Upscaling at the Source Device - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 3 Old 07-14-2014, 04:11 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Upscaling at the Source Device

I am a newbie here. So please bear with me.

Here is what I understand about upscaling (i.e 1080p to 4k) =>
1. There are 2 parts: source content/device and TV/monitor that can do 4K (native resolution)

2. For TV/Monitor part, currently modern 4k capable TVs have upscaling algorithms implemented so that they can take lower resolutions such as 1080p and convert/upscale onto 4k to fit its native resolution. BUT there are only a few TVs that can take 4k input signal such as (somebody said) JVC xxx model

3. For source content/device part, there are some players/devices that can output 4k streams. Currently, there are no 4k capable source discs but people use hard drive based contents as temporary measure

Questions =>
1. Assume that my TV/monitor is 4k capable. SPECIFICALLY, it can take 4k input source but it does NOT have upscaling algorithms implemented. In other words, if it receives 1080p, it will only occupy 1920x1080 portion of 4k space

2. Given #1 , for upscaling to work, the upscaling algorithms/conversion will have to be done AT the source device. Of course, source content is 1080p. Othersiwe, I don't need to ask these questions

3. Question #1 : Do you recommend any device/player that will do what is said in #2 ?

4. Question #2 : Imagine this source device is a Windows 7/Vista PC, how can I implement this? Somebody mentioned about ffdshow. Any other ways?

5. Question #3 : Imagine this source device is a Linux PC, have somebody figured out a way to accomplish this?

6. Here are some posts from this forum that I thought are useful:
Does 4k upscaling really do anything?
upscaling standard dvd movies to 1080p using ffdshow and your htpc

Thanks in advance!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 Old 07-14-2014, 04:24 PM
AVS Special Member