Darbee vision darblet - Page 196 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 70Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5851 of 8372 Old 04-04-2013, 03:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
tampa8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Tampa/Eastern Ct
Posts: 717
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Your question was answered a few posts up, but bottom line, the only difference is the absence of 3D support, and it passes that through without the need to take the Cobalt out of the line.

I will point out you can get the original for just $10 more at Solid Signal many days. (I do not work there or know them other than having bought from them)
tampa8 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5852 of 8372 Old 04-04-2013, 04:10 PM
Member
 
Alexdad54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the confirmation, I had looked but was a bit confused if it was exactly the same minus the 3D. I took your advice and checked again and Solid Signal has an open-box Darblet for the $10 more you mentioned. Thanks!smile.gif
Alexdad54 is offline  
post #5853 of 8372 Old 04-04-2013, 07:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
tampa8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Tampa/Eastern Ct
Posts: 717
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 39
That's how I bought my second one, never a problem.
tampa8 is offline  
post #5854 of 8372 Old 04-04-2013, 08:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
erkq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5,541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 97
That's how I bought my first and only. Trouble-free.
erkq is offline  
post #5855 of 8372 Old 04-05-2013, 02:12 PM
Member
 
Otto Hemi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
I will point out you can get the original for just $10 more at Solid Signal many days. (I do not work there or know them other than having bought from them)

Not $10 more than Amazon's new price of $244 for the Cobalt. Anybody know if that's a temporary thing or likely to continue?
Otto Hemi is offline  
post #5856 of 8372 Old 04-05-2013, 02:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
erkq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5,541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Hemi View Post

Not $10 more than Amazon's new price of $244 for the Cobalt. Anybody know if that's a temporary thing or likely to continue?

Well... so now it's $25 more... still not much.
erkq is offline  
post #5857 of 8372 Old 04-05-2013, 11:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
mogrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Merica
Posts: 587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Alex, haven't seen a Cobalt perform and know zero about its electronics and programming. That said, most people on this thread would say go Darbee for all the dozens of reasons recited over these 200 pages. Good luck and let us know how it goes.


Every once in a while, quite inexplicably, things actually go according to plan.
mogrub is offline  
post #5858 of 8372 Old 04-05-2013, 11:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
erkq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5,541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by mogrub View Post

Alex, haven't seen a Cobalt perform and know zero about its electronics and programming. That said, most people on this thread would say go Darbee for all the dozens of reasons recited over these 200 pages. Good luck and let us know how it goes.

It's the same as the Darblet - the 3D.
erkq is offline  
post #5859 of 8372 Old 04-07-2013, 11:37 AM
Member
 
Alexdad54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for all the responses! I'm going to talk to the customer rep tomorrow and order the open box Darblet if it's still available then. They do say all sales are final but I searched "open box" on this thread and no one seems to have had any issues, so that's what I'll go for. I'll report back when I get it hooked up. I have only a 12 foot viewing distance so I probably will be able to see a difference quite easily! biggrin.gif
Alexdad54 is offline  
post #5860 of 8372 Old 04-07-2013, 01:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ricoflashback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexdad54 View Post

Thanks for all the responses! I'm going to talk to the customer rep tomorrow and order the open box Darblet if it's still available then. They do say all sales are final but I searched "open box" on this thread and no one seems to have had any issues, so that's what I'll go for. I'll report back when I get it hooked up. I have only a 12 foot viewing distance so I probably will be able to see a difference quite easily! biggrin.gif

FYI - I purchased an open box from Solid Signal. I'm sure there are other companies that sell "open box," as well.

I was concerned that if I had a problem, I'd be stuck. They said this - -"If it doesn't work because it's faulty, we'll replace it. You just can't return it because you don't like it!"

That closed the deal for me. And...my Darbee Darblet worked like a charm from the get go. It was packaged as if "new." I couldn't tell the difference and I've tried the Darbee before with my Samsung LCD/LED 65" TV. I ended up returning to Amazon because I really didn't see the difference in my picture on the LED.

The projector? Night and day. Some folks say using the Darbee Darblet is like "lifting the veil" off your projector. I like to think of it as going to the eye doctor and getting your eyes checked - - and if you need a correction - - one or two, three or four. That's it - - four works best! (The Darblet!) smile.gif

Home Theater Setup
Samsung UN65ES8000 LCD/LED
BenQ W1080ST Projector
Pioneer SC65 (Pre-Amp)
Wyred4Sound MMC-7 Channel Amplifier, 221wpc
OPPO 103, Directv GENIE
Darbee Darblet
ALL Paradigm - 7.1 - Studio 60's, V.2 (FL/FR)
CC-690, V.5 (C)
ADP 590 V.5 (SS)
MilleniaOne 2.0 (BS) - Velodyne 810 Sub
Ricoflashback is offline  
post #5861 of 8372 Old 04-07-2013, 03:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
mogrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Merica
Posts: 587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Playing around to see how the Darblet and Epson 6020 react to each other, in both 2D and 3D, using both Dish Network (720) and BluRay (1080) source material.

