Darbee vision darblet - Page 277 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 65Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-19-2014, 06:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, TX & Arlington, VA
Posts: 1,678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Can anyone speak to how the Darbee works with streaming video, i.e Apple TV? I don'r really watch that many blu-ray movies.
mbroadus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-19-2014, 08:02 AM
Member
 
pacman9270's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbroadus View Post
Can anyone speak to how the Darbee works with streaming video, i.e Apple TV? I don'r really watch that many blu-ray movies.
It does alright for me. You just have to find the settings that work for you. If you're asking if there is an improvement in picture, yes.

There are never failures, only challenges.
pacman9270 is offline  
Old 11-19-2014, 08:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, TX & Arlington, VA
Posts: 1,678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by pacman9270 View Post
It does alright for me. You just have to find the settings that work for you. If you're asking if there is an improvement in picture, yes.
Thanks...went ahead and ordered a once used one through Cleveland Plasma.
mbroadus is offline  
Old 11-19-2014, 11:56 AM
Member
 
pacman9270's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbroadus View Post
Thanks...went ahead and ordered a once used one through Cleveland Plasma.
Great move! I was impatient and paid full price. Have fun and post your thoughts!

There are never failures, only challenges.
pacman9270 is offline  
Old 11-19-2014, 02:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ellisr63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Northern California, In the HT
Posts: 2,154
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 202 Post(s)
Liked: 250
Smarthome.com has them on sale in the closeouts... I think mine was $257 shipped including tax.

Denon 4520ci, (3) JBL 2360As/EV DHA-1s, (3) 1/4 Pie bass bins, MiniDSP 2x4s, (4) Klipsch HIPs, (2) Klipsch KP3002s, PS3, XBox 360, (3) Intel NUCs, Monoprice Redmere, Monster HTPS7000, 2 SUPER SPUD subs, Panasonic AE8000us SeymourAV 180 (195" diagonal) scope screen, Yamaha P7000s (for the subs), (2) Yamaha P2500s amps for the front (3) bass bins.
ellisr63 is offline  
Old 11-20-2014, 05:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, TX & Arlington, VA
Posts: 1,678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Anyone know if the Darbee can be controlled by a Harmony 880?
mbroadus is offline  
Old 11-20-2014, 05:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
mogrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Merica
Posts: 566
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbroadus View Post
Anyone know if the Darbee can be controlled by a Harmony 880?
Yes. The Darblet is in the Harmony database. I control mine from a 900. I assume with the 880 you'd need line of sight for the IR, but that would be your only limitation.


Every once in a while, quite inexplicably, things actually go according to plan.
mogrub is online now  
Old 11-20-2014, 06:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, TX & Arlington, VA
Posts: 1,678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by mogrub View Post
Yes. The Darblet is in the Harmony database. I control mine from a 900. I assume with the 880 you'd need line of sight for the IR, but that would be your only limitation.

Thanks...do you need line of sight with the Darby remote? I curious where I'm going to place the darblet so that its hidden but still be able to control it.
mbroadus is offline  
Old Yesterday, 06:59 AM
Member
 
mecmec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbroadus View Post
Thanks...do you need line of sight with the Darby remote? I curious where I'm going to place the darblet so that its hidden but still be able to control it.
yes, you do need a direct line of site for the IR remote to work.
mecmec is offline  
Old Yesterday, 07:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
mogrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Merica
Posts: 566
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbroadus View Post
Thanks...do you need line of sight with the Darby remote? I curious where I'm going to place the darblet so that its hidden but still be able to control it.
The Darblet has only an IR receiver (no RF or Wifi), so it needs line of sight to whatever IR emitter it is "listening to".

But you can use an IR repeater, like this one, so that the Darblet can be hidden out of sight -- tucked behind something, or in a closed cabinet. The only thing your remote has to be able to "see" is the repeater receiver, and a little wire snakes down from that to the IR blaster that you'd seat next to the Darblet.

