Darbee vision darblet - Page 175 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 168Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-27-2012, 02:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
ggsantafe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Solar Powered in the Land of Enchantment
Posts: 890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by karlsch View Post

Who ya gonna believe, Dr. Darbee's engineers or the User Manual Writer's engineers?? smile.gif

I've searched Dr. Darbee's posts and the closest response I can find to the 4:4:4 /4:2:2 issue is this response:
Quote:
Originally Posted by JAKEMON

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarbeeDr

I have answered this a couple of times, mostly for those interested in video gaming and audio sync.
Another way to put the answer is this:
The HDMI 1.4 spec demands 165 MHz for 1080p/60fps, or put another way, allows 165,000,000 ops/sec.
Since we pass a (10bit/color channel) pixel to the output within this specification, we are putting pixels (first in, first out) across our circuit with a total latency of 3 microseconds.
The latency is inconsequential for any human factors of perception for image or audio, even for video gaming.
-DD[/quote
Hello DD. My setup is OPPO BDP-95 to Kuro 141FD using HD Base-T hdmi over cat 6 Beldin Mediatwist. this allows me to utilize the 12bit pixel depth Deep Color setting on the OPPO and Kuro.
will this present a problem using the Darbee Darblet since it only passes a 10 bit output?

Here is the response from our engineer:

"This should not be an issue. The Darblet will accept the 12-bit input, reduce it to 10-bit internally, and then after processing kick the signal back up to 12-bit for output. This means that, when Darbee is OFF, the output will not _exactly_ match the input signal, but the difference will of course imperceptible."

-DD

I don't believe this implies that the Darbee processes internally at RGB - anyone else have any info on this question?

ggsantafe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-27-2012, 02:49 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Josh Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Planet Boston, source of the spice, Melange.
Posts: 21,734
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1538 Post(s)
Liked: 1089
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggsantafe View Post

I don't believe this implies that the Darbee processes internally at RGB - anyone else have any info on this question?

I don't know where the exact post is, but I definitely remember Dr. Darbee confirming that the Darblet processes internally at RGB.

Josh Z
Writer/Editor, High-Def Digest (Blog updated daily!)
Curator, Laserdisc Forever

My opinions are my own, and do not necessarily reflect those of my employers.

Josh Z is offline  
Old 12-27-2012, 03:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
ggsantafe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Solar Powered in the Land of Enchantment
Posts: 890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh Z View Post

I don't know where the exact post is, but I definitely remember Dr. Darbee confirming that the Darblet processes internally at RGB.


OK - I found the post #2030 where Darbee Dr provides a colorspace processing matrix. As I understand the chart - the Darbee will output the same signal that it receives. So if you send RGB it will output RGB, likewise 4:4:4 in 4:4:4 out. It seems that these changes were implemented in a previous firmware update to address problems customers were having with Lumagen products.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarbeeDr View Post

From our Engineer:
For software version 2.8.2214, firmware version 1.3.21:
Input Colorspace Internal Processing Colorspace Output Colorspace(s)
YCrCb 4:2:2 RGB Video Range YCrCb 4:2:2
YCrCb 4:4:4 RGB Video Range YCrCb 4:4:4
RGB 16-235 RGB Video Range RGB 16-235
RGB 0-255 RGB PC Range RGB 0-255
-DD
~William

ggsantafe is offline  
Old 12-27-2012, 05:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cdnscg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,013
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post

4:4:4 is also Deep Colour - Reset down to 4:2:2.

Picked up a Sony S590 which does have both deep color and 4:4:4/4:2:2/RGB settings. With the Darblet installed, the player worked, then didn't. I shut off the deep color, and set to 4:2:2. All working so far.
Not having these settings on my Samsung, I guess I'm not missing much, but, could someone explain the difference between 4:4:4 and 4:2:2. I know what deep color does, and I understand that you need a 1.4 hdmi cable to use.
I guess the deep color and/or 4:4:4 settings are a known issues with the Darblet, but do the advantages of the Darblet out way giving up deep color?
cdnscg is offline  
Old 12-27-2012, 05:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ac388's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 1,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So how do I set it on my Oppo 93 while I do not have a 3D projector nor a 1.4 Hdmi cable. Thanks.

