Darbee vision darblet - Page 213 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 66Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6361 of 8354 Old 06-23-2013, 03:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kilgore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Huntsville Ontario
Posts: 3,170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blu_One View Post

No clue what you're referring to here.



Shadowy, patchy, contrasty complexion...made up like in Japanese theater.

Kilgore is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6362 of 8354 Old 06-23-2013, 03:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Blu_One's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: LiVe from the Nation's Capital | Canada
Posts: 1,148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Susilo View Post

After owning 4 Darblets and 50% of my 2012 clients use Darblets, I still don't understand the 100%-120% range is for.

Who thought of that one anyways !

120% is theoretically impossible anyways.. go figure

65" PanasonicST60 | Onkyo809 | Oppo103 + 4TB WD HDD
PS4 pre-order | PS3 80GB / 4x USB | 1TB 9865HD | Apple TV3 | Darbee Darblet | AirPort Extreme
5.2 system - 5x Arx A2 + 2x SVS SB12-NSD | Harmony One | Samsung DA-E670
MonsterPower HTS1700 / 2x PRT510 / PRT410 | Monster / Blue Jeans / Emotiva cables
Blu_One is offline  
post #6363 of 8354 Old 06-23-2013, 05:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Blu_One's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: LiVe from the Nation's Capital | Canada
Posts: 1,148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kilgore View Post



Shadowy, patchy, contrasty complexion...made up like in Japanese theater.


Oh ok, I see. I didn't see that though.. I think it depends heavily on the quality of the specific content being watched . I must say it's very very rare that I'll go up as high as 70.. Avatar is a good example were that setting seemed to work out well in my setup.. I would think it would look great for other animation movies (I'm thinking of Disney/Pixar content here cool.gif ).

I'm also watching on a 65" plasma from 9 feet away btw..

65" PanasonicST60 | Onkyo809 | Oppo103 + 4TB WD HDD
PS4 pre-order | PS3 80GB / 4x USB | 1TB 9865HD | Apple TV3 | Darbee Darblet | AirPort Extreme
5.2 system - 5x Arx A2 + 2x SVS SB12-NSD | Harmony One | Samsung DA-E670
MonsterPower HTS1700 / 2x PRT510 / PRT410 | Monster / Blue Jeans / Emotiva cables
Blu_One is offline  
post #6364 of 8354 Old 06-23-2013, 06:29 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,964
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 933 Post(s)
Liked: 814
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blu_One View Post

Who thought of that one anyways !

120% is theoretically impossible anyways.. go figure

The Space Shuttle engines would power up to 111%. It should just depend on the measurement and scale and you are exceeding that scale when you go over 100%.

40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #6365 of 8354 Old 06-23-2013, 06:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,659
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 331 Post(s)
Liked: 428
My apology if this have been answered before. Is the Saltlabs Ocule nothing more than a Darblet in a different casing? If yes, then what's the point?

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine

my (yet to be completed) BD list
my home theatre

David Susilo is offline  
post #6366 of 8354 Old 06-23-2013, 06:54 PM
Senior Member
 
yaomizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I find 120% to be OK in 3D


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

yaomizzle is offline  
post #6367 of 8354 Old 06-23-2013, 08:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Blu_One's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: LiVe from the Nation's Capital | Canada
Posts: 1,148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Susilo View Post

My apology if this have been answered before. Is the Saltlabs Ocule nothing more than a Darblet in a different casing? If yes, then what's the point?

Thats what I heard.. not sure what the point is. Licensing their IP, slowly testing the waters of that avenue maybe ?

Still no USB port on this one though, garbage for 2013 imo..

