HQV: Vantage-HD processor - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 815 Old 09-09-2005, 03:39 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 24,048
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 337 Post(s)
Liked: 172
To be released in Oct. $2895
ALL HQV

Demo looks nice. Compared HQV V. no HQV. This company to be first to SCALER market. 2 HDMI IN, 4 digital audio ins for lipsync and more.

My Home Theater of the Month- Le Petit Trianon

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 815 Old 09-09-2005, 04:22 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Q of BanditZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: blurayoasis.com
Posts: 15,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nice!

Great ISF Job by Chad B.
Q of BanditZ is offline  
post #3 of 815 Old 09-09-2005, 05:16 PM
Senior Member
 
megaman_y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, I like their features and I will be checking them out. :)
megaman_y is offline  
post #4 of 815 Old 09-09-2005, 05:40 PM
LJG
AVS Special Member
 
LJG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Brookville, NY
Posts: 4,032
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Jeff:

You see anythin about the new Vigatec scaler?

Lon
LJG is online now  
post #5 of 815 Old 09-09-2005, 10:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
Murat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Istanbul - Turkey
Posts: 905
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, anything about new Vigatec and Crystalio II ? Any demos?
Murat is offline  
post #6 of 815 Old 09-09-2005, 11:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Carled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2,965
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It's at a good price. Now the question of how it performs...
Carled is offline  
post #7 of 815 Old 09-10-2005, 05:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DanHouck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Lake Chapala, old Mexico
Posts: 4,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Jeff, can you give us a full review of the scalers you're seeing at CEDIA? Thanks!

Dan

My HT is an oldie but goodie!
DanHouck is offline  
post #8 of 815 Old 09-10-2005, 07:11 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 20,275
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 650 Post(s)
Liked: 600
I saw it on my way out to the airport. Picked up a rather impressive brochure on it. They were doing a before and after processing. I only glanced at it. Had to run.

Mark Haflich
markhaflich@yahoo.com
call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is online now  
post #9 of 815 Old 09-10-2005, 10:48 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
oferlaor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Modiin, Israel
Posts: 8,222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
which company is this from?

Cheers,
Ofer LaOr
www.hometheater.co.il
oferlaor is offline  
post #10 of 815 Old 09-10-2005, 12:04 PM
Member
 
jonesthegas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Newcastle England
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ofer,

http://www.calibreuk.com/home_theater.php

Martin
jonesthegas is offline  
post #11 of 815 Old 09-13-2005, 06:40 AM
Member
 
jonesthegas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Newcastle England
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone seen this at Cedia at all?

Martin
jonesthegas is offline  
post #12 of 815 Old 09-13-2005, 02:11 PM
HQV
Member
 
HQV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Silicon Valley!
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did. :)

Hollywood Quality Video
HQV is offline  
post #13 of 815 Old 09-13-2005, 05:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanHouck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Lake Chapala, old Mexico
Posts: 4,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
and. . . .

My HT is an oldie but goodie!
DanHouck is offline  
post #14 of 815 Old 09-13-2005, 06:17 PM
Senior Member
 
darkwire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the link, nice to be able to read the PDFs. Seems very impressive from the brochure, and nice bang for the buck.

Although I felt like I was going blind reading their Black thin text on a Dark Blue background... The mind boggles :P
darkwire is offline  
post #15 of 815 Old 09-14-2005, 07:26 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
oferlaor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Modiin, Israel
Posts: 8,222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dan,

I'm rather surprised as Calibre seems like a fairly large company with not much of a foothold in the HT market. This is a somewhat different product than they are used to.

It's also surprising that they've made it to market even before Algolith.

It's also strange that a UK based company doesn't provide a SCART input (hint hint - Calibre, add one!).

It would be quite interesting to see how this unit works in the field.

Cheers,
Ofer LaOr
www.hometheater.co.il
oferlaor is offline  
post #16 of 815 Old 09-14-2005, 09:34 AM
Member
 
bejoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Ofer,

from what I can see on the backplane (PDF file), there are two RGBS inputs.

