Help!!! DVDO EDGE on the fritz - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 05-18-2014, 10:50 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
BiggAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Today, my DVDO EDGE started acting up. The picture will just intermittently just start turning on and off, sometimes around 1 or 2 hz, sometimes just once or twice and then work again. When it starts turning on and off and won't stop, I have to pull the plug and then it works fine, but not long thereafter (maybe 30-45 minutes) it starts going nuts again. Any ideas of what's going on? I'm pretty pissed if this thing is toast, as my entire home theater is wired around that one device. If it's broken, I pretty much have to rip the whole thing apart and rebuild it.
BiggAW is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 07-14-2014, 07:46 PM
Member
 
sirhc55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiggAW View Post
Today, my DVDO EDGE started acting up. The picture will just intermittently just start turning on and off, sometimes around 1 or 2 hz, sometimes just once or twice and then work again. When it starts turning on and off and won't stop, I have to pull the plug and then it works fine, but not long thereafter (maybe 30-45 minutes) it starts going nuts again. Any ideas of what's going on? I'm pretty pissed if this thing is toast, as my entire home theater is wired around that one device. If it's broken, I pretty much have to rip the whole thing apart and rebuild it.
I had virtually the same problem and it turned out to be the power supply in the Edge. As I am in Australia and when checking for repairs it turned out to be in the $300Aus region. Far too expensive. I investigated the power supply and realised that it was available for around $60Aus. Purchased and installed within minutes - only four connections. Google DVDO Edge power supply and you will find an American supplier. Sorry but I have forgotten the actual model number for the power supply.
sirhc55 is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 07-14-2014, 07:48 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
BiggAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by sirhc55 View Post
I had virtually the same problem and it turned out to be the power supply in the Edge. As I am in Australia and when checking for repairs it turned out to be in the $300Aus region. Far too expensive. I investigated the power supply and realised that it was available for around $60Aus. Purchased and installed within minutes - only four connections. Google DVDO Edge power supply and you will find an American supplier. Sorry but I have forgotten the actual model number for the power supply.
Interesting. That's what I'm suspecting too. Mine is with DVDO for repair.
BiggAW is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 07-14-2014, 07:54 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
BiggAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by sirhc55 View Post
I had virtually the same problem and it turned out to be the power supply in the Edge. As I am in Australia and when checking for repairs it turned out to be in the $300Aus region. Far too expensive. I investigated the power supply and realised that it was available for around $60Aus. Purchased and installed within minutes - only four connections. Google DVDO Edge power supply and you will find an American supplier. Sorry but I have forgotten the actual model number for the power supply.
Interesting. That's what I'm suspecting too. Mine is with DVDO for repair.
BiggAW is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 08-06-2014, 06:12 PM
Member
 
sirhc55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiggAW View Post
Interesting. That's what I'm suspecting too. Mine is with DVDO for repair.
How did the repair work out BiggAW?
sirhc55 is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 08-12-2014, 09:38 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
BiggAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by sirhc55 View Post
How did the repair work out BiggAW?
I got it back and it works great! They never did tell me what is wrong with it though, which was rather odd. I suspect the power supply.
BiggAW is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 08-13-2014, 09:09 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
BiggAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 57
They said that they reloaded the firmware, and it tested fine. It works fine for me now. Go figure. Not sure how the firmware can just randomly crap out, but as long as it keeps working, I'm happy...
BiggAW is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 09-21-2014, 10:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
HDgaming42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 633
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiggAW View Post
They said that they reloaded the firmware, and it tested fine. It works fine for me now. Go figure. Not sure how the firmware can just randomly crap out, but as long as it keeps working, I'm happy...
Did they charge you for that? That's something you can do with a computer and a USB cable!

Mine just starting doing exactly this--blinking on and off randomly. I can't get it to lock by cycling inputs--I have to turn the power off and on again. Fixes the issue until it encounters a resolution change / HDCP handshake etc and then it's time to flip a coin as to whether it will lock or not. This is with any combination of 1:1 framerate, framelock etc.

I have an original beta-test EDGE unit. Is what I'm seeing consistent with people's experiences with the PSU failing?
HDgaming42 is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 09-21-2014, 11:36 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
BiggAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDgaming42 View Post
Did they charge you for that? That's something you can do with a computer and a USB cable!

Mine just starting doing exactly this--blinking on and off randomly. I can't get it to lock by cycling inputs--I have to turn the power off and on again. Fixes the issue until it encounters a resolution change / HDCP handshake etc and then it's time to flip a coin as to whether it will lock or not. This is with any combination of 1:1 framerate, framelock etc.

I have an original beta-test EDGE unit. Is what I'm seeing consistent with people's experiences with the PSU failing?
No. I had to pay for shipping it out there though, that was like $20 or something. And wait something like a month for it back. There was no reason to suspect that it was a software problem in the first place. These things are pretty flaky- I doubt I'll ever buy another dedicated video processor, partly because of the reliability problem. Next time around I'll buy a higher end AVR and discreet speakers, and the higher end AVRs have some level of processing and scaling built in, including to 4K now...
BiggAW is offline  
Reply Video Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off