Algolith Dragonfly Reviews - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 349 Old 07-10-2005, 07:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
Stacy Huff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Halan, KY, USA
Posts: 664
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
They have a pro rear projection monitor based on the HD2K that uses a Realta based scaler already.
That intriqued me so I went looking on the JVC Pro website. It took awhile, but I found it. The DLA-HRM1U, coming in October. At a suggested list of $42,995 !!!

The fact that they are using the HQV processing does make me wonder if something might be in the works for the consumer 1080p sets. But if it takes $40,000.00 to get HQV built in, I'll take a dozen of the Algoliths. (I do wonder how similar the processing actually is...)

"Being unable to assume an initial premise with any tolerable degree of accuracy, I am loathe to assert a conclusion fearful lest I should err."
Stacy Huff is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 349 Old 07-10-2005, 10:15 AM
Member
 
Snail's_Pace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Land of the Longhorns!
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabident
For now, yes. Dennon used the chip already in one of their DVD players. Lumagen was rumored to be working on a scaler based on the chip. JVC was also as well as a replacement for the rebadged Faroudja 1010 scaler they bundle with their HD2K. They have a pro rear projection monitor based on the HD2K that uses a Realta based scaler already. I thought I remembered hearing an audio processor was going to use it, but I can't remember the details (or if it's even true). I may be missing some others. More are sure to come, but the DragonFly looks like it's going to be the first available general purpose scaler based on the chip.

I believe NEC's forthcoming TheaterSync will also incorporate the Realta/HQV processing which, from the sounds of the description in the press release, will also be a stand-alone processor/scaler.
Snail's_Pace is offline  
post #93 of 349 Old 07-11-2005, 01:26 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Q of BanditZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: blurayoasis.com
Posts: 15,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stacy Huff
That intriqued me so I went looking on the JVC Pro website. It took awhile, but I found it. The DLA-HRM1U, coming in October.

At a suggested list of $42,995 !!!
Ridiculous.

Great ISF Job by Chad B.
Q of BanditZ is offline  
post #94 of 349 Old 07-11-2005, 09:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Morg111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: new york city
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Q of BanditZ
Ridiculous.
Second!
Morg111 is offline  
post #95 of 349 Old 07-11-2005, 10:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Morg111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: new york city
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
And another thing......What SDI to DVI/HDMI converter is Algolith going to offer with the Dragonfly as they will not have an SDI input. Please tell me its not going to be the "Ridiculous" price of $800 or more as I have seen all over the place.

-M
Morg111 is offline  
post #96 of 349 Old 07-12-2005, 03:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
PedroV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
MSRP for the SDI/HDMI 480i converter will be $495. It will be called "Tick"

From the Preliminary Spec sheet I got from Algolith:

Video Input:
Input signal: SMPTE 259M-C (270 Mbps)
Return Loss: > 15 dB up to 270 MHz
Cable Length: 90 m (300’) (Belden 8281 or equivalent)
Connector: 75 BNC
Video Output:
HDMI 480i (High-Definition Multimedia Interface V1)
Processing:
Full 10-bit signal path
Fully Transparent Color Space Conversion (Y, Cb, Cr –> RGB)
Processing of the Sink EDID and source emulation
Front Panel LED:
One led flashing when powered on, stable on carrier Detect.
Connectors:
· One BNC 75 Ohms
· One HDMI
· External DC power supply
· Optional HDMI male-male 6ft cable
Power:
· External AC Adaptor
· Input: 90-240 VAC 1A
· Output: 12VDC 4. 5A
· Low profile fan less chassis
Dimensions:
· Width: 2 in
· Depth: 3 in.
· Height: 1 in.
· Weight: 0,25 lbs

Regards,
Pedro
PedroV is offline  
post #97 of 349 Old 07-12-2005, 07:36 AM
Senior Member
 
Morg111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: new york city
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PedroV
MSRP for the SDI/HDMI 480i converter will be $495. It will be called "Tick"

From the Preliminary Spec sheet I got from Algolith:

Video Input:
Input signal: SMPTE 259M-C (270 Mbps)
Return Loss: > 15 dB up to 270 MHz
Cable Length: 90 m (300’) (Belden 8281 or equivalent)
Connector: 75 BNC
Video Output:
HDMI 480i (High-Definition Multimedia Interface V1)
Processing:
Full 10-bit signal path
Fully Transparent Color Space Conversion (Y, Cb, Cr –> RGB)
Processing of the Sink EDID and source emulation
Front Panel LED:
One led flashing when powered on, stable on carrier Detect.
Connectors:
· One BNC 75 Ohms
· One HDMI
· External DC power supply
· Optional HDMI male-male 6ft cable
Power:
· External AC Adaptor
· Input: 90-240 VAC 1A
· Output: 12VDC 4. 5A
· Low profile fan less chassis
Dimensions:
· Width: 2 in
· Depth: 3 in.
· Height: 1 in.
· Weight: 0,25 lbs

Thanks Pedro, very informative. Though for that price I'd might as well go and get a new HDMI DVD player that outputs native 480i HDMI.
Morg111 is offline  
post #98 of 349 Old 07-12-2005, 08:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kraigk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 1,153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I agree Morg (buying a 480i player). In addition to the cost it uses one of the HDMI ports which is less than ideal.

