Darbee vision darblet - Page 34 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 26Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #991 of 8107 Old 07-15-2012, 09:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fookoo_2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kottan View Post

Is the Darbee doing something similar to what the Oppo 93 is doing when the latter´s sharpness level is raised to "1"?

No
fookoo_2010 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #992 of 8107 Old 07-15-2012, 09:55 AM
 
AV Science Sales 4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kottan View Post

Is the Darbee doing something similar to what the Oppo 93 is doing when the latter´s sharpness level is raised to "1"? If yes....is there a sense for Oppo-users to go the Darbee route?

It's not at all similar. The Darbee enhances contrast transitions which as perceived by the viewer improve both depth and sharpness. The Oppo sharpness control introduces ringing similar to the sharpness controls on displays etc. Some prefer enhancing sharpness by using such controls, but in fact a sharpness control filters out high frequency detail while introducing ringing.
AV Science Sales 4 is offline  
post #993 of 8107 Old 07-15-2012, 11:00 AM
Member
 
Kottan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Vienna / Austria
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Science Sales 4 View Post

It's not at all similar. The Darbee enhances contrast transitions which as perceived by the viewer improve both depth and sharpness. The Oppo sharpness control introduces ringing similar to the sharpness controls on displays etc. Some prefer enhancing sharpness by using such controls, but in fact a sharpness control filters out high frequency detail while introducing ringing.

I tend to disagree. No (visible) ringing is introduced by the Oppo´s sharpness control unless its level is raised above "2".
Kottan is offline  
post #994 of 8107 Old 07-15-2012, 01:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
CJayB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Mission Hills, CA
Posts: 729
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kottan View Post

I tend to disagree. No (visible) ringing is introduced by the Oppo´s sharpness control unless its level is raised above "2".
I have to agree with Kottan. I keep the sharpness on the Oppo usually set at 2 with the darblet set anywhere from 50 to 75% in HD mode, mostly at 65%. I don't doubt that the Oppo causes some artifacting but it's rarely perceptible in everyday viewing.
CJayB is offline  
post #995 of 8107 Old 07-15-2012, 01:19 PM
 
AV Science Sales 4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I like the Oppo a lot. Lots of sharpness controls are not zero when reading zero. The setting below where ringing is introduced is the true zero to me. Clearly you can turn the Oppo sharpness control up and up it will introduce ringing and one must closely observe the transition edges to ensure no loss of detail or obscuring by a halo (ringing) around transition edges. Owners that have an Oppo and a Darblet can report on the benefits of daisy chaining an Oppo and a Darblet. Adding a Darblet will improve the contrast transitions, the depth and increased sharpness to ones eyes that occurs with the Darblet. As usual AV Science offers a money back guarantee if you do not agree or think the Darblet is worth the improvement.
AV Science Sales 4 is offline  
post #996 of 8107 Old 07-15-2012, 02:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,155
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Had an odd issue with the darblet - I thought things didn't look quite as crisp, and went to play with the settings - although the darblet was lit up correctly and responded to the remote, there was no change to the effect - even selected on or off. It simply wasn't processing.

I unpowered and repowered and it returned to normal operation...
thrang is offline  
post #997 of 8107 Old 07-15-2012, 02:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audiofan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,015
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJayB View Post

I have to agree with Kottan. I keep the sharpness on the Oppo usually set at 2 with the darblet set anywhere from 50 to 75% in HD mode, mostly at 65%. I don't doubt that the Oppo causes some artifacting but it's rarely perceptible in everyday viewing.

Same here on the +1 or+2 sharpness on the Oppo's no ringing here as well and lifts the so called veil ! While I'm not 100% sure but it is said to engage Qdeo processing, this has been the burning question for me as well vs the Darblet. The Oppo's also have Contrast enhancement which does do(which is not bad at all, but feels like cheating:D) what the Darblet has been described to do. I'm trying to hold out just to see what more professional reviews and testing find on how much it alters the picture, as end users reviews give it a thumbs up! But if its just the same as engaging processing I already have, then my own side by side test will be the final judge.
audiofan1 is offline  
post #998 of 8107 Old 07-15-2012, 03:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
baddgsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 1,220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the Darbee looks to only affect areas most in focus creating a better overall POP effect from the test gallery i viewed. Still keeping the unfocused bokeh soft which i really like.

