Does a processor make sense for a new LCD? - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 04-13-2012, 04:21 PM - Thread Starter
pga
Newbie
 
pga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: miami,fl,usa
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm finally upgrading an 8 year old Runco plasma that came with a processor for a new LCD, probably the new Sharp 80". Does it make sense to get a processor like a DVDO Edge Green or Iscan Duo? I got used to having a single cable, which is nice, but does it also improve the picture? Almost all viewing is DTV and DVD.
pga is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 04-13-2012, 05:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
derekjsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mukilteo, WA
Posts: 1,890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by pga View Post

I'm finally upgrading an 8 year old Runco plasma that came with a processor for a new LCD, probably the new Sharp 80". Does it make sense to get a processor like a DVDO Edge Green or Iscan Duo? I got used to having a single cable, which is nice, but does it also improve the picture? Almost all viewing is DTV and DVD.

Which processor did your Runco have. The DHD3 and above are supported by CalMAN for using the processor for calibrating gamma and grayscale.

Derek

CTO / Founder - SpectraCal Inc.
derekjsmith is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 04-13-2012, 07:25 PM - Thread Starter
pga
Newbie
 
pga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: miami,fl,usa
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not sure, but it was the current model in late 2004 with DVI outputs Vivix II model. I doubt it would do 1080p. Not sure it is worth anything these days but the processor works fine. The panel has got a bad rectangle top left corner.
pga is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 04-16-2012, 11:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 8,644
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1294 Post(s)
Liked: 690
As I'm sure you're aware, modern flat panel displays have video processors designed into them. You'll have to find specs for whatever is included in the Sharp you're considering and compare them to the outboard processors. My search didn't fare too well: the Sharp site just gave me a spinning busy-icon when trying to access the manual for the LC-80LE632U. I did see that it supports 10bit video, so you'd certainly need a high-end processor to do it justice.

Selden

Marantz SR7009+MM9000/Atmos 7.1.4 (FH+TM:DefTech PM1000)/LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 04-16-2012, 12:29 PM
Member
 
1forsnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 44
i have a duo and it cleans up DTV rather well IMO. as for DVD....well that will depend what kind of bluray/dvd player you have and how well it upconverts. if you have an older player, chances are an external VP will help it out too. But the onboard VP's in panels nowadays are getting better and better.

the duo can also connect to calman or chromapure as well.....
1forsnow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Video Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off