DVDO iScan Mini - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 117 Old 08-19-2014, 07:12 PM
Member
 
MOFO 13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post
I was actually thinking the exact same about you. Anyway, my Review will be published tomorrow.




Imitation is the greatest form of flattery ..LOL


you mean your 3rd review..LOL
MOFO 13 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 117 Old 08-19-2014, 08:14 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 117
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1408497752098

Here's a "My Take" on the 4K Mini. If anyone has any questions or comments feel free to send me a PM.

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1409517748063
joerod is offline  
post #33 of 117 Old 08-20-2014, 07:25 PM
Senior Member
 
lorjam's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Looks like a "wait for the firmware update" product. I wonder what kind of result you would get sending a 4K signal from the Mini to one of the JVC pixel shifting projectors? I have the 4910.
lorjam is offline  
post #34 of 117 Old 08-22-2014, 08:34 AM
Member
 
deuch2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I bought one, i will test it next week (4K Samsung TV with 1080p sources + Radiance XD)
deuch2k is offline  
post #35 of 117 Old 08-22-2014, 10:32 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by deuch2k View Post
I bought one, i will test it next week (4K Samsung TV with 1080p sources + Radiance XD)
This will be an interesting result. Can't wait.

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1409517748063
joerod is offline  
post #36 of 117 Old 08-22-2014, 11:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cinema mad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Here Nor There..
Posts: 1,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 34
@ MOFO
FWIW joerod is an important asset to us HT Nuts & has contributed way more than the Average AVS'er on these forums !!!!
cinema mad is offline  
post #37 of 117 Old 08-22-2014, 02:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Monkey_Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: East Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 1,199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Does this do scaling for those of us with anamorphic lens?
Monkey_Man is offline  
post #38 of 117 Old 08-22-2014, 06:22 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by cinema mad View Post
@ MOFO
FWIW joerod is an important asset to us HT Nuts & has contributed way more than the Average AVS'er on these forums !!!!
Appreciate the kind words. I haven't been on as much this past summer with my Mom's battle with ALS. I am planning a few Reviews this fall. The 4K Mini was not planned and I felt it deserved a good mention.

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1409517748063
joerod is offline  
post #39 of 117 Old 08-28-2014, 03:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 4
New firmware iScan Mini 01.02

Thanks to all on this thread that have been helping us troubleshoot any initial launch issues. Seriously, products are always better with intense review.
New firmware - in the process of posting on our website but thought those on this thread would want it early.
http://www.personalizedstitches.com/...i_FW_01.02.zip
(Sorry for strange website - its my wife's and only place I have to stash stuff like this - it will be on DVDO website in next couple days as well)

* Adds option to enable de-interlacer specifically for 1080i input (enables 1080i in EDID as well)
* Adds support for 50Hz inputs
* OSD now supported at SD resolutions
* Fixed bug: Video loss when switching back and forth between SD and HD
* Fixed bug: Improper EDID creation - symptom, no video when used with some video processors
* Fixed bug: Improper resolution and color space reporting on info screen
* Fixed bug: General instability issues

As always, we actively seek input and bug reports to improve products.
DVDO is offline  
post #40 of 117 Old 08-28-2014, 06:09 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by DVDO View Post
Thanks to all on this thread that have been helping us troubleshoot any initial launch issues. Seriously, products are always better with intense review.
New firmware - in the process of posting on our website but thought those on this thread would want it early.
http://www.personalizedstitches.com/...i_FW_01.02.zip
(Sorry for strange website - its my wife's and only place I have to stash stuff like this - it will be on DVDO website in next couple days as well)

* Adds option to enable de-interlacer specifically for 1080i input (enables 1080i in EDID as well)
* Adds support for 50Hz inputs
* OSD now supported at SD resolutions
* Fixed bug: Video loss when switching back and forth between SD and HD
* Fixed bug: Improper EDID creation - symptom, no video when used with some video processors
* Fixed bug: Improper resolution and color space reporting on info screen
* Fixed bug: General instability issues

As always, we actively seek input and bug reports to improve products.

