Darbee vision darblet - Page 235 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 27Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7021 of 8121 Old 10-10-2013, 02:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,599
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 289 Post(s)
Liked: 410
Going back to the Darblets, what is in the future for Darblet? At only $100 extra to get Darblet built into the Oppo, I strongly feel that the price for standalone Darblet should be no more than $150 from here on end. I'm not complaining about the past pricing, as all of you know I've purchased about a dozen Darblets for myself and as gifts to my parents and relatives (plus at least a several more dozens bought by my clients and one of them even turned into a sole distributor of Darbee overseas). However, if Oppo can sell the same technology for only $100 more (and make profit out of that), it's illogical to sell the same-featured Darblets at $349.
old corps likes this.

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

David Susilo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7022 of 8121 Old 10-10-2013, 03:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
erkq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Susilo View Post

...
However, if Oppo can sell the same technology for only $100 more (and make profit out of that), it's illogical to sell the same-featured Darblets at $349.

Unless servicing more than BD in the signal chain without having to jump through wiring hoops adds a little logic to the stand-alone product. I know it does for me. I would not pay $100 extra to have the technology embedded in a BD player. It makes no sense in my setup. It would doable, but a royal pain in the...
erkq is offline  
post #7023 of 8121 Old 10-10-2013, 04:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,599
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 289 Post(s)
Liked: 410
Should not be a big deal at all as the 103D has 2 HDMI inputs so you can get the BD player, cable TV and media player all go through the Darbee processor.

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

David Susilo is offline  
post #7024 of 8121 Old 10-10-2013, 04:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
erkq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Susilo View Post

Should not be a big deal at all as the 103D has 2 HDMI inputs so you can get the BD player, cable TV and media player all go through the Darbee processor.

Yeah... I know... but because of the audio I'd have to get a new receiver... mine doesn't have HDMI input... hmmm... wait.... that's a good idea, right? A new receiver??

But I could run line out from the Oppo to the receiver and as long as it ran the audio from the HDMI input out the analog lines I'd be in fat city... having the Oppo's great DAC's for everything too. Does the Oppo run audio from the HDMI inputs to the analog outs? Then it'd work for me.
erkq is offline  
post #7025 of 8121 Old 10-10-2013, 04:35 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,268
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 383 Post(s)
Liked: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by erkq View Post

Does the Oppo run audio from the HDMI inputs to the analog outs?

Yes.

-Bill


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Unofficial OPPO FAQS:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

 

wmcclain is offline  
post #7026 of 8121 Old 10-10-2013, 04:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
erkq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Susilo View Post

Should not be a big deal at all as the 103D has 2 HDMI inputs so you can get the BD player, cable TV and media player all go through the Darbee processor.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

Yes.

-Bill

Thanks, guys! This could be a great solution as my Pioneer 51 seems to be finally dying. Then I could use that great DAC with all sorts of other stuff too!
erkq is offline  
post #7027 of 8121 Old 10-10-2013, 04:41 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 19,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 382 Post(s)
Liked: 442
There are several products that have Darbeevision processing embedded, such as the Lumagen.

It is a lot cheaper to embed it than to do it by a stand alone. you need a large scale fied gate array and a license, I assume on a per piece sold royalty. A stand alone needs a power supply, a circuit board, a case, input and outputs, control buttons and a remote, IR receiver yada yada. Should they sell it at a loss just to make you happy or maybe they should just discontinue it forcing reliance on buying a $600 Oppo or a $2500 Lumagen?

David. You are extremely intelligent, knowledgeable, and well respected. Maybe you might want to reconsider your suggestion that the price be lowered to $149?

Mark Haflich

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is offline  
post #7028 of 8121 Old 10-10-2013, 05:14 PM
Member
 
evo5's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi,
I have a Sony Blu-ray BDP S790 connected to a Denon 4311 and a Panasonic 8000 projector. Its worth to buy only a Darblet 5000 or invest more for an Oppo 103D? Will have the same results in image quality?
Thank you in advance
evo5 is offline  
post #7029 of 8121 Old 10-10-2013, 05:26 PM
 
changboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Jupiter
Posts: 528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Me i want a versatil product and not a bluray player with darbee tech inside , so when the pick up laser will bigin to fail to read bluray i will not so mutch désapointed to buy another bluray player for 150 agains one of 600 and if i want use it with my pc i can, so i want it alone. Its always the same things with all tech and all know we better buy all product seperatly as amp, preamp and els....Thats what i think.
changboy is offline  
post #7030 of 8121 Old 10-10-2013, 05:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tangled Cable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 572
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by evo5 View Post

Hi,
I have a Sony Blu-ray BDP S790 connected to a Denon 4311 and a Panasonic 8000 projector. Its worth to buy only a Darblet 5000 or invest more for an Oppo 103D? Will have the same results in image quality?
Thank you in advance

