SDI dvd players - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 408 Old 06-07-2004, 08:23 AM
Member
 
Atman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Mark,

You can cut the ribbon cable and make the wires thinner. You will find that each wire is actually composed of many small wires. So you can make them thinner to fit your application.

This is the color code of the ribbon cable:

Brown -----------------------> D2
Red -----------------------> D3
Orange -----------------------> D4
Yellow -----------------------> D5
Green -----------------------> D6
Blue -----------------------> D7
Purple -----------------------> D8
Grey -----------------------> D9
White -----------------------> Clock
Black -----------------------> Clock Ground

Dark Green -----------------------> Ground
Yellow -----------------------> +5
Atman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 408 Old 06-07-2004, 09:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Murphy Jr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Mississippi USA
Posts: 2,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Atman
Thanks for adding the list of players that are SDI moddable to the PMS Video site. You might want to include the Panasonic XP30 (the XP50 without DVD-A capability) and the Yamaha 2300 (the original and Mk II version). These players also use the MEI MPEG decoder found in the RP82.

The most efficient path is seldom a straight line.
Joe Murphy Jr is offline  
post #183 of 408 Old 06-07-2004, 11:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
jacket_fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Milton, GA
Posts: 745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks Atman.

I was ass-backward.

I had cut down one of the wires and was able to insert it into a through hole. Now, I just have to be good enough to get a solder joint for head wire.

It is more daunting after poping the top off the player and realizing just what real estate is involved.

Mark
jacket_fan is offline  
post #184 of 408 Old 06-07-2004, 06:50 PM
Member
 
lambe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Midwest, USA
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally posted by Krobar
The Arcams are BT601 as far as I know. They have been modded for sometime here in the UK. Early ones cannot be modded but current DV27As are a popular choice.
Thanks Krobar. Can anyone confirm that the Arcams are BT601? I don't know of anyone in the U.S. that mods the Arcams yet. I spoke with one of the big Arcam modders in the UK, but with the current exchange rate and the cost of shipping, I just couldn't justify it. He wasn't willing to sell me just the SDI mod kit. But Atman's BT601 SDI kit looks promising!
lambe is offline  
post #185 of 408 Old 06-07-2004, 08:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
jacket_fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Milton, GA
Posts: 745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Atman,

One more question.

Where does "Clock Ground" connect. Does it go to the same pad as "Ground"? The Picture of a completed mod shows only one ground next to the +5 pad.

Or does it ground somewhere else?

Thanks,

Mark
jacket_fan is offline  
post #186 of 408 Old 06-07-2004, 08:41 PM
Member
 
ey1221's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a toshiba SD-9000 does anyone know which standard it uses and if it is possible to modify one?

Justin
ey1221 is offline  
post #187 of 408 Old 06-08-2004, 08:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Murphy Jr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Mississippi USA
Posts: 2,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If anyone is interested in a player for SDI modification, dakmart.com now has the Denon DVD-1600 (<$300 + shipping, B-stock). This player has the same MEI MPEG decoder found in the Panasonic RP91, RP82, XP30, XP50 and Yamaha 2300 (original and mkII) players.

The most efficient path is seldom a straight line.
Joe Murphy Jr is offline  
post #188 of 408 Old 06-08-2004, 08:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brandon B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: LA lalalalala
Posts: 3,973
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally posted by Atman
This is the prototype of the BT601 SDI kit.

Got a rough release date? Late summer, next fall?

BB
Brandon B is offline  
post #189 of 408 Old 06-08-2004, 09:40 AM
Member
 
Atman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by jacket_fan
Where does "Clock Ground" connect. Does it go to the same pad as "Ground"?
Yes, correct.

This is a picture of a RP82 SDI mod with the color ribbon cable.
http://www.pmsvideo.com/member/9601/eshop/RP82_Mod.JPG
Atman is offline  
post #190 of 408 Old 06-08-2004, 09:42 AM
Member
 
Atman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Brandon B
Got a rough release date? Late summer, next fall?

BB
It depends on the progress of the beta testing. We don't have a firm release date yet.
Atman is offline  
post #191 of 408 Old 06-08-2004, 07:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
jacket_fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Milton, GA
Posts: 745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Atman,

I do appreciate all your help. Unfortunately, I have succeeded in killing my RP-82. I believe I have all wires correct, no solder bridges (I used the absolute minimum amount of solder I could), wires are secure and the board is clean.

