Darbee vision darblet - Page 247 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 66Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7381 of 8336 Old 12-11-2013, 10:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ack_bk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Posts: 8,841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Well I stand corrected, the Darblet is working great now. So the culprit was my cable box, Darblet, and Acer 9500BD projector combination. With my new Optoma projector, everything is working. Very happy!
jbernardi likes this.
ack_bk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7382 of 8336 Old 12-11-2013, 11:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
d james's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 848
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I'm having a problem with my new projector working with my darbee, its an optoma eh501. I first thought it broke, but it works just fine with my Epson pj and with my tv, but everytime I hook it up to the new pj, the green light will blink on for a second, then go out, sometimes it might flash the picture for a second before blacking out. I tried connecting directly to the pj, tried different cables, still no luck. I couldn't find any deep color turned on and tried three different dvd players, and nothing seems to work. Any other suggestions?
d james is offline  
post #7383 of 8336 Old 12-12-2013, 04:08 PM
 
changboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Jupiter
Posts: 528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 53
deleted
evo5 likes this.
changboy is offline  
post #7384 of 8336 Old 12-12-2013, 08:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
curlyjive's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Abington, PA
Posts: 1,339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Still trying to figure this out:

If I keep deep color on on the ps3, the only flashing occurs during the xmb menu. All is well during the movie.

So given that, the ps3 is upsampling to 12 bit. The darblet processes at 10 bits, but then my projector shows its getting 12 bits. What's going on with those bits? Forget whether you think deep color processing is useful or not. I do wonder if there is some benefit to upsampling if the ps3 does a decent job of this.



I'm just trying to figure out what is being done.

Also does anyone know what the ps3 outputs 4:2:2 or 4:4:4?
curlyjive is offline  
post #7385 of 8336 Old 12-12-2013, 10:08 PM
 
changboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Jupiter
Posts: 528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by curlyjive View Post

Still trying to figure this out:

If I keep deep color on on the ps3, the only flashing occurs during the xmb menu. All is well during the movie.

So given that, the ps3 is upsampling to 12 bit. The darblet processes at 10 bits, but then my projector shows its getting 12 bits. What's going on with those bits? Forget whether you think deep color processing is useful or not. I do wonder if there is some benefit to upsampling if the ps3 does a decent job of this.



I'm just trying to figure out what is being done.

Also does anyone know what the ps3 outputs 4:2:2 or 4:4:4?

About the ps3 i dont know but from a pc 4:4:4 its the full RGB and all blu ray movie are encode in 8 bit color depth.
About the RGB you can do some test with a dark picture and see what happen when you are using 4:2:2 or 4:4:4
changboy is offline  
post #7386 of 8336 Old 12-14-2013, 08:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
curlyjive's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Abington, PA
Posts: 1,339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Well my ps3 is sending ycbcr 4:4:4 whether deep color is on or not. Not sure if there is a way to get it to pass 4:2:2.

Also it seems the way the darblet ignores noise or grain works better on some sources than others. As I had said for the fifth element it made it more noticible but last night watching casino royale I only noticed more noise on the opening black and white sequence which is intentionally noisy. Plain backgrounds and sky's were no worse with the darblet on. The film grain is not excessive to begin with on that movie, so it may depend on how strong the grain or noise is as to whether the darblet can ignore it.
curlyjive is offline  
post #7387 of 8336 Old 12-15-2013, 11:24 PM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 7,029
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 570 Post(s)
Liked: 370
Just got my OPPO BDP-103 D I can't wait to try it out smile.gif
wse is offline  
post #7388 of 8336 Old 12-16-2013, 06:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cinema mad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Here Nor There..
Posts: 1,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 34
^^ WSE Did you have the External Darbee before hand ?, as Id be interested to note if the integrated Darblet's perform any better, IE circumventing any unnecessary Colour Space conversions..smile.gif
cinema mad is offline  
post #7389 of 8336 Old 12-16-2013, 09:52 PM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 7,029
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 570 Post(s)
Liked: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by cinema mad View Post^^ WSE Did you have the External Darbee before hand ?, as Id be interested to note if the integrated Darblet's perform any better, IE circumventing any unnecessary Colour Space conversions..smile.gif