Man see things as they were n say why. I dream of things that never were, n say why not ....... A Perfect PROJECTOR
ac388 is offline  
Old 12-27-2012, 05:53 PM
Member
 
alkemac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I appreciate what the Darbee is able to acomplish. I was under the impression that is was most effective with Blu-ray, and less effective with standard DVDs. Not so, improvement can also be discerned with DVDs. But the quality of the DVD has a bearing on the Darbee's contribution. Garbage in, garbage our, regardless of the prosessing. But improvements are discernable
.
Question: Is there a process for turning the Darbee logo (in the lower right of the screen) off once the mode and percentage is chosen?. I find it to be distracting when viewing the picture.
alkemac is offline  
Old 12-27-2012, 05:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Lee Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Central California,USA
Posts: 1,872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5150zx View Post

Contrary to what the User Manual says, the Darbee processes internally with RGB, NOT 4/4/4. Dr. Darbee posted this several pages ago after conferring with their engineers.

Well, apparently in the Home Theater article by Kris Deering it states : "The device does its processing in the Y/Cb/Cr domain.".
Maybe they need to update the online manuals!
Lee Bailey is offline  
Old 12-27-2012, 06:24 PM
Member
 
tjsbuyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Great White North
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by alkemac View Post

I appreciate what the Darbee is able to acomplish. I was under the impression that is was most effective with Blu-ray, and less effective with standard DVDs. Not so, improvement can also be discerned with DVDs. But the quality of the DVD has a bearing on the Darbee's contribution. Garbage in, garbage our, regardless of the prosessing. But improvements are discernable
.
Question: Is there a process for turning the Darbee logo (in the lower right of the screen) off once the mode and percentage is chosen?. I find it to be distracting when viewing the picture.
Yes it is in the settings menu. Took me a while to find it also.

I'm Jeff and I approve this message.
tjsbuyer is offline  
Old 12-27-2012, 06:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 5,990
Mentioned: 84 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1342 Post(s)
Liked: 1043
All this talk about 12 bit Video - where is this sourced from?
Deep Colour - haven't heard of any sources of this either at the present time.
All the 4:4:4 and Deep Colour does, is put unnecessary loads on the HDMI cables - so, if not required, don't use!

UN65HU9000 with SEK-3500U - Mine
PN64F8500 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U / UN32EH5300 / 2 X LG 55LHXs - wife's !
p5browne is offline  
Old 12-27-2012, 06:30 PM
Member
 
tjsbuyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Great White North
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
2 questions regarding this unit:
1) Is there any detriment to leaving the Darbee "On" when not in use for extended time. We always shut off other items when not in use ie) bluray player, receiver, etc.
2) Is there a discrete off code for this item?

thanks for any help, Jeff.

I'm Jeff and I approve this message.
tjsbuyer is offline  
Old 12-27-2012, 06:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JimShaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,001
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjsbuyer View Post

2 questions regarding this unit:
1) Is there any detriment to leaving the Darbee "On" when not in use for extended time. We always shut off other items when not in use ie) bluray player, receiver, etc.
2) Is there a discrete off code for this item?
thanks for any help, Jeff.

It doesn't turn off. The red light remains on. It is the blue light that turns on or off but that is determined whether a signal is coming through or not

8.3 Surround, protected by APC H15 & UPS BC750G
Speakers: SpeakerCraft: 6 AIM8 Fives & 2 TIME Fives used as Wides
Woofers: SVS PB13-Ultra (1), HSU MBM-12 MK2 (2)
Samsung UN78JS9500
Oppo 93, Denon 4311CI, Harmony 1100, 9 Noctua cooling fans, Darbee Darblet
JimShaw is offline  
Old 12-27-2012, 07:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ack_bk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Posts: 8,977
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by alkemac View Post

I appreciate what the Darbee is able to acomplish. I was under the impression that is was most effective with Blu-ray, and less effective with standard DVDs. Not so, improvement can also be discerned with DVDs. But the quality of the DVD has a bearing on the Darbee's contribution. Garbage in, garbage our, regardless of the prosessing. But improvements are discernable
.
Question: Is there a process for turning the Darbee logo (in the lower right of the screen) off once the mode and percentage is chosen?. I find it to be distracting when viewing the picture.

Yes it is under the settings. Something about the logo. I turned mine off right away.

And I agree, the better the source, the better Darbee works. I had a poorly sourced Blu-Ray and the Darbee effects (even on Hidef 45% setting) seemed to make it worse. In this case it was "noise" and EE in the source. On solid Blu-Ray transfers, the Darbee really shines. It is definitely a keeper for me, now if I could just get Comcast to work with it through my Denon...
ack_bk is offline  
Old 12-27-2012, 07:43 PM
Member
 
tjsbuyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Great White North
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimShaw View Post

It doesn't turn off. The red light remains on. It is the blue light that turns on or off but that is determined whether a signal is coming through or not
thankyou. now that I read your response my question seems dumb. should have realized that. again thanks.