There is no LED lighting up on the board either.

The player will power up, register "open", and let me power down. Nothing else.

There is a resistance change between the SDI connector and chassis ground, shich I assume should not happen.

I really hate to admit defeat. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

My digital camera has minimal macro capabilities.
LL

Mark
jacket_fan is offline  
post #192 of 408 Old 06-08-2004, 09:19 PM
Member
 
Atman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mark,

Does the RP82 work normally if the kit is detached?
Atman is offline  
post #193 of 408 Old 06-09-2004, 05:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
jacket_fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Milton, GA
Posts: 745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
No. What I described above is what happens. To remove the kit would require me to de solder the wires.

All I can do is power up and down.

I will try do do a continuity check from connector to board so see if I can find something tonight.

Mark
jacket_fan is offline  
post #194 of 408 Old 06-09-2004, 07:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
jacket_fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Milton, GA
Posts: 745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hey Atman,

When I was doing a continuity check from the board to the connector at the end of the ribbon cable, I noticed that there is continuity between ground (dark green) and both pads on the board. There is also continuity between +5 and both pads.

Could there be something worng in the connector?

Mark
jacket_fan is offline  
post #195 of 408 Old 06-09-2004, 07:41 PM
Member
 
Atman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by jacket_fan
No. What I described above is what happens. To remove the kit would require me to de solder the wires.
You don't need to de-solder the wires. You can remove the kit by disconnecting the connectors between the kit and the ribbon cable.
Atman is offline  
post #196 of 408 Old 06-09-2004, 08:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
jacket_fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Milton, GA
Posts: 745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I tried that. I removed the SDI board from the connector of the ribbon cable. Same situation. I can power up/down, but nothing else.

For the RP-82, the when you power up the LCD screen says "Welcome to DVD World", then goes blank. When you power down it says "BYE". That's all I get.

(Thanks for the trouble shooting help)

Mark
jacket_fan is offline  
post #197 of 408 Old 06-09-2004, 09:27 PM
Member
 
Atman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Mark,

If the SDI board is detached and the RP82 still does not work, the RP82 may be damaged. You may check if any soldering causes short-circuited. I hope it is not a permanent damage.

The possibility of the ribbon cable/connector problem is very low because they are very simple passive devices.

You may also consider our SDI modification/repair service and send an email to our sales for details.

Good luck.
Atman is offline  
post #198 of 408 Old 06-09-2004, 11:40 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
oferlaor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Modiin, Israel
Posts: 8,222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Atman,

One of the players I had in my possession (not from you guys) did indeed have a problem that was specific to a cable. The flat cable connector was installed slightly crooked and the same pin touched two wires and caused a short circuit. In my case, disconnecting the SDI mod did not resolve the problem. This might be the same situation - the cable or the soldering likely has a short circuit to another nearby connection and/or wire. A DVM test can check this. Also, if extra soldering was done, the soldier might have spilled over to the other side of the board and may have caused a short circuit on the bottom side (which is not visible).

I would recommend taking the entire board out and inspecting it carefully.

Sounds like that RP82 is not operational, so there's not much to lose here.

Cheers,
Ofer LaOr
www.hometheater.co.il
oferlaor is offline  
post #199 of 408 Old 06-10-2004, 04:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
jacket_fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Milton, GA
Posts: 745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have looked at both sides of the board with magnification. I do not see any obvious signs of damage, solder where it should not be. I does appear to be at the pads of +5 and ground. I will try again tonight.

Mark
jacket_fan is offline  
post #200 of 408 Old 06-10-2004, 09:20 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 24,010
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 316 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Which company sells the most reliable SDI modded player? I am not intersted in doing this myself.

I am looking for a Denon 5900 caliber player or something comparable..

My Home Theater of the Month- Le Petit Trianon

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
post #201 of 408 Old 06-10-2004, 11:34 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Dean Roddey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 19,541
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 101
PMS will do the 2900.

Dean Roddey
Chairman/CTO, Charmed Quark Systems, Ltd

www.charmedquark.com

 

Dean Roddey is offline  
post #202 of 408 Old 06-10-2004, 11:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JeffY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: England
Posts: 3,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think PMS now guarantee their SDI mods, you should see zero snow, colour bursts etc. i.e. it show be 100% reliable.
JeffY is offline  
post #203 of 408 Old 06-10-2004, 03:00 PM
Senior Member
 
JoshA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Campbell, CA
Posts: 271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I heard through the grapevine that MSB Technologies, www.msbtech.com is strongly considering doing SDI modifications.