Because of the reasonable price of $2900, compared to the upcoming $4500 to $6000 products from Pixelmagic, Lumagen etc., it could be a very interesting scaler with full HD support and hopefully great video and film de-interlacing and scaling..

But let's wait for the first real units - marketing statements are patient (is this the right phrase? :) ).

Best regards
Bernhard
bejoro is offline  
post #17 of 815 Old 09-14-2005, 03:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
occammd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 827
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Dan, it's 1400x1050.

I wish it took 1080p@60 in and passed it through for a PC hookup.

Can't have everything.
occammd is offline  
post #18 of 815 Old 09-15-2005, 08:19 AM
Newbie
 
timbrooksbank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm Tim, I'm CEO of Calibre so I ought to know the answers! If any of you came by our booth, I was the real big English guy!

I can confirm that Vantage-HD is a real product which really exists, what we showed at CEDIA was real, no tricks, no gimmicks. We ran four demos, two on our booth and two in the Silicon Optix HQV demo area.

On our booth at CEDIA we showed before and after using a genuine 480i NTSC composite video feed from a $90 Sony DVD player, direct into one plasma and through Vantage-HD to the other plasma via an RGBHV (SVGA) connection at the native res. of that plasma - 1366x768. The other feed on our booth was 1080i HDMI from a digital satellite receiver. Anyone who came by the booth saw real equipment really working. Yes, these were engineering samples, but there were no tricks or gimmicks.

At the Silicon Optix booth we ran a similar before and after demo using their HQV test DVD, but this time we took in YPbPr 480i and connected to 1024x768 plasmas and to a 720p Optoma projector.

Yes, we really are going into production in October. Yes, we really are a real company with 17 years of history supplying professional, aerospace, military, broadcast and medical markets and unusually we actually have our own electronics factory in the UK, we do not get our products made 'on the cheap' in China.

Lastly, I'd like to answer the question which seems to keep coming up about whether we support 1080p60 input. It is not on the brochure at present because we're very honest about what the product does - the current firmware does not support 1080p50 or 1080p60 input.

The hardware is capable of this, but that firmware has not yet been written. Our intention is to add 1080p50 and 1080p60 DVI/HDMI support as a future firmware upgrade, it is quite likely we might even get it done before we go to market with the product, but at the date we wrote the brochure we didn't have this working.

P.S. If you're having difficulty reading the brochure, try downloading the hi-res version, or send an email to us via the reply form on our website with your address requesting that we snail-mail you a very nice looking printed copy. {Note to forum administrator - I was trying to post a link to the Vantage-HD enquiry email address here but this message won't submit when I include it}

Hope you like Vantage-HD as much as we do - I've got a really dedicated team of engineers who have worked really hard to get this product right!

Tim
timbrooksbank is offline  
post #19 of 815 Old 09-15-2005, 08:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
madshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5,482
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Thanks Tim, your input (regardless of whether it is 1080p50/60 or not :D ) is greatly welcome!

I've one feature question: Let's say I have a display which accepts 1080p sources with any progressive refresh rate (24p, 25p, 50p, 60p) and let's say the display is also able to show all of those refresh rates without needing to do any frame rate conversion. Now let's say I feed the Vantage-HD all kinds of source formats. Here's the list of what I could throw at it and what I would want the Vantage-HD to output:

- 480i60 (24p movie) -> 1080p24
- 480i60 (60i video) -> 1080p60
- 575i50 (25p movie) -> 1080p25 or 1080p50
- 575i50 (50i video) -> 1080p50
- 720p60 -> 1080p60
- 720p50 -> 1080p50
- 1080i60 (24p movie) -> 1080p24
- 1080i60 (60i video) -> 1080p60
- 1080i50 (25p movie) -> 1080p25 or 1080p50
- 1080i50 (50i video) -> 1080p50
- 1080p60 -> 1080p60 (with later firmware)
- 1080p50 -> 1080p50 (with later firmware)

Did I forget something important? Anyway, I think you get what I mean. Is it possible to configure the Vantage-HD to behave like shown above?

In short: I need to be able to configure the settings per source format and not per connection (HDMI1, HDMI2, component, ...).

