VP50Pro image shift. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 04-15-2013, 06:49 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
barcoed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Out of ignorance I must ask this question (I’m thrashing myself for not being able to work out the answer!).

I have a 4X3 projector being fed from the VP50Pro. Various sources are in front of the VP50Pro (all HDMI).
I have a lot of 4x3 material (50hz pal) and all works fine for that.

When viewing HD material, I have set a 16x9 screen on the VP50 and squished the image on the projector (Sony G70 CRT) and shifted it up to the top of the tubes. I then roll-up the electric screen to frame the 16x9 image. All good so far.

When watching films (typically 2.35:1) 24hz upped to 48hz by the VP50, I have black bars top and bottom, where I’m just wasting video bandwidth. (I can live with that) .I can't squish or move the image any more to properly frame the image as I'm out of adjustment on the projector.
What I would like to do is move the active image on this 2.35:1 (or 2.4:1) stuff to the top of the 16x9 output (leaving a single black bar below (the sum of the top and bottom bars detailed above)) so I can roll-up the electric screen to properly frame the image again

I can’t work out how to do this with the VP50 - what screen to set, what aspect etc..?
barcoed is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 04-29-2013, 01:16 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
barcoed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
... any ideas?
barcoed is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 04-30-2013, 05:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Fudoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 1,339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
VP50 or 50Pro ? I can look into this tonight or tomorrow.
Fudoh is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 05-07-2013, 05:38 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
barcoed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. It's the VP50Pro (Latest f/w).
barcoed is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 05-15-2013, 04:10 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
barcoed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any luck, Fudoh?
barcoed is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 05-15-2013, 05:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Fudoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 1,339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I tried shortly, but it was too complicated to wrap my head around it - especially since you squeeze the image vertically on the projector, but I don't. Vertical picture shift only gets enabled in one of the lens modes or when the picture AR is under 1.33. I'll try again.
Fudoh is offline  
Reply Video Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off