Haven't got my Darbee yet but I did get an Oppo 93 and I believe the consensus is that you should not see much if any picture improvement comparing an Oppo to another decent blu-ray player with 1080p material, which is what I have found for myself. Upscaling DVDs is another story however, but I don't really do that. So if it is just blu ray picture quality you are concerned with, I would go with just the darbee.
evo5 likes this.
Tangled Cable is online now  
post #7031 of 8121 Old 10-10-2013, 05:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
erkq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tangled Cable View Post

Haven't got my Darbee yet but I did get an Oppo 93 and I believe the consensus is that you should not see much if any picture improvement comparing an Oppo to another decent blu-ray player with 1080p material, which is what I have found for myself. Upscaling DVDs is another story however, but I don't really do that. So if it is just blu ray picture quality you are concerned with, I would go with just the darbee.

Or if you have need of the Oppo's legendary audio DAC's. That's what I like so much about my Pioneer 51.
evo5 likes this.
erkq is offline  
post #7032 of 8121 Old 10-10-2013, 06:01 PM
Member
 
evo5's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have a Musical Fidelity DAC in my system that I use only for 2 channel stereo music...
evo5 is offline  
post #7033 of 8121 Old 10-11-2013, 05:35 AM
Senior Member
 
nflguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I recently had my Sharp 80" 844 Tv and my JVC RS-4810 projector (133" 2:35 screen) calibrated. I also bought a Darbee so the calibration guy could set that up as well. I had him try it on both displays so I could decide which one would benefit most from it.

On both displays I could see no worthwhile difference (especially for the $300 price tag) at low settings on the Darbee. When the Darbee settings were turned up higher it caused skin tones to look pixelated and colors looked similar to what you get when using the "dynamic" settings on most tvs.

I have read many posts on AVS from users saying adding a Darbee = mind blowing picture. So I was shocked and disappointed when my Darbee didn't improve the picture.

On the projector I also noticed that "Darbee" remained on the lower right of the screen and didn't go away shortly after adjusting the settings as one would expect.

Am I the only one the didn't see a "dramatic" improvement?
nflguy is offline  
post #7034 of 8121 Old 10-11-2013, 05:37 AM
Senior Member
 
nflguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
My video sources were blurays (Avengers, Dark Knight, Star Trek Into Darkness) and Directv programming.
nflguy is offline  
post #7035 of 8121 Old 10-11-2013, 05:44 AM
Senior Member
 
mp06011999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by changboy View Post

Me i want a versatil product and not a bluray player with darbee tech inside , so when the pick up laser will bigin to fail to read bluray i will not so mutch désapointed to buy another bluray player for 150 agains one of 600 and if i want use it with my pc i can, so i want it alone. Its always the same things with all tech and all know we better buy all product seperatly as amp, preamp and els....Thats what i think.

^ Yea, what he said ^
mp06011999 is offline  
post #7036 of 8121 Old 10-11-2013, 06:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
humbland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 953
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by nflguy View Post

I recently had my Sharp 80" 844 Tv and my JVC RS-4810 projector (133" 2:35 screen) calibrated. I also bought a Darbee so the calibration guy could set that up as well. I had him try it on both displays so I could decide which one would benefit most from it.

On both displays I could see no worthwhile difference (especially for the $300 price tag) at low settings on the Darbee. When the Darbee settings were turned up higher it caused skin tones to look pixelated and colors looked similar to what you get when using the "dynamic" settings on most tvs.

I have read many posts on AVS from users saying adding a Darbee = mind blowing picture. So I was shocked and disappointed when my Darbee didn't improve the picture.

On the projector I also noticed that "Darbee" remained on the lower right of the screen and didn't go away shortly after adjusting the settings as one would expect.

Am I the only one the didn't see a "dramatic" improvement?

As has been before, the effect is not for everyone...Initially, I could not see a big difference.
The consensus is to try having the Darbee on for a week or so, then turn it off. That helped convince me.
Consider that many high end HT companies are licencing the technology to use in their own products ( ie Oppo and Lumagen). IMO, that's a huge vote of confidence...They would not choose to pay the fees, if they could get a similar improvement on their own.
BTW, play with the menu on the remote to move/remove the logo.
humbland is offline  
post #7037 of 8121 Old 10-11-2013, 11:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cuzed2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 4,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Just received my Darbee (used from someone upgrading to an Oppo w Darbee built--in).
I am running a JVC RS-1 on a 105" 16:9 screen:

My first sample of the Darbee "Kool-Aid" was last night's football game via HD broadcast TV.
I sampled it in Hi-Def mode from a setting of 40 up to 70.
- At 40 the difference was subtle but you could indeed see improvement, especially with the far away shots of the fans in the stands.
-Took it up to 70 before I noticed any significant artifact detoriation (and then; only some edge effects with higher contrast close ups, uniforms, officials.etc..)

