My VANTAGE HD has ARRIVED!!!!! - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 1635 Old 03-02-2006, 06:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
overcast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Sorel View Post

Dave, thanks for finding Jason! And Jason, thanks for the update!

So Michael, does that mean that my plan of converting the VHD's HDMI output to DVI and then going into the DVI input of the Ruby won't work for 480i (with the upcoming Oppo 970H player)?

Also, would my situation with my Panny S-97 (that I posted earlier) be considered more "normal", if there is such a thing?

Wow, I guess you are really convinced that the HD disc formats are going to not only work , but that they are going to take the world by storm too. Unlike you, I fully expect BOTH formats to fail miserably (much like SACD and DVD-A) and DVD will remain king for some time to come.My only question is, if you are not interested in a video processor, why are you posting in the video processor forum? Are you trying to convince the rest of us of the foolishness of our ways?

Because I'm highly interested in a scaler to replace my 3910
overcast is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 1635 Old 03-02-2006, 06:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
htguy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Waterloo IA
Posts: 508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Overcast,

If that is the case and you are not looking to go 1080p any time soon, you should really look at the Lumagen HDP. It does a great job of scaling etc SD sources and does very well with HD as well, and it will be a lot less than the Vantage, CII etc.

God bless...

Mark
htguy1 is offline  
post #183 of 1635 Old 03-02-2006, 06:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
thoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Sorel View Post

So Michael, does that mean that my plan of converting the VHD's HDMI output to DVI and then going into the DVI input of the Ruby won't work for 480i (with the upcoming Oppo 970H player)?

Why would you output 480i out of the VHD?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Sorel View Post

Also, would my situation with my Panny S-97 (that I posted earlier) be considered more "normal", if there is such a thing?

I haven't tried it with my S97, but if you google "HDMI to DVI to HDMI" you will find others that claim such a cable combo should work.
thoth is offline  
post #184 of 1635 Old 03-02-2006, 06:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Catdaddy67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
480i from the Oppo to the Vantage, then HDMI-> DVI from Vantage to Ruby.
Catdaddy67 is offline  
post #185 of 1635 Old 03-02-2006, 07:21 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Michael Grant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 10,239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:


Bob Sorel: So Michael, does that mean that my plan of converting the VHD's HDMI output to DVI and then going into the DVI input of the Ruby won't work for 480i (with the upcoming Oppo 970H player)?

Well, in some cases these days, DVI inputs are actually HDMI inputs in disguise, in which case you may be in luck. But I would not count on this working unless someone else carefully verifies this for you. And when I mean carefully, I mean that they need to make very sure that they really are getting 480i output out of their player, and that the HDMI/DVI negotiation process doesn't override their player's settings and force a 480p output.

But thoth has a good point, why would you ever output 480i from a VHD?
Quote:


Also, would my situation with my Panny S-97 (that I posted earlier) be considered more "normal", if there is such a thing?

If you use a DVI cable with two HDMI/DVI dongles, that should be fine, as long as all of the pins are passed through the dongles. The fact that this seems to produce different results for some people puzzles me.

Michael
Michael Grant is offline  
post #186 of 1635 Old 03-02-2006, 07:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
thoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Catdaddy67 View Post

480i from the Oppo to the Vantage, then HDMI-> DVI from Vantage to Ruby.

480i in to the VHD's HDMI port should work, 1080p out of the VHD and into the Ruby should also work.
thoth is offline  
post #187 of 1635 Old 03-02-2006, 08:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Catdaddy67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thats the plan. The Vantage HD will scale 480i to 1080p nicely .. i thought it was a given in Bob's example.
Catdaddy67 is offline  
post #188 of 1635 Old 03-02-2006, 08:08 PM
Super Moderator
 
Bob Sorel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 8,454
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:


480i in to the VHD's HDMI port should work, 1080p out of the VHD and into the Ruby should also work.

Duh! What was I thinking? The connection from the 970H to the VHD will be the 480i connect, while the VHD to Ruby will be 1080P. My only excuse is that it must be the drugs kicking in...
Quote:


I mean that they need to make very sure that they really are getting 480i output out of their player, and that the HDMI/DVI negotiation process doesn't override their player's settings and force a 480p output.

Hopefully there will be an "info" screen on the VHD for each input. I would assume that I can just check the horizontal frequency...~15k for 480i and 31k for 480p, right?
Bob Sorel is offline  
post #189 of 1635 Old 03-02-2006, 08:22 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Michael Grant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 10,239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:


I would assume that I can just check the horizontal frequency...~15k for 480i and 31k for 480p, right?

Hmm, I think so... HOWEVER, HDMI implements 480i by doubling each pixel, so it actually consumes 31k of bandwidth just like 480p. Whether or not the VHD divides out the pixel doubling and displays 15k, I don't know.