- Independent Dreams - IDStudios
baddgsx is offline  
post #999 of 8107 Old 07-15-2012, 06:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jive Turkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: good old USA
Posts: 1,461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by thrang View Post

Had an odd issue with the darblet - I thought things didn't look quite as crisp, and went to play with the settings - although the darblet was lit up correctly and responded to the remote, there was no change to the effect - even selected on or off. It simply wasn't processing.
I unpowered and repowered and it returned to normal operation...

It does seem we live in a world where microprocessors seem to need to be rebooted every now and then.

See ya. Dave

"High Fidelity audio has been like a dog chasing his tail. High Fidelity in my marriage has been much more rewarding cause she knows where I sleep."
Jive Turkey is offline  
post #1000 of 8107 Old 07-15-2012, 07:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cinema mad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Here Nor There..
Posts: 1,826
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by thrang View Post

Had an odd issue with the darblet - I thought things didn't look quite as crisp, and went to play with the settings - although the darblet was lit up correctly and responded to the remote, there was no change to the effect - even selected on or off. It simply wasn't processing.

I unpowered and repowered and it returned to normal operation...
Ive come accross the same thing one time as well, where pulling the power was required, after powerup all was good...
cinema mad is offline  
post #1001 of 8107 Old 07-16-2012, 09:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
John Ballentine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles, Ca.
Posts: 5,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiofan1 View Post

Same here on the +1 or+2 sharpness on the Oppo's no ringing here as well and lifts the so called veil ! While I'm not 100% sure but it is said to engage Qdeo processing, this has been the burning question for me as well vs the Darblet. The Oppo's also have Contrast enhancement which does do(which is not bad at all, but feels like cheating:D) what the Darblet has been described to do. I'm trying to hold out just to see what more professional reviews and testing find on how much it alters the picture, as end users reviews give it a thumbs up! But if its just the same as engaging processing I already have, then my own side by side test will be the final judge.

Interesting. I keep my OPPO Sharpness at +1 and Detail at +1 (most of the time) w/ no adverse affects. Never tried the Contrast Enhancement control. Has anybody compared the OPPO Contrast Enhancement control vs: the Darbee processing? Do you have an OPPO Josh?
John Ballentine is offline  
post #1002 of 8107 Old 07-16-2012, 11:49 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Josh Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Planet Boston, source of the spice, Melange.
Posts: 20,043
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 256 Post(s)
Liked: 343
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Ballentine View Post

Do you have an OPPO Josh?

I do. That setting is a global contrast boost. Not the same thing at all.

Josh Z
Writer/Editor, High-Def Digest (Blog updated daily!)
Curator, Laserdisc Forever

My opinions are my own, and do not necessarily reflect those of my employers.

Josh Z is offline  
post #1003 of 8107 Old 07-16-2012, 12:23 PM
 
AV Science Sales 4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I suspect the contrast enhancement on the OPPO is like that in the Gennum chip and alters the shape of the gamma curve at both ends.
AV Science Sales 4 is offline  
post #1004 of 8107 Old 07-16-2012, 10:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 6,399
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 211
I just tested the Darbee and I saw no evidence of any change to color performance.

The only odd characteristic that I believe has been mentioned by others is that the Darbee outputs RGB regardless of what signal it receives. Thus, it is probably wise to send it an RGB signal to avoid an unnecessary color space conversion.

680

682

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #1005 of 8107 Old 07-16-2012, 11:01 PM
 
bazlog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne England UK.
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello Tom, what was your opinion of the Darblet?smile.gif
bazlog is offline  
post #1006 of 8107 Old 07-16-2012, 11:57 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaGamePimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: WA State
Posts: 15,513
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Thanks for that Tom, exactly what I was looking for.