I saw it but never owned it! So now I am looking forward to it in the OPPO

wse is offline  
post #7390 of 8336 Old 12-19-2013, 03:17 AM
Senior Member
 
balboa dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Newport Beach, California
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
DarbeeVision Solves HDMI Issues, Ups Interoperability With phaseHD

Maximizes Performance of HDMI Cables, Improves Reliability and Ensures Compliance

SANTA ANA, CA--(Marketwired - Nov 25, 2013) - DarbeeVision, Inc., a pioneer in the field of digital image enhancement, is about to make interoperability issues with HDMI a thing of the past. The company has partnered with phaseHD, and will incorporate phaseHD's award winning technology (Best New Product, CEDIA 2013) into its DarbeeVision family of video processors. The resulting solution will act as a repair device, improving interoperability with a clean signal, and more than doubling the throw distance provided by other cables.

What sets phaseHD's technology apart from the competition is that it uses a dedicated transmitter and receiver module to control the low and high speed signals on both ends of the cable. The receiver leverages phaseHD's adaptive restoration circuit which takes into account the source signal, data rate and cable length (up to a maximum of 50m 26AWG for 1080p60) and applies the correct amount of gain to maximize overall performance. This allows the installer to ensure compliance while working with native HDMI cables of any type and length.
DarbeeVision's family of products are winning international acclaim for the new level of quality and realism that they provide to video. Using Darbee Visual Presence (DVP), the DarbeeVision family of products delivers extremely lifelike images that make the original image seem dull and flat by comparison. DVP technology has been implemented in easy to use accessories for consumer electronics market categories that include: general consumer, high end home theater and video gaming.

"We are excited to work with the innovators at DarbeeVision and bring the convenience and reliability of long reach HDMI connectivity to DarbeeVision products," noted Kevin Taylor, vice president of operations for phaseHD. "The Darbee team shares our vision of focusing on quality to create an improved end-user experience."

Key features of phaseHD's technology include:

Patent pending double-ended HDMI signal intervention

Highest standard of interoperability by encapsulation of DC, low-speed and high-speed signals

Genuine long length 10.2Gbps (3.4Gbps per channel) HDMI compliance

Future proofed TMDS capability to 18Gbps (6.0Gbps per channel)

Plug and Play by design, requiring no manual configuration and no length / type dependency

Catered to both new and legacy based installations

"As with the Darblet, phaseHD's technology is all about consistently providing a great viewing experience," said Larry Pace, president of DarbeeVision. "The ability to solve several common HDMI issues is a wonderful added value that takes our product offerings to another level -- and addresses the needs of our customers. Moving forward, we plan to implement phaseHD technology as a standard component in many of our products."
David Susilo likes this.
balboa dave is offline  
post #7391 of 8336 Old 12-19-2013, 06:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 7,824
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 966 Post(s)
Liked: 882

^ Interesting.  Wonder if it will support HDMI 2.0 out of the gate?

AustinJerry is offline  
post #7392 of 8336 Old 12-19-2013, 07:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 6,072
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by balboa dave View Post

... DarbeeVision, Inc., a pioneer in the field of digital image enhancement, is about to make interoperability issues with HDMI a thing of the past...

Pretty misleading claim if all they are talking about is supporting long cables. Handshake problems are probably the biggest interoperability issue.
kriktsemaj99 is online now  
post #7393 of 8336 Old 12-19-2013, 07:53 AM
Senior Member
 
JRWalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 484
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 37
I would like to see the Darblet work with shorter cables so I could replace the two 6' cables.
JRWalker is offline  
post #7394 of 8336 Old 12-19-2013, 08:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mr.G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,548
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by balboa dave View Post

What sets phaseHD's technology apart from the competition is that it uses a dedicated transmitter and receiver module to control the low and high speed signals on both ends of the cable. The receiver leverages phaseHD's adaptive restoration circuit which takes into account the source signal, data rate and cable length (up to a maximum of 50m 26AWG for 1080p60) and applies the correct amount of gain to maximize overall performance. This allows the installer to ensure compliance while working with native HDMI cables of any type and length.

The first question that comes to my mind is how is this different from Redmere technology in HDMI cables?

