Split my HDMI to help cool my room. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 05-06-2013, 05:09 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mdezeeuw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was wondering what kind of splitter I would need to split the HDMI cable from my Directv. I want to send both the single to my receiver and to my tv. ( it already go to my tv through my reciver) That way we can watch tv with full 7.1 OR 5.1 Dolby ect with my 1.3a cables… or we can just by pass the home theater and just use the tv for other shows. The reason for this is my system really warms up the room. Looking to take the HDMI from the directv , split it to my tv and my reciver.

Can you recommend something for me?




Mike
mdezeeuw is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 05-07-2013, 04:33 PM
Senior Member
 
yaomizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Use a receiver that has hdmi standby pass through?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

yaomizzle is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 05-07-2013, 04:44 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mdezeeuw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Yamaha RX-V1800 and it does not have that.
mdezeeuw is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 05-07-2013, 05:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Pugnax555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Depending on your TV, you might be able to just run the HDMI from the DirecTV receiver straight into the TV, then run an optical or coax cable from the TV's digital out to the receiver. Assuming the TV will pass the audio signal (my 3 year old Sony does), there wouldn't be any quality loss since DTV uses at best 5.1 Dolby Digital.
Pugnax555 is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 05-07-2013, 06:00 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mdezeeuw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't have an out on my tv. But, how about if I try this. I go out of my component outputs on my dtv into my tv? will they still work even though i have my hdmi cable hooked up?
mdezeeuw is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 05-07-2013, 06:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Pugnax555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That might work. Honestly, I'm not sure which combinations of outputs the DirecTV will run simultaneously. I think the next thing I'd try is running an optical or coax cable from the DTV receiver into the AVR and HDMI from the DTV receiver into the TV. If that doesn't work, then start adding analog cables into the mix.
Pugnax555 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 05-10-2013, 02:59 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mdezeeuw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got a new component cable and went out of my dtv into my tv by passing my receiver and amps and it works great!
mdezeeuw is offline  
Reply Video Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off