-kraig
kraigk is offline  
post #99 of 349 Old 07-12-2005, 09:19 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 28,197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 298 Post(s)
Liked: 378
Man, that's expensive, you'd think it would be easier and cheaper to use an add-on board, similar to what DVDO does...you wouldn't need the box, power supply, etc....it seems as if an SDI connection was an extremely after thought, after the fact, addition..
Keenan is online now  
post #100 of 349 Old 07-12-2005, 11:30 AM
Senior Member
 
Morg111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: new york city
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by keenan
Man, that's expensive, you'd think it would be easier and cheaper to use an add-on board, similar to what DVDO does...you wouldn't need the box, power supply, etc....it seems as if an SDI connection was an extremely after thought, after the fact, addition..

Actually they had plenty of time and notification of the issue. They just chose to lay the cost and responsibility on us the consumers. Frankly it was a great business decision on their part. They knew that there was going to be no competition so they could pick and choose what the didn't feel like adding. The more I think about the short comings of this unit the more I would love to hear from DVDO that they were going to release a Realta based processor. I'd cancel my preorder and wait. Further.....Algolith hasn't gotten back to me yet as to the Dragonfly's compatibility (1 to 1 pixel mapping) with Fujitsu panels which are not 1366x768 but rather 1360x768.
I know previous DVDO models can sync to the native resolution. :rolleyes:

-M
Morg111 is offline  
post #101 of 349 Old 07-12-2005, 11:51 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 28,197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 298 Post(s)
Liked: 378
The totally unsubstantiated rumor is that he new DVDO unit is looking around Q4/05.

Josh from DVDO has said there will be a press release 'soon" about the new equipment....
Keenan is online now  
post #102 of 349 Old 07-12-2005, 02:09 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Mark Petersen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by keenan
Man, that's expensive, you'd think it would be easier and cheaper to use an add-on board, similar to what DVDO does...you wouldn't need the box, power supply, etc....it seems as if an SDI connection was an extremely after thought, after the fact, addition..
It's only $200 or so more than the DVDO add-on card, but one thing that is nice is that you can keep your converter if you ever change scalers. With the DVDO add-on you're stuck with using it only with the HD+. I'd call this a strength rather than a weakness. Not only that, but because it uses HDMI into the scaler rather than SDI you can demultiplex your SDI sources directly in the mosquito/dragonfly combo rather than buying a separate SDI switch box.
Mark Petersen is offline  
post #103 of 349 Old 07-12-2005, 03:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dale Adams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Anchor Bay, CA
Posts: 1,886
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Petersen
It's only $200 or so more than the DVDO add-on card, but one thing that is nice is that you can keep your converter if you ever change scalers. With the DVDO add-on you're stuck with using it only with the HD+.
Not true.

The DVDO SDI module is used in both the iScan HD and HD+. This same SDI module will also work in (at least) the next DVDO scaler, so you can carry your SDI investment forward if you choose to upgrade to that product.

- Dale Adams
Dale Adams is offline  
post #104 of 349 Old 07-12-2005, 04:24 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 28,197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 298 Post(s)
Liked: 378
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dale Adams
Not true.

The DVDO SDI module is used in both the iScan HD and HD+. This same SDI module will also work in (at least) the next DVDO scaler, so you can carry your SDI investment forward if you choose to upgrade to that product.

- Dale Adams
Thanks for confirming what I expected the case to be.

Besides, if anybody's like me, the last thing I want is...another...box...separates are nice, but at this level it gets a little ridiculous....I don't see why Algolith could not have done the same thing.
Keenan is online now  
post #105 of 349 Old 07-12-2005, 09:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Morg111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: new york city
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hope that this DVDO news announcement comes out before my Dragonfly preorder is filled. I further hope that it is VERY detailed so I can make an educated decision. Times-a-ticken!

-M
Morg111 is offline  
post #106 of 349 Old 07-12-2005, 10:30 PM
D&D
Member
 
D&D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Morg111
I hope that this DVDO news announcement comes out before my Dragonfly preorder is filled. I further hope that it is VERY detailed so I can make an educated decision. Times-a-ticken!

-M
Me too.
D&D is offline  
post #107 of 349 Old 07-13-2005, 01:50 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Mark Petersen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dale Adams
Not true.

The DVDO SDI module is used in both the iScan HD and HD+. This same SDI module will also work in (at least) the next DVDO scaler, so you can carry your SDI investment forward if you choose to upgrade to that product.

