why Extron switcher don't work with Faroudja processor? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-06-2000, 11:48 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Li On's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Posts: 4,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

Just bought a new Extron switcher SW 4 AR HVxi few days ago for around $850. It's a 4 in 1 out RGBHV switcher all in BNC terminal. Very expensive but it suppose a quality product. URL at http://www.extron.com/product/product.asp?id=sw4ar-hvxi

My video processor is a Faroudja VP400A and the projector is the NEC XG85. The setup works fine when direct connect the 400A to the XG85 using 5 BNCs to BNCs connection. But using the Extron in the middle won't work. The projector 'INFO' said the singal is at 62.9Khz (right) and 33hz refesh rate (wrong). I only get a flickering video noise picture! But if I use the Faroudja 15pin monitor output with a 15pin to 5 BNCs cable to the Extron, the singal pass fine and the XG85 see the frequence is at 62.9Khz and 59.9hz refesh rate. Yesterday I borrowed a friend's Faroudja LD200 for a test. If using 5 BNCs to the Extron, the projector can never sync. Again the LD200 15pin output works with the Extron.

What give? I want to use the BNCs terminal of the Faroudja to the switcher! Anyone has any idea? Thanks in advance.

Btw, the 5 BNCs cable from Faroudja to the Extron is okay because I tried using 5 I-joins to direct connect the 5 short BNCs cable to the 5 long BNCs cable from the projector without any problem.

regards,

Li On
Li On is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-07-2000, 02:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
spatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Germany
Posts: 895
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tricky thing, good for you I know it because I had the same configruration
once.
The high level faroudja sync signals clip the inputs of
the Extrons inputs. They are 5 and 10 Vpp. You can try
double terminate them with additional 75 ohm resistors to
reduce the sync level of the VP 400. Hook an oszi you
will see it.


------------------
make it so
spatz

Eidophor oil projector on a fork lifter connected to an original SONY BETAMAX, stunning picture, never seen anything better
spatz is offline  
Old 08-07-2000, 03:02 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Li On's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Posts: 4,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi spatz,

Thanks for the advice but I don't think so. The Faroudja VP400A manual read:

OUTPUT SINGALS (NTSC)
R,G,B Non-composite, Positive, 714mVp-p
Vertical Sync 59.94Hz, Negative, 4Vp-p, 75 Ohm
Horizontal Sync 62.8KHz, Negative, 4Vp-p, 75 Ohm

I believe that's a 'standard' level singal. Btw, if the expensive 'industial grade' Extron switched still don't work, what else?

regards,

Li On
Li On is offline  
Old 08-07-2000, 06:08 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tim McCune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Germantown, Md.
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm using a SW 4 AR HVxi, DVP5000 and a G-90. I have not had any problems.

As you know, the switcher can be set to manual, or auto switch on synch. If you haven't already, I would try both modes. Other than that, I would send the unit back. It should work.

Tim
Tim McCune is offline  
Old 08-07-2000, 08:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
aerialman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Posts: 1,844
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tim,
are you running 1080i into the 5000? I know this is a silly question since I already know the answer, but how does the 5000 & G90 look? (I assume it is fantastic but its not often we get to interact with someone who has this "dream" setup!- congrats!)

- Jerry
aerialman is offline  
Old 08-08-2000, 05:23 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tim McCune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Germantown, Md.
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jerry,

I am running 1080i from a Dish 6000 into the 5000. With my 92" diag. 16x9 1.3 gain Studiotech, the setup, with a good transfer, is incredible. When Roger Galvan set the G-90 up we discussed all the options and trade offs. After viewing contrast settings from 50 to 85. I keep it on 60. I guess that's the benefit of a relatively small screen. Roger confirmed that with the low contrast setting, watching 4:3 Dish programing will not be a raster burn issue, and with the 5000, I can even stomach watching SD Dish programming.

Sorry for the digression Li On. Hope your Extron issue works out.

Tim
Tim McCune is offline  
Old 08-08-2000, 06:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
aerialman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Posts: 1,844
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tim,
thanks for the info- must be spectacular! and yes, Li On, sorry for the digression and of course I hope the extron issue is resolved.

- Jerry
aerialman is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off