.

 

My chain is Oppo95 + Moxi DVR ---> Anthem D2v ----> Darbee -----> Pioneer PRO-151 FD

 

Problem ...

 

I often loose video and get a black/blank screen when i turn off and on my Anthem pre-pro or when i switch to another HDMI input. I have to do a 'silly dance' which involves toggling multiple HDMI inputs back and forth until a picture shows. Most times i get audio and sometimes i loose it. What to do??? MY system is HDMI 1.3 compliant so no ARC channels involved.

 

I have an EQ'd 50-ft Redmere cable and tried installing the Darblet at the TV side and at the source side with similar results.


How to phase match subwoofers to the mains speakers: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...0#post19542630
dmusoke is offline  
post #4222 of 9354 Old 10-12-2012, 09:38 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 14,235
Mentioned: 143 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5903 Post(s)
Liked: 3313
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdrucker View Post

  •  
  •  
  •  
It's there now. I found it under 'Audio/Video Switch', 'Darbee Vision' manufacturer, and the 'DVP 5000' model, with the latest Harmony software (7.7.0) and installed it on my Harmony 900 a couple of days ago. Try doing the network update and see if it turns up.
The menu could be organized better--more Darbee and less Darbee fit on separate pages:(.

 

Nice, Stuart!  This saved me the time to program the bedroom Harmony,

AustinJerry is offline  
post #4223 of 9354 Old 10-12-2012, 11:18 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
sdrucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,953
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 610 Post(s)
Liked: 405
^^ You're welcome! I replaced an old Harmony One with the 900 for the RF, and found it when I was doing the initial setup and software upgrade. They must have added it pretty recently.

Meanwhile I've learned to love the Darbee--the wife noticed the 'pop' on Joe Biden when we were watching the debate last night (insert your own punch line there LOL). I guess it's a keeper...

Audio Gear: Trinnov Altitude 16/24, NAD M27 and Wyred4Sound MMC-7 amps
Display: Panasonic VT50, Lumagen Radiance Mini. Misc.: Oppo 103, Samsung K8500 UHD player, JRiver
Speakers: PSB Imagine T2, Center, Imagine T Wides and Side Surrounds, Imagine S rear surrounds,
PSB Imagine XA Dolby AE Speakers (4), HSU ULS-15 subs (2) - 9.2.4
sdrucker is offline  
post #4224 of 9354 Old 10-13-2012, 01:40 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 23,496
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 590 Post(s)
Liked: 457
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickbuol View Post

Don't laugh, but I borrowed Battleship from a co-worker yesterday, and ignoring the horrible acting, script, plot and such, it was a clean image, and with the Darblet turned on, it was super sharp and a great picture.

This movie is awesome demo material. Especially for sound with DTS NEO X! eek.gif

On my newer 1000 projector I have to keep the Darblet at about 44. The Sony's RC is much more aggressive and it turns into to much of a good thing pretty quickly when going higher on he Darblet.

My Sony 5000ES Review PART 2 FINISHED:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1462841668379
joerod is offline  
post #4225 of 9354 Old 10-13-2012, 04:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
G-Rex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: MA
Posts: 1,508
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmusoke View Post

I received and installed the Darbee in my system last night and after a few glitches(confused input and output ports), i got things working and settled on Game mode at 55% so far when i watched the VP debates and streaming Prometheus today from VUDU. The picture was sharp. I tried HD mode but with picture motion and sitting 14-ft away from my 60" plasma TV, it was tough to see the changes. With Game mode at 50% - 55%, the visuals are good, maybe a tad too sharp for now.

My chain is Oppo95 + Moxi DVR ---> Anthem D2v ----> Darbee
> Pioneer PRO-151 FD

Problem ...

I often loose video and get a black/blank screen when i turn off and on my Anthem pre-pro or when i switch to another HDMI input. I have to do a 'silly dance' which involves toggling multiple HDMI inputs back and forth until a picture shows. Most times i get audio and sometimes i loose it. What to do??? MY system is HDMI 1.3 compliant so no ARC channels involved.

I have an EQ'd 50-ft Redmere cable and tried installing the Darblet at the TV side and at the source side with similar results.

Redmere hdmi cables do not like breaks in the chain. They are designed to go directly from source to tv or projector or issues may arise. I was told this directly by Cable Mart.
G-Rex is offline  
post #4226 of 9354 Old 10-13-2012, 07:18 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 29,088
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4810 Post(s)
Liked: 2838
Quote:
Originally Posted by barrelbelly View Post

Thanks for the feedback. Did you notice any visible improvement in gaming that was comparable to movies or Broadcast? Or did the XBox just look the same?

Yes there was an improvement.

53TB unRAID2--41TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
Sony 65x850C--Samsung UBD-K8500--Sony HT-NT3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #4227 of 9354 Old 10-13-2012, 09:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mr.G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sconi
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 589 Post(s)
Liked: 303
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmusoke View Post

Problem ...

I often loose video and get a black/blank screen when i turn off and on my Anthem pre-pro or when i switch to another HDMI input. I have to do a 'silly dance' which involves toggling multiple HDMI inputs back and forth until a picture shows. Most times i get audio and sometimes i loose it. What to do??? MY system is HDMI 1.3 compliant so no ARC channels involved.

I have an EQ'd 50-ft Redmere cable and tried installing the Darblet at the TV side and at the source side with similar results.