Looking forward to trying it out on some Blu Ray scenes.
I have to say that so far; I am quite happy and will likely become addicted to this Kool-Aid

Cuzed2
Check out a video of my
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Officially Hanesamatized on 8/1/09

cuzed2 is offline  
post #7038 of 8121 Old 10-11-2013, 12:15 PM
Senior Member
 
JRWalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by cuzed2 View Post

I am quite happy and will likely become addicted to this Kool-Aid

I think of it more as salt. You season to taste and want more with use. Take it away and you really miss it.
JRWalker is offline  
post #7039 of 8121 Old 10-11-2013, 12:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cuzed2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 4,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRWalker View Post



I think of it more as salt. You season to taste and want more with use. Take it away and you really miss it.

Well Put !!
David Susilo and migraine24-7 like this.

Cuzed2
Check out a video of my
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Officially Hanesamatized on 8/1/09

cuzed2 is offline  
post #7040 of 8121 Old 10-11-2013, 02:01 PM
Member
 
Randy Schmidt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Glenview, IL
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by nflguy View Post

I recently had my Sharp 80" 844 Tv and my JVC RS-4810 projector (133" 2:35 screen) calibrated. I also bought a Darbee so the calibration guy could set that up as well. I had him try it on both displays so I could decide which one would benefit most from it.

On both displays I could see no worthwhile difference (especially for the $300 price tag) at low settings on the Darbee. When the Darbee settings were turned up higher it caused skin tones to look pixelated and colors looked similar to what you get when using the "dynamic" settings on most tvs.

I have read many posts on AVS from users saying adding a Darbee = mind blowing picture. So I was shocked and disappointed when my Darbee didn't improve the picture.

On the projector I also noticed that "Darbee" remained on the lower right of the screen and didn't go away shortly after adjusting the settings as one would expect.

Am I the only one the didn't see a "dramatic" improvement?
I have a 135" screen and I see very little improvement. I have a variety of sources and still very little improvement. I do see some improvement, but nothing that would have me purchase the product again.

Denon AVR 4520ci
Emotiva XPR-5
Denon 3313 BDP
L/C/R Klipsch KL7800 THX, SL/SR Klipsch KS7800 THX
SBL/SBL, FHL/FHR, FWL/FWR Klipsch 5800W
(4) Epik Empire subs/(1) DIY 18" sub
Darbee Darblet
Epson 5030UB/135" Fixed Mount Screen
Randy Schmidt is offline  
post #7041 of 8121 Old 10-11-2013, 08:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
barrelbelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,695
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 231
Okay...I've spent 3 months with my Darbee. And I can honestly say, I couldn't imagine viewing without it in the chain. While it improves all sources. I've found that the better the signal...the better the results. For example. It has completely revived enjoyment of my big SD-DVD collection. To my eyes, it has made the difference extremely marginal to almost nonexistent, on most transfers between Blu-Ray/HD-DVD and DVD. Bare in mind I am watching on great upscaling machines to begin with in the Toshiba HD A35 (HD-DVD) and Panasonic Blu-Ray DMP BD35 (stuck with the older model because of more connection flexibility). Both are exceptional upcalers for SD-DVD. But Darbee takes the upscaled images over the top IMO. I know it is processed 480p. But I no longer find myself yearning to buy a new Blu-Ray version of a DVD I already own. I just enjoy the amazing depth, dimensionality and rich color pop imparted by Darbee. I play SD-DVD on Full Pop setting at 55%. And it looks more than excellent IMO. I've never seen those SD-DVDs look this georgeous! I play my huge library of Blu-Rays and HD-DVDs at Hi-Def-45-55%. And they are just as amazing to me. But I no longer compare them. I just accept and enjoy their impressive native strengths for what they are. I of course buy all new content in Blu-Ray. But Darbee has totally eliminated my impulse to swap out my SD-DVDs. Even historic single disk ones. The only swaps I make now are multiple disk DVDs of Historic movies like LOTR Extended Cut Trilogy. They are much better on just 3 Disks than the 9 or 12 in SD-DVD format. I never swapped any of my 100+ HD-DVDs. And never plan to because they look identical to Blu-Rays.

But this is about Darbee. And it has made everything in my HDMI chain simply spectacular. I couldn't be happier. It's a tweaker's dream with all of the settings flexibility. Just a wee bit more or less can yield big results...once you determine your baselines.
barrelbelly is offline  
post #7042 of 8121 Old 10-12-2013, 08:35 AM
Senior Member
 
Gillietalls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by flinchn View Post

I just got my Darblet for my Sony 4k 65". At HD 45% there is a noticeably sharper picture for all sources 1080p. Not quite 4k but worth 300 bucks for most of my viewing.