Still early in the process for me, but here are a couple thoughts in response to the PM's I've been getting asking what changes I see in the Epson's performance:

1. First take is that I'm starting to see the three processing options (HD, Gaming and Full Pop) as simply three different options that are not limited by the manufacturer's descriptions of what they do. They just seem to be three options to me, and what works "best" with any particular source material is still kind of a look and see exercise. I just don't think anyone should get hung up thinking that if you have a 1080p source, that the HD setting is necessarily the best option. It might be. It might not. Depends on content and personal preference. Fool around with all of them and don't get hung up on the names assigned to the three setting options.

2. The universal truth that I see is that the Darbee, even still clumsily operated by its new owner, adds significant detail and clarity benefits to virtually everything I watch. Yes it is often subtle, but the more you play around with it, the more you appreciate what it does. And what it does is not at all times a subtle improvement.

3. Which brings me to the Avatar 3D experience I had today. With all the CGI, I experimented more in Full Pop mode at a higher setting range (85) than I have typically used on other material. Wow. The impact was huge. Stunning depth and detail. Sort of the OMG thing you hope for, but don't dare expect. It was killer.

I went into this Darbee experiment with an open mind, as ready to be disappointed as pleased. I can already tell that I can't imagine not having the Darbee, and that it gives my projector a boost that I would only expect to see at a significantly higher price point.

Getting calibrated by Jeff Meier next week. More after that.


Every once in a while, quite inexplicably, things actually go according to plan.
mogrub is offline  
post #5862 of 8372 Old 04-07-2013, 03:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
erkq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5,541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexdad54 View Post

...
I have only a 12 foot viewing distance so I probably will be able to see a difference quite easily! biggrin.gif

It all depends on how big your screen is. Viewing distance is only half the information.
erkq is offline  
post #5863 of 8372 Old 04-07-2013, 07:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Jano18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Detroit, Michigan
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by mogrub View Post

Playing around to see how the Darblet and Epson 6020 react to each other, in both 2D and 3D, using both Dish Network (720) and BluRay (1080) source material.

Still early in the process for me, but here are a couple thoughts in response to the PM's I've been getting asking what changes I see in the Epson's performance:

1. First take is that I'm starting to see the three processing options (HD, Gaming and Full Pop) as simply three different options that are not limited by the manufacturer's descriptions of what they do. They just seem to be three options to me, and what works "best" with any particular source material is still kind of a look and see exercise. I just don't think anyone should get hung up thinking that if you have a 1080p source, that the HD setting is necessarily the best option. It might be. It might not. Depends on content and personal preference. Fool around with all of them and don't get hung up on the names assigned to the three setting options.

2. The universal truth that I see is that the Darbee, even still clumsily operated by its new owner, adds significant detail and clarity benefits to virtually everything I watch. Yes it is often subtle, but the more you play around with it, the more you appreciate what it does. And what it does is not at all times a subtle improvement.

3. Which brings me to the Avatar 3D experience I had today. With all the CGI, I experimented more in Full Pop mode at a higher setting range (85) than I have typically used on other material. Wow. The impact was huge. Stunning depth and detail. Sort of the OMG thing you hope for, but don't dare expect. It was killer.

I went into this Darbee experiment with an open mind, as ready to be disappointed as pleased. I can already tell that I can't imagine not having the Darbee, and that it gives my projector a boost that I would only expect to see at a significantly higher price point.

Getting calibrated by Jeff Meier next week. More after that.

I would be curious to hear what Jeff has to say about the Darblet in your system. I read his blog about him testing it before, but he didn't end up raving about it nor did he keep it in his system. I had Jeff calibrate my Pioneer Kuro 141 a year ago & I've been tempted to give the Darblet a test drive.
Jano18 is offline  
post #5864 of 8372 Old 04-07-2013, 09:00 PM
Member
 
Alexdad54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by erkq View Post

It all depends on how big your screen is. Viewing distance is only half the information.