Thanks! So if I read this correctly, the iscan mini will now convert 1080i to 4k60p?
Duke02 is offline  
post #41 of 117 Old 08-29-2014, 01:14 AM
Member
 
deuch2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by DVDO View Post
Thanks to all on this thread that have been helping us troubleshoot any initial launch issues. Seriously, products are always better with intense review.
New firmware - in the process of posting on our website but thought those on this thread would want it early.
http://www.personalizedstitches.com/...i_FW_01.02.zip
(Sorry for strange website - its my wife's and only place I have to stash stuff like this - it will be on DVDO website in next couple days as well)

* Adds option to enable de-interlacer specifically for 1080i input (enables 1080i in EDID as well)
* Adds support for 50Hz inputs
* OSD now supported at SD resolutions
* Fixed bug: Video loss when switching back and forth between SD and HD
* Fixed bug: Improper EDID creation - symptom, no video when used with some video processors
* Fixed bug: Improper resolution and color space reporting on info screen
* Fixed bug: General instability issues

As always, we actively seek input and bug reports to improve products.
Thanks, I will test it ASAP !

Just a couple of issues of the 1.01 version not mentioned in the 1.02 release note :

In the manual, for certain pattern there are some errors :

- Brightness & Contrast : The picture is not good regarding the pattern displayed on the screen. The bars in the black and white blocks are inverted (The Max luma and +1IRE are not at the good place, same thing for the blacks)

-Color 8 bars 75 : The grey bar of the left is missing on the pattern displayed on the screen. Only 7 bars are displayed and not 8

Deep color :

- With Deep color enabled from the source (10 or 12 bits), it take a very long time to display a picture on my screen (Samsung UHD TV). About 30s. In 8bit, it's more or less 5s.

- No picture when switching from "No Scaling" to "Auto Scaling" sometimes.

Hope it helps !

Last edited by deuch2k; 08-29-2014 at 02:41 AM.
deuch2k is offline  
post #42 of 117 Old 08-29-2014, 02:39 AM
Member
 
deuch2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Some couple of questions :

- When the iScan mini upscale to 4K does the patterns (like 1 Pixel checkoard) are some 1080p upscaled or in 4K original resolution ?
Si do you have specific patterns for each resolution ?

- For deinterlacing, do you use standard algorithm (Bob or weave) or some enhanced of DVDO like the one in the EDGE or DUO ? Does it works with 1080i/50Hz too ?

Thanks !
deuch2k is offline  
post #43 of 117 Old 09-03-2014, 08:01 PM
Member
 
jkraebel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Picture not what I was expecting.

Newbie here and just got the Iscan mini for use with a Sony 55X850A 4K TV. Does the latest firmware now allow a 1080i input to be scaled to 4k now?

So far I have only been able to scale the 1080i signal from directv to 1080p and with some of the enhancements available, the picture is not looking that good at all. Seems better if the scaling is off completely which kind of defeats the purpose of this as I do have a Darbee that makes the picture look better then the enhancements available in the mini. Maybe my expectations were a little high.

Any input or feedback on settings to try would be appreciated.
jkraebel is offline  
post #44 of 117 Old 09-06-2014, 11:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blee0120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Merillville, IN 46410
Posts: 3,736
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 75
I haven't tried the update yet, but I have been using it for about 3 weeks with my JVC RS49. The only problem I have with it is that when I'm watching 4K60, the JVC cms is not usable. This however is not a dvdo problem, it's the JVC. I really like it. Been watching hdtv and it look as clean of some blu rays. Really a nice addition. I'm using the Oppo 103D. At 4k60, the clear black is disabled. This feature acts similar to the darbee, so it is not too big of a deal. The DI also does not work at 4K60, I would not use it with sports but I would with my tv series. For the clearer picture, I still like, even though the clear black, cms, and the DI is disabled on my JVC. I am going to try later this weekend to spend my JVC 1080p at 60hz and see how it looks with the eshift scaling and all the enhancements I can use on my JVC compared to the dvdo scaling.
blee0120 is offline  
post #45 of 117 Old 09-06-2014, 11:24 AM
Senior Member
 
mgavsf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: California
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Just a thought... You can get a used VP50 for about the same price and it does a lot more. We have one and it still works great.
mgavsf is offline  
post #46 of 117 Old 09-07-2014, 04:35 AM
Member
 
deuch2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Some issues with the 1.02 firmware :

- I've created 2 user memories with different settings (for user 1 +4 and +3 for Edge and Detail Enhancement). I set the Enhancement to User 1. Every time i power on the mini, the User 1 memory is recalled, but all the settings are the High settings (+ 8 for Edge and Details enhancement for example).
I've to recall User 1 every time after Power On. A little annoying

- Very long time to have picture with 10 or 12 bits Deep Color output from the source. 8 Bits is fine.

