SDI dvd players - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 408 Old 05-07-2004, 12:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Krobar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 2,965
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Dean is right to a point but appreciable differences are possible using clock locked digital links because it near enough eliminates jitter. Jacket Fan, maybe the Ayre DVD player is worth looking at for you, it offers a "cheaper" SDI only option and has a clock synching digital out, no dvd-a or sacd though.
Krobar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 408 Old 05-08-2004, 09:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Murphy Jr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Mississippi USA
Posts: 2,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Panasonic RP91 is a popular SDI modded player. I know there are a few people here that have this particular player. Can anyone post pictures of the video board showing the SDI connection/wires layout?

The most efficient path is seldom a straight line.
Joe Murphy Jr is offline  
post #93 of 408 Old 05-11-2004, 11:49 AM
cpc
AVS Club Gold
 
cpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Toronto,ON,Canada
Posts: 7,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What is the range of cost for SDI mods for most dvd players?
cpc is offline  
post #94 of 408 Old 05-11-2004, 12:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sfogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Ma, USA
Posts: 5,614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally posted by cpc
What is the range of cost for SDI mods for most dvd players?
Depends on if you do it yourself or not.

DIY it ranges from around $30 or so if you build your own interface to $100 or $150 for a DIY kit.

Having it done on a player by a third party is in the ballpark of $350-$500.

Shawn
sfogg is offline  
post #95 of 408 Old 05-11-2004, 12:37 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Dean Roddey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 19,421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 62
It could be from a hundred and sumpthin for the PMS mod kit and you do the work yourself, up to the $500 scenario mentioned above, which included a (one would assume) higher end SDI kit plus labor (though you'd probably have to add shipping and insurance of the device both ways as well.)

Dean Roddey
Chairman/CTO, Charmed Quark Systems, Ltd

www.charmedquark.com

 

Dean Roddey is offline  
post #96 of 408 Old 05-11-2004, 12:37 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Dean Roddey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 19,421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Ooops, we posted at the same time, and I didn't include the actual building of the kit itself, which I assumed wouldn't be of interest to the vast majority of folks, but it's an option.

Dean Roddey
Chairman/CTO, Charmed Quark Systems, Ltd

www.charmedquark.com

 

Dean Roddey is offline  
post #97 of 408 Old 05-11-2004, 12:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sfogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Ma, USA
Posts: 5,614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Dean,

"It could be from a hundred and sumpthin for the PMS mod kit"

The other easy kit option is the National Semiconductor SDI evaluation board which is $100 plus shipping. Hookup is the same as the PMS kit. I

" which included a (one would assume) higher end SDI kit "

I'm not sure about that. There isn't much to an SDI interface as it is mostly all done by a single chip whch is why some have just built a circuit around that chip themselves. And AFAIK there are only a couple of popular SDI chips out there.

Where it gets more complicated is if you need to convert from bt601 to bt656 in a player to do the SDI mod. Most avoid DVD players that are bt601 for that reason.

Shawn
sfogg is offline  
post #98 of 408 Old 05-11-2004, 10:37 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
oferlaor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Modiin, Israel
Posts: 8,222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sfogg,

I believe PMS is working on a BT601 mod kit.

Cheers,
Ofer LaOr
www.hometheater.co.il
oferlaor is offline  
post #99 of 408 Old 05-11-2004, 11:11 PM
Senior Member
 
AK47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Asia
Posts: 456
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Pls. forgive my ignorance, is there any dummy's literature on BT656 and BT601? I know nothing about video/electronics engineering, although I do have a civil engineering background.

:)
AK47 is offline  
post #100 of 408 Old 05-12-2004, 06:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sfogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Ma, USA
Posts: 5,614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
" is there any dummy's literature on BT656 and BT601?"

It is basically the digital format the video travels internally in the DVD player from the MPEG decoder to the deinterlacer or DACs. The current SDI boards need it to be in BT656 format to work. PMS video is working on a converter to convert from BT601 to BT656 to use with SDI outputs.

