Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 7 Old 10-08-2012, 11:14 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Hi guys,

I'm new to the whole video processor scene as I just recently purchased the Darbee Darblet. So far I love it and it adds a much crisper image to my Mitsubishi WD-82840. However, there's one thing it doesn't do and I'm not sure any video processor on the market can. I was curious if there's a way for an advanced video processor to add Frame Interpolation or Dejudder to give the picture a smooth image and even the dreaded SOE (which I actually happen to enjoy) I've owned most of the higher end tv's on the market with this technology built into the TV but didn't know if that can be implemented into a video processor or if it has to be something the TV does itself.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 10-08-2012, 01:14 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Most people shut off that particular feature in these threads. It can give the image an artificial smoothness and dreamy trails that appears distracting to most purists. It isn't nearly perfected. I think what you are looking for is a increase in the frame rate itself to reduce judder. My DVDO Duo only goes to 60 Hz, which is enough for me. Lumagen sells a very expensive 72 Hz VP, but it only works if your TV can take a 72 Hz picture.
post #3 of 7 Old 10-10-2012, 08:15 AM
AVS Addicted Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 416 Post(s)
Liked: 397
Most HDTVs can only accept input signals at either 24 fps (Blu-ray) or 60 Hz (most other things). Even if a video processor could do frame interpolation, the TV wouldn't accept it.

Josh Z
Writer/Editor, High-Def Digest (Blog updated daily!)
Curator, Laserdisc Forever

My opinions are my own, and do not necessarily reflect those of my employers.

post #4 of 7 Old 10-11-2012, 04:16 PM

Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13