Poor man's SDI - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 744 Old 01-25-2004, 09:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MC Maniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Southern Ontario
Posts: 1,827
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nacho,

Sorry I can't help you..

Did you add an SDI mod to your Satellite receiver?

If yes did it improve the std def image?

John
MC Maniac is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 744 Old 01-25-2004, 11:26 AM
Senior Member
 
nachin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Spain
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ohh yes!!! it improve details and colours a lot, when work, of course.

Nacho.
nachin is offline  
post #633 of 744 Old 01-25-2004, 03:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MC Maniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Southern Ontario
Posts: 1,827
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for this..it's the more detail I want

Std def on a big screen looks crappy - even worse than VHS

I posted in another thread asking if any company sells SDI modded HD Sat receivers and no one knows of any....

So if anyone here knows where I could get one I'd be happy..

John
MC Maniac is offline  
post #634 of 744 Old 02-02-2004, 02:50 AM
Newbie
 
snikt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
my name is Massimiliano.Unfortunately i don't speak english very well.I want make the sdi modify to the dvd Panasonic Ra71.The chip decoder is the MN77531KA and the d/a is a 7190.How can i to do?
Thanks,Massimiliano
snikt is offline  
post #635 of 744 Old 02-02-2004, 03:55 AM
Senior Member
 
nachin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Spain
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
nachin is offline  
post #636 of 744 Old 02-02-2004, 04:21 AM
Newbie
 
snikt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
:D but i have difficulty to found the pins d2-d9 and the clock of the my Panasonic. How i can do this?
BYe,Massimiliano
snikt is offline  
post #637 of 744 Old 02-02-2004, 10:39 PM
Member
 
Plexi47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Milano-Italy
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Massimiliano,
If it is the 7190 of Analog Devices the d2-d9 pins of the PMS
module must be connected to pin 1-8 of the chip (d0-d7),
the clock should be on pin 27.
You can check it on the technical data sheet of the chip that can
be found on line.
By the way if You are the Snikt of AVforum(Italy),You can drop me
a pm on that forum (in Italian of course).
Mauro
Plexi47 is offline  
post #638 of 744 Old 02-03-2004, 04:19 PM
Newbie
 
snikt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i'm the same Snikt:D of Avforum.I 'll call you in p.m.
Thanks,Snikt
snikt is offline  
post #639 of 744 Old 02-09-2004, 06:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GScott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Lewis Center, OH
Posts: 2,492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This may not be appropriate but has anyone done any research on HD SDI?
GScott is offline  
post #640 of 744 Old 02-12-2004, 09:44 AM
Member
 
cattivik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Bari - Italy
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone modified the Denon 2200 ??
I'm interested to buy one but I do not know if is possible to
mod. in SDI..

Tnx
cattivik is offline  
post #641 of 744 Old 02-12-2004, 01:49 PM
Member
 
Lars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Denon 2200 also, so if anyone has any info (and pictures would be super) that would be super great :)

THINK! It may be a new experience.
Lars is offline  
post #642 of 744 Old 02-17-2004, 07:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sfogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Ma, USA
Posts: 5,614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just as a point of reference I added the PMS SDI output to a Denon 2900. I did it differently then Plexi47 mentioned earlier in this thread. On my DVD2900 on its video board there was only one video DAC I didn't see a 2970 anywhere on the board. There were a few unpopulated areas on the board so perhaps Denon made a production change?

Instead I mapped out the 8 input pins on the Sil504 to the ribbon cable feeding the video board.

Pin 1 was ground

Pin 2 = data2
Pin 3 = data3
et...etc.. up to pin 9.

Pin 13 was the clock and I took power over at the power supply connector to the video board. Also I used different wires to connect into the video board as the PMS supplied wires were too fat to fit through the holes in the board.

No need for a noise filter on the clock line on my setup. It synced right up to a CS-2 w/SDI and had a very clean picture.

I sent Atman pictures of the mod to add to the mod database.

