Want to convert S-video to component - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 12-22-2003, 10:12 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
ericholtman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Samsung 63" plasma. I'm running the DVD and the HDTV from cable to component inputs. I have another video source (TIVO) which won't do component out.

It's impossible to program a macro on my remote to gracefully switch the video source on the TV between component and s-video. So I'd like to convert to s-video from the tivo into component, so I can feed that into my receiver and let it do the switching.

What's a decent, low cost way to do this? (I'm willing to bet "decent" and "low cost" do not play well together).

Thanks,

Eric.
ericholtman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 12-22-2003, 11:47 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
oferlaor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Modiin, Israel
Posts: 8,222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Try kramer electronics, they usually have that sort of thing.

Cheers,
Ofer LaOr
www.hometheater.co.il
oferlaor is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 12-23-2003, 09:41 AM
Senior Member
 
Gshepherdogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: WPB, Florida
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ofer,
I thought it was not possible to convert s-video to component?
Gshepherdogs is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 12-23-2003, 11:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
yubyub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NY
Posts: 1,515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Of course it is possible. It's done by an external comb filter. Hometheater Hifi has a review (a bit old, though) here, where they review then compare the Crystal Vision VPS1 to the Faroujda VP-100:

http://www.hometheaterhifi.com/volum...talvision.html

-Y
"First things first, but not necessarily in that order." - Dr. Who
yubyub is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 12-25-2003, 09:43 AM
rrg
Advanced Member
 
rrg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: NJ
Posts: 795
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If interlaced component output (480i) is okay, then the Matrix V3 from Projection Specialists might also solve the problem for you.

Ron Gomes
rrg is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 12-29-2003, 11:55 AM
 
tvtech1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,986
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Of course it is possible. It's done by an external comb filter.
A comb filter seperates the chroma from the luma in a composite signal.
An s-video signal is already seperated into Y and C, no comb filter is necessary, in fact, the elimination of the comb filter is one of the reasons to use s-video.

To convert s-video into a component signal. The Chroma signal has to be demodulated and decoded into the I and Q signals, which are furhter processed into Y, R-Y, and B-Y.
tvtech1 is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 12-29-2003, 11:57 AM
Senior Member
 
Gshepherdogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: WPB, Florida
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
By converting to component, are you then losing any of the picture quality. It seems that may lead to data loss?
Gshepherdogs is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 12-29-2003, 12:04 PM
 
tvtech1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,986
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Component is capable of greater resolution then either composite or YC. Converting composite to component won't result in quality loss, the reverse will.
tvtech1 is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 12-29-2003, 02:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
yubyub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NY
Posts: 1,515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
tvtech1,

Doh - I must've missed my coffee that day. You are, of course, correct. I must've been thinking of composite...

-Y
"First things first, but not necessarily in that order." - Dr. Who
yubyub is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 12-30-2003, 10:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Don O'Brien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Babylon, NY USA
Posts: 2,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Purchase a used Iscan at audiogon and set the unit to output component video instead of RGBHV. 250 dollars

Cheers,
Don O
Don O'Brien is offline  
Closed Thread Video Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off