As a result I could truely "set it up and forget it". Otherwise I'd have to change settings everytime a different source format is coming into the video processor, which would be a pain, obviously.
madshi is offline  
post #20 of 815 Old 09-15-2005, 08:52 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
anthonymoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: ny, ny usa
Posts: 5,668
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Hi Tim,
WELCOME to the forum and THANKYOU for your participation here. If you (or any of your employees) spend much time here, you'll discover two things:

1) it's challenging being a manufacturer and participating here - people always want more (product and information), sooner, cheaper, etc.

2) on balance, those manufacturers who persevere here, generally live up to their word, and take care of their customers build incredible brand value and loyalty (see: DVDO)

I hope in two years we're talking about the latest and greatest Calibre products and people are happy with the way they've been treated b/t now and then!

Best of luck to you and welcome again!

TM

Stuck up, half witted, scruffy looking, nerf herder.
Double True!
anthonymoody is offline  
post #21 of 815 Old 09-15-2005, 08:56 AM
Member
 
Baggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Burton-on-Trent,England
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tim,

For a company with a factory in Bradford UK ,why doesn't your brochure quote prices in £'s.
There is a market here in the UK as well.

Kevin
Baggy is offline  
post #22 of 815 Old 09-15-2005, 09:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
madshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5,482
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 140
(double post because of busy server)
madshi is offline  
post #23 of 815 Old 09-15-2005, 10:32 AM
Newbie
 
timbrooksbank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To answer several questions:

1. Output formats - Vantage-HD is designed to convert arbitrary input formats to a fixed output format so as to best suit your projector/display. That's precisely why you should use a video processor. Trying to use a multi-frequency capable display device with all different resolutions is likely to reduce the effectiveness of Vantage-HD since you will inevitably end up with the display device's internal scaler/processor turned back on. To get the best performance, always set Vantage-HD to the native format of your display, both in terms of resolution and refresh rate, so as to ensure the display's internal processing is not running.

Vantage-HD supports per-input input configuration and one global output configuration since that's how it works best with your display device.

2. Price in £ - we are in the process of apppointing a UK distributor, at that point a £ price will be published by them.

3. Final answer on 1080p50 and 1080p60:

My engineers have today confirmed that the firmware does now support 1080p50 and 1080p60 via HDMI (or DVI with an adapter).

This feature was not present on the CEDIA units but will be on the production units when they ship.
timbrooksbank is offline  
post #24 of 815 Old 09-15-2005, 10:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mike__P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by timbrooksbank
To answer several questions:

3. Final answer on 1080p50 and 1080p60:

My engineers have today confirmed that the firmware does now support 1080p50 and 1080p60 via HDMI (or DVI with an adapter).

This feature was not present on the CEDIA units but will be on the production units when they ship.
How's that for service guys, ask and you shall receive. :D

Tim,

Any plans for a beta program to test this out on yankee soil before you release to market?
Mike__P is offline  
post #25 of 815 Old 09-15-2005, 10:56 AM
Member
 
bejoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Tim,

also a warm welcome to the forum and thank you for your information and participation.

With such a long awaited product - a Realta HQV video processor in a reasonable price range - I think you can imagine that we have more than thousand questions. ;)

Here are some of mine, because I am very interested in your product: :)
  • Is it possible to define and store any custom resolution timings(e.g. 1440x864, 1440x1152 @50/60 incl. negative HV-sync etc.)?
  • What are the transcoding capabilities of the Vantage-HD (e.g. non HDCP-HDMI input to RGBHV/YPbPr)? Which resolutions?
  • Will the Vantage-HD have a Gamma-Equalizer with free defineable IRE points (10 or more) and adjustable R, G and B levels per IRE point (very important for an accurate display calibration of color balance and gamma tracking)?
  • Why no RGBHV BNC-output terminal?
  • Is it planned to add/provide additional Terranex video filters via software update?
  • Frame rate conversion capabilities?
  • What is the extra charge for the SDI upgrade and the HDMI upgrade boards?
  • Is it possible to order a test unit directly at Calibre UK?
  • Do you have a german distributor already?

Thanks a lot in advance!

