SDI dvd players - Page 14 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #391 of 408 Old 09-08-2004, 12:11 PM
Senior Member
 
Jon SS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have also just bought an iScan HD with SDI and am thinking about a new DVD player to SDI mod. If you buy a cheaper DVD player the issue I am having is that the sound may not be as good but you are paying more money for a player with better sound and video but benefiting only from the video if you do an SDI mod
Jon SS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #392 of 408 Old 09-08-2004, 12:33 PM
pjr
Senior Member
 
pjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Another consideration is how much do you want to spend when you will void the warrenty when you have it modded? 3910 at $1300-probably not. 2910- at $700- better.
pjr is offline  
post #393 of 408 Old 09-08-2004, 12:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Jon SS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Could always wait a year until the warranty expires
Jon SS is offline  
post #394 of 408 Old 09-08-2004, 01:14 PM
 
merc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Deep in the Woodlands of Texas
Posts: 2,986
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Or you could buy a less expensive refurb which only has a 90 day warranty... ;)
merc is offline  
post #395 of 408 Old 09-08-2004, 09:06 PM
Member
 
lambe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Midwest, USA
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Atman, Just so I understand your new product: I could store my DVDs on my hard drive, use an interface like Meedio to select a movie, and the Xcard will output via your SDI card to a SDI capable scaler? Does this mean I could watch the movie on my projector via the SDI output to the scaler, and simultaneously use my computer to do other things via the video card's output to my monitor? Have you compared the video quality to that of a standard DVD player modded with SDI out? I apologize for bringing up some HTPC questions, but my thread in that forum sunk fast.

Eric
lambe is offline  
post #396 of 408 Old 09-08-2004, 09:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
pdermody's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 795
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
lambe,

You could use Meedio, albeit I would probably use something like TVedia as it supports the Xcard natively (meaning you get full OSD displayed through Xcard and scaled/processed by your scaler), and yes it would allow you to use your monitor output for something else simultaneously.

I have a RP82 with SDI out, and I have the Xcard with PDI fed into a H3DII card - the quality is virtually the same as far as I can tell after calibration (this test being an eyeball test via SE 2HD and 61" Vutec Silverstar)

That being said, the navigation issues with the Xcard really bug me, most of the time it works, other times it loops and I have to force it into chapter menu and go straight to chapter 1.

-pd
pdermody is offline  
post #397 of 408 Old 09-08-2004, 09:45 PM
Member
 
Atman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for pd's explanation.

In general, Xcard's digital video output is very good, it has CUE (chroma bug) though. Fortunately, many SDI scalers can mask the chroma bug.
Atman is offline  
post #398 of 408 Old 02-21-2005, 08:10 AM
Member
 
Lowrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Riga, Latvia
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am about to get a demo Theta Carmen, is it still up to date video wise, particularly with SDI option ?

Here the SDI upgrade costs more than the demo unit, how much is it in the States, is there a DIY SDI option for this unit... :confused:

Thanks...

Antonio Melo Ribeiro
Lowrider is offline  
post #399 of 408 Old 02-21-2005, 04:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Murphy Jr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Mississippi USA
Posts: 2,844
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Check with PMS Video (aka Pixel Magic). If it needs the BT656 kit, it's $150 US. If it needs the BT601 kit, the price is considerably more.

The most efficient path is seldom a straight line.
Joe Murphy Jr is offline  
post #400 of 408 Old 02-22-2005, 08:24 AM
Member
 
Lowrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Riga, Latvia
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry, I dont understand how a PC card will work on the Theta Carmen... :confused:

Antonio Melo Ribeiro
Lowrider is offline  
post #401 of 408 Old 02-22-2005, 08:30 AM
Member
 
peters62's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am pretty sure they are talking about these SDI Modification kits from Pixel Magic

BT656 Pro kit
http://shop.pixelmagicsystems.com/in...products_id=24

BT601 Pro kit
http://shop.pixelmagicsystems.com/in...products_id=30
peters62 is offline  
post #402 of 408 Old 02-22-2005, 09:15 AM
Member
 
Lowrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Riga, Latvia
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmmm, I see, the first link looked like a PC card... :o

Do you think this will fit the Theta Carmen, apparentely their SDI upgrade costs 2400 euro... :rolleyes:

Antonio Melo Ribeiro
Lowrider is offline  
post #403 of 408 Old 02-22-2005, 11:17 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 30,757
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1738 Post(s)
Liked: 1377
You might try contacting JVB Digital, they have an office in the Netherlands or MSB Technology in USA,

http://www.jvb.nl/jvb.asp?cur=2&leve...page=contactus
JVB Digital, how to contact us.

http://www.msbtech.com/sdi/
SDI VIDEO UPGRADES
Keenan is offline  
post #404 of 408 Old 02-22-2005, 11:41 AM
Member
 
Lowrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Riga, Latvia
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks guys...

Antonio Melo Ribeiro
Lowrider is offline  
post #405 of 408 Old 02-22-2005, 05:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Murphy Jr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Mississippi USA
Posts: 2,844
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The price of the kit will be determined by the output from the MPEG decoder. If it conforms to the BT656 standard, the price is $150 US. It it doesn't, you will need the BT601 kit -- and that kit costs more.

From what I've read (another mod site), before serializing the MPEG decoders output for SDI transmission, the BT601 kit converts the output to the BT656 standard and that's why it's more expensive.

The most efficient path is seldom a straight line.
Joe Murphy Jr is offline  
post #406 of 408 Old 02-22-2005, 11:15 PM
Member
 
Lowrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Riga, Latvia
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Both are way cheaper than Theta´s upgrade...

Antonio Melo Ribeiro
Lowrider is offline  
post #407 of 408 Old 02-23-2005, 12:56 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 30,757
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1738 Post(s)
Liked: 1377
JVB Digital is super fast BTW, less than a day to do the mod on my 5900, it spent 4 times longer just in transit to and from..:p
Keenan is offline  
post #408 of 408 Old 02-23-2005, 01:55 AM
Member
 
Lowrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Riga, Latvia
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am already in touch with JVB, they say if it is Pioneer inside there is 85% chance they can do it...

Anyone knows wich Pioneer is the Theta Carmen based on... :confused:

Antonio Melo Ribeiro
Lowrider is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread Video Processors

taboola here
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off