4:4:4 Output from FCP to Broadcast Monitor Confusion - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 06-21-2012, 02:59 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
tech help's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

I'm trying to do an edit on a FCP X on an iMac and want to have a broadcast monitor. We're working in 4:4:4 1080p 23.98. For a lot less money we can get a AJA but it only copes with 4:2:2 whereas there's a Black Magic that does 4:4:4. I'm trying to find out whether that is actually going to make a difference to me? As far as I'm aware I won't see a difference between 4:2:2 and 4:4:4 but want to check if this is the case?

Also as I'm delivering a 4:4:4 digital master, I wanted to check if the Apple Pro Res 4:4:4:4 would be acceptable? As far as I know the extra 4 is a alpha channel, but will it be acceptable when they originally asked for a 4:4:4?

Any help would be great. Thanks
tech help is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 06-21-2012, 10:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
HDgaming42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 554
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Kona has a number of cards that can do 4:4:4. If you are asking if you can see the difference the answer is most likely no.

Who are you delivering to? They will determine what your master is and should have provided you with a deliverable spec sheet.

Just so you know, your questions are probably more suited to something like creativecow; you'll get a lot more responses over there. smile.gif

Good luck.
HDgaming42 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 06-22-2012, 01:14 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
tech help's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you for your help!
I'll definitely check out creativecow. The delivery spec is a digital master at 1080p 23.98 4:4:4 I just wanted to check whether I'd be able to see the difference on a monitor of 4:2:2 and 4:4:4. I think if it was a grader in a da vinci they would be able to, but my eyes are not as good!

Thanks again.
tech help is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 06-22-2012, 07:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
HDgaming42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 554
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Depending on the market and corresponding nomenclature, an HDCAM-SR tape could qualify as a "digital master" as well, though I imagine giving them a file might be easier if you don't have a deck / broadcast monitor. wink.gif
HDgaming42 is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 06-22-2012, 08:42 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
tech help's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you!
I'm working on the assumption that we don't have a deck so it'll be a file! Not sure a HDCAM-SR machine is in the budget!
Thanks again.
tech help is offline  
Reply Video Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off