80Gig MKV movie file. What's a newb gotta do? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 4 Old 12-07-2012, 07:29 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there some cheap media player or.... I can buy that will play 10-80 gigabyte MKV movie files (bluray rips)? I have a Macbook Air (2010 edition) and it is lacking. I've been hoping to watch awesome quality movies with my newly purchased 1080p projector (via minidisplay port to HDMI) only to find out that my computer will only display 1440 x 900 resolution. In addition, the VLC player will sometime struggle with the large files. What are my best (budget is a concern) options? I am a total newbie with computers and gadgets. I just want to download and watch amazing quality movies on my new projector with the least amount of hassle. What should/can I do?

1. Buy a bluray player that can play MKV files and not use the bluray function --- if so, which one?
2. Format/learn how to use - my laptop to play 1080p -- if so, how?
3. Buy some kind of media player device to play the files --- if so, which one and how?
4. Buy my friend's PS3 in hopes of something better (people say it won't play VLC...)?

I'm lost and sad. Help me, please, oh geniuses of the A/V world! Tell me there's hope!!

Thankful in advance,
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 12-07-2012, 07:46 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
You should read up here:
http://www.avsforum.com/f/39/networking-media-servers-amp-content-streamers

Get a Dune, Popcorn Hour, WD TV or any other standalone player. IMO better than relying on a BD player for MKV playback.
post #3 of 4 Old 12-10-2012, 01:13 AM

Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 21