- 1080i@50 is not de-interlaced. Only 1080i@60 is de-interlaced. De-interlace quality is very bad. A lot of jaggies on the picture

- Sometimes blue screen appears without interaction of the remote of something else. During a movie for example ... I've to shutdown everything (display, source, mini) to retrieve a picture

- Capture EDID show errors (for example when i capture EDID 2160p@24 is not reported as supported, but it works ...)

- IR Receiver from Monoprice (piece mentioned in the manual) doesn't work ... So are you sure it's the right model (Monoprice use a 3.5 stereo plug, and the majority of device use a 3.5 mono plug ...)

Last edited by deuch2k; 09-07-2014 at 07:52 AM.
deuch2k is offline  
post #47 of 117 Old 09-12-2014, 02:35 AM
Member
 
deuch2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello DVDO guys, someone is here ? No reply for my (and from others) questions / issues ...
deuch2k is offline  
post #48 of 117 Old 09-12-2014, 07:06 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 117
I am using the same exact IR Receiver from the manual and from 22 feet away it works perfectly fine. You may have a defective one?

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1409517748063
joerod is offline  
post #49 of 117 Old 09-12-2014, 07:27 AM
Member
 
deuch2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post
I am using the same exact IR Receiver from the manual and from 22 feet away it works perfectly fine. You may have a defective one?
Possible ... but i can't test it with an another equipment

I've seen something in the comment :

"
It may be an incompatibility issue with the device as this is a single band IR receiver. It will not work with dual band IR devices, unfortunately. "

So maybe it's my case because i'm in Europe and does the remote is the same than US ? I've heard about different standard for IR between US and EU. Can DVDO confirm me that is the same remote/code/IR band or something else please ?

Last edited by deuch2k; 09-13-2014 at 02:26 AM.
deuch2k is offline  
post #50 of 117 Old 09-16-2014, 05:45 AM
Member
 
gunhed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Extra Patterns

Does anyone notice there are extra test patterns with the device not listed in the documentation? I am able to select grey 10% - 100% IRE which is great for calibration of course. I have firmware 1.00. Do I lose these patterns in firmware 1.02 ?
gunhed is offline  
post #51 of 117 Old 09-16-2014, 05:48 AM
Member
 
deuch2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by gunhed View Post
Does anyone notice there are extra test patterns with the device not listed in the documentation? I am able to select grey 10% - 100% IRE which is great for calibration of course. I have firmware 1.00. Do I lose these patterns in firmware 1.02 ?
Can you backup this firmware ? With the Mini it's possible to upgrade AND downgrade the firmware

I'm pretty sure i've not seen any grey pattern with 10 IRE step in the 1.01 and 1.02 firmware ...

Last edited by deuch2k; 09-16-2014 at 08:06 AM.
deuch2k is offline  
post #52 of 117 Old 09-18-2014, 09:08 AM
Member
 
gunhed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 14
grey 10% step patterns lost from 1.00 to 1.02 !

I upgraded from firmware 1.00 to 1.02 and I lost the 10% grey step patterns ! Am downgrading asap as I can use the mini as a source for calibration.
gunhed is offline  
post #53 of 117 Old 09-24-2014, 08:27 AM
Member
 
gunhed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I tried to downgrade back to my old firmware which I saved prior to upgrading and the unit stops working. Also it is not recognised as a drive on my desktop using the usual firmware install instructions. I finally tried pushing the green firmware button while plugging in the USB to power it and it allowed me access to the memory. I installed v1.02 again and it works fine. Strange how it worked fine with the original v1.00 when I took it out of the box ??? Anyway, if DVDO are there, can we please have the 10% IRE Grey step patterns in a future firmware update please !
gunhed is offline  
post #54 of 117 Old 09-29-2014, 10:37 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duke02 View Post
Thanks! So if I read this correctly, the iscan mini will now convert 1080i to 4k60p?
Yes.
We are still tuning this functionality, but, basically, there is a new OSD menu option "Allow 1080i" and the choices are Yes/NO

If No, 1080i is removed from the upstream EDID (we don't ask for 1080i) and if it comes in anyway we just pass through. This is for those that think their TV (or some follow on component does a better job as deinterlacing and want to use just the enhancement features of Mini)
If Yes, then we leave the EDID alone and if 1080i comes in and the native of the display is 4K60, then we deinterlace and scale.
This is also particularly useful if you have a cable box (particularly widespread in Japan for instance) that only puts out 480p or 1080i. If you have the setting as "NO" (or a previous version of firmware where this was the default), then with no 1080i in the EDID, the Cable box will be asked to put out 480p (even if the natve of the channel is HD - so it downscales) then we upscale to 4K - bad form.