What settings were in use (& what mode) while the Darblet was ON?

- - -


So RGB 4:4:4 at all times(?), will this be corrected?

Can it adjust levels properly, say I wanted to use it for gaming from a PC... can it do 0-255?


- - -

Thanks again,
Jason
DaGamePimp is offline  
post #1007 of 8107 Old 07-17-2012, 07:15 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rboster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 17,564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaGamePimp View Post

So RGB 4:4:4 at all times(?), will this be corrected?

- - -
Thanks again,
Jason

As stated in one of the last couple of pages, the current delay in new units into the market place is to make that correction.

"Retired" AVS Moderator
rboster is offline  
post #1008 of 8107 Old 07-17-2012, 11:33 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaGamePimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: WA State
Posts: 15,513
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by rboster View Post

As stated in one of the last couple of pages, the current delay in new units into the market place is to make that correction.

Ah, sorry I missed that. wink.gif

Thank You!
Jason
DaGamePimp is offline  
post #1009 of 8107 Old 07-17-2012, 04:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
baddgsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 1,220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The new firmware fixes rgb only out.

- Independent Dreams - IDStudios
baddgsx is offline  
post #1010 of 8107 Old 07-17-2012, 04:40 PM
 
AV Science Sales 4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
The way I understand it, the new software will output the same same that is inputted. The interesting nerd question would be what space does it process in? It would seem desirable to input whatever space that is. But I dunno if my first sentence is correct and whether the Darblet does it's processing in only one space or whether it can process in multiple spaces without any conversions.
AV Science Sales 4 is offline  
post #1011 of 8107 Old 07-17-2012, 05:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jive Turkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: good old USA
Posts: 1,461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I was looking for something new to obsess about!

See ya. Dave

"High Fidelity audio has been like a dog chasing his tail. High Fidelity in my marriage has been much more rewarding cause she knows where I sleep."
Jive Turkey is offline  
post #1012 of 8107 Old 07-17-2012, 05:49 PM
Senior Member
 
praz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Science Sales 4 View Post

The interesting nerd question would be what space does it process in?
All documentation states internal processing is 4:4:4.
praz is offline  
post #1013 of 8107 Old 07-17-2012, 06:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jive Turkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: good old USA
Posts: 1,461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Phew!

See ya. Dave

"High Fidelity audio has been like a dog chasing his tail. High Fidelity in my marriage has been much more rewarding cause she knows where I sleep."
Jive Turkey is offline  
post #1014 of 8107 Old 07-17-2012, 06:50 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
R Harkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 11,964
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by baddgsx View Post

The new firmware fixes rgb only out.

Really?

A number of us have been experiencing HDMI issues - handshake, weird audio stuff (in my case) with the Darblet. I thought this was being addressed as well. frown.gif
R Harkness is offline  
post #1015 of 8107 Old 07-17-2012, 07:37 PM
Member
 
muzikool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Texas
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've followed this thread with a lot of interest and have read through most of the 34 pages here. I recall reading a post from a user with an Oppo BDP-93, who had to switch to the second HDMI port for the Darbee to function correctly. I have a BDP-93 and was wondering if I would need to do this as well.

Media Room
Mitsubishi HC6800 1080P Projector with Darbee Darblet Video Processor
106" Da-Lite 90271V Cinema Contour High Contrast Cinema Vision Screen
Denon AVR-2809CI
Oppo BDP-93 Blu-ray Player
Energy v6.2 Towers / Energy v5.2 Center / Boston Acoustics HS50 surrounds / Klipsch RW-12D Sub
muzikool is offline  
post #1016 of 8107 Old 07-17-2012, 07:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DaveN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: TN
Posts: 1,815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thrang View Post

Had an odd issue with the darblet - I thought things didn't look quite as crisp, and went to play with the settings - although the darblet was lit up correctly and responded to the remote, there was no change to the effect - even selected on or off. It simply wasn't processing.
I unpowered and repowered and it returned to normal operation...

