Poor man's SDI - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 744 Old 06-21-2001, 08:52 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Robert Cobler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Northern California
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
A low cost SDI adapter:

I built an SDI adapter for my satellite receiver using the National CLC020 chip. About the time I got it working, I received the SD020EVK developer's kit I had ordered previously from National Semiconductor. Price $100. What a neat item! It is a small PCB (2" X 3") with everything needed--including the BNC connectors. The board can be mounted easily on the rear panel of a host device via the BNC's, since they are threaded. A 26 pin header allows you to pre-install the host connections (a ribbon cable) then just plug-in the adapter. Sounds like a piece of cake, doesn't it? Well, I said low cost. I didn't say the wiring to the host device is necessarily easy or for the faint of heart.

The EVK board needs SMPTE compliant 8 bit parallel data and the 27MHz clock signal. On my satellite receiver, these were easily available at the input of the digital encoder. This is the device that creates S-video, etc. Note that some equipment now uses a combined MPEG decoder and encoder. If you have this in your host device, you can't add the SDI board. I suspect there are still lots of equipment available with a separate encoder.

CAUTION: If you are not experienced in working with surface mounted devices with SMALL pins, I strongly suggest you use the services of an experienced technician.

I mentioned earlier that the input data must be SMPTE compliant. This means the parallel data must have the SAV (start of active video) and EAV (end of active video) signals in the data. If these are not present, they must be added. This can be done with a programmable logic device, however I won't get into the details of the task here.

How do you know if the data is available AND if it is SMPTE complaint? Answer: You don't, and the manufacturer probably doesn't know either. I've heard that Sony satellite receivers are compliant, but this doesn't mean their other products are compliant. After establishing that the data is available, you pretty much need to install the adapter and see if it works. If the SDI receiver doesn't lock properly, the data is not SMPTE compliant. People with SDI adapters already installed might see if they are implemented with a one-chip adapter. If so, then the equipment is compliant. This forum will be a good place to let others know.

Good luck to all...
Robert Cobler is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 744 Old 06-21-2001, 09:14 AM
Member
 
jchapman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: White Rock, BC, Canada
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Robert,

Perfect timing! I had just posted about this chip and eval board in the SDI players thread hoping to get some interest going. You're way ahead! This thread can be a great spot to gather info. You're right, it seems the first step is to scout out which players could be modded without needing additional parts beyond the eval board. I'll be ordering the National board today and getting ready to heat up the rework station!


Many Thanks!


John Chapman
www.bentaudio.com



jchapman is offline  
post #3 of 744 Old 06-21-2001, 11:51 AM
Member
 
Mr_Tube's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Robert,

What kind of Sat reveiver are you putting this into?

I would love to do the same with my Sat reviever and a DVD player. Do you know of any DVD players that this could be done to as well?

Greg
Mr_Tube is offline  
post #4 of 744 Old 06-21-2001, 11:55 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Robert Cobler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Northern California
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
damon: The EVK kit is MUCH easier than building from scratch. Shop around. I got mine from AVNET.

I have no experience with the Vitesse chip. I am only looking to serialize SD data from DVD and satellite. The speed required for HD (1.5GB) will likely be fussy to work with as compared to SD.
Robert Cobler is offline  
post #5 of 744 Old 06-21-2001, 12:05 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Robert Cobler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Northern California
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Mr_Tube:

I have a Hughes Platinum receiver. I am now installing logic for adding SAV/EAV. I tested the SDI output and it worked, except no lock. I always seem to have the more difficult things to work on. For me, SDI will allow me to have max picture quality from my library of 1000 plus titles recorded in SD D-VHS from DirecTV.

I don't know about specific DVD players. I would hope this forum can be used to compile a list of 'mod' candidates.
Robert Cobler is offline  
post #6 of 744 Old 06-21-2001, 01:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mark Knight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Home of the "Digital Vortex" Home Theater!!!! - PA.
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I have this straight, This is for a SDI interface to run to a scaler like the Vigatec?

