Can I get 2.35 without an A-lens? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 12 Old 05-16-2012, 03:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 151 Post(s)
Liked: 196
I am new to this and before I buy my projecter screen or anything I am trying to learn what fits my needs. I dont want to get an A-lens and dont want to mess with zooming in and out. Can I get a video processor to do all the work such as fill an entire 2.35 screen area on all video played? This includes TV as well. Please help me out. Thanks.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"Is not love not unlike the unlikely not it is unlikened to?"
- Leon Phelps
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 05-16-2012, 03:49 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Recently it has become more popular to use a 16:9 projector on a 2.35 screen without an anamorphic lens. We posted a new technical tip, for the Radiance video processor, on this subject. See "Tip 16 - Setting up 2.35 widescreen with out using an anamorphic lens".

We also updated the two technical tips for setting up a Radiance video processor with a fixed or movable anamorphic lens.

http://www.lumagen.com/testindex.php?module=manuals

Randy Freeman
Lumagen
post #3 of 12 Old 05-18-2012, 10:06 AM
AVS Special Member

Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pain Infliction View Post

I dont want to get an A-lens

Just curious to hear your objections to an Anamorphic Lens.
Cost, PQ, Curved display?
I build mine out of $125 prisms and I love it.
post #4 of 12 Old 05-18-2012, 11:27 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by hirent View Post

Just curious to hear your objections to an Anamorphic Lens.
Cost, PQ, Curved display?
I build mine out of $125 prisms and I love it.