Darbee DVP-5100 Announced!! - Page 2 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #31 of 43 Old 08-09-2014, 12:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vaktmestern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 184
4k darbee that what we want now.
David Susilo likes this.
vaktmestern is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 43 Old 08-09-2014, 12:28 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,736
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked: 449
As most of you know, I'm a huge proponent of Darbee and have used countless DVP-5000 for myself, my family, relatives and clients (more than 100) and more than 3 dozen 103D and 105D too (I'm not a dealer, I don't make money from any sale). That said, Darbee should have a processor that can deal with 4K at this stage. Having 1080p only for $600 is something I can't back, unfortunately.

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine

my (yet to be completed) BD list
my home theatre

David Susilo is online now  
post #33 of 43 Old 08-09-2014, 12:48 PM
 
nipalikewalnuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Susilo View Post
Or you can just get "videoEQ" on eBay for $50 and you'll get th same result (I run my 5000 to "videoEQ" and I then connect my 65ft HDMI to the projector.
Are you saying the EQ prevents the purple flash and stabilizes HDMI handshakes?
If I follow?
nipalikewalnuts is offline  
post #34 of 43 Old 08-09-2014, 12:52 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,736
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked: 449
In my personal experience (I use 4 Darbee 5000 in my house), the so-called "videoEQ" eliminate ALL handshake issue and greatly reduced the purple flash (at most I have a couple of flashes BEFORE the movie starts but once the movie is playing, 100% stable!!)

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine

my (yet to be completed) BD list
my home theatre

David Susilo is online now  
post #35 of 43 Old 08-09-2014, 12:54 PM
 
nipalikewalnuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Ahh okay thanks for the info.

I use the 5000 with a HTPC as I said and I get the flash most times I flick from the UI to TV. It's really off-putting.
I've tried many things to prevent it, but it does not like 24bit 32 bit colorspace (which the HTPC is throwing out).

Last edited by nipalikewalnuts; 08-09-2014 at 01:11 PM.
nipalikewalnuts is offline  
post #36 of 43 Old 08-09-2014, 12:59 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,736
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 388 Post(s)
Liked: 449
I don't use HTPC but for all my BD players, I set the output to 16-bit (such as my BDP-62 Elite and Sony 6200) and it gives me no problem after the videoEQ usage (I used to be able to only use 8-bit and 10-bit)

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine

my (yet to be completed) BD list
my home theatre

David Susilo is online now  
post #37 of 43 Old 08-09-2014, 01:08 PM
 
nipalikewalnuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 16
^ Yeah it's difficult to set 16bit on the HTPC with Nvidia or ATI and have everything else work correctly. Catch 22 I'm afraid.

And excuse me I posted a mistake above: I meant to say 32bit not 24bit two posts up...

Last edited by nipalikewalnuts; 08-09-2014 at 01:12 PM.
nipalikewalnuts is offline  
post #38 of 43 Old 08-09-2014, 02:02 PM
 
nipalikewalnuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 16
This snippet from Darbee doesn't sound promising using the words 'may help':

Why does my screen flash when the 5100 is connected?

Screen flashes most likely result from color space mismatches. Turning off Deep Color processing in your video source device and display device may help eliminate random flashes.
nipalikewalnuts is offline  
post #39 of 43 Old 08-09-2014, 02:19 PM
 
nipalikewalnuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 16
All they need is a little bit of code to make that purple black, problem solved. Too late though of course.
nipalikewalnuts is offline  
post #40 of 43 Old 10-01-2014, 06:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by nipalikewalnuts View Post
Ahh okay thanks for the info.

I use the 5000 with a HTPC as I said and I get the flash most times I flick from the UI to TV. It's really off-putting.
I've tried many things to prevent it, but it does not like 24bit 32 bit colorspace (which the HTPC is throwing out).
Hello,

I've just now heard about the Darbeys. Any recommendation on the 5000 vs the 5100? I can't seem to find when the 5100 will be available.

Sony VPL HW55ES with Elite Lunette 100" curved screen
Onkyo tx nr626 receiver
B&W CM9's and CMC2 center with CM5 S2 surrounds and Polk ceiling speakers
HSU VTF2 MK4 sub
nick510 is offline  
post #41 of 43 Old 10-03-2014, 08:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mr.G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 232 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by nick510 View Post
Hello,

I've just now heard about the Darbeys. Any recommendation on the 5000 vs the 5100? I can't seem to find when the 5100 will be available.
It seems that the DVP-5100CIE is a little slow out of the gate.

At this site (which is taking pre-orders) it mentions that it will not ship until November.

http://www.cs1.net/products/darbeevi...VP-5100CIE.htm

All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Movies

Mr.G is offline  
post #42 of 43 Old 04-18-2015, 04:06 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 22,127
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4101 Post(s)
Liked: 3081
kbarnes701 is online now  
post #43 of 43 Unread 04-22-2015, 11:55 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Hugo S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: France
Posts: 585
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Hi,

An excellent test (in French) of the Darbee 5100 :

http://www.hdfever.fr/2015/04/21/tes...e-dvp-5100cie/

MERCI Jeff.

Hugo
kbarnes701 likes this.
Hugo S is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Video Processors



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off