65" PanasonicST60 | Onkyo809 | Oppo103 + 4TB WD HDD
PS4 pre-order | PS3 80GB / 4x USB | 1TB 9865HD | Apple TV3 | Darbee Darblet | AirPort Extreme
5.2 system - 5x Arx A2 + 2x SVS SB12-NSD | Harmony One | Samsung DA-E670
MonsterPower HTS1700 / 2x PRT510 / PRT410 | Monster / Blue Jeans / Emotiva cables
Blu_One is offline  
post #6368 of 8354 Old 06-23-2013, 08:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Blu_One's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: LiVe from the Nation's Capital | Canada
Posts: 1,148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

The Space Shuttle engines would power up to 111%. It should just depend on the measurement and scale and you are exceeding that scale when you go over 100%.

The space shuttle was managed by hundreds of people with PhD's and the like.. they might understand how something that's on a scale of 100 can go higher than that..

But the Darblet afaik is targeted towards the general consumer electronics segment, and I would argue confidently that the vast majority of this population does not have PhD's in astrophysics or rocket propulsion, and might just have a harder time understanding this over 100% thing..

It would have just been simpler, and smarter, to stop at 100%, or just don't call it % if you're going to go over 100.. just my 2cents, I really don't care about this at all really wink.gif

65" PanasonicST60 | Onkyo809 | Oppo103 + 4TB WD HDD
PS4 pre-order | PS3 80GB / 4x USB | 1TB 9865HD | Apple TV3 | Darbee Darblet | AirPort Extreme
5.2 system - 5x Arx A2 + 2x SVS SB12-NSD | Harmony One | Samsung DA-E670
MonsterPower HTS1700 / 2x PRT510 / PRT410 | Monster / Blue Jeans / Emotiva cables
Blu_One is offline  
post #6369 of 8354 Old 06-23-2013, 09:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,659
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 331 Post(s)
Liked: 428
Yeah, just a simple rebadging and recasing don't do it for me. frown.gif

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine

my (yet to be completed) BD list
my home theatre

David Susilo is offline  
post #6370 of 8354 Old 06-24-2013, 06:03 AM
Member
 
crazy4daisy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Well if Nigel Tuffnel can turn his amp up to "11" I don't see a problem with Darbee going to 120% hehe smile.gif

Collingwood Magpies 2010 AFL Premiers
crazy4daisy is offline  
post #6371 of 8354 Old 06-24-2013, 08:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Blu_One's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: LiVe from the Nation's Capital | Canada
Posts: 1,148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazy4daisy View Post

Well if Nigel Tuffnel can turn his amp up to "11" I don't see a problem with Darbee going to 120% hehe smile.gif

Absolutely no clue who that dude is.. wink.gif

65" PanasonicST60 | Onkyo809 | Oppo103 + 4TB WD HDD
PS4 pre-order | PS3 80GB / 4x USB | 1TB 9865HD | Apple TV3 | Darbee Darblet | AirPort Extreme
5.2 system - 5x Arx A2 + 2x SVS SB12-NSD | Harmony One | Samsung DA-E670
MonsterPower HTS1700 / 2x PRT510 / PRT410 | Monster / Blue Jeans / Emotiva cables
Blu_One is offline  
post #6372 of 8354 Old 06-24-2013, 09:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
tboe77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 744
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Guitarist for Spinal Tap, a fictional heavy metal band from the movie, This is Spinal Tap. In the movie, he brags about how other bands have amps that only go up to 10, but Spinal Tap has amps that go up to "11". The interviewer asks why they didn't just make more powerful amps, yet still have "10" as the maximum setting. Nigel doesn't get it at all.
Blu_One likes this.

Chronic masticator.
Gear: Speakers (Paradigm Reference Studio Series): 40 v4 (front L/R), CC-690 v4 (centre), 20 v4 (surround L/R). PSA XS30 (subwoofer).
Denon AVR-X4000, Emotiva XPA-5, Samsung PN64F8500 (64" plasma), DarbeeVision Darblet DVP5000, PS3, Sony BDP-S6200, Apple TV (3rd gen.), Harmony One, Sennheiser RS180
tboe77 is offline  
post #6373 of 8354 Old 06-24-2013, 09:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mr.G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,548
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blu_One View Post

Not really. The Darbee makes anything clean look better, anything bad look worse.

