Forcing a 60Hz 720p 3D signal into 24Hz 1080p 3D. Does such a device exist? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 10-25-2012, 02:25 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Flavius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
My problem? 24Hz 1080p 3D movies can have MotionFlow enabled on my new Sony HX950. But 60Hz native 3D 720p games cannot. Even in non-Game modes, if the game is native 3D, no MotionFlow. No such issue for 2D games regardless of resolution.

So I am looking for a device that can trick my TV into thinking that my native 3D game outputting at 60Hz (30Hz per eye) in 720p is actuallly a 3D movie at 1080p 24Hz.

Does such a thing exist? Am I crazy? I know MotionFlow adds lag, etc, but please answer my question. smile.gif
Flavius is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 10-25-2012, 03:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Fudoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 1,345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 21
You cannot just convert 60Hz Material to 24fps if there's no 3:2 pulldown in it (which you find in movies). And if you tried, you'd be looking at serious judder and stuttering. So, I guess, no, there's nothing to do this.
Fudoh is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 10-25-2012, 04:48 PM
Member
 
rfpublic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 19
All of the Lumagen Radiance video processors can be used to convert 720p60 Side-by-Side or Top-Bottom 3D to 1080p24 Frame-Packed 3D.

Randy Freeman
support@lumagen.com
rfpublic is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 10-25-2012, 05:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Fudoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 1,345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 21
yeah, technically, but forcing a "hard" conversion when there's no pulldown in the source material, isn't the way to go, is it ?
Fudoh is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 10-25-2012, 05:20 PM
Member
 
rfpublic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 19
If someone can send us a short sample video, we can see how it looks. We probably only need 20 to 30 seconds of video.

Randy Freeman
support@lumagen.com
rfpublic is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 10-25-2012, 07:34 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Flavius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fudoh View Post

You cannot just convert 60Hz Material to 24fps if there's no 3:2 pulldown in it (which you find in movies). And if you tried, you'd be looking at serious judder and stuttering. So, I guess, no, there's nothing to do this.

But MotionFlow would eliminate judder and stuttering, which is what I am trying to achieve for 3D games.
Flavius is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 10-25-2012, 07:35 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Flavius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by rfpublic View Post

All of the Lumagen Radiance video processors can be used to convert 720p60 Side-by-Side or Top-Bottom 3D to 1080p24 Frame-Packed 3D.
Randy Freeman
support@lumagen.com

But what about 720p60 Frame Packed? Can it convert that to 1080p24 Frame Packed? If so, might have to but one of these Lumagens!
Flavius is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 10-25-2012, 10:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Fudoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 1,345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
But MotionFlow would eliminate judder and stuttering, which is what I am trying to achieve for 3D games.
doesn't work. Motionflow compensates a lack of frames, but requires a constant fps nevertheless.

I mean, just try this on a PC. Just convert a 30fps video file (video-based, not film based, any smooth movement) to 24 frames and take it to your Sony afterwards. You won't like the result.
Fudoh is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 10-31-2012, 12:27 PM
Member
 
rfpublic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flavius View Post

But what about 720p60 Frame Packed? Can it convert that to 1080p24 Frame Packed?!

The Radiance won't work for this conversion. There isn't a way to pick out the correct frames from the 720p60 Frame-Packed signal.

Randy Freeman
rfpublic is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 06-17-2013, 10:26 PM
Member
 
Jonathan Hersey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What refresh rate is required for 3d? is 120hz just needed for frame sequential? I would think images that are put into one frame would work fine at Framepacked 60hz. Very confused
Jonathan Hersey is offline  
Reply Video Processors

Tags
720p Vs 1080p , 1080p Vs 720p
Gear in this thread - 1080p by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off