Shawn
sfogg is offline  
post #643 of 744 Old 02-18-2004, 11:02 AM
Member
 
cattivik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Bari - Italy
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sent Atman pictures of the mod to add to the mod database.

Hello Sfogg, very interested Tnx a lot!
I've not found these picture in Altman's site yet!
cattivik is offline  
post #644 of 744 Old 02-18-2004, 11:37 AM
Member
 
Atman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Atman is offline  
post #645 of 744 Old 02-18-2004, 04:48 PM
Senior Member
 
dstroot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sfogg - WOW! Great work! Looks really professional.
dstroot is offline  
post #646 of 744 Old 02-29-2004, 09:56 AM
Member
 
Atman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Simpson from Hong Kong has just submitted the Pioneer DV-S838A SDI mod. to the database.

http://www.pmsvideo.com/index_topic....path=/41/51/86
Atman is offline  
post #647 of 744 Old 02-29-2004, 05:03 PM
jrp
AVS Special Member
 
jrp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
Posts: 1,049
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally posted by Lars
I have a Denon 2200 also, so if anyone has any info (and pictures would be super) that would be super great :)
I did a Denon 2200 SDI mod and it appears that the 2900 uses exactly the same processing board and connectors. So check out the pictures for the 2900.

Jim Peterson
Lumagen

Jim Peterson
Lumagen
jrp is offline  
post #648 of 744 Old 03-01-2004, 04:39 PM
Member
 
Lars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jrp: Thanks, I will double check, and then install the SDI mod.

Now I only need a scaler that inputs SDI, and outputs DVI for my Pioneer 503MXE (503CMX in US) without any problems (tearing and other not so good stuff).

THINK! It may be a new experience.
Lars is offline  
post #649 of 744 Old 03-02-2004, 07:42 PM
AJW
Member
 
AJW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello Atman

I've got a Integra DPS-8.3 DVD player which is the same as an Onkyo DV-SP800.
The unit is based around a Pioneer design.
It uses the Mitsubishi M65774BFP MPEG decoder which I understand from a bit of searching is used in a few Pioneer machines.

I had a look on the PMSVideo site and Simpson from Hong Kong posted a mod done on a Pioneer DV-S838A and I can just make out that the Decoder is a M65774AFP.

Does it look like this Mitsubishi M65774BFP chip is outputing a bt656 stream and suitable for your DIY kit.
My guess is the "A" difference in the part number might be with the chip packaging?

P.S I tried to find the data sheet from Mitsubishi but it seems they're remove access to them.

Tony
AJW is offline  
post #650 of 744 Old 03-04-2004, 02:32 AM
Member
 
Atman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FZ1inTO has just submitted the Pioneer DV-656A SDI mod. to the database.

http://www.pmsvideo.com/index_topic....path=/41/51/87

Tony: sorry I don't have any info of the Mitsubishi chip.
Atman is offline  
post #651 of 744 Old 03-06-2004, 05:05 PM
AJW
Member
 
AJW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for your help Atman.

Does anyone know that if there is a HSYNC & VSYNC signal coming from the MPEG decoder that it is automatically a BT601 stream? Or can it still have these signals and be BT656 compliant ?

On this Integra DPS-8.3 DVD player the output of the MPEG stream goes into a PM0033A which turns it into a progressive signal.
This chip is made by Pioneer but I can't find any info on it either.

Thanks
Tony
AJW is offline  
post #652 of 744 Old 03-07-2004, 09:08 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Axatax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: S. Florida, USA
Posts: 1,617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Instead I mapped out the 8 input pins on the Sil504 to the ribbon cable feeding the video board
Hi. There is perhaps an easier way to attach the 8 data wires on a 2900. If you follow the data lines from the ribbon cable connector you will find they emerge near an unpopulated area of the board, all lined up in order and labeled. This is advantageous since the wires would be parallel to the pins on the SDI board and you easily clear the ribbon cable from the video board. Tapping off this area requires a wire length of approximately 1" to reach the SDI board if mounted to the rear chassis above this particular area of the board.
Axatax is offline  
post #653 of 744 Old 03-08-2004, 01:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sfogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Ma, USA
Posts: 5,614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
"you will find they emerge near an unpopulated area of the board, all lined up in order and labeled."

