Another HDMI Splitter thread.... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 05-12-2012, 04:47 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
vision-master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Want to connect (2) monitors (HDMI) to windows 7. My current computer has one (1) HDMI output (desktop app) but I am in the proccess of connecting another monitor with a 25ft HDMI cable.

Sounds like most of the splitters are buggy and quit working after a spell?
vision-master is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 05-12-2012, 06:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RobertR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: California
Posts: 6,163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 407
My Monoprice splitter's been working fine so far (I've had it about a week).
RobertR is online now  
post #3 of 10 Old 05-12-2012, 07:00 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
vision-master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I've heard of them. Is it made in China?
vision-master is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 05-12-2012, 10:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gmanhdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: windermere, florida
Posts: 1,216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by vision-master View Post

I've heard of them. Is it made in China?

It is easier to keep track of what IS NOT made in China!
gmanhdtv is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 05-13-2012, 01:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RapalloAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 1,836
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by vision-master View Post

Want to connect (2) monitors (HDMI) to windows 7. My current computer has one (1) HDMI output (desktop app) but I am in the proccess of connecting another monitor with a 25ft HDMI cable.

Sounds like most of the splitters are buggy and quit working after a spell?

What usually stops working after some time is not the splitter but instead is the power pack, often the ones from China are poorly manufactured.
RapalloAV is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 05-13-2012, 07:03 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
vision-master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 24
How about installing another HDMI computer card and running both at the same time?
vision-master is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 05-13-2012, 07:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rovingtravler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Clovis, NM
Posts: 1,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
do you have DVI or Display port on your computer? You should be aboe to run both at the same time as long as you do not need sound. Or if you only need sound at one use the HDMI for that display and DVI or display port for the other.

David

"You buy a Ferrari when you want to be somebody. You buy a Lamborghini when you are somebody." - Frank Sinatra
rovingtravler is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 05-13-2012, 07:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
bluechunks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Posts: 932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by vision-master View Post

How about installing another HDMI computer card and running both at the same time?

That could work, and is very common in "gaming" rigs and workstations, but you would have to be specific with your selection of a secondary video card. I'd suggest posing the question over in the HTPC section with your detailed system specs including your current card.

IMHO, a passive monoprice splitter sounds much easier to install, configure, and maintain. And it would be less expensive as a bonus. At less than $25 it borders on disposable if you have to replace it occasionally.
bluechunks is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 05-13-2012, 12:05 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
vision-master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Just wondering what experience others have had with these splitters?
vision-master is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 05-13-2012, 12:11 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
vision-master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by rovingtravler View Post

do you have DVI or Display port on your computer? You should be aboe to run both at the same time as long as you do not need sound. Or if you only need sound at one use the HDMI for that display and DVI or display port for the other.

I've thought of that one, may have to try it?
vision-master is offline  
Reply Video Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off