Best component video to VGA (RGBHV) converter? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 05-22-2012, 08:30 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
PublicSectorTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello ladies'n'gents!

Hope I am posting this in the right place...I got a projector that can do side-by-side split screen with 2 sources...which will mainly be used to watch sports/play video games at the same time. However, my projector apparently does not support 2 HDMI sources at once, and 1 component is already used, so that leaves my VGA input if I want to do 2 HD sources at once. Unfortunately, I can't tell my projector (Epson) that the component source I'm feeding it through an adapter is YPrPb rather than RGB...so I'm off to get a signal converter.

Has anyone used a component-to-VGA converter? If so, what should I look for? Are there any you recommend?

Thanks so much for your time!

Twitter: Gizzmonic
PSN: Gizzmonic
PublicSectorTech is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 05-23-2012, 06:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Fudoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 1,339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Definitely the Crescendo RTC2000 or 2200 transcoders available at Curt Palme.

I have used others, like Key Digital, Audio Authority, Burosch and Kramer. The Kramer is much more expensive than the Crescendo, the AA is somtimes cheap on cheap but suffers from low bandwith (slightly blurry output with HD). KD is about the same price as the Crescendo, but I prefer the Crescendo. Burosch is nice as well, but you won't find it in the US.
Fudoh is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 05-23-2012, 07:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ericglo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Just below the US in South Florida
Posts: 6,220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Ditto. I had one with my CRT and it worked flawlessly.

My new favorite game is Save The Titanic

Ericglo is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 05-23-2012, 08:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DonoMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 3,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
This is probably not the "best" but I'd imagine it works fine (the brand is at least somewhat reputable): http://www.audioauthority.com/product_details/9A65 - it can be found for pretty cheap sometimes

"Vintage" is good for wine, not for A/V equipment.

-Dan D.
DonoMan is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 05-23-2012, 10:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Fudoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 1,339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
The AA trancoder is really fine for 480p, but as stated above, the picture gets kinda soft with HD sources due to limited bandwith.
Fudoh is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 05-23-2012, 11:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DonoMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 3,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fudoh View Post

The AA trancoder is really fine for 480p, but as stated above, the picture gets kinda soft with HD sources due to limited bandwith.

Sorry, didn't notice you mentioned that in your other post. I have a bad habit of only reading half of a post sometimes... Thanks for the info.

"Vintage" is good for wine, not for A/V equipment.

-Dan D.
DonoMan is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 07-31-2013, 08:43 AM
Newbie
 
SCCHelpdesk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

I looked at the RTC2200 and wanted to know what to expect if I tried to push the signal further than the recommendation of 50 ft?
I am thinking at least 75ft, but less than 125ft.
Are there other products that are more robust for longer cable runs?
My desired goal is to route a new Blu-Ray DVD player from the sound booth, to the 2 projectors in the auditorium with audio going through the sound board which feeds the "house" speakers.
Board is an Avid Venue SC48

Thanks,
James
SCCHelpdesk is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 07-31-2013, 10:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Fudoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 1,339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
New BD players don't even have component ouputs anymore, so the cable length is the least of your problems.

If you want to use a current BD player you need a HDMI to VGA converter like the HDFury instead. And if you want to run cable lengths like these you might want to use a HDMI to CAT.5 extender (before the converter) or a VGA to CAT.5 extender (after the converter) instead. This way you can keep the video cables short and simply run ethernet cables for the longest part of your distance.
Fudoh is offline  
Reply Video Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off