All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Movies

Mr.G is offline  
post #7395 of 8336 Old 12-19-2013, 04:45 PM
QuadMersed in bass!
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 2,947
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by curlyjive View Post

Well my ps3 is sending ycbcr 4:4:4 whether deep color is on or not. Not sure if there is a way to get it to pass 4:2:2.

Also it seems the way the darblet ignores noise or grain works better on some sources than others. As I had said for the fifth element it made it more noticible but last night watching casino royale I only noticed more noise on the opening black and white sequence which is intentionally noisy. Plain backgrounds and sky's were no worse with the darblet on. The film grain is not excessive to begin with on that movie, so it may depend on how strong the grain or noise is as to whether the darblet can ignore it.

I posted a long time ago about film grain on MIB 3. If you have that movie, and can find my post, perhaps you can comment.

Thanks.

Mark
giomania is offline  
post #7396 of 8336 Old 12-19-2013, 04:49 PM
QuadMersed in bass!
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 2,947
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRWalker View Post

I would like to see the Darblet work with shorter cables so I could replace the two 6' cables.

I have many Blue Jeans Belden series cables in my HDMI distribution system that are less than six feet, and the Darblet works. See my signature for my HDMI diagram, if you are interested. I moved the Darblet in between the 4x4 switch and the Lumagen, but have not yet updated the diagram.

Mark
giomania is offline  
post #7397 of 8336 Old 12-20-2013, 04:57 AM
Senior Member
 
balboa dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Newport Beach, California
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by kriktsemaj99 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by balboa dave View Post

... DarbeeVision, Inc., a pioneer in the field of digital image enhancement, is about to make interoperability issues with HDMI a thing of the past...

Pretty misleading claim if all they are talking about is supporting long cables. Handshake problems are probably the biggest interoperability issue.
I'm sure they're talking about handshake issues when they bring up interoperability. Most failures occur when the signals aren't stable within a certain timeframe, and a robust amplifier/receiver combo would avoid that problem.
balboa dave is offline  
post #7398 of 8336 Old 12-20-2013, 05:32 AM
Senior Member
 
balboa dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Newport Beach, California
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.G View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by balboa dave View Post

What sets phaseHD's technology apart from the competition is that it uses a dedicated transmitter and receiver module to control the low and high speed signals on both ends of the cable. The receiver leverages phaseHD's adaptive restoration circuit which takes into account the source signal, data rate and cable length (up to a maximum of 50m 26AWG for 1080p60) and applies the correct amount of gain to maximize overall performance. This allows the installer to ensure compliance while working with native HDMI cables of any type and length.

The first question that comes to my mind is how is this different from Redmere technology in HDMI cables?
Redmere cables use just a receiver (actually. more like an equalizer) on the TV end, built-in to and powered by the cable. The DVP implementation, if it's a new model, will probably involve a built-in transmitter, an HDMI cable of your choosing, and a passive receiver for the other end. More of a brute force approach. I don't know which is better and/or cheaper.
balboa dave is offline  
post #7399 of 8336 Old 12-20-2013, 05:45 AM
Senior Member
 
balboa dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Newport Beach, California
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post

^ Interesting.  Wonder if it will support HDMI 2.0 out of the gate?
Per the phaseHD site, they support 4K and HDMI 2.0 speeds, but don't mention HDMI 2.0 specifically. If there is a bottleneck here, it would be the Darbee processor.
balboa dave is offline  
post #7400 of 8336 Old 12-25-2013, 01:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
gadgetfreaky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I have a 60ft Redmere HDMI monoprice cable going from my Denon 4520 to Sony HW55 projector.

When I plug in the darbee between the denon & the projector I get a purple screen. My assumption is that I'm at the maximum HDMI cable length already & adding in darbee weakens the signal & causes some HDMI handshake signals.

But when I plug in the darbee between the dvd & receiver I get no picture. Any help or thoughts?
gadgetfreaky is offline  
post #7401 of 8336 Old 12-25-2013, 02:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
migraine24-7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Centerville Ia
Posts: 703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgetfreaky View Post

I have a 60ft Redmere HDMI monoprice cable going from my Denon 4520 to Sony HW55 projector.

