Darbee vision darblet - Page 290 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 113Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #8671 of 8687 Old 05-11-2015, 12:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Tin_Can's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Is there any difference between darbee darblet and other darbee enabled units like oppo or lumagen?
Tin_Can is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8672 of 8687 Old 05-11-2015, 12:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
vega509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Northeast
Posts: 950
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdnscg View Post
My remote just stopped working properly. I changed the battery, and still it is erratic at best. The menu still works from the unit itself, but thats a pain from were I've placed it in the chain of cables. Any one have an issue with the remote with a simple fix?
if you are sure the battery is up to snuff, (these remotes are finicky), remove the battery and get a q-tip and some rubbing alcohol and clean the contacts. Mine had some type of grease in there.

One thing that helps, once your remote is working properly is to remove the battery when you are not using it.
vega509 is offline  
post #8673 of 8687 Old 05-11-2015, 12:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
cdnscg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 930
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by vega509 View Post
if you are sure the battery is up to snuff, (these remotes are finicky), remove the battery and get a q-tip and some rubbing alcohol and clean the contacts. Mine had some type of grease in there.

One thing that helps, once your remote is working properly is to remove the battery when you are not using it.
Thanks. Will give it a try.
cdnscg is offline  
post #8674 of 8687 Old 05-11-2015, 05:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
humbland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,066
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdnscg View Post
My remote just stopped working properly. I changed the battery, and still it is erratic at best. The menu still works from the unit itself, but thats a pain from were I've placed it in the chain of cables. Any one have an issue with the remote with a simple fix?
First try replacing the battery. I had a remote go bad. I emailed Darbee CS and they sent me a new one. They asked for the old one back to check it out. Great CS experience.
humbland is offline  
post #8675 of 8687 Old 05-11-2015, 07:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kilgore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Huntsville Ontario
Posts: 3,519
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 410 Post(s)
Liked: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdnscg View Post
My remote just stopped working properly. I changed the battery, and still it is erratic at best. The menu still works from the unit itself, but thats a pain from were I've placed it in the chain of cables. Any one have an issue with the remote with a simple fix?
Not a simple fix, but I control mine with my Harmony remote. It works WAY better than the original Darbee remote.
Kilgore is offline  
post #8676 of 8687 Old 05-12-2015, 09:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
mogrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Merica
Posts: 731
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 191 Post(s)
Liked: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by humbland View Post
First try replacing the battery. I had a remote go bad. I emailed Darbee CS and they sent me a new one. They asked for the old one back to check it out. Great CS experience.
+1^ My remote was DOA when I bought the Darblet a couple years ago, and they immediately replaced it. Good CS for sure.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kilgore View Post
Not a simple fix, but I control mine with my Harmony remote. It works WAY better than the original Darbee remote.
+1^ Amen on the Harmony. Our Darblet isn't in the same room as the display, so the OEM remote isn't much help anyway.


Every once in a while, quite inexplicably, things actually go according to plan.
mogrub is offline  
post #8677 of 8687 Old 05-12-2015, 09:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
humbland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,066
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 35
+1 on the alternative remote fix.
We took a programmable remote and "learned" the Darbee codes. They are simple and few. Up/down and Menu were the ones we used the most. Add those to your HT remote and you are good to go...
humbland is offline  
post #8678 of 8687 Old 05-17-2015, 03:57 AM
Member
 
a5ian300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Does anyone know if you can get better case for the Darbee as I hate the look of the plastic?

Ps. For the remote if you have smart Android phone with ir blaster then you can download smart remote by tiger which has the Darbee in their database.

I have not checked the harmony database yet.

Thanks.

TV: Panasonic 55" VT65 Surround: Yamaha RX1073 + Orbs Audio Mod2 7.1 + SVS SB12-NSD Stereo: Yamaha AS500 + Kef Q300 Processor: Lumagen XS3D+ Darbee Players: HDI Dune Prime 3 / Nuc i5 - KODI / VU+ Duo2 / Roku 3 NAS: Qnap 869 Pro
a5ian300zx is offline  
post #8679 of 8687 Old 05-17-2015, 12:13 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
oink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Shuloch
Posts: 29,005
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1439 Post(s)
Liked: 1175
I'm beginning to suspect my Darbee is overheating.
Anyone else run into this?


Currently, I have it laying on carpet (probably not the best place).

Only girly-men push The Red Button.
oink is online now  
post #8680 of 8687 Old Yesterday, 11:03 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
oink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Shuloch
Posts: 29,005
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1439 Post(s)
Liked: 1175
UPDATE: Now I get a black screen and no response from the unit.
Time to call Darbee for an RA#

Only girly-men push The Red Button.
oink is online now  
post #8681 of 8687 Old Yesterday, 12:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Raistlin_HT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Buffalo, NY area
Posts: 2,546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by oink View Post
I'm beginning to suspect my Darbee is overheating.
Anyone else run into this?


Currently, I have it laying on carpet (probably not the best place).
I would avoid repeating this when your new one arrives.
Raistlin_HT is online now  
post #8682 of 8687 Old Yesterday, 01:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
bweissman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: California
Posts: 878
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by a5ian300zx View Post
Does anyone know if you can get better case for the Darbee as I hate the look of the plastic?
You could get the DVP-5100CIE which comes in a fancier case at a higher price.

OPPO BDP-103, Comcast DVR, Sony FMP-X1 4K server
Marantz AV8801 pre/pro, Yamaha MX-A5000 amp
Sony VPL-VW600ES projector, Stewart StudioTek130 103" diag screen
7 Thiel speakers (3 SCS4, 2 PowerPoint, 2 PowerPlane), 2 JL Audio E110 subs
Harmony Ultimate remote
bweissman is offline  
post #8683 of 8687 Old Yesterday, 04:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
73shark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: KC, MO area
Posts: 2,355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by oink View Post


Currently, I have it laying on carpet (probably not the best place).
I would avoid mentioning this when you request the RA number.

In space, no one can hear you scream . . .
73shark is offline  
post #8684 of 8687 Old Today, 12:22 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
oink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Shuloch
Posts: 29,005
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1439 Post(s)
Liked: 1175
Quote:
Originally Posted by 73shark View Post
I would avoid mentioning this when you request the RA number.
So, there is a heat problem with the Darbee....

Only girly-men push The Red Button.
oink is online now  
post #8685 of 8687 Old Today, 04:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
JRWalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 50
My Darblet has an external 5V 1A power supply. It would take an external heat source on the Darblet, like a sunlamp, to overheat it.
JRWalker is online now  
post #8686 of 8687 Old Today, 07:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
73shark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: KC, MO area
Posts: 2,355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by oink View Post
So, there is a heat problem with the Darbee....
Don't know about that. Just wouldn't want to give them an excuse not to honor warranty.

In space, no one can hear you scream . . .
73shark is offline  
post #8687 of 8687 Unread Today, 11:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Raistlin_HT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Buffalo, NY area
Posts: 2,546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by oink View Post
So, there is a heat problem with the Darbee....
That's like saying an amp has a heat problem if you throw it in a sealed cabinet

Basically every electronic device that generates heat has a warnings to place it on a flat surface, give clearance to vents, etc. You might as well wrap it in a blanket and then blame the manufacturer when it implodes.


Per the first item in the Care and Maintenance of Your DARBEE Product section:
  • Allow for ventilation and avoid temperatures below 32 F (0 C) or above 140 F (40 C)


Spoiler!

Last edited by Raistlin_HT; Today at 11:16 AM.
Raistlin_HT is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Video Processors

Tags
Darbeevision Darblet Hdmi Video Processor

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off