We are trying to balance all possible user scenarios with as much control as possible for the end user.

Note that different handling of resolutions can also be controlled by using the on screen EDID editor - you can remove various resolutions from the TVs EDID that gets passed upstream. (We only allow remove not add as that can be dangerous).

DF
DVDO is offline  
post #55 of 117 Old 09-29-2014, 11:05 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by deuch2k View Post
Hello DVDO guys, someone is here ? No reply for my (and from others) questions / issues ...
Sorry for the late replies, I'm going through them now. I'll check back here more often.
DVDO is offline  
post #56 of 117 Old 09-29-2014, 11:24 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by deuch2k View Post
Some couple of questions :

- When the iScan mini upscale to 4K does the patterns (like 1 Pixel checkoard) are some 1080p upscaled or in 4K original resolution ?
Si do you have specific patterns for each resolution ?

- For deinterlacing, do you use standard algorithm (Bob or weave) or some enhanced of DVDO like the one in the EDGE or DUO ? Does it works with 1080i/50Hz too ?

Thanks !
The included patterns are native to the resolution that is currently selected. Unlike some of out other test equipment products like AVLab, the current resolution of Mini is dependent on your display and the scaling settings. But the 1 pixel checkerboard (every other pixel) is native 4K when the output resolution is 4K. If you experience something different please let us know. Some patterns (like color bars) are built dynamically based on resolution from a table and some (like the every other line or pixel or ramps) are mathematically derived real time based on resolution.

Regarding deinterlacing, this one is unique to iScan Mini. We just added a feature to allow the user to control whether our deinterlacer is used or the 1080i format is passed to the display to be deinterlaced.
DVDO is offline  
post #57 of 117 Old 09-29-2014, 11:36 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by deuch2k View Post
Some issues with the 1.02 firmware :

- I've created 2 user memories with different settings (for user 1 +4 and +3 for Edge and Detail Enhancement). I set the Enhancement to User 1. Every time i power on the mini, the User 1 memory is recalled, but all the settings are the High settings (+ 8 for Edge and Details enhancement for example).
I've to recall User 1 every time after Power On. A little annoying

- Very long time to have picture with 10 or 12 bits Deep Color output from the source. 8 Bits is fine.

- 1080i@50 is not de-interlaced. Only 1080i@60 is de-interlaced. De-interlace quality is very bad. A lot of jaggies on the picture

- Sometimes blue screen appears without interaction of the remote of something else. During a movie for example ... I've to shutdown everything (display, source, mini) to retrieve a picture

- Capture EDID show errors (for example when i capture EDID 2160p@24 is not reported as supported, but it works ...)

- IR Receiver from Monoprice (piece mentioned in the manual) doesn't work ... So are you sure it's the right model (Monoprice use a 3.5 stereo plug, and the majority of device use a 3.5 mono plug ...)
Quote:
- I've created 2 user memories with different settings (for user 1 +4 and +3 for Edge and Detail Enhancement). I set the Enhancement to User 1. Every time i power on the mini, the User 1 memory is recalled, but all the settings are the High settings (+ 8 for Edge and Details enhancement for example).
I've to recall User 1 every time after Power On. A little annoying
Understand - we will reproduce
Quote:
- 1080i@50 is not de-interlaced. Only 1080i@60 is de-interlaced
Latest firmware (this week - soon) addresses this.

Quote:
- Capture EDID show errors (for example when i capture EDID 2160p@24 is not reported as supported, but it works ...)
4K EDID handling in displays is, strangely, not completely standardized. Different manufacturers handle it differently either using VICs in the STD list and/or DTDs - but some also don't properly list the native of the display. If you could provide us the exact model of your display its pretty straightforward to grab its EDID and we can analyze the issue. In fact, if you have a Quick6, issuing a "u30 CC 0" will dump the main output EDID so it can be emailed.

Quote:
- IR Receiver from Monoprice (piece mentioned in the manual) doesn't work ... So are you sure it's the right model (Monoprice use a 3.5 stereo plug, and the majority of device use a 3.5 mono plug ...)
We bought a large quantity of them using that same model and they are all functional - reading your email I just went and tested again to be sure. My understanding is that it has to be a stereo plug for the receiver as the device needs +5V, GND, and a data line. The mono plugs should be for the transmit - the devices look alike except for this. If you look at the picture on the monoprice page, it shows a stereo plug - so my first thought is that somehow they sent you a transmitter as opposed to a receiver?
DVDO is offline  
post #58 of 117 Old 09-29-2014, 11:42 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by deuch2k View Post
Thanks, I will test it ASAP !