It's not noise reduction were talking about here, that's completely different than what the Darbee does. Your logic would work for noise reduction but not the Darbee..

And full blast 120, c'mon man, who in their right mind wound ever use that..

I don't like or use 3D so perhaps the Darbee at higher settings does shine in this area - dunno. I am not talking about noise reduction, don't know where that came from.

The HD-120 setting I provided in my examples was just to demonstrate what happens when you use the extreme end of the range. As far as the 120% is concerned I never considered it a true percentage just another setting.

As I said before everyone's setup is different, what's works for some doesn't for others. I use HD-40 across the board, Blu-rays and streaming HD video. I love what it does which some here have described as lifting the thin veil clouding the picture.

All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Movies

Mr.G is offline  
post #6374 of 8354 Old 06-24-2013, 09:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Glimmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 8,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blu_One View Post

The space shuttle was managed by hundreds of people with PhD's and the like.. they might understand how something that's on a scale of 100 can go higher than that..

But the Darblet afaik is targeted towards the general consumer electronics segment, and I would argue confidently that the vast majority of this population does not have PhD's in astrophysics or rocket propulsion, and might just have a harder time understanding this over 100% thing..

It would have just been simpler, and smarter, to stop at 100%, or just don't call it % if you're going to go over 100.. just my 2cents, I really don't care about this at all really wink.gif

I don't see a problem with this for the average consumer. Most people understand "going over the limit". 65mph may be the 100% maximum speed you are allowed to go. But you can go 110%, 120%, etc. Also consider the red line on your RPM gauge. The red line is 100% of the safe operating range. But you can push it over if desired.

P.S. I am an EE so I too may be biased in this opinion.

Glimmie's HT Page
Being redone - comming soon!

Glimmie is offline  
post #6375 of 8354 Old 06-24-2013, 10:13 AM
Senior Member
 
William L Carman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Oceanside, California (San Diego County)
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I've had a Darbee Darblet since right after they first were talked about on AVS Forum. I have been extremely pleased with
this purchase. I use it with an Epson 8700 UB projector, and it makes a very nice difference.

Does anyone know what video HDMI switch will work with the Darbee? I have both an HD DVD player from Toshiba, and an
Oppo 95 Blu-ray player, and would prefer to not have to keep manually changing cables when I switch from one player to the
next. This week I went to Fry's Electronics and purchased an HDMI switcher that was HDMI 3.1b. It wouldn't give me a picture when I tried to use my projector. I assume it was because the unit was not 1.4 rated. (They had NO 1.4 units on the
shelf to try.)

Any suggestions for me would surely be appreciated.
William L Carman is offline  
post #6376 of 8354 Old 06-24-2013, 10:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
erkq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5,541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by William L Carman View Post

I've had a Darbee Darblet since right after they first were talked about on AVS Forum. I have been extremely pleased with
this purchase. I use it with an Epson 8700 UB projector, and it makes a very nice difference.

Does anyone know what video HDMI switch will work with the Darbee? I have both an HD DVD player from Toshiba, and an
Oppo 95 Blu-ray player, and would prefer to not have to keep manually changing cables when I switch from one player to the
next. This week I went to Fry's Electronics and purchased an HDMI switcher that was HDMI 3.1b. It wouldn't give me a picture when I tried to use my projector. I assume it was because the unit was not 1.4 rated. (They had NO 1.4 units on the
shelf to try.)

Any suggestions for me would surely be appreciated.

Your receiver has no HDMI switching? Did you have to manually switch the cables before you got the Darblet? The Darblet should come just before the projector so whatever switching system you had before should work fine. But some users do have handshaking problems with that configuration.
erkq is offline  
post #6377 of 8354 Old 06-24-2013, 10:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Blu_One's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: LiVe from the Nation's Capital | Canada
Posts: 1,148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.G View Post

As I said before everyone's setup is different, what's works for some doesn't for others. I use HD-40 across the board, Blu-rays and streaming HD video. I love what it does which some here have described as lifting the thin veil clouding the picture.