Thanks for posting. I had noticed no significant difference lately with unit bypassed or on HD. Unplugged and everything was back to normal. Odd bug...
DaveN is offline  
post #1017 of 8107 Old 07-17-2012, 09:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fight4yu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 1,729
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by muzikool View Post

I've followed this thread with a lot of interest and have read through most of the 34 pages here. I recall reading a post from a user with an Oppo BDP-93, who had to switch to the second HDMI port for the Darbee to function correctly. I have a BDP-93 and was wondering if I would need to do this as well.

I think you have to try and see, as I have BD93 and it works on both of my port. My connection and downstream equipment though is very likely different than that other poster though....
fight4yu is offline  
post #1018 of 8107 Old 07-17-2012, 10:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cinema mad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Here Nor There..
Posts: 1,826
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by praz View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by AV Science Sales 4 View Post

The interesting nerd question would be what space does it process in?
All documentation states internal processing is 4:4:4.
Yes, But thats now not necessairily the case by the sound of it with the new firmware regarding Darbee Drs last post about the fix..

Quote from Darbee"
In the case of being handed something other than RGB, our engineer has successfully modified our processing so that we will process in the incoming color space and color resolution to avoid the HDMI communication pitfalls. The communication will be much easier for the HDMI code to handle and our processing should take on the perfect transparency that was originally intended.
-DD

I followed up with this post " But no reply so still up in the air regarding how exactly the updated darblets will handle/ internal process Colorspace..
"Quote"This is excellent news DarbeeDr , So no extra colorspace conversions,
I take it the Darblet will now have the capability to perform its internal processing @ up to 12Bit ?"
Cinema Mad..


Cheers...
cinema mad is offline  
post #1019 of 8107 Old 07-18-2012, 06:08 AM
Senior Member
 
praz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by cinema mad View Post

Yes, But thats now not necessairily the case by the sound of it with the new firmware regarding Darbee Drs last post about the fix..
Quote from Darbee"
In the case of being handed something other than RGB, our engineer has successfully modified our processing so that we will process in the incoming color space and color resolution to avoid the HDMI communication pitfalls. The communication will be much easier for the HDMI code to handle and our processing should take on the perfect transparency that was originally intended.
-DD
I followed up with this post " But no reply so still up in the air regarding how exactly the updated darblets will handle/ internal process Colorspace..
"Quote"This is excellent news DarbeeDr , So no extra colorspace conversions,
I take it the Darblet will now have the capability to perform its internal processing @ up to 12Bit ?"
Cinema Mad..
Cheers...


I agree at this time what color space the actual processing takes place in is rather confusing. I would hope that if the documentation is wrong it would have been changed by now. I would also like to see something documented regarding the use of IR extender receivers. The only info I have found is the Darblet supports 3V extenders. Most extenders are either 5V or 12V. I have tried several that I have here and none of them work. A list of compatible extenders would be a big help.
praz is offline  
post #1020 of 8107 Old 07-18-2012, 08:25 AM
 
AV Science Sales 4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
The way I understand it now after talking to the Dr. this morning, is that the Darblet processes at 12 bit 4:4:4, regardless of the input and with the new coming software will down convert at its output to whatever the input was if lower than 12 bit 4:4:4. Sooz if you can input at 4:4:4, one should do so to avoid up conversion by the Darblet for processing and then down conversion by the darblet so that the Darblet doesn't change the out from the in. There are other changes made by the new firmware dealing with HDMI and some other things. It looks like Darbee will delay shipments to dealers from the beginning of next week till the end of the week. This is solely to give the software guys a little more time. The hardware is all ready to go.
AV Science Sales 4 is offline  
Reply Video Processors

Tags
Darbeevision Darblet Hdmi Video Processor

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off