Just a couple of issues of the 1.01 version not mentioned in the 1.02 release note :

In the manual, for certain pattern there are some errors :

- Brightness & Contrast : The picture is not good regarding the pattern displayed on the screen. The bars in the black and white blocks are inverted (The Max luma and +1IRE are not at the good place, same thing for the blacks)
First, sorry for the late reply - I have not been checking back here regularly but will attempt to do so in the future. Anyone is more than welcome to get direct tech support direct from our team through the website

As for the Brightness/Contrast Pattern, I got a similar request for information from another customer - the pattern actually does not match the description in the users manual either. Its a long story, but there is a limit to the number of colors per line that can be self-generated with our chip and the spec for that full pattern goes over that limit. I've got it on the bug list and will be re-engineering that pattern for something use-able (might have to split it into two) - in the meantime, most folks (to my knowledge) have moved to using the pluge patterns for brightness and contrast setup. If you don't mind providing more information on how/when you use the single brightness/contrast pattern it might help me spec the revised one properly for general use.

Quote:
-Color 8 bars 75 : The grey bar of the left is missing on the pattern displayed on the screen. Only 7 bars are displayed and not 8
Similar issue on this - limited colors per line. In the newest firmware we added two new color bar patterns - one that more closely follows the SMPTE spec (available only from the OSD selection I believe) as well as one with blue over white and magenta over cyan (for color/tint setting with blue filters). We struggled with whether to remove the 8 bar (only 7) patterns but inevitably there is someone who has a specific use for it that would not be happy so we left it.

Quote:
Deep color :

- With Deep color enabled from the source (10 or 12 bits), it take a very long time to display a picture on my screen (Samsung UHD TV). About 30s. In 8bit, it's more or less 5s.
This one is very interesting - there should be no difference unless there is some handshake issue between mini and your TV. If you don't mind, could you contact us with a little more detail on this as well as the exact model number of your TV as well as the source and source material. We would like to track this down.

Quote:
- No picture when switching from "No Scaling" to "Auto Scaling" sometimes.

Hope it helps !
Have not seen this either - same as above if you would provide us with your specific setup details to the above email we will attempt to reproduce. A total loss of video is not currently in the reported bug list. Also, is this something that you normally do in normal use? (change from no to auto back and forth) or just something you noticed when testing. Curious so we can map out different usage models for other products as well.

And thanks for all the feedback -
DVDO is offline  
post #59 of 117 Old 09-29-2014, 11:46 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by deuch2k View Post
It may be an incompatibility issue with the device as this is a single band IR receiver. It will not work with dual band IR devices, unfortunately. "

So maybe it's my case because i'm in Europe and does the remote is the same than US ? I've heard about different standard for IR between US and EU. Can DVDO confirm me that is the same remote/code/IR band or something else please ?
Excellent thought, but we ship the same remote worldwide - (There are some different frequencies in EU but our remote is the same)
DVDO is offline  
post #60 of 117 Old 09-29-2014, 11:52 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by gunhed View Post
I tried to downgrade back to my old firmware which I saved prior to upgrading and the unit stops working. Also it is not recognised as a drive on my desktop using the usual firmware install instructions. I finally tried pushing the green firmware button while plugging in the USB to power it and it allowed me access to the memory. I installed v1.02 again and it works fine. Strange how it worked fine with the original v1.00 when I took it out of the box ??? Anyway, if DVDO are there, can we please have the 10% IRE Grey step patterns in a future firmware update please !
Allow me to answer this general topic (different questions from different users with similar questions)

The original firmware did have a few extra patterns, but (yeah you probably won't like this answer) we were asked to remove the 10% step greyscale patterns as this is not meant to be a calibration device (that is what AVLab is meant for) - Truly I understand the desire, and even though mini cannot be controlled automatically from CalMan or Chromapure for calibration, the 10% patterns put it in a low end TPG (DIY) category. Let me look into this a little and see if we can find a solution that meets the interests of all parties. In the meantime, you should be able to load original firmware without it causing trouble. I suggest loading and then immediately doing a factory reset to make sure all the memories are cleared. To do this, with no cables plugged in, hold both external buttons while applying power.

Throw up another post if you cannot get the original back and we will help you.
DVDO is offline  
Reply Video Processors



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off