When I plug in the darbee between the denon & the projector I get a purple screen. My assumption is that I'm at the maximum HDMI cable length already & adding in darbee weakens the signal & causes some HDMI handshake signals.

But when I plug in the darbee between the dvd & receiver I get no picture. Any help or thoughts?

I'm sure you've probably checked this but is the Redmere running in the correct direction? It isn't like a typical Hdmi cable. It has to be run with a specific end at the source and other end at the display. If it's reversed it won't work. Also what length Hdmi are you using for the shorter cable? Many people have had issues with cables shorter than 6 feet. Hope something I've said here helps. Have a safe and Merry Christmas.

GO BLUE
migraine24-7 is offline  
post #7402 of 8336 Old 12-25-2013, 04:28 AM
Member
 
Type A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Panama City Fl
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Did you verify the Darbee is in good working order? Tried the same set up with a different display, tried a different cable, took the Denon out of the loop, process of elimination sorta thing...

JVC DLA-RS60U3D & DaLite High Power 106". Secondary: Panasonic Viera TC-P65ST30.
Paradigm Studio V.5: 20 (5) & ADP-590 (2). Hsu: VTF-2 MK3 (2) & MBM-12 MK2 (2).
Yamaha RX-A3010 & Emotiva XPA-5. Oppo BDP-93 & DarbeeVision DVP 5000.
Type A is offline  
post #7403 of 8336 Old 12-25-2013, 05:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DaveN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: TN
Posts: 1,818
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgetfreaky View Post

I have a 60ft Redmere HDMI monoprice cable going from my Denon 4520 to Sony HW55 projector.

When I plug in the darbee between the denon & the projector I get a purple screen. My assumption is that I'm at the maximum HDMI cable length already & adding in darbee weakens the signal & causes some HDMI handshake signals.

But when I plug in the darbee between the dvd & receiver I get no picture. Any help or thoughts?

Lumagen makes an HDMI amplifier that fixes these type of issues. The signal strength is adjustable. I used one with a Sony VPL=VW100 and I went from no picture to solid. I have a new PJ and new room so I am no longer using it.
PM me if you are interested.

Dave
DaveN is offline  
post #7404 of 8336 Old 12-25-2013, 07:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 7,824
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 966 Post(s)
Liked: 882
I have a Darblet connected between my Denin 4520 and a Sony X900 4K display using a 30' Redmere cable on the Sony side and a 3' Redmere cable on the Denon side. So I can confirm that it is not the Redmere technology that is the issue, and I have never had an issue with cables shorter than 6'. It would surprise me that the difference between 30' and 60' were the issue, because that is what Redmere is supposed to solve. The only issue I encountered is that the Darblet won't pass a 4K signal, which is not applicable in your case. As suggested, I would use the process of elimination to isolate what is causing the issue. You may have a bad cable.
AustinJerry is offline  
post #7405 of 8336 Old 12-25-2013, 11:13 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 20,217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 606 Post(s)
Liked: 582
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveN View Post

Lumagen makes an HDMI amplifier that fixes these type of issues. The signal strength is adjustable. I used one with a Sony VPL=VW100 and I went from no picture to solid. I have a new PJ and new room so I am no longer using it.
PM me if you are interested.

Dave

Hi Dave. The HDMI-HDMI extender by Lumagen does not amplify the signal. It has four selectable settings which adjust the equalization and four additional settings which adjust the equalization and correct the timing. All done with one box at the display end of a long cable. I am using these in some installations and in my HT which you are familiar with. However, if a signal is encrypted with HDMI 2.2 as out of the Sony server, I can't get it to work. I will shortly be trying a Kordz extender which has boxes and short HDMI dongles on each box at each end of the HDMI run and is plug and play with no adjustments possible. I have been told that it will pass HDCP 2.2. What projector have you switched to?

Mark Haflich
markhaflich@yahoo.com
call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is online now  
post #7406 of 8336 Old 12-25-2013, 12:32 PM
Member
 
sk576c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I just hooked up my Darbee to my rs46 and have been tinkering with it. Hidef mode at 40-50% seems best/safest. My RS57 arrives tomorrow. The Darbee is performing some degree of video processing. The 4k-eshift on the rs57 will be performing video processing. Adding these extra video processing junctions in my video path would ad some video latency would it not?
sk576c is offline  
post #7407 of 8336 Old 12-25-2013, 06:27 PM
Member
 
Korszo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Niagara Falls, NY
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgetfreaky View Post

I have a 60ft Redmere HDMI monoprice cable going from my Denon 4520 to Sony HW55 projector.