I have a 92" Elite Sable ER92-WH1.
I'm very much a beginner at this having only done the WOW calibration at the s basic level but I thought I'd give the Darblet a try. after reading this thread....
Alexdad54 is offline  
post #5865 of 8372 Old 04-08-2013, 09:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
erkq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5,541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexdad54 View Post

I have a 92" Elite Sable ER92-WH1.
I'm very much a beginner at this having only done the WOW calibration at the s basic level but I thought I'd give the Darblet a try. after reading this thread....

Yup. It's quite amazing. I'm a fan of pixel-for-pixel, no "yuck" insertion video and the Darblet is the first processing device I've happily inserted in my chain. I make a distinction between "processing" and "calibration", however. I've been doing the whole calibration bit with a Radiance for a while.
erkq is offline  
post #5866 of 8372 Old 04-08-2013, 07:36 PM
 
comicguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
mentioned thhis thing to a friend and of course he poo pooed it right away as another EE device that will show ringing, blah blah blah, I can't wait to bring it to his system and plug it in...
comicguy is offline  
post #5867 of 8372 Old 04-08-2013, 07:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mtbdudex's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 4,793
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 319
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtbdudex View Post

2 Data points for darblet un-wanted re-set and display logo:

Turned on the HT, nothing unusual to the sequence, saw the logo....This happened last week (these photos) and again last night (no photos taken for that)




I have my darblet at the end of the signal chain, sitting atop my PJ as shown, the HDMI goes into it from my Denon 4520CI, then I use a 6' HDMI cable into my Sony VW60

This is an annoyance, and every time it happens I will post here and recommend others do so as data points for the manuf to study.
I work for an Auto OE and do realize the amount of HW/SW debugging needed for a robust product....for whatever reason the darblet is resetting itself w/o command from user, that is simply a bug in it and needs to be fixed.

Here it is 4 weeks later and all good until tonight, then my darblet reset itself again......adding another data point ....this is 3rd data point then in 4 weeks time.....now where is that tiny remote....
mtbdudex is online now  
post #5868 of 8372 Old 04-08-2013, 09:58 PM
Member
 
Alexdad54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by erkq View Post

Yup. It's quite amazing. I'm a fan of pixel-for-pixel, no "yuck" insertion video and the Darblet is the first processing device I've happily inserted in my chain. I make a distinction between "processing" and "calibration", however. I've been doing the whole calibration bit with a Radiance for a while.
Maybe it's my being a noob but what is "no "yuck" insertion video"?......smile.gif
Alexdad54 is offline  
post #5869 of 8372 Old 04-08-2013, 10:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
erkq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5,541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexdad54 View Post

Maybe it's my being a noob but what is "no "yuck" insertion video"?......smile.gif

Ha... sorry... many purists consider video processing such as noise reduction, sharpening, and just general enhancements of all sorts to be "yuck" that we don't want inserted into our picture. I separated this out from the calibration processing I do because I consider processing to get correct gamma, grayscale and color to not be "yuck". Deinterlacing and scaling of NTSC to HD when necessary is also OK if nicely done. So, normally I'd consider the Darblet to be "yuck" processing. Except... I saw it demo'd at a fellow AVS'er's theater and my "yuck" turned to "wow". Now I have one and am pleased as punch with my outlay for it.
erkq is offline  
post #5870 of 8372 Old 04-10-2013, 12:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
tampa8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Tampa/Eastern Ct
Posts: 717
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 39
That certainly is the overwhelming feelings of others here who would consider themselves purists, or at the least not normally attracted to devices like this.
tampa8 is offline  
post #5871 of 8372 Old 04-10-2013, 07:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rightintel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Will 4K require a redesigned model?

Xbox Live: General PATT0N
rightintel is offline  
post #5872 of 8372 Old 04-10-2013, 08:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mtbdudex's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 4,793
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 319
My Darbee did a reset again last night, ugh, why is the factory default to display the logo???

Hello, can I get this fixed?
Is anything being done on the product side?


Sent from my 32GB iPhone4 using Tapatalk
mtbdudex is online now  
post #5873 of 8372 Old 04-10-2013, 09:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
mogrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Merica
Posts: 587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jano18 View Post

I would be curious to hear what Jeff has to say about the Darblet in your system. I read his blog about him testing it before, but he didn't end up raving about it nor did he keep it in his system. I had Jeff calibrate my Pioneer Kuro 141 a year ago & I've been tempted to give the Darblet a test drive.

He'll be in Saturday and I'll post his comments once I've got things sorted.


Every once in a while, quite inexplicably, things actually go according to plan.
mogrub is offline  
post #5874 of 8372 Old 04-10-2013, 09:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
erkq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5,541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by rightintel View Post

Will 4K require a redesigned model?