I absolutely agree smile.gif


Quote:
Originally Posted by Glimmie View Post

I don't see a problem with this for the average consumer. Most people understand "going over the limit". 65mph may be the 100% maximum speed you are allowed to go. But you can go 110%, 120%, etc. Also consider the red line on your RPM gauge. The red line is 100% of the safe operating range. But you can push it over if desired.

P.S. I am an EE so I too may be biased in this opinion.

I know what you mean.. that's why I said I really don't care about this (non) issue..

You can't push it pass 100% safe operating range upper limit if you have a rev limiter wink.gif

65" PanasonicST60 | Onkyo809 | Oppo103 + 4TB WD HDD
PS4 pre-order | PS3 80GB / 4x USB | 1TB 9865HD | Apple TV3 | Darbee Darblet | AirPort Extreme
5.2 system - 5x Arx A2 + 2x SVS SB12-NSD | Harmony One | Samsung DA-E670
MonsterPower HTS1700 / 2x PRT510 / PRT410 | Monster / Blue Jeans / Emotiva cables
Blu_One is offline  
post #6378 of 8354 Old 06-24-2013, 10:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
humbland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 987
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by William L Carman View Post

I've had a Darbee Darblet since right after they first were talked about on AVS Forum. I have been extremely pleased with
this purchase. I use it with an Epson 8700 UB projector, and it makes a very nice difference.

Does anyone know what video HDMI switch will work with the Darbee? I have both an HD DVD player from Toshiba, and an
Oppo 95 Blu-ray player, and would prefer to not have to keep manually changing cables when I switch from one player to the
next. This week I went to Fry's Electronics and purchased an HDMI switcher that was HDMI 3.1b. It wouldn't give me a picture when I tried to use my projector. I assume it was because the unit was not 1.4 rated. (They had NO 1.4 units on the
shelf to try.)

Any suggestions for me would surely be appreciated.

When I was having Darbee issues, Larry at DarbeeVision suggested Monoprice products. They make powered HDMI switches that are 1.4 compatible.
However, my +1 $.02, is to invest the money in a 1.4 compatible AVR. It can handle the switching and will probably be an upgrade in other areas as well.
humbland is offline  
post #6379 of 8354 Old 06-24-2013, 10:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Blu_One's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: LiVe from the Nation's Capital | Canada
Posts: 1,148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by humbland View Post

When I was having Darbee issues, Larry at DarbeeVision suggested Monoprice products. They make powered HDMI switches that are 1.4 compatible.
However, my +1 $.02, is to invest the money in a 1.4 compatible AVR. It can handle the switching and will probably be an upgrade in other areas as well.

Absolutely, +1 for the 1.4 AVR, good investment

65" PanasonicST60 | Onkyo809 | Oppo103 + 4TB WD HDD
PS4 pre-order | PS3 80GB / 4x USB | 1TB 9865HD | Apple TV3 | Darbee Darblet | AirPort Extreme
5.2 system - 5x Arx A2 + 2x SVS SB12-NSD | Harmony One | Samsung DA-E670
MonsterPower HTS1700 / 2x PRT510 / PRT410 | Monster / Blue Jeans / Emotiva cables
Blu_One is offline  
post #6380 of 8354 Old 06-24-2013, 04:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ricoflashback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 977
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by humbland View Post

When I was having Darbee issues, Larry at DarbeeVision suggested Monoprice products. They make powered HDMI switches that are 1.4 compatible.
However, my +1 $.02, is to invest the money in a 1.4 compatible AVR. It can handle the switching and will probably be an upgrade in other areas as well.

Absolutely, +1 for the 1.4 AVR, good investment
***************************************************
+2 for the AVR investment and the same for Monoprice products - the amplifier/splitter that I bought from Monoprice has done a fabulous job of enabling me to use two displays - - Samsung 65" ES8000 LCD/LED TV & a BenQ W1080ST projector - - seamlessly through HDMI1 from my Pioneer SC65 Receiver.