You may remember them from the days of LD and external dts decoders. They used to modify LD players with AC3-RF outs and add 6-channel ins to receivers/processors. It would be nice to have a modifier in the US.

My opinions are my own, and do not necessarily reflect those of my previous or current employers.
JoshA is offline  
post #204 of 408 Old 06-10-2004, 05:59 PM
jrp
AVS Special Member
 
jrp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
Posts: 1,049
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally posted by thebland
Which company sells the most reliable SDI modded player? I am not intersted in doing this myself.

I am looking for a Denon 5900 caliber player or something comparable..
I do SDI mods for Lumagen customers. I just finished my first Denon 5900 mod for a VisionPro HDP Beta customer, and I must say it is excellent for both audio and video.

I compared the Denon 5900 SDI out to the RP91 SDI player I have now using AVIA test patterns and watching Lord of the Rings. The RP91 shows errors on the 100TVL, 200 TVL and Zone-plate test patterns, but the Denon looked great on these. The sweep to 5 MHz looked very good on the Denon, while the RP91 showed more pass-band ripple. Also, Lord of the Rings looked stunning on the Denon, but still excellent on the RP91.

For audio I compared the Denon to my Marantz SA-14 SACD player, both with single-ended analog output to an EAD signature preamp in analog bypass mode, Transparent Audio Reference wire to Watt Puppy 6.0's (two channel).

The SA-14 was better, but not by a lot.

(EDIT) I had thought I would be willing to use and all-in-one like the Denon5900, but I spoke a little too soon. Last night I continued my experimentation using the SA-14 balanced audio output to my Jeff Roland Synergy II preamp balanced output to my MC6 power amp. This combination is way better than the others tested. So, I guess I'm going to keep my setup for audio as it stands.

Of course all this is IMO.

Jim Peterson
Lumagen

Jim Peterson
Lumagen
jrp is offline  
post #205 of 408 Old 06-10-2004, 07:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
jacket_fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Milton, GA
Posts: 745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
An Atman Update,

I was able to get the RP-82 running tonight. What a relief. :D

The video card has a blind mate to the motherboard. It appears that I did not have the daughter card properly seated. When I firmly seated the video card, everything went back to normal. I have only gotten to use component out. I do not have the scaler yet to hook up. But so far so good. The LED on the SDI card illuminates, so it looks good for now.

When I did the mod, I removed the video card so I could solder the wires on the back side. I tried to use as little solder as possible to make sure I did not bridge traces. I drilled a hole in the back for the SDI connector, installed it and am looking forward to getting the Lumagen so I can try it out.

Thanks again for the tips.

The best tip was about the wires. I removed one or two strands on each wire, and they fit quite nicely in the through holes in the board.

What did you use for strain relief? It looks like hot melt glue.

Hey, I’m and airplane guy, not an electrical guy, so if I lucked out and got this mod to work, most anyone can. Kudos Atman.

Mark
jacket_fan is offline  
post #206 of 408 Old 06-10-2004, 08:08 PM
Senior Member
 
AK47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Asia
Posts: 456
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,

Anybody knows whether Gateway AR-230 (branded under ACL in HK) is BT656 or BT601? And Philips DVDR75?

:)

AK
AK47 is offline  
post #207 of 408 Old 06-11-2004, 06:27 AM
Member
 
Atman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Congratulations!

Quote:
Originally posted by jacket_fan

What did you use for strain relief? It looks like hot melt glue.
Yes, it is hot melt glue.
Atman is offline  
post #208 of 408 Old 06-11-2004, 07:44 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
oferlaor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Modiin, Israel
Posts: 8,222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
AK47,

Philips are all BT601

Cheers,
Ofer LaOr
www.hometheater.co.il
oferlaor is offline  
post #209 of 408 Old 06-11-2004, 09:28 AM
Senior Member
 
AK47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Asia
Posts: 456
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thks, oferlaor

:)
AK47 is offline  
post #210 of 408 Old 06-16-2004, 07:49 PM
Member
 
Augustine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Several people have mentioned that the Panasonic RP-91 is preferrable to the RP-82 as an SDI player. The RP-82 came out quite a bit ahead in the Secrets of HT shootout. What is it about the RP-91 that everyone is so in love with?
Augustine is offline  
Closed Thread Video Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off