Shawn
sfogg is offline  
post #101 of 408 Old 05-12-2004, 07:25 AM
 
Tom.W's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Costa Rica would be nice!
Posts: 1,397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Iv'e got a Technics DVD A-10 that I was golng to send to Immersive for the SDI mod but it looks like there no longer in the business.Is there someone else I can send it to ?
Tom.W is offline  
post #102 of 408 Old 05-12-2004, 08:00 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
oferlaor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Modiin, Israel
Posts: 8,222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The only companies doing such mods now are PMS and JVB.

Cheers,
Ofer LaOr
www.hometheater.co.il
oferlaor is offline  
post #103 of 408 Old 05-12-2004, 09:14 AM
 
Tom.W's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Costa Rica would be nice!
Posts: 1,397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Ofer,I guess I should have added in the US. JVB has on office in the US but do they do the Mods here and on a player you already own ?
Tom.W is offline  
post #104 of 408 Old 05-12-2004, 09:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brandon B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: LA lalalalala
Posts: 3,971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yes and Yes. I spoke to the guy there on the phone about a week ago. He was very nice and indicated turnaround was about 3 days right now.

BB
Brandon B is offline  
post #105 of 408 Old 05-12-2004, 12:53 PM
Senior Member
 
dstroot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by MarkStega
Does anybody know of a successful modification of a PC based MPEG decoder card? (A card such as http://www.sigmadesigns.com/products/netstream2000.htm) is what I have in mind.

Using a card like this would enable one to use an HTPC as a "dual head" display, the SDI (or for that matter, the VGA output) of the card being one device (the DVD player), the 'normal' display card being another device (the HTPC).

I'd love to be able to put the DVD output of my HTPC as a non-processed digital signal to a Lumagen or DVDO scaler (I would have said Key Digital, but after Dean's experiences to date, I'll pass).
I'd be interested in this too - I have many of my DVDs copied to HD storage and have been playing around with a "media center" PC.
dstroot is offline  
post #106 of 408 Old 05-12-2004, 06:45 PM
Senior Member
 
AK47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Asia
Posts: 456
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thks, Shawn

:)
AK47 is offline  
post #107 of 408 Old 05-13-2004, 12:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Krobar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 2,965
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
If you want a powerful 3D Card then the new Quadro SDI card might be worth considering for the purpose if you have deep pockets.
Krobar is offline  
post #108 of 408 Old 05-13-2004, 02:54 AM
Member
 
MarkStega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Annapolis, MD; USA
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
dstroot,

Actually, I did find a potential solution in the HTPC forum with a similar question.

Instead of the card that I suggested, there is another Sigma card that PMS pairs with a PDI capture card, thus enabling a h/w decode to be followed with s/w deinterlace & scale. See http://www.pmsvideo.com/index_topic....18&didpath=/18 for this.

Alternatively, its pretty obvious that you could use the XCard and wire the SDI conversion kit to the PDI output header, producing an HTPC SDI output exactly as I wanted. My intent is to give this a try as soon as 1) I finish the command & control of my HTPC and 2) I have an appropriate scaler in place.

Mark Stega
MarkStega is offline  
post #109 of 408 Old 05-13-2004, 08:01 AM
cpc
AVS Club Gold
 
cpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Toronto,ON,Canada
Posts: 7,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, it would be nice to do it inexpensively of course.

So if you were to do it yourself, do you need to be a genius? Are there ways of finding out how to do the work on your own player? Ways of figuring out where to connect the sdi board etc?

How do you know whether your DVD player is BT656 or BT601?
cpc is offline  
post #110 of 408 Old 05-13-2004, 08:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
DigitalAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: United States of Advertising
Posts: 567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by MarkStega
dstroot,

Actually, I did find a potential solution in the HTPC forum with a similar question.

Instead of the card that I suggested, there is another Sigma card that PMS pairs with a PDI capture card, thus enabling a h/w decode to be followed with s/w deinterlace & scale. See http://www.pmsvideo.com/index_topic....18&didpath=/18 for this.

Alternatively, its pretty obvious that you could use the XCard and wire the SDI conversion kit to the PDI output header, producing an HTPC SDI output exactly as I wanted. My intent is to give this a try as soon as 1) I finish the command & control of my HTPC and 2) I have an appropriate scaler in place.
awesome...keep us posted!

DigitalAV is offline  
post #111 of 408 Old 05-13-2004, 09:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sfogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Ma, USA
Posts: 5,614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally posted by cpc
Well, it would be nice to do it inexpensively of course.

