Darbee DVP-5100 Announced!! - Page 2 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Video Components > Video Processors > Darbee DVP-5100 Announced!!

Video Processors

vaktmestern's Avatar vaktmestern
01:18 PM Liked: 160
post #31 of 41
08-09-2014 | Posts: 1,160
Joined: Jun 2011
4k darbee that what we want now.
David Susilo's Avatar David Susilo
01:28 PM Liked: 429
post #32 of 41
08-09-2014 | Posts: 9,663
Joined: Aug 2002
As most of you know, I'm a huge proponent of Darbee and have used countless DVP-5000 for myself, my family, relatives and clients (more than 100) and more than 3 dozen 103D and 105D too (I'm not a dealer, I don't make money from any sale). That said, Darbee should have a processor that can deal with 4K at this stage. Having 1080p only for $600 is something I can't back, unfortunately.
nipalikewalnuts's Avatar nipalikewalnuts
01:48 PM Liked: 14
post #33 of 41
08-09-2014 | Posts: 86
Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Susilo View Post
Or you can just get "videoEQ" on eBay for $50 and you'll get th same result (I run my 5000 to "videoEQ" and I then connect my 65ft HDMI to the projector.
Are you saying the EQ prevents the purple flash and stabilizes HDMI handshakes?
If I follow?
David Susilo's Avatar David Susilo
01:52 PM Liked: 429
post #34 of 41
08-09-2014 | Posts: 9,663
Joined: Aug 2002
In my personal experience (I use 4 Darbee 5000 in my house), the so-called "videoEQ" eliminate ALL handshake issue and greatly reduced the purple flash (at most I have a couple of flashes BEFORE the movie starts but once the movie is playing, 100% stable!!)
nipalikewalnuts's Avatar nipalikewalnuts
01:54 PM Liked: 14
post #35 of 41
08-09-2014 | Posts: 86
Joined: Apr 2014
Ahh okay thanks for the info.

I use the 5000 with a HTPC as I said and I get the flash most times I flick from the UI to TV. It's really off-putting.
I've tried many things to prevent it, but it does not like 24bit 32 bit colorspace (which the HTPC is throwing out).
David Susilo's Avatar David Susilo
01:59 PM Liked: 429
post #36 of 41
08-09-2014 | Posts: 9,663
Joined: Aug 2002
I don't use HTPC but for all my BD players, I set the output to 16-bit (such as my BDP-62 Elite and Sony 6200) and it gives me no problem after the videoEQ usage (I used to be able to only use 8-bit and 10-bit)
nipalikewalnuts's Avatar nipalikewalnuts
02:08 PM Liked: 14
post #37 of 41
08-09-2014 | Posts: 86
Joined: Apr 2014
^ Yeah it's difficult to set 16bit on the HTPC with Nvidia or ATI and have everything else work correctly. Catch 22 I'm afraid.

And excuse me I posted a mistake above: I meant to say 32bit not 24bit two posts up...
nipalikewalnuts's Avatar nipalikewalnuts
03:02 PM Liked: 14
post #38 of 41
08-09-2014 | Posts: 86
Joined: Apr 2014
This snippet from Darbee doesn't sound promising using the words 'may help':

Why does my screen flash when the 5100 is connected?

Screen flashes most likely result from color space mismatches. Turning off Deep Color processing in your video source device and display device may help eliminate random flashes.
nipalikewalnuts's Avatar nipalikewalnuts
03:19 PM Liked: 14
post #39 of 41
08-09-2014 | Posts: 86
Joined: Apr 2014
All they need is a little bit of code to make that purple black, problem solved. Too late though of course.
nick510
07:17 PM Liked: 1
post #40 of 41
10-01-2014 | Posts: 37
Joined: Sep 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by nipalikewalnuts View Post
Ahh okay thanks for the info.

I use the 5000 with a HTPC as I said and I get the flash most times I flick from the UI to TV. It's really off-putting.
I've tried many things to prevent it, but it does not like 24bit 32 bit colorspace (which the HTPC is throwing out).
Hello,

I've just now heard about the Darbeys. Any recommendation on the 5000 vs the 5100? I can't seem to find when the 5100 will be available.
Mr.G's Avatar Mr.G
09:58 AM Liked: 121
post #41 of 41
10-03-2014 | Posts: 3,562
Joined: Jan 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by nick510 View Post
Hello,

I've just now heard about the Darbeys. Any recommendation on the 5000 vs the 5100? I can't seem to find when the 5100 will be available.
It seems that the DVP-5100CIE is a little slow out of the gate.

At this site (which is taking pre-orders) it mentions that it will not ship until November.

http://www.cs1.net/products/darbeevi...VP-5100CIE.htm

Reply Video Processors

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3