You mean a new unit and not just a fw upgrade? I'd say chances are pretty close to 100%.
erkq is offline  
post #5875 of 8372 Old 04-11-2013, 09:27 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Josh Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Planet Boston, source of the spice, Melange.
Posts: 20,341
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 508 Post(s)
Liked: 426
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtbdudex View Post

My Darbee did a reset again last night, ugh, why is the factory default to display the logo???

Well, on the plus side, seeing the logo is a very quick indication that something is wrong and needs to be adjusted.

Josh Z
Writer/Editor, High-Def Digest (Blog updated daily!)
Curator, Laserdisc Forever

My opinions are my own, and do not necessarily reflect those of my employers.

Josh Z is offline  
post #5876 of 8372 Old 04-12-2013, 02:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Craig Peer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: In my home theater ( when I'm not rock climbing, cycling or kayaking ) - Sacramento CA area
Posts: 5,517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 385 Post(s)
Liked: 346
Quote:
... many purists consider video processing such as noise reduction, sharpening, and just general enhancements of all sorts to be "yuck" that we don't want inserted into our picture. I separated this out from the calibration processing I do because I consider processing to get correct gamma, grayscale and color to not be "yuck". Deinterlacing and scaling of NTSC to HD when necessary is also OK if nicely done. So, normally I'd consider the Darblet to be "yuck" processing. Except... I saw it demo'd at a fellow AVS'er's theater and my "yuck" turned to "wow". Now I have one and am pleased as punch with my outlay for it.

Nice way of putting it. I like my Darbee - one of the most interesting items I've added to my theater in the last 5 years!

Craig Peer, AV Science Sales. Call me on my direct line - 585-671-2972, 8:30am - 4:30pm PST, Monday - Friday
Email me at craig@avscience.com http://shop.avscience.com/
Yes, we sell Home Theater gear right here at AVS !!
JVC, Sony, Epson, DPI, SIM2, SV Sound, Martin Logan, RBH, and many more!
Craig Peer is offline  
post #5877 of 8372 Old 04-12-2013, 03:08 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,092
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1005 Post(s)
Liked: 839
I don't think I've ever had a device give so much bang for so little buck.

40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #5878 of 8372 Old 04-12-2013, 03:34 PM
Member
 
fishinbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: the other Washington
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just now got HD cable service from Comcast and the DVR seems to have an issue with my Darbee or vice-versa. The sound will go on and off but I'm unable to get any sort of picture. I tried different cable configs to no avail. Works just fine without the Darbee in the chain. A search of this thread told me I'm not alone in this regard so there may be a little comfort there.
Is there a fix? I have the oldest version firmware wise.
My receiver is a Pioneer Elite so I could use the Darblet for blu-ray using the second hdmi out but then I would need to change the inputs on my display each time. I also would prefer not having to buy another pair of hdmi cables not to mention enduring the looks I'm going to get from my wife when I tell her why we have to do this.tongue.gif

Edit: Problem solved by replacing the Motorola DCT 34xx, which looked like a dog bone, with the smaller better looking DCX 34xx. So now my Darblet is back at the end of the chain where it belongs.smile.gif
fishinbob is offline  
post #5879 of 8372 Old 04-12-2013, 07:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
tampa8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Tampa/Eastern Ct
Posts: 717
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh Z View Post

Well, on the plus side, seeing the logo is a very quick indication that something is wrong and needs to be adjusted.

Good point.
tampa8 is offline  
post #5880 of 8372 Old 04-12-2013, 09:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
hodges69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NC
Posts: 878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishinbob View Post

Just now got HD cable service from Comcast and the DVR seems to have an issue with my Darbee or vice-versa. The sound will go on and off but I'm unable to get any sort of picture. I tried different cable configs to no avail. Works just fine without the Darbee in the chain. A search of this thread told me I'm not alone in this regard so there may be a little comfort there.
Is there a fix? I have the oldest version firmware wise.
My receiver is a Pioneer Elite so I could use the Darblet for blu-ray using the second hdmi out but then I would need to change the inputs on my display each time. I also would prefer not having to buy another pair of hdmi cables not to mention enduring the looks I'm going to get from my wife when I tell her why we have to do this.tongue.gif


What is the length of the HDMI cables your using? seems a lot of people were reporting problems with 3" HDMI cables...iif that is the case with you,try 6'cables..
hodges69 is offline  
Reply Video Processors

Tags
Darbeevision Darblet Hdmi Video Processor



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off