Motion Compensated Frame interpolation box in the horizon? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 11-10-2012, 07:09 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: everywhere
Posts: 12,603
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 55
I was wondering when we are going to see such a processor taking 24 to 48, or 60 to 120 in 3D.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
CINERAMAX is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 11-11-2012, 03:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Fudoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 1,339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
The problem is the interface between the processor and the TV (or beamer). A few years back *a handful* of displays would accept 1080p48Hz. Nowadays hardly any. The same is true for anything above 1080p60. At this time an external frame interpolation box would only be useable on CRT projectors.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Fudoh is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 11-16-2012, 07:19 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: everywhere
Posts: 12,603
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 55
The new generation of digital cinema projectors does 48 60 120. They look nice too.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
CINERAMAX is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 01-25-2013, 03:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
cardoski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Beyond The Wall.
Posts: 771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 88
This would be fantastic. I was just thinking about this the other day. I have a high end PC and have tried Splash Player as well as The Smooth Motion Project with modest results.I currently have a Benq W7000 and I don't find the frame interpolation strong enough for my taste. I want over the top for some content and have only seen this on the Samsung TVs.A powerful external processor would be a dream come true.

James Reid:D
cardoski is online now  
post #5 of 6 Old 02-06-2013, 10:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: everywhere
Posts: 12,603
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 55
And make it 4K while at it, with hdmi and quad hdsdi/dvi inputs.
cardoski likes this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
CINERAMAX is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 02-11-2013, 05:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
IanD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 1,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 22
The best place to do frame interpolation is in the player during decoding, because that is where the motion vectors are exposed.

I'm sure the manufacturers have considered it, but are holding off because they can make more money in the meanwhile by incremental iterations in their display product.

I'm quite certain current display hardware is capable of accepting higher frame rates: it's just the will is not there to provide the best experience in one go as it kills the ability to maintain a continuous high income stream.

3D is effectively running at 1920x1080p48 right now.
IanD is offline  
Reply Video Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off