Do you have a receiver? I to have the 65 inch Sony 4K tv and want to try this darbee thing out. I don't have a receiver yet, so want to know which would be the best to work with the darbee.
Gillietalls is offline  
post #7043 of 8121 Old 10-12-2013, 08:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
flinchn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 843
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 201
I'm using an Onkyo 818

Light controlled environment---

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
flinchn is offline  
post #7044 of 8121 Old 10-12-2013, 08:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
curtlots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northeast WI
Posts: 576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 29
My first post in the Darby section.

I've actually had one for about 4-5 months now. I thoroughly read everything here before I purchased a unit from Amazon that came from Solid Signal as an open box item at a nice price. When I received it, there was nothing indicating it was anything but brand new.

I haven't written a review because there's nothing for me to add that hasn't already been said. To me, it has become an invisible, but essential component in my system. I rarely play around with the settings. I find I like it at 65 to 70 percent in HD.

My equipment consists of a Dish Hopper, a PS3 for Blu-ray and Netflix viewing, and an OPPO DVD player for SACD and DVD Audio. Everything goes through a Harman/Kardon 3600 receiver via HDMI. The HDMI signal comes out of the receiver, through the Darby, and to an Epson 8350 projector shooting onto a 106" AT screen.

I have to add that I definitely lean towards the audio/video purist side of things. My last rear projection TV was professionally calibrated. I'm not ignorant about the evils of nearly all sharpening or other picture processing circuits. For that reason I was reluctant to get the Darby. Having said that, the Darby has been a great purchase!
curtlots is offline  
post #7045 of 8121 Old 10-12-2013, 01:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dsinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gillietalls View Post

Do you have a receiver? I to have the 65 inch Sony 4K tv and want to try this darbee thing out. I don't have a receiver yet, so want to know which would be the best to work with the darbee.

Place it on the HDMI output cable from your BD player, add another HDMI cable preferably 6 ft. or longer and plug that into the Sony.
dsinger is offline  
post #7046 of 8121 Old 10-12-2013, 02:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Gillietalls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by flinchn View Post

I'm using an Onkyo 818

Sweet. Thanks.
Gillietalls is offline  
post #7047 of 8121 Old 10-12-2013, 02:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Gillietalls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsinger View Post

Place it on the HDMI output cable from your BD player, add another HDMI cable preferably 6 ft. or longer and plug that into the Sony.

Will do. Shopping for one now...
Gillietalls is offline  
post #7048 of 8121 Old 10-12-2013, 04:19 PM
Member
 
iang153's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Help - my (second) Darbee isn't working with my Samsung 46 ES7000 LED TV. I got a darbee for my samsung 8000 plasma and love it - so got a second one for the LED. Both with comcast motorola cable boxes.
The second Darbee came today and will not pass a signal to the LED TV. I switched Darbees, and the new one works with the plasma TV just fine, and the *old* one will also not pass a signal to the LED TV into either HDMI input. Cablebox passes signal just fine - tried three different 6' HDMI cables - blue light always comes on in the Darbee, but no signal (TV says no source detected)

any ideas? It's not the unit because it works on the plasma.

thanks :-(
Ian
iang153 is offline  
post #7049 of 8121 Old 10-12-2013, 05:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
vega509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Northeast
Posts: 807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by iang153 View Post

Help - my (second) Darbee isn't working with my Samsung 46 ES7000 LED TV. I got a darbee for my samsung 8000 plasma and love it - so got a second one for the LED. Both with comcast motorola cable boxes.
The second Darbee came today and will not pass a signal to the LED TV. I switched Darbees, and the new one works with the plasma TV just fine, and the *old* one will also not pass a signal to the LED TV into either HDMI input. Cablebox passes signal just fine - tried three different 6' HDMI cables - blue light always comes on in the Darbee, but no signal (TV says no source detected)

any ideas? It's not the unit because it works on the plasma.

thanks :-(
Ian


is there an AVR in the HDMI chain, if there is try bypassing it. eg BR ---> AVR ---> Darblet ---> TV change it to BR ---> Darblet ---> TV

vega509 is offline  
post #7050 of 8121 Old 10-12-2013, 05:08 PM
Member
 
iang153's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vega509 View Post


is there an AVR in the HDMI chain, if there is try bypassing it. eg BR ---> AVR ---> Darblet ---> TV change it to BR ---> Darblet ---> TV

there is for the plasma (where they both work) but not for the LED in the bedroom (where neither Darblet works) - The non-working chain is DVR --> Darblet --> TV. It works when I remove the darblet
iang153 is offline  
Reply Video Processors

Tags
Darbeevision Darblet Hdmi Video Processor

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off