If so what is with the 8-bit? or is that something else I am thinking about?

------------------
-Mark
***** Digital Vortex *****
The Digital Electronic Site
www.digitalvortex.com

-Mark
Home Theater Specialist
http://www.digitalvortex.com
Mark Knight is offline  
post #7 of 744 Old 06-21-2001, 01:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tommyboy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Orchard Park, NY
Posts: 1,405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This could work for the Vigatec as they are using bt.656 to SMTPE259M via another SDI chipset - but it should be standard. I've ordered the kit myself after talking with Robert a couple of weeks ago but haven't received it yet.

Prospective players to mod are the Denon DVD3300 and Panasonic DVD-RV80. Personally I'm eager to see if I can mod a Kenwood 5900M when it comes out just because of the promised features it will have. Also, I was about to order the service manual for the RP31 but haven't had a chance to get to it yet.

If anyone has a chroma free player and its service manual you just need to look in the manual to see if there are soldering points somewhere around the DAC or MPEG decoder. Both will typically be on the same PCB and there will be labels in the schematics for VD0 through VD7 and a VCLK. On the Denon the mod is done by the Analog Devices DAC. The Pansonic DVD-RV80 would be a bit tougher, but could be done as well.

Tom


[This message has been edited by tommyboy2 (edited 06-21-2001).]
tommyboy2 is offline  
post #8 of 744 Old 06-21-2001, 02:19 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Robert Cobler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Northern California
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Mark:

Yes, this can be used to feed a Vigatec or other processor with SDI inputs.

The digital video signal needed by the EVK board is parallel YPrPb video digitized 8-bits (256 levels) and compliant with SMPTE standards. The sampling frequency is 27MHz.
Robert Cobler is offline  
post #9 of 744 Old 06-21-2001, 04:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mark Knight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Home of the "Digital Vortex" Home Theater!!!! - PA.
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Robert. So this could be installed in a 300 disc DVD changer and pumped into the Vigatec? Cool.

This 8-bit thing I take it has nothing to do with the color thing that is mentioned in the Rock video processor(Limitation of the Gforce chip set I think) that has 8 bit but the Emerald with have 10-bit?

------------------
-Mark
***** Digital Vortex *****
The Digital Electronic Site
www.digitalvortex.com

-Mark
Home Theater Specialist
http://www.digitalvortex.com
Mark Knight is offline  
post #10 of 744 Old 06-21-2001, 04:28 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Robert Cobler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Northern California
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Mark: Correct about 8 bits not being involved. As to adding SDI to the 300 disk device, you need to check:

1) Are the digital signals available (separate encoder) and 2) are the signals SMPTE compliant?

Maybe somebody here alway knows?
Robert Cobler is offline  
post #11 of 744 Old 06-21-2001, 05:13 PM
Member
 
Mr_Tube's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Robert,

You say you could not get it to lock with your sat receiver, is this why you are building the extra circuitry?

Tom,

Thanks for your insight into differnent DVD players. Do you know for a fact that the Panasonic is suitable? Is using the RP-91 a waste of money? Are there any of the better features usable before the SDI path or are they all bypassed?

Greg
Mr_Tube is offline  
post #12 of 744 Old 06-21-2001, 06:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tommyboy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Orchard Park, NY
Posts: 1,405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I only know about the Denon and DV-RV80. Actually the RV30 looked pretty good as I recall too. The RP91 may be fine if you want progressive and DVD-A - but I don't know what they are doing inside yet.

You will lose everything using SDI as far as features. On the Denon the OSD is there and of course all of the transport controls work. But anything like sharpness, brightness, color, etc. aren't available when using SDI. If you use the analog outputs concurrently you can toggle back and forth and see that everything is still there in the analog domain, but SDI bypasses the DAC.