Satellite (Directv), Bluray Player - OPPO-103 and a Media Player - - all with no HDMI handshake issues. (knock, knock smile.gif)
skeeterss140 likes this.

Home Theater Setup
Samsung UN65ES8000 LCD/LED
BenQ W1080ST Projector
Pioneer SC65 (Pre-Amp)
Wyred4Sound MMC-7 Channel Amplifier, 221wpc
OPPO 103, Directv GENIE
Darbee Darblet
ALL Paradigm - 7.1 - Studio 60's, V.2 (FL/FR)
CC-690, V.5 (C)
ADP 590 V.5 (SS)
MilleniaOne 2.0 (BS) - Velodyne 810 Sub
Ricoflashback is offline  
post #6381 of 8354 Old 06-24-2013, 11:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jnabq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Albq. NM, USA
Posts: 1,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by William L Carman View Post

I've had a Darbee Darblet since right after they first were talked about on AVS Forum. I have been extremely pleased with
this purchase. I use it with an Epson 8700 UB projector, and it makes a very nice difference.

Does anyone know what video HDMI switch will work with the Darbee? I have both an HD DVD player from Toshiba, and an
Oppo 95 Blu-ray player, and would prefer to not have to keep manually changing cables when I switch from one player to the
next. This week I went to Fry's Electronics and purchased an HDMI switcher that was HDMI 3.1b. It wouldn't give me a picture when I tried to use my projector. I assume it was because the unit was not 1.4 rated. (They had NO 1.4 units on the
shelf to try.)

Any suggestions for me would surely be appreciated.

Sounds like it may have been a handshake problem? I still use a non-hdmi avr, and a few switches in this thread have been mentioned, if you search. I use a monoprice 3x1 enhanced, it auto detects the active input and switches automatically. Only thing, was the led was to bright so I put some electrical tape over it. There have been some advice to turn off "deep color" on your source components, that fixed issues, and make sure your oppo firmware is up to date.

As with adding any new component to the connection, you may have just degraded the signal enough to cause an issue, requiring a more robust cable. Another thing to consider is to re initiate the hdmi handshakes, powering off/on in different orders if it's required after reconnecting the components. Hdmi 1.3 should be fine, as long as it can pass the signal, ie, rated "high speed".
jnabq is offline  
post #6382 of 8354 Old 06-25-2013, 02:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
R Harkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 12,060
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 383
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh Z View Post

The Darblet has a weak HDMI transmitter that doesn't push the signal very well over long distances. Put the Darblet near the display, then run a long cable into the Darblet and a short one out of it.

I have a 45 foot (and a 50 foot) HDMI cable run from my source equipment room to my projector. Up until recently, I had the Darblet at the end of the 45' HDMI cable, near the projector, then a 6 foot cable from the Darbee to the projector. It operated fine.

I've now moved to my equipment room, it right after my source components, and the 45' long cable runs from the Darbee to my projector in the other room. It operates fine that way as well. **



**(That is, it's always operable and does it's thing with the picture. However, in BOTH configurations I do get the occasional audio drop out in my center channel when switching sources, which I think is due to some of the funky HDMI handshaking issues people have reported, even with short distance cabling. Ultimately I find the usefulness of the Darbee to outweigh the occasional glitch, though I hope future iterations will be more stable).
R Harkness is offline  
post #6383 of 8354 Old 06-25-2013, 04:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
humbland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 987
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Hi Rich,
I'm curious as to weather you could get it to work with a 50 ft. run from the Darbee to the projector. I think that the last 5 ft. or so (from 45 ft. to 50 ft.) may be significant.
For me, the 50 ft run would work with some sources (DTV) but not others (Bluray or DVD).
Switching the order, with the Darbee near the projector did the trick. smile.gif
humbland is offline  
post #6384 of 8354 Old 06-25-2013, 05:57 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
R Harkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 12,060
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 383
Sorry humbland, I can only (conveniently) see the results with my 45 ft cable. I also have a 50 foot cable and a 60 foot hdmi cable run through the floor. They did test find for passing 1080p and 3D signals before we put them in the walls, but didn't test the Darbee as I didn't have it then.
R Harkness is offline  
post #6385 of 8354 Old 06-25-2013, 07:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mtbdudex's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 4,716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Had 70 people over Saturday for my inlaws 50th wedding anniv, of course I had to demo my HT.