Yup, I noticed that after I did the mod. I had checked the pins on where the chip would have gone but it had unpopulated resistors which is why I didn't see the signal there.

You can see the area in the closeup pic I posted on the PMS Video board.

It is on the left side near the top.

Shawn
sfogg is offline  
post #654 of 744 Old 03-13-2004, 11:29 AM
Newbie
 
Pelzl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Denon 1600 that I have been pondering adding SDI to. Now with FZ1inTO submitting the dvd-656A, I think that would make a better first time mod device candidate since they are less than $200 . A few questions I can't seem to find answers are:

1.)Does it have the chroma bug?
2.) How is the digital audio out?
3.)What is the layer change time? This is something that drives me crazy with the 1600.

thanks for any feedback you could give.
Pelzl is offline  
post #655 of 744 Old 03-15-2004, 04:51 AM
Senior Member
 
kempf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Hamburg Germany
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi!


I am trying to update my triax dvbs65s satreciever.

The encoder chip inside is the conaxent bt864akrf.

I can´t get it to work good, the picture flikkers/scrolls. I have no snow or
sparkels. This happens on all outputs also the rgb and video on the reciever. But when I remove the hsync
and vsync cables from the sdi board to the conaxent chip, the rgb and the video works fine again. And the sdi gets worse.
When the hsync and vsync are connected the flikkering and scrolling is identical on all outputs.


The chip is btu 601 but i have the dvd2sdi output board fom Vydeo.com vich
accept that.


Any help would be very appreciated.
Kempf.
kempf is offline  
post #656 of 744 Old 03-15-2004, 06:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Tony Costanza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: NJ
Posts: 467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there an instrument to test SDI out on a DVD player?

Tony
Tony Costanza is offline  
post #657 of 744 Old 03-15-2004, 08:42 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Axatax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: S. Florida, USA
Posts: 1,617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Is there an instrument to test SDI out on a DVD player?
You could connect it to a device with an SDI input. :D If this is not possible and you just want to test that the SDI card is outputting a signal you can touch the center pin of a composite RCA cable (connected to composite input on a TV) to the center pin of the SDI BNC connector. You should observe the otherwhise blank video screen turn to a snow pattern.
Axatax is offline  
post #658 of 744 Old 03-17-2004, 04:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Doright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey everyone,

I own a Panasonic RP62. Ealier in this thread Mike mentioned he was about to try to modify one. Someone told him to use the same instructions that Bonfiglio posted for the RP82. Can someone confirm this for me?
I PM'd Mike but he has not replied.

Thanks

I am so not competitive. In fact, I am the least non-competitive. So I win.
Doright is offline  
post #659 of 744 Old 03-18-2004, 05:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
mavromatis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hey guys... I've been MIA on this thread for a while... I just finished modding another DV-F07 for a local friend here in Seattle and am going to take it over to him tonight. I've had serious noise issues with this mod and can't figure out why... but in the end, I triple checked all solder points, wrapped the ground around all datalines and now it has a solid picture both on ATMAN's SDI input card and *** ROCK PRO.

What have others done to solve the noise (random green lines and white pixel dust)?

I hope Atman releases an all-in-one board... I've been too busy and can't wait till Atman provides our hard work to the masses! Roberto, Dan and all the other's that helped with the EAV/SAV embedder... you guys rock!

Danny
mavromatis is offline  
post #660 of 744 Old 03-18-2004, 07:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brandon B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: LA lalalalala
Posts: 3,973
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Can't wait either. THen I can put all my DVDs back in my F727 and sell my D1.

BB
Brandon B is offline  
Closed Thread Video Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off