So if you were to do it yourself, do you need to be a genius? Are there ways of finding out how to do the work on your own player? Ways of figuring out where to connect the sdi board etc?

How do you know whether your DVD player is BT656 or BT601?
If you are doing a player that is already done, and documented, then doing the mod is easy. You just need to be able to solder well in small spaces and have a good iron.

For example see the various mods on some players at:

http://www.pmsvideo.com/index_topic....didpath=/41/51

As far as BT656 or BT601 I haven't seen an easy way to determine that yet other then plugging in a board and trying it. That is why it is good to go with a know moddable player.

Also there are some DVD players that simply can't have a SDI mod done to them. These players use an integrated chip that handles all the various video functions internally. In these players there is no digital video signals on the boards so there isn't anywhere to tap into them and add the SDI mod.

Shawn
sfogg is offline  
post #112 of 408 Old 05-13-2004, 05:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Murphy Jr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Mississippi USA
Posts: 2,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there any way that the MPEG decoder can hinder below black and/or above white information via SDI?

Anyone who has the Panasonic RP91, do you get below black and above white signals via SDI? The Secrets review of this player stated that it doesn't output a below black video signal. Is this only on the analog outputs?

I was under the impression that none of this was relevant regarding MPEG decoding and SDI transmission. But after I read some of the comments about the RP91, I began to wonder. Hopefully, needlessly, as I was able to find an RP91 in excellent condition and should have a PMS SDI kit tomorrow. That is, if FedEx doesn't screw up again.

The most efficient path is seldom a straight line.
Joe Murphy Jr is offline  
post #113 of 408 Old 05-13-2004, 11:19 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
oferlaor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Modiin, Israel
Posts: 8,222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
AFAIK, below black is blocked off on the analog section (i.e., is passed through SDI).

Cheers,
Ofer LaOr
www.hometheater.co.il
oferlaor is offline  
post #114 of 408 Old 05-19-2004, 03:10 AM
Member
 
rscott4563's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: UK - North
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quick question, I'm looking at buying an SDI dvd player to go with a Lumagen HDP, I've pretty much decided on a Panasonic RP82 as I can get one for very little £££ and I'm not bothered at all by CD, DVD-A or SACD, just the picture quality from DVD and DD/DTS. Now I've got choice between a PMS and an Immersive modded player.

Is there a difference, is one better than the other, are there any problems with one or the other and what about compatibility with the Lumagen, I've read about some issues with the PMS mods and the HD Leeza??

Cheers

Ryan
rscott4563 is offline  
post #115 of 408 Old 05-19-2004, 03:31 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,629
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 91
ARE the Theta players CUE (Chroma) free??

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is offline  
post #116 of 408 Old 05-19-2004, 12:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JeffY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: England
Posts: 3,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are any players truely CUE free?, I've seen forms of CUE on Panasonic based players.
JeffY is offline  
post #117 of 408 Old 05-19-2004, 03:10 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
oferlaor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Modiin, Israel
Posts: 8,222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ryan,

Both companies have exellent reputation at SDI mods and interaction problems are quite scarce.

Jeffy,

Panasonic RP82 is CUE free.

Cheers,
Ofer LaOr
www.hometheater.co.il
oferlaor is offline  
post #118 of 408 Old 05-19-2004, 03:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JeffY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: England
Posts: 3,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by oferlaor

Jeffy,

Panasonic RP82 is CUE free.
No it isn't. ;)
JeffY is offline  
post #119 of 408 Old 05-19-2004, 05:02 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,629
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Well, I am looking at the Theta Carmen II w/ SDI. I no it is not CUE free but in practice what are the real world implications of such (e.g. while watching LOTR...What will I see)?

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is offline  
post #120 of 408 Old 05-19-2004, 06:34 PM
Senior Member
 
AK47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Asia
Posts: 456
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jeffy,

Which player "is" CUE free, then? Mind telling us which scene in which DVD shows RP82's CUE?

Just out of curiosity, are there different versions (with major architectural differences rather than say 110V/220V power supply) of RP82 around the world?

********************************************************
An old follow-up question - why would the industry has 2 standards for MPEG transmission, BT656 and BT601, within DVDPs?

:)
AK47 is offline  
Closed Thread Video Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off