There are also Harmony devices that operate with RF and IR, allowing you to send the command signal via RF to a paired IR "blaster" that is not in line of sight to the remote.


Every once in a while, quite inexplicably, things actually go according to plan.
mogrub is online now  
Old Yesterday, 08:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, TX & Arlington, VA
Posts: 1,678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by mogrub View Post
The Darblet has only an IR receiver (no RF or Wifi), so it needs line of sight to whatever IR emitter it is "listening to".



But you can use an IR repeater, like this one, so that the Darblet can be hidden out of sight -- tucked behind something, or in a closed cabinet. The only thing your remote has to be able to "see" is the repeater receiver, and a little wire snakes down from that to the IR blaster that you'd seat next to the Darblet.



There are also Harmony devices that operate with RF and IR, allowing you to send the command signal via RF to a paired IR "blaster" that is not in line of sight to the remote.

Thanks
mbroadus is offline  
Old Yesterday, 09:09 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Paul H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Elk Grove, California,USA
Posts: 1,012
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Per the Darblet DVP-5000 Installation FAQ:
Quote:
What kind of IR Extender should I use?

This is the validated IR Extender we recommend: http://infrared-resources.com/Infrar...B002JSDHCY.htm
mbroadus likes this.
Paul H is online now  
Old Yesterday, 10:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hometheatergeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 2,329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by mogrub View Post
Yes. The Darblet is in the Harmony database. I control mine from a 900. I assume with the 880 you'd need line of sight for the IR, but that would be your only limitation.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mecmec View Post
yes, you do need a direct line of site for the IR remote to work.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mogrub View Post
The Darblet has only an IR receiver (no RF or Wifi), so it needs line of sight to whatever IR emitter it is "listening to".

But you can use an IR repeater, like this one, so that the Darblet can be hidden out of sight -- tucked behind something, or in a closed cabinet. The only thing your remote has to be able to "see" is the repeater receiver, and a little wire snakes down from that to the IR blaster that you'd seat next to the Darblet.

There are also Harmony devices that operate with RF and IR, allowing you to send the command signal via RF to a paired IR "blaster" that is not in line of sight to the remote.
I use a Harmony one with my Darblet. The Darblet is actually behind my 70" Sharp display with the IR facing the front wall and I am able to operate it without using a emitter or trigger wire. I was pleasantly surprised it works. I have been using it this way for over a year now.

Hometheatergeek

aka AL
----------
My Current System
hometheatergeek is online now  
Old Yesterday, 01:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
mogrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Merica
Posts: 566
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul H View Post
Per the Darblet DVP-5000 Installation FAQ:
And it's priced right, too.


Every once in a while, quite inexplicably, things actually go according to plan.
mogrub is online now  
Old Yesterday, 08:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,021
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 285 Post(s)
Liked: 290
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbroadus View Post
Thanks...do you need line of sight with the Darby remote? I curious where I'm going to place the darblet so that its hidden but still be able to control it.
My Darblet is mounted on the back wall of my theater room just behind my projector and it works fine with my Harmony Touch. I aim the remote at the screen and the Darblet (which is above and behind me) picks up the IR signal just fine.
Schwa is offline  
Old Yesterday, 09:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
NODES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 665
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schwa View Post
My Darblet is mounted on the back wall of my theater room just behind my projector and it works fine with my Harmony Touch. I aim the remote at the screen and the Darblet (which is above and behind me) picks up the IR signal just fine.

same goes for me.
NODES is offline  
Old Today, 12:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
mogrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Merica
Posts: 566
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 128
For readers confused by the mixed messages on this, IR signals are straight line, but they can reflect. How much (if at all) depends on distances, geometry, surface textures, etc. Can't count on it, but fun when you get the bounce.


Every once in a while, quite inexplicably, things actually go according to plan.
mogrub is online now  
 

Tags
Darbeevision Darblet Hdmi Video Processor
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off