I'm Jeff and I approve this message.
tjsbuyer is offline  
Old 12-27-2012, 08:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cdnscg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,013
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post

All this talk about 12 bit Video - where is this sourced from?
Deep Colour - haven't heard of any sources of this either at the present time.
All the 4:4:4 and Deep Colour does, is put unnecessary loads on the HDMI cables - so, if not required, don't use!

Nicely put, but why would the players have these settings?
cdnscg is offline  
Old 12-27-2012, 09:52 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 25,365
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2698 Post(s)
Liked: 1443
I send 12 bit 4:4:4 to my Darblet from my iScan DUO without any issues. The only issue I had was if I sent 10bit. The Darblet did not like it. But 12 bit or 8 bit was fine with the Darblet. And since the system had been calibrated several times with 4:4:4, 12 bit output, that is where it has stayed.

No idea what I will do when I start using the auto cal feature on the DUO and get a Mitusbishi DLP to replace my Sammy LED DLP.
David Susilo likes this.

53TB unRAID2--41TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
Old 12-28-2012, 04:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kelvin1965S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 3,679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdnscg View Post

Nicely put, but why would the players have these settings?

Mostly because it's just something to add to the spec list wink.gif though some displays might give better results, in general the deepcolour settings on many devices just add exttra zeros so they are purely 'padding' rather than extra 'detail'.

If you like it, then it doesn't matter what the forum says...
Kelvin1965S is offline  
Old 12-28-2012, 08:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Lee Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Central California,USA
Posts: 1,872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post

All this talk about 12 bit Video - where is this sourced from?
Deep Colour - haven't heard of any sources of this either at the present time.
All the 4:4:4 and Deep Colour does, is put unnecessary loads on the HDMI cables - so, if not required, don't use!

Unnecessary loads? If the cables are rated for high speed, then it won't be an issue. The only issue may be in a device downstream not passing on all the bits.
Lee Bailey is offline  
Old 12-28-2012, 09:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kelvin1965S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 3,679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 123
The thing is that it's a bit pointless sending the higher bit depth in the first place as it doesn't achieve anything other than higher bit rates down the cable. Given the number of people having issues with blanking or drop outs on here and on other threads, then IMHO it would be better if the deepcolour option was removed from players, etc, so the unwary don't used them thinking that they are somehow going to get a 'better' result if they do. Kind of like 'I've paid for this feature so I'm going to use it' attitude.

If you like it, then it doesn't matter what the forum says...
Kelvin1965S is offline  
Old 12-28-2012, 11:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Lee Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Central California,USA
Posts: 1,872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelvin1965S View Post

The thing is that it's a bit pointless sending the higher bit depth in the first place as it doesn't achieve anything other than higher bit rates down the cable. Given the number of people having issues with blanking or drop outs on here and on other threads, then IMHO it would be better if the deepcolour option was removed from players, etc, so the unwary don't used them thinking that they are somehow going to get a 'better' result if they do. Kind of like 'I've paid for this feature so I'm going to use it' attitude.

I can see the 'point' of your opinion. Again, if you have good quality cables, and are still getting dropouts,etc, you have some other component in the chain with an issue. Good time to figure it out, before that 4K video shows up in your system! (I hope it will NOT be using the current HDMI type cable connectors! Aren't there aftermarket locks for those?
Lee Bailey is offline  
Old 12-28-2012, 11:40 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 25,365
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2698 Post(s)
Liked: 1443
The current HDMI cables handle 4K. The current HDMI spec handles 4K so the hdmi ports should be the same. Just like the current crop of 4k capable receivers. In my use of Hdmi over the last eight years the hdmi cables always fit snugly. Sometimes too snugly. Over 100 hdmi devices and over 100 hdmi cables and I've yet to have an issue with a loose one
David Susilo likes this.

53TB unRAID2--41TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
Old 12-28-2012, 12:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
elphillips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Goodyear AZ.
Posts: 601
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 171
As I understand it deep color capability is added in to some equipment for future use when it becomes available in source material and does nothing for picture quality at this time.
tampa8 likes this.

UN75HU8550 (TSO1) with a 3500 OCB
elphillips is offline  
Old 12-28-2012, 12:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
aydu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 3,838
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 70
I'd tend to believe my eyes. If one signal type gave me problems and the other didn't - I'd use the latter.smile.gif
tampa8 likes this.
aydu is online now  
Old 12-28-2012, 05:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 5,990
Mentioned: 84 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1342 Post(s)
Liked: 1043
Deep Colour Settings have been in Electronics now for how many Years? By the time, they may even start talking about Deep Colour, all our present Electronics will have been in recycling for, again, how many years? I think it's put in, to just mess with our heads, and handshaking!

