DARBEE Cobalt - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 37 Old 05-28-2013, 06:42 PM
Senior Member
 
kwok lau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: new jersey, usa
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nakenergy, thx for your input too. Regards.
kwok lau is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 37 Old 06-27-2013, 11:52 AM
Member
 
GatorJZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGG View Post

After 5 days of use, my general observations on the Cobalt with my Sharp 80"632:

Significant improvement in details & pop on sports content especially hockey, much harder to figure out settings on movies & general content tv shows.

All in all a bargain at $220, just hope it lasts, the 90 day warranty is pathetic, Darbee are you listening? Need to step up that warranty to a year.

Per the manufacturer's website, the warranty is now one year.

http://darbeevision.com/warranty
GatorJZ is offline  
post #33 of 37 Old 10-20-2013, 06:30 PM
Senior Member
 
splatee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bay Area/San Diego/now DFW area Texas
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

I am in the process of redoing my home theater and during my searching of the threads here I stumbled across the "Darbee" video processors. So I started doing a little reading and now I am getting bit by the upgrade bug lol. So now I am thinking about adding a Darbee Cobalt to my setup.

Here is what I have ...
Epson 705hd "720p" projector
92 inch screen (redoing it and painting it Silver Fire diy mix)
Onkyo tx-nr709
PS3 for blu ray player and games
Xbox 360
Fios HD

The projector is ran as the main display. Would adding a Darbee Cobalt help improve or would it just be a waste because it is 720p image? I am mainly looking to I guess tighten up the Fios HD, blu rays look very good as well as xbox 360. My other concern is I would like to do a set it and forget it set up and not have to constantly adjust it when I switch to a different source.

Thank you
splatee is offline  
post #34 of 37 Old 10-22-2013, 08:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
augiedoggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: North Tonawanda NY,
Posts: 1,164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blu_One View Post


The processing in the Darblet and Cobalt is the same as the algorithms are the same in both components. The only difference is that the Darblet has HDMI 1.4 (3D) whereas the Cobalt has HDMI 1.3 (non-3D capable).

The question of fine adjustments (1%) vs. the standard 5% is a non-issue imo, the adjustment scale goes up to 120% or even 130% (don't quite remember which one), so making adjustments of 1% or 5% (not really % since the scale doesn't stop at 100, kinda misleading if you assume it ends at 100, because it sure doesn't) won't really make a difference at all. I would challenge anyone to try and see a difference in Darblet settings only 5% apart.. would be really hard to discern a noticeable difference in PQ.

If you don't use 3D, AND don't plan on using it in the future, then the Cobalt is the way to go considering the price difference between the two... processing and PQ will be exactly the same between the two. cool.gif

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blu_One View Post

^^^

And... the Cobalt casing is BLUE, much nicer that the grey on the Darblet imo. biggrin.gifcool.gif
OK very confused here...I ordered a dvp 5000 from solid last week (one day $230 deal of the day) and its blue with only 5% adjustment increments and does work with 3d ?? are the blue cases what they all use now? and is the 5% just in a new firmware release?
augiedoggy is offline  
post #35 of 37 Old 10-22-2013, 09:56 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Josh Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Planet Boston, source of the spice, Melange.
Posts: 19,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 316
Quote:
Originally Posted by augiedoggy View Post

OK very confused here...I ordered a dvp 5000 from solid last week (one day $230 deal of the day) and its blue with only 5% adjustment increments and does work with 3d ?? are the blue cases what they all use now? and is the 5% just in a new firmware release?

Have you done into the setup menu to see if there's an option to enable fine-tuning?

Josh Z
Writer/Editor, High-Def Digest (Blog updated daily!)
Curator, Laserdisc Forever

My opinions are my own, and do not necessarily reflect those of my employers.

Josh Z is offline  
post #36 of 37 Old 03-06-2014, 09:53 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 11,780
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 159 Post(s)
Liked: 421
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #37 of 37 Old 03-06-2014, 02:58 PM
Senior Member
 
ambientcafe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Alberta
Posts: 468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by splatee View Post

Would adding a Darbee Cobalt help improve or would it just be a waste because it is 720p image?

I've noticed a significant PQ improvement on my 720p / 140" scope screen setup using the Darblet in 'HiDef' setting b/w 60 - 80%, depending on the image quality of the bd source biggrin.gifeek.gifsmile.gif ... have not tried it with my hdtv sat box, which of course would be 720p as well.

HiDef S c o p e Fanboy-man
ambientcafe is offline  
Reply Video Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off