When I plug in the darbee between the denon & the projector I get a purple screen. My assumption is that I'm at the maximum HDMI cable length already & adding in darbee weakens the signal & causes some HDMI handshake signals.

But when I plug in the darbee between the dvd & receiver I get no picture. Any help or thoughts?

I posted this in the "Digital Hi-End Projectors" forum this morning. Don't like to double post, but this information is probably more appropriate and helpful here. Some recent Darbees were shipped with the wrong power supply ...

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
Check your Darbee's power supply. If its 9vdc, it is the wrong supply. Should be 5vdc. I had this problem & waisted a lot of time only to find out through the vendors testing, and his contact with Darbee the supply was wrong!

Very frustrating. Another indicator is the Blue LED will stay on all the time, even with no cables connected. It should only be on when video is present at the input.

Hope this helps ...
Korszo is offline  
post #7408 of 8336 Old 12-26-2013, 05:34 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 20,217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 606 Post(s)
Liked: 582
Quote:
Originally Posted by sk576c View Post

I just hooked up my Darbee to my rs46 and have been tinkering with it. Hidef mode at 40-50% seems best/safest. My RS57 arrives tomorrow. The Darbee is performing some degree of video processing. The 4k-eshift on the rs57 will be performing video processing. Adding these extra video processing junctions in my video path would ad some video latency would it not?

The Darblet essentially is real time, the delay is tiny, perhaps 1 ms. It performs a type rather than degree of video processing. Increasing the strength of the processing in the Darblet does not increase the latency. Yes. The JVC will introduce some latency and using the e=shift 3 will increase that latency but I have no clue as to how much. Zombie10K I expect will measure it in his comparative review thread.

Mark Haflich
markhaflich@yahoo.com
call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is online now  
post #7409 of 8336 Old 12-26-2013, 10:53 AM
Senior Member
 
Mad Norseman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Land of 10,000 Taxes!
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 100
I'm a new Darbee owner/user, and just hooked it up last weekend to try it out, but I'm not really seeing any significant difference/improvement - is that normal/typical?
I've tried it now with HD cable TV and SD DVD & Blu-ray disc sources and its really having no/little dicernable effect - or maybe I'm doing something wrong?
I have it hooked up between my surround processor and 65" Panasonic ST30 series plasma display, and have it set on HD at 45%. I've tried it up to 75%, but still its almost indicernable. (Maybe its a dud, and its just passing through the video?).

The picture on my plasma has always looked wonderful, and it still looks great, but not really differnet/better...any thoughts???

The Insane Pink Care Bear's Home Theater Set Up:

Marantz AV 8801 Processor, Emotiva XPR-5 Amplifier, Panasonic 65" ST30 Plasma, Yamaha BD-S2900 Blu-ray, Yamaha CDC-697 CD Player, Yamaha TT-500U Turntable, w/Signet TK5e, JBL ES100 Fronts, JBL LC2 Center, JBL ES30 Surrounds & 2 JBL ES250P Subwoofers
Mad Norseman is offline  
post #7410 of 8336 Old 12-26-2013, 11:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 7,824
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 966 Post(s)
Liked: 882

The effect is subtle, and to notice it, you have to look at specific types of images.  For example, in an outdoors scene with either trees in the foreground, or buildings in the background, pause the video and toggle the Darbee enhancement on and off.  Look for changes in edge details in the trees or on the buildings.  Or look at a live TV broadcast with close-up images of faces, e.g. the evening news.  Pause the video, toggle the effect on and off, and look for changes around eyes, in facial shadows, and especially the hair.  Increase the effect percentage until you can notice a difference, and then you will be convinced that something indeed is happening.  Then you can dial the effect percent down until the effect is most pleasing to you.

 

Report your experiences, please.

Randy Schmidt likes this.
AustinJerry is offline  
Reply Video Processors

Tags
Darbeevision Darblet Hdmi Video Processor

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off