- Dale Adams
It's good to hear that the new DVDO scaler will use the same add-on SDI card. My point though is that there is still a loss of flexibility. If someone changes scalers down the road (non-DVDO or HD+++) they will lose their investment. The Tick is not even the most expensive route for someone who has more than one SDI input, because they would still need to purchase another box for SDI demux'ing. Adding more boxes is definitely a pain, but for those of us who like to experiment with different hardware, flexibility is also a feature to consider.
Mark Petersen is offline  
post #108 of 349 Old 07-14-2005, 11:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rabident's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by keenan
Man, that's expensive, you'd think it would be easier and cheaper to use an add-on board, similar to what DVDO does...you wouldn't need the box, power supply, etc....it seems as if an SDI connection was an extremely after thought, after the fact, addition..
I don't think it was so much of an after thought as it was just not wanting to commit resources to a niche. I have an RP-82 SDI, so I'm in that niche and really would have liked to see a 1 box solution for both Mosquito filtering and SDI input, but I can't blame them for leaving it out. It's more expensive for us to buy a bunch of boxes, but it lowers the cost of their core products.

At $800, I think a lot of people will simply switch to an HDMI DVD player. Maybe that's what they're hoping for.

 

 

rabident is offline  
post #109 of 349 Old 07-15-2005, 01:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
PedroV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
At $800, I think a lot of people will simply switch to an HDMI DVD player. Maybe that's what they're hoping for.
MSRP is $495 not $800.
The problem with HDMI players is that most do not output 480i.

Regards,
Pedro
PedroV is offline  
post #110 of 349 Old 07-15-2005, 09:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rabident's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 21
That said, it looks like Lumagen is going after the SDI niche, and then some. REWJR posted a pic in this thread that shows 2 SDI inputs and a plethora of others inputs on Lumagen's upcoming Realta based scaler.

 

 

rabident is offline  
post #111 of 349 Old 07-15-2005, 10:04 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Mark Petersen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Oh! Oh! A new HQV based scaler that we can tear apart on the forum ;)

I like the inclusion of SDI but only two DVI inputs and no HDMI? What gives? Also what about audio switching? How do they get around the long (and variable!) HQV audio lag without an audio input?
Mark Petersen is offline  
post #112 of 349 Old 07-15-2005, 11:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AndreYew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't think that's a new product from Lumagen. That's a picture of the HDP Pro:

http://www.lumagen.com/images/prohdp_back.jpg

--Andre
AndreYew is offline  
post #113 of 349 Old 07-16-2005, 10:28 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Mark Petersen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Doh! We fell for it ;)
Mark Petersen is offline  
post #114 of 349 Old 07-18-2005, 10:30 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Mark Petersen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So it looks like the Dragonfly has been delayed until September :(
Mark Petersen is offline  
post #115 of 349 Old 07-18-2005, 10:35 AM
Senior Member
 
Morg111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: new york city
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Petersen
So it looks like the Dragonfly has been delayed until September :(
Where did you hear that? I know that they are not including the customizable output resolutions to speed the product to market (later software release). It must be a manufacturing issue.

:mad:
Morg111 is offline  
post #116 of 349 Old 07-18-2005, 10:57 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Q of BanditZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: blurayoasis.com
Posts: 15,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Morg111
Where did you hear that? I know that they are not including the customizable output resolutions to speed the product to market (later software release). It must be a manufacturing issue.

:mad:
Just remember: Better to have them delay it now, a little bit, then to rush a buggy/incomplete product to market and then you're at the mercy of waiting for firmware.

Great ISF Job by Chad B.
Q of BanditZ is offline  
post #117 of 349 Old 07-18-2005, 11:00 AM
Senior Member
 
Morg111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: new york city
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Q of BanditZ
Just remember: Better to have them delay it now, a little bit, then to rush a buggy/incomplete product to market and then you're at the mercy of waiting for firmware.
I don't think it has to do with design. They already are planning on firmware updates to complete the product several months after shipping starts.
Morg111 is offline  
post #118 of 349 Old 07-18-2005, 12:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wjchan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 25
All signs point to a delay. The pre-order is gone from here and from their site. Either it's a delay or it's selling like hotcakes and they can't keep up with the demand. Most likely it's the former.
wjchan is offline  
post #119 of 349 Old 07-18-2005, 02:24 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Mark Petersen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Morg111
Where did you hear that? I know that they are not including the customizable output resolutions to speed the product to market (later software release). It must be a manufacturing issue.

:mad:
Alan announced the delay in the AVS club forum. I hope he doesn't mind me posting it here too.

I also hope that the unit will be relatively bug free. It is Algolith's first scaler though so cross your fingers that they get it right.
Mark Petersen is offline  
post #120 of 349 Old 07-18-2005, 03:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,700
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Is there RS-232 control with the Dragonfly?

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
Closed Thread Video Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off