I've read that the EQ chips in the Redmere cable consume at the minimum 75ma, so it may be that you've reached a borderline point in your signal voltage.

My Denon 2309CI HDMI output is rated at 5V > Darbee (5V power plug) > Monoprice 1x2 (5V) powered splitter > 40 foot (Bluejeans) HDMI cable to projector + 6 foot HDMI to plasma HDTV. I've never had a problem with the signal strength.


All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Kindergarten Movies
Mr.G is offline  
post #4228 of 9354 Old 10-13-2012, 10:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Crabalocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,242
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by barrelbelly View Post

I got the green light from the Mrs. I will be getting the Darbee for Christmas this year. I Can't wait. I've never owned a video processor before. Though I've owned every audio one of substance, all the way back to the 1970's. Some were great. Some were awful. I was moved to buy Darbee because of the impressive reviews by very credible, critical and skeptical people on this forum and elsewhere.
Question? Has anyone, or even DrDarbee, who owns a Darbee Darblet used it with a PS3, XBox 360 Nintendo Wii or HTPC Game? Was there any signal lag? were there any color space distortion or anomalies? Were there obvious and substantial visual graphic image improvements? Under which settings...POP...HD? Any thoughts about using this technology as an end of the chaingraphic imaging device in a state of the art gaming PC rig & gaming console in a PC/game room setup?

I use my Darbee with my PS3 and my 8500ub/8350. There is a bit of a difference in shadowed areas but don't really notice a huge difference compared to blu-ray. I play MW3 and NHL 13 and don't notice much with my setup. Again, I notice a lot when watching Blu-rays.

I don't notice much lag but again I have sloth like reflexes. My KD for MW3 is around 1.8 so lag is not all that bad. I use both the 8500Ub and 8350 for gaming and can't tell the difference between the two in lag time.

I'm thinking of getting the BenQ w7000 that's on sale at Costco. Will I notice a difference between LCD and DLP for gaming?
Crabalocker is offline  
post #4229 of 9354 Old 10-13-2012, 11:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blastermaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sunny Okanagan
Posts: 1,765
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 413 Post(s)
Liked: 515
Quote:
Will I notice a difference between LCD and DLP for gaming?

DLP doesn't suffer the motion blur typically associated with LCD. That said, I have a DLP projector and a LCD tv and both are fantastic for gaming, imho. You will notice a significant increase in sharpness with the BenQ, though, as it is a super sharp projector. Oh, and DLP 3D is complete and utter awesomesauce. Way, way, better than the theater and anything else offered for the home. You have a PS3 - the first time you play Uncharted 3 3D on your (soon to get?) BenQ you will be totally floored - it's that good.

Not supposed to mention pricing, but as per your post I've gotta say, wow! Get it.

Video: Optoma HD3300, Panamorph UH480, Darbee Darblet, Samsung BD D6700 Blu Ray player, DIY Seymour Centerstage XD 138" Curved Screen
LCR - Tannoy DC12i, Sides - Tannoy IW63, Rears - Tannoy Saturn DC6ti Bookshelf, Ceilings - Tannoy CMS 603DC (TF), Tannoy CMS 601DC (TR), 3 Micro Marty/1 Full Marty DIY subs
Amplification: Emotiva XPA-3, Emotiva XPA-2, Outlaw Audio 7700, 2x Inuke 6000DSP
Receiver: Anthem MRX 720
blastermaster is offline  
post #4230 of 9354 Old 10-13-2012, 02:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dmusoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bridgeport, CT
Posts: 2,767
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 227 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.G View Post


I've read that the EQ chips in the Redmere cable consume at the minimum 75ma, so it may be that you've reached a borderline point in your signal voltage.
My Denon 2309CI HDMI output is rated at 5V > Darbee (5V power plug) > Monoprice 1x2 (5V) powered splitter > 40 foot (Bluejeans) HDMI cable to projector + 6 foot HDMI to plasma HDTV. I've never had a problem with the signal strength.

Thanks G:

 

The HDMI standard calls for a maximum of 50mA of current draw on the +5V pin on the sink side(TV, display side). The PRA1692 used in the Redmere cables has to be under that current if its to be certified as HDMI 1.4 compliant. If the draw can be up to 75mA, then it violates the standard and doubt Redmere would get away with it from the certified HDMI testing labs since Redmere is a registered adopter at HDMI.org. This ensures its products are fully compliant to the HDMI standard.

 

You should know that these problems didn't exist before the Darblet and they disappear when i remove it from the signal path. I will try using a passive cable using the Darblet and report back.


From HDMI.org
http://www.hdmi.org/installers/longcablelengths.aspx
 

Quote:
Beware products that draw power from the +5V power line. Although these may work in certain applications, different components draw varying amount of power from that line to communicate with each other. A cable that draws power from the HDMI cable may fail when components and the active components in the cable or external booster are all drawing from the same source.

I presume the +5V AC/DC adapter is only used to power up the Darblet as its current consumption is about 100mA according to DarbeeDr, i believe (but i may be mistaken here) so the 5V on the HDMI connector pin isn't used for this purpose.


How to phase match subwoofers to the mains speakers: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...0#post19542630
dmusoke is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Video Processors

Tags
Darbeevision Darblet Hdmi Video Processor

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off