Would you know it, I got the dreaded Darbee reset and logo showing upon turning on, and I could not find the little plastic remote.

At least putting the image in scope mode hides the logo.
Sorry for rant but I was so busy and did not appreciate this distraction.


Sent from my iPad2 64GB using Tapatalk
mtbdudex is online now  
post #6386 of 8354 Old 06-26-2013, 05:13 PM
Senior Member
 
mp06011999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by humbland View Post

When I was having Darbee issues, Larry at DarbeeVision suggested Monoprice products. They make powered HDMI switches that are 1.4 compatible.
However, my +1 $.02, is to invest the money in a 1.4 compatible AVR. It can handle the switching and will probably be an upgrade in other areas as well.

I prefer to separate the audio and video and switch them separately. This way I can have the ability to display one source's sound and another source's video. I often have music playing while NFL is on. Therefore, I keep my video (HDMI) via a Belkin switcher and my audio (Toslink or coaxial) through the AVR.

On that note, an automatic switcher is also out of the question for my preference. I like to have most all of my devices on when we are having a party and then just pick the input as the moment dictates. Example of that is like when watching NFL if we break to eat or have a smoke outside, I can switch over to let those not eating play the Xbox or PS3 or whatever. I like choices.

It's a convoluted set up for sure with far more cables than any hospital's intensive care unit....

...and just another thought on the issue.
mp06011999 is offline  
post #6387 of 8354 Old 06-26-2013, 06:20 PM
Senior Member
 
mp06011999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 39
From Darbeevision.com: "DarbeeVision, Inc. supports a 30 day 100% satisfaction guarantee, with 100% refund of purchase price (less shipping fees) if you are not satisfied with your purchase for any reason, and further warrants its products against defects in materials and workmanship for one year."

I've skipped a few of the pages in this loooooong thread so excuse me if this was already mentioned. I seem to recall it mentioned several times that it was only a 90 day warranty.
mp06011999 is offline  
post #6388 of 8354 Old 06-26-2013, 06:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hometheatergeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 2,337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by mp06011999 View Post

From Darbeevision.com: "DarbeeVision, Inc. supports a 30 day 100% satisfaction guarantee, with 100% refund of purchase price (less shipping fees) if you are not satisfied with your purchase for any reason, and further warrants its products against defects in materials and workmanship for one year."

I've skipped a few of the pages in this loooooong thread so excuse me if this was already mentioned. I seem to recall it mentioned several times that it was only a 90 day warranty.

There is a difference. 30 days if you are unhappy with the product and 90 days on a malfunctioning unit.


Hometheatergeek

aka AL
----------
My Current System
hometheatergeek is offline  
post #6389 of 8354 Old 06-26-2013, 06:35 PM
Senior Member
 
mp06011999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by hometheatergeek View Post

There is a difference. 30 days if you are unhappy with the product and 90 days on a malfunctioning unit.

You read the quote I posted, didn't you? Darbee has on their website that it's a 1 year warranty on defects. SEE ABOVE. Am I confusing something here?
mp06011999 is offline  
post #6390 of 8354 Old 06-26-2013, 06:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hometheatergeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 2,337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by mp06011999 View Post


You read the quote I posted, didn't you? Darbee has on their website that it's a 1 year warranty on defects. SEE ABOVE. Am I confusing something here?

I might be the one confused. I thought they only had a 90 day warranty. At least that was what I understood when I bought it last year. Anyway mine has been running great since I got one last August.

 

Edit: looks like they increased the warranty period.


Hometheatergeek

aka AL
----------
My Current System
hometheatergeek is offline  
Reply Video Processors

Tags
Darbeevision Darblet Hdmi Video Processor

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off