Component (YpbPr) to VGA Converter with xbox 1 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 05-26-2012, 09:46 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
wargod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have a Component (YpbPr) to VGA Converter that I purhcased from monoprice item #7113 that I am using with the original Xbox and a Asus VH236H monitor. I have the M$ HD cable that I'm using through the VGA converter to convert component to VGA. I want to be able to display on this monitor the same resolution and frame rate that the Xbox 1 will display while playing Halo 1 on a CRT before I explore any other resolutions. I believe that Xbox 1 plays on a HD CRT using 480p in a 3:4 ratio and that the xbox should be set to normal mode rather than wide screen for that game.

The converter can do VGA Resolution at: 640x480; 800x600; 1024x768; 1440x900; 1400x1050, 1600x1200; 1680x1050; 1920x1200; 1280x768;

Component Video Resolution supported: 480i, 576i, 480p, 576p, 720p, 1080i, 1080p(50Hz/60Hz);

What's interesting is that there is a "wide" mode option for all of the above resolutions which stretches the image to the full screen of the monitor.

The VH236H monitor is a 23 Wide Screen 1080p with True Resolution: 1920X1080

What settings should I put the xbox 1 at, the conveter, and the monitor to mimic the lag free performance and resolution of the Sony 24" FD Trinitron WEGA TV, Model KV24FS120? I want to be able to play my xbox on my desk, rather than my CRT. Why would the converter not offer 1280x960?
wargod is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 05-26-2012, 10:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Fudoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 1,339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
The #7113 isn't a true transcoder, it's a one chip deinterlacer and upscaler, similar to the HDBoxPro available from HK/China. This said, several testers have stated that the lag is minimal to non-present when the converter is used with a progressive source and without any upscaling.

This would mean you feed 480p from your XBox and set the converter to 480p output as well. Unfortunately the picture doesn't remain unchanged. The XBox output 720x480 which is reduced to 640x480 and there's a minimal vertical resizing going on.

Forget about the upscaling or the wide function on this converter. Use 480p output to your Asus and use the aspect ratio control on your monitor to make sure the screen is shown in 4:3 with borders on the left and right.

There are no 1280x960 pixel screens out there, so why should they make this resolution available ?
Fudoh is online now  
post #3 of 12 Old 05-26-2012, 12:14 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
wargod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I don't think my monitor can be set for 4:3. I have to pick a resolution on the converter so use 640x480? Doesn't let you chose 480p. I noticed that 1440x990 when selected says 480p @ 4:3 and there is black on the left and right sides, while all other resolutions don't result in a black left and right. When trying the highest resolutions my monitor came back with an "out of range error" btw. What causes that to occur?
wargod is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 05-26-2012, 12:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Fudoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 1,339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Because 1920x1200 is higher than your monitor's maximum resolution ?

Your monitor's spec sheet says "Aspect Control The Aspect Control function allows you to view the pictures in its correct aspect ratio without any distortion or stretching.", so I assume that you can view any 4:3 source in real 4:3 ratio.

If you set your converter to anything higher than 640x480, it's probably no longer lag free. I also can't imagine that the box does better scaling than your monitor.
Fudoh is online now  
post #5 of 12 Old 05-26-2012, 02:26 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
wargod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I was able to adjust the monitor to 4:3 after putting it on the 640x480 setting. After doing it via your recommended method, even with the brightness all the way up, the image is still kind of dark. Monitor brightness and converter brightness is at 99. I tried using a standard component to VGA cable directly to my monitor, but it didn't work, hence the reason why I got this converter. Not sure if this monitor has sync on green or not. What equipment do I need to get around the fact that the XBox output 720x480 has to be reduced to 640x480 with vertical re-sizing? Is this x2vga2 converter seen below any different than what I have and would it be any better?

http://1n73r.net/2006/04/21/x2vga2-review

Also with my 360 hooked in though hdmi through the same monitor, what settings on the monitor and on the 360 do you recommend?

Thanks again for your responses.
wargod is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 05-27-2012, 02:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Fudoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 1,339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I don't know why you have these brightness problems. Have you tried the same setup on a different display, e.g. your TV ?

Any "real" transcoder would work. E.g. The X2VGA or the X2VGA2 or something from Key Digital or Audio Authority. Second hand prices for the later ones are around $50-60. Transcoders are always 100% lag free and don't do anything to the resolution or to the refresh rate. Not all monitors can interpretate both 640x480 and 720x480 on the VGA input. Some monitors sample the input as 640 pixel width no matter what.

For 360 I'd always recommend 720p because some games exhibit lower fps or more tearing at 1080p and the native resolutions of 99% of the games is 720p or lower anyway.
Fudoh is online now  
post #7 of 12 Old 05-27-2012, 06:22 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
wargod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I can't find any used x2vga2 for sale....

vd-z3 I heard doesn't look good on LCD and is no longer made
CSV-955A by datapro is suppose to be the replacement of the vd-z3, but I can't find a review on it for xbox on LCD

Would a Key Digital KD-VA5 look good on my monitor?
wargod is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 05-27-2012, 07:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Fudoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 1,339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Fudoh is online now  
post #9 of 12 Old 05-27-2012, 07:38 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
wargod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks! So while the ones I listed are considered real transcoders, the ones you linked to will perform just as good as the x2vga2?
wargod is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 05-27-2012, 07:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Fudoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 1,339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
They are all real transcoders. The VD-Z3 was some cheap HK crap. The KD-VA5 is a bidirectional transcoder. Should be fine as well, but the AAs on eBay are just cheaper. On a 480p signal, both the AA units and the X2VGA2 perform just as fine.

The X2VGA2 has some trickery to display 480i content, while the AAs won't give you a picture on 480i signals, but that doesn't matter on your setup. You might just have to hook up the XBox to a normal in order to set the output options accordingly.
Fudoh is online now  
post #11 of 12 Old 05-27-2012, 09:57 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
wargod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks again for all your help! I'm going to buy what you suggested and return the one I bought back to monoprice. Once last question, on the 9A65 which of the 3 output settings would I use:

RGBHV -Separate H and V sync
RGBS -Composite sync on the H output
RGsB -Composite sync on green
wargod is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 05-27-2012, 10:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Fudoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 1,339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Fudoh is online now  
Reply Video Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off