Extron Lancia xi washed out look (poor black levels) - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 02-09-2016, 09:03 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Question Extron Lancia xi washed out look (poor black levels)

I have an s-video source running to my monitor, but the black levels are awful. Adjusting my monitor's settings doesn't change anything, so it appears to be an issue with the Lancia. Any ideas on how to correct this? Or does anybody know of any other line doublers or quadruples with no lag that would be better?
thetallguy24 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old Yesterday, 04:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Fudoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 1,374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Do you need s-video ?

If component and RGBs are good enough, get an OSSC: http://shmups.system11.org/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=52158 . My review will up later this week. Awesome line doubler. Completely Lag free.
Fudoh is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old Yesterday, 05:05 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fudoh View Post
Do you need s-video ?

If component and RGBs are good enough, get an OSSC: http://shmups.system11.org/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=52158 . My review will up later this week. Awesome line doubler. Completely Lag free.
The best that one of my devices can output is S-Video, so yeah I do need it to be able to. I've tried pretty much any device i can think of. I've tried Extrons, DVDOs (except for the Edge), XRGB3

Last edited by thetallguy24; Yesterday at 08:27 PM.
thetallguy24 is online now  
post #4 of 5 Old Today, 04:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Fudoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 1,374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 24
How did you end up with a Lancia when you had a XRGB unit already ?

You could also consider an integrator unit like the Entech (s-video to composite) or Sony (s-video to RGB). This would open you up for a more easily available RGB or component upscaler.
Fudoh is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old Today, 06:37 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fudoh View Post
How did you end up with a Lancia when you had a XRGB unit already ?

You could also consider an integrator unit like the Entech (s-video to composite) or Sony (s-video to RGB). This would open you up for a more easily available RGB or component upscaler.
I bought one off eBay to see if a line doubler would solve the issue. I had tried the iScan one but it didn't recognize it.

You and I have discussed this on SHMUPS. It's for a modded Atari 7800.

How much lag do the integrators cause? What model is the Sony?
thetallguy24 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Video Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off