Tom
tommyboy2 is offline  
post #13 of 744 Old 06-21-2001, 07:42 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Robert Cobler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Northern California
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Greg: Although I successfully created the SDI signal, the SDI receiver would not lock because SAV and EAV weren't present in the data stream. I am now adding a small programmable logic array ($6 cost) to insert SAV/EAV in the data path. This part is inserted between the data source and the SDI generator, i.e., the EVK board. A pain in the neck, but hardly rocket science. I will post more info when I've got the SAV/EAV inseter board installed and working. My itch is missing SAV/EAV is probably the exception, not the rule.
Robert Cobler is offline  
post #14 of 744 Old 06-21-2001, 10:43 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
damon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 1,273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like a good price for this chip: CLC020ACQ
http://www.arrow.com/www_engineers/a...og/opamps.html

About 3/4 down the page. Does not look like they have the EVK version though.

Is the Vitesse VSC 6511 a candidate for an HD version?
http://www.chipcenter.com/analog/pro...IGPFJ4Y5XDCFEQ

[This message has been edited by damon (edited 06-21-2001).]

Mark Conner
damon is offline  
post #15 of 744 Old 06-22-2001, 11:50 AM
Senior Member
 
Steve_T's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Robert,

What is the difference between the CLC020 and the CLC021 chip?
Briefly scanning over the PDF for the chip,I noticed that the CLC021 chip has an NTSC/PAL Mode Indicator Output.
Can these chips accept NTSC and PAL signals?
I do hope we can get a list of players that can accept the modification, hopefully chroma bug free players.
Are there display devices with the SDI connection available now or will a display device need to be modified as well?
My electronics knowledge is a bit outdated(left college in 1992!!)and have been out of the electronics field of work for 6 years.
Sorry for so many questions, also searching for the best possible picture, Steve.
Steve_T is offline  
post #16 of 744 Old 06-22-2001, 12:23 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Robert Cobler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Northern California
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Jay: I have never looked inside a Tivo. Check the PCB near the S-Video connectors and note the device numbers. If there is a separate encoder (a must for modification),it's probably a PLCC device with 40 to 52 pins. Do a search on the web to identify the devices.

Steve: I don't think the chips care about NTSC or PAL. SMPTE 259 applies to both. The '021 device sounds like a slight variation of the 020--with a PAL data sensor. The detection could be done several ways, e.g., NTSC frame rate is 30; PAL is 25.

I think this thread is likely to become a place where people can check for modification candidates. Right now, my experience is with the Hughes Platinum satellite receiver.
Robert Cobler is offline  
post #17 of 744 Old 06-22-2001, 12:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mark Knight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Home of the "Digital Vortex" Home Theater!!!! - PA.
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sounds good! I got my new soldering iron all ready to go!

Soon as someone tells me which 300 disc DVD player is the best to mod I will attempt it! Not concerned about DVD-Audio, as I will most likely get a single tray model for that.

Also if it looks like the RCA DTC100 can be moded I might give it a try to!

Anyone know if the Vigatec has two SDI inputs?

Let the modification candidate listing begin!!



------------------
-Mark
***** Digital Vortex *****
The Digital Electronic Site
www.digitalvortex.com

-Mark
Home Theater Specialist
http://www.digitalvortex.com
Mark Knight is offline  
post #18 of 744 Old 06-22-2001, 02:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Steve_T's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How about using the Sigma Designs Hollywood plus decoder card for HTPC apps. A cheap alternative to butchering a good DVD player if it goes horribly wrong.
I don't know if it has the dreaded chroma bug but it mentions on their website about the 8300 chips abilities:
http://www.sigmadesigns.com/products...plications.htm

8/16 bit yuv output, am i write in saying that the CLC020 accepts this signal? It can't be that easy can it?
I have one in front of me but can't figure out the pin outs with out a datasheet.
Steve_T is offline  
post #19 of 744 Old 06-22-2001, 02:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tommyboy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Orchard Park, NY
Posts: 1,405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Knight:
Sounds good! I got my new soldering iron all ready to go!