Kind regards
Bernhard

Best regards
Bernhard
bejoro is offline  
post #26 of 815 Old 09-15-2005, 10:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
occammd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 827
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow, quick service, does that mean if we ask him to provide programmable output resolution/frequencies he can do it by tomorrow :).

Tim, Are you going to have an upgrade for variable output formats to aid in the 1:1 match of differing displays?

Sorry I double posted w/bejoro
occammd is offline  
post #27 of 815 Old 09-15-2005, 10:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
madshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5,482
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by timbrooksbank
To answer several questions:

1. Output formats - Vantage-HD is designed to convert arbitrary input formats to a fixed output format so as to best suit your projector/display. That's precisely why you should use a video processor. Trying to use a multi-frequency capable display device with all different resolutions is likely to reduce the effectiveness of Vantage-HD since you will inevitably end up with the display device's internal scaler/processor turned back on. To get the best performance, always set Vantage-HD to the native format of your display, both in terms of resolution and refresh rate, so as to ensure the display's internal processing is not running.

Vantage-HD supports per-input input configuration and one global output configuration since that's how it works best with your display device.
Tim, you should seriously reconsider that, because otherwise you'll lose a lot of plasma customers - at least you'll lose me. Why? Because:

(1) All Panasonic plasmas support an internal refresh rate of 60Hz and 100Hz.
(2) All Pioneer plasmas support an internal refresh rate of 60Hz, 72Hz, 75Hz and 100Hz.

No refresh rate conversion involved! I believe NEC internally always uses 60Hz, but who buys NEC plasmas these days? Not sure about Fujitsu/Hitachi/Samsung/LG.

FWIW, the Crystalio II does support the feature I was asking for (settings per input format). Probably for exact the reason I'm explaining here.

P.S: To further explain my point: Here in Germany we'll get HDTV pay TV in about a month from now. The channel sais it will broadcast whichever format it gets, be it 24p, 25p, 60i, 50i, whatever. That means if I have to fix the refresh rate for my display to e.g. 50Hz, the Vantage-HD will have to do internal frame rate conversion for some input formats. Which is obviously bad, because my display is capable to natively show all formats without any frame rate conversion!
madshi is offline  
post #28 of 815 Old 09-15-2005, 11:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JeffY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: England
Posts: 3,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tim,

Using the video processor to do frame rate conversion is horrendous and will result in significant stutter/judder, it should only be considered when limited by the display. Any HD Ready display will at the very least do 50 and 60 Hz. It's the video processor job to match input and output refresh rates, not convert them.

Regards,

Jeff
JeffY is offline  
post #29 of 815 Old 09-15-2005, 12:19 PM
Senior Member
 
megaman_y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello Tim,

I'm sure your head will be spinning by now. But I do have a few questions for you:

Quote:
Originally Posted by bejoro
Is it planned to add/provide additional Terranex video filters via software update?
Yes! This is what I want to know. If you read this thread, you will see Alan talk about some of the Terranex filters he wish were in the current first generation of HQV scalers. Will the Vantage-HD support similar filters and can they be made to be customizable?

How much is the SDI and or HD-SDI add on?

Your product does look good, so I will be keeping an eye on this it before I make a purchasing decision.
megaman_y is offline  
post #30 of 815 Old 09-15-2005, 02:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
welwynnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Welwyn, Herts, UK
Posts: 976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hello Tim,

Extremely pleased to see you join this forum, and hope you are pleased that so many people, like myself, have dissected your spec sheets already, yet come back with many more questions. I particularly hope you will be able answer all of the questions by Madshi and Bejoro.

I noticed that Calibre already produce the SD/XGA PremierViewPro-AV scaler. That looks professional rather than domestic, but it seems to be made of the right stuff:

Four output frame rates
Programmable output resolutions,
Programmable output timings, sync pulses, porches, etc,
Colour temperature and greyscale control,
Built-in test patterns,
RS232 interface (for firmware upgrades???)

Will the Vantage-HD also encompass this capability?

Finally, I hope that you can also join some of us in the UK AV forum - I've started a thread, and you would also be extremely welcome.
http://www.avforums.com/forums/forum...sprune=30&f=39

Cheers, Nick
welwynnick is offline  
Closed Thread Video Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off