UN65HU9000 with SEK-3500U - Mine
PN64F8500 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U / UN32EH5300 / 2 X LG 55LHXs - wife's !
p5browne is offline  
Old 12-28-2012, 05:50 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 10,086
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 505 Post(s)
Liked: 526
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

I send 12 bit 4:4:4 to my Darblet from my iScan DUO without any issues. The only issue I had was if I sent 10bit. The Darblet did not like it. But 12 bit or 8 bit was fine with the Darblet. And since the system had been calibrated several times with 4:4:4, 12 bit output, that is where it has stayed.
No idea what I will do when I start using the auto cal feature on the DUO and get a Mitusbishi DLP to replace my Sammy LED DLP.

I concur regarding the 10-bit thingie. I have to bring down the colour depth to 8-bit on my WDTV Live! yet I can use 16-bit colour depth on my Elite BDP-62FD through the Darbee with no problem.

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine

my (yet to be completed) BD list
my home theatre

David Susilo is offline  
Old 12-29-2012, 12:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ack_bk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Posts: 8,977
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Well I tried swapping out the cheaper, shorter HDMI cables with the 8' Blue Jeans cables and the Comcast RNG150 box, Darbee, and my Denon receiver just will not play nice. Flashing magnetta/green screen. The Comcast box is set to 4:4:4 colorspace, and there seems to be no way to change this to 4:2:2. I tried RGB, but this setting will not stick.

I just have the Blu-Ray player hooked up to the Darbee now. Any other thoughs or options, or am I pretty much screwed?
ack_bk is offline  
Old 12-29-2012, 02:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hometheatergeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 2,421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by ack_bk View Post

Well I tried swapping out the cheaper, shorter HDMI cables with the 8' Blue Jeans cables and the Comcast RNG150 box, Darbee, and my Denon receiver just will not play nice. Flashing magnetta/green screen. The Comcast box is set to 4:4:4 colorspace, and there seems to be no way to change this to 4:2:2. I tried RGB, but this setting will not stick.
I just have the Blu-Ray player hooked up to the Darbee now. Any other thoughs or options, or am I pretty much screwed?

The setting for RGB might stick if you turn on the AVR before you turn on the display. Then when you shut down turn the display off first before you turn off the Denon.

Hometheatergeek

aka AL
----------
My Current System
hometheatergeek is offline  
Old 12-29-2012, 08:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ack_bk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Posts: 8,977
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by hometheatergeek View Post

The setting for RGB might stick if you turn on the AVR before you turn on the display. Then when you shut down turn the display off first before you turn off the Denon.

I will give that a shot, thanks.
ack_bk is offline  
Old 12-29-2012, 09:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cdnscg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,013
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 28
I've yet to have the chance to sit and play with the Darblet feeding my RS55, however, would like to know what others have found when considering their monitor or pj's sharpness/detail settings. Prior to the Darblet, I enjoyed having the RS55 set at 15 sharpness and 10 detail. Would it be advisable to leave and adjust the Darblet strength or set the pj sharpness/detail to 0 first?
cdnscg is offline  
Old 12-30-2012, 02:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kelvin1965S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 3,679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Personally I'd set the projector's controls at or very near zero. On both my JVC projectors I've found that only a notch or two above zero causes ringing and moire effect on certain patterns, so I set them low enough to avoid this. IMHO 15/10 is more than high enough to cause these issues with mine. If you look closely at edges you will see that all the sharpness control does is add a white line around a black edge (and visa versa) so isn't adding sharpness at all, just an 'etched' effect. The Darbee will give the impression of greater sharpness without causing ringing effects, so seems to be a better option for me anyway.

If you like it, then it doesn't matter what the forum says...
Kelvin1965S is offline  
Old 12-30-2012, 10:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cdnscg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,013
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelvin1965S View Post

Personally I'd set the projector's controls at or very near zero. On both my JVC projectors I've found that only a notch or two above zero causes ringing and moire effect on certain patterns, so I set them low enough to avoid this. IMHO 15/10 is more than high enough to cause these issues with mine. If you look closely at edges you will see that all the sharpness control does is add a white line around a black edge (and visa versa) so isn't adding sharpness at all, just an 'etched' effect. The Darbee will give the impression of greater sharpness without causing ringing effects, so seems to be a better option for me anyway.

Many thanks for your opinion, it's exactly what I was looking for:)
cdnscg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
Darbeevision Darblet Hdmi Video Processor
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off