Soon as someone tells me which 300 disc DVD player is the best to mod I will attempt it! Not concerned about DVD-Audio, as I will most likely get a single tray model for that.

Also if it looks like the RCA DTC100 can be moded I might give it a try to!

Anyone know if the Vigatec has two SDI inputs?

Let the modification candidate listing begin!!

The next version of the Dune will.

tommyboy2 is offline  
post #20 of 744 Old 06-22-2001, 02:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mark Knight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Home of the "Digital Vortex" Home Theater!!!! - PA.
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Now were talking! Very cool! Thanks.

------------------
-Mark
***** Digital Vortex *****
The Digital Electronic Site
www.digitalvortex.com

-Mark
Home Theater Specialist
http://www.digitalvortex.com
Mark Knight is offline  
post #21 of 744 Old 06-22-2001, 06:14 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Robert Cobler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Northern California
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Steve: The CLC020 wants 8bit data. This is multiplexed YUV, e.g., Y,U,Y,V,Y,U, etc at a 27MHz sample rate. I think you will find the encoder does not use separate Y, and U/V although it can. Since Y is sampled twice as often as U and V, Y (luminance) has twice the bandwidth.
Robert Cobler is offline  
post #22 of 744 Old 06-22-2001, 10:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Jay L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Robert: Have you had a look inside a Tivo to see if this can be done to it???? I would be all over that!
Jay L is offline  
post #23 of 744 Old 06-23-2001, 09:30 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
damon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 1,273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is the encoder in a Dishnetwork 6000 (Conextant,Bt865A):

What does this tell me?

"The Bt864A and Bt865A Digital Video Encoders are designed for systems which generate S-Video, RGB/SCART, CVBS, and analog video outputs. Worldwide video standards are supported including NTSC, PAL (B,D,G, H, I, M, N, Nc), and PAL-60. Four 10-bit DACs with built-in current outputs permit the optimum combination of user flexibility, PCB
space savings, and very high quality video outputs. MacrovisionTM Anticopy Protection is included in the Bt865A."

8- or 16-bit 4:2:2 YCrCb inputs
NTSC-M, PAL-B,D,G,H,I,M,N,Nc Video supported
S-Video/RGB (SCART) Video outputs
CCIR 601 or Square Pixel operation
2x oversampling
10-bit DACs





[This message has been edited by damon (edited 06-24-2001).]

Mark Conner
damon is offline  
post #24 of 744 Old 06-24-2001, 12:39 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Robert Cobler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Northern California
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Damon: You are over the big hurdle. You've got an encoder (Bt865). I'll bet the encoder is set for 8 bit multiplexed YUV and a 27 MHz clock. Pins 16-25 are probably grounded and the encoder is using the 8bit connection pins 28-35. You will need clk (43) plus power and ground. I don't know if Dish implemented SMPTE.

Robert Cobler is offline  
post #25 of 744 Old 06-24-2001, 09:23 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Robert Cobler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Northern California
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Damon:

My original 'Poor Mans SDI' post was intended to show SDI need not be expensive. Forum members should realize each SDI candidate is a different story and it is not possible for me to describe the specifics for every device--because I don't know myself. Since your satellite receiver uses the same encoder chip as mine, I will describle the connections I made to the Hughes Platinum satellite receiver by way of example. Note that the Hughes designers did not implement SAV/EAV and I am now in the process of adding these signals by interposing a programmable logic chip between the encoder (a convenient place to pickup the signals for the EVK board) and the EVK board itself. IF your 6000 has SAV/EAV, I suggest the following:

Wire D2 thru D9 on the EVK board to P0 through P7 on the Bt865 chip (pins 28--35). Since only 8 bit data is available, no connection is made to D0 and D1 on the EVK. Wire the clock signal from pin 43 on the Bt865 to the Pclk line on the EVK board. I found it necessary to install a 75 ohm (1/8 watt) resistor is series with the clock lead. The resistor is located at the Bt865 connection point. I also ran a lead from pin 36 (gnd) to the EVK board ground point. Power (5V) for EVK can be obtained from any convenient point on the 6000. Note that the EVK board provides 2 BNC outputs, SDO and SDO bar. Use the SDO output.

In the case of the Hughes receiver, the EVK board is conveniently mounted by drilling two 1/2 inch holes in the back panel of the receiver and securing the board with nuts that fit the threaded BNC connectors. I always use a step-drill when making a large hole in thin sheet metal to avoid tearing the metal.

Before you mount the EVK in your receiver, you might want to make a temporary connection to check operation--especially for SAV/EAV signals. You could do this using a ribbon cable connected to the Bt865 pins plus a pair of wires for 5V and ground. Of course you will need something that accepts SDI for the test.

Finally, be extremely careful soldering to those small pins on the Bt865. I used a large magnifier with ring light and a very small tip iron. Use minimum heat. I practiced soldering on a junker VCR before attempting the real thing.

Good luck (and take your time!)

Robert Cobler is offline  
post #26 of 744 Old 06-25-2001, 08:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dschmelzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 2,641
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Robert: how might one go about creating a "Poor Man's CCIR656 Output"? Or alternatively, is there a set of chips for SMPTE 259M > CCIR656 that could work on the input end? They seem so similar, but I'm not sure about all of the timing and the like.

------------------
Dan

[This message has been edited by dschmelzer (edited 06-25-2001).]

Dan
dschmelzer is online now  
post #27 of 744 Old 06-25-2001, 09:54 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Robert Cobler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Northern California
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Dan: I think you are asking how does one get parallel YUV video from the serial bit stream? National and several other companies offer SMPTE259 decoders. The National chip is CLC010. Check the National web site for the latest info.
Robert Cobler is offline  
post #28 of 744 Old 06-25-2001, 11:32 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Robert Cobler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Northern California
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Dan:

Correction--The deserializer is a CLC011. This will get you back to parallel YUV. If you want analog video, you will need an encoder, etc.
Robert Cobler is offline  
post #29 of 744 Old 06-25-2001, 11:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dschmelzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 2,641
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the lead, Robert. My understanding of this is hazy, but I think CCIR656 is quite similar to SDI/SMPTE-259M, only that SDI has a variable number of lines and line length and that it is serial only. CCIR656 is a digital implementation of Bt.601--parallel or serial 8 bits + clock, 525 or 625 lines, square pixels. Component signal.
http://www17.cds.ne.jp/~stray/ccir656.html

I'm guessing that it's what a DVD player, for instance, uses right up to the point of video encoding as in when you say "SMPTE compliant 8 bit parallel data and the 27MHz clock signal", so maybe it doesn't even need all of this SDI conversion...

Do you have any pictures of your setup?

------------------
Dan

[This message has been edited by dschmelzer (edited 06-25-2001).]

Dan
dschmelzer is online now  
post #30 of 744 Old 06-25-2001, 03:27 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Robert Cobler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Northern California
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Dan: The MPEG decoder output is usually 8 bit, parallel, multiplexed YUV (27MHz sampling) and is used to drive the encoder to produce the analog outputs. In order to transmit this digital signal over a distance, you must serialize it and that's what SDI is all about. For the SDI serializer to function properly, it must receive data that conforms to SMPTE component video standards which means the signal must contain information for SAV/EAV, etc (timing reference signals).

The benefit of SDI is you can carry the video signal in pure digital form to another device such as a processor or display without the degradation of D/A and A/D conversion. The improvement can be considerable.

I will post a photo when I am all done with the project.

[This message has been edited by Robert Cobler (edited 06-25-2001).]
Robert Cobler is offline  
Closed Thread Video Processors



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off