Michael
Michael Grant is offline  
post #190 of 1635 Old 03-02-2006, 09:39 PM
Member
 
lawdawg97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what about improvements on SD analog or SD digitial programming the Vantage provides? will you guys try that out and give a report? most of the comments so far concern improvements in HD content, which is great. however, at least for me my 65 inch DLP set really shows all of the flaws of SD analog (and, to a lesser extent, SD digitial) programming to the extent they are almost unwatchable. unless and until all broadcasts are at least digital and hopefully HD, a video processor's ability to clean up crappy SD programming is almost as important to me as 1080i deinterlacing.
lawdawg97 is offline  
post #191 of 1635 Old 03-02-2006, 10:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kschmit2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Heidelberg, Germany
Posts: 2,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It is a REAL SHAME that this great thread has been taken off track by the offtopic posts by overcast.

If he wants to discuss the merits of video processors, then by all means he should start his own thread.

Regards
Kai
kschmit2 is offline  
post #192 of 1635 Old 03-03-2006, 01:15 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
rdjam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 9,736
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hi Overcast,

In response to the question, the VHD's scaling and deinterlacing of both SD and HD is better than my Denon 3910. The 3910 uses basically the same chip as my F 1010, so no big difference.

On Sky News (standard def), the ticker bar at the bottom used to breakup and become jagged at the slightest movement of the main screen, on the 1010. But with the VHD, the characters are dead smooth with no distortion, even when the news screen gets busy.

On Hi def sources, the titling and other characters are much better as well - dead smooth.

So I would say it is well worth it.

Also, I think someone made the point that we all have huge libraries of SD DVDs still. Add to that the fact that some of us also have large libraries of 1080i DVHS recordings - it'll be years before all the titles are available on HD DVD or BluRay, so I would say it's very important to have a good scaler/deinterlacer now.

BTW - I was in a shop recently looking at the SXRD 50 and 60. I think these are my favourite RP units, very nice. However, as you point out they only accept 1080i input, not 1080p. But the fellow in the shop was saying that there is a firmware upgrade coming to allow 1080p. Have you checked this out?
rdjam is offline  
post #193 of 1635 Old 03-03-2006, 01:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
welwynnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Welwyn, Herts, UK
Posts: 976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdjam View Post

BTW - I was in a shop recently looking at the SXRD 50 and 60. I think these are my favourite RP units, very nice. However, as you point out they only accept 1080i input, not 1080p. But the fellow in the shop was saying that there is a firmware upgrade coming to allow 1080p. Have you checked this out?

There was an extensive discussion of that in the 2006 SXRD thread in the Rear Projection forum. I think the conclusion was that existing sets could not be upgraded by any means, and it was only the new sets that would take 1080p.

Nick
welwynnick is offline  
post #194 of 1635 Old 03-03-2006, 01:52 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
rdjam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 9,736
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by welwynnick View Post

There was an extensive discussion of that in the 2006 SXRD thread in the Rear Projection forum. I think the conclusion was that existing sets could not be upgraded by any means, and it was only the new sets that would take 1080p.

Nick

Thanks Nick, I suspected as much :-) Glad I waited - excellent set tho
rdjam is offline  
post #195 of 1635 Old 03-03-2006, 05:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
overcast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kschmit2 View Post

It is a REAL SHAME that this great thread has been taken off track by the offtopic posts by overcast.

If he wants to discuss the merits of video processors, then by all means he should start his own thread.

Regards
Kai

and posting a silly response that would be best left as a PM, only to state the obvious is any better. I apologize to the rest of you for taking the topic briefly off track. The user had a very similar setup to myself and I was looking for some guidance. Thanks again.
overcast is offline  
post #196 of 1635 Old 03-03-2006, 09:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Dave Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 3,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
OK everybody...play nice!!!

Dave Harper
ISF, CTS
Harper Home Theater Systems
ISF Calibrations, Consultations
Sales & Installations
Dave Harper is offline  
post #197 of 1635 Old 03-03-2006, 10:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Dave Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 3,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Michael,

I think it doubles the 720x480 DVD resolution to 1440x480 to comply if I remember correctly I remember seeing that with I think the Lumagen and 59avi combo I had previously when it showed the input frequency on the Lumagen.

Dave Harper
ISF, CTS
Harper Home Theater Systems
ISF Calibrations, Consultations
Sales & Installations
Dave Harper is offline  
post #198 of 1635 Old 03-03-2006, 10:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Dave Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 3,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
No, I remember now. It was on my Optoma H79 DLP that I saw that frequency listed when I went direct to it.

Dave Harper
ISF, CTS
Harper Home Theater Systems
ISF Calibrations, Consultations
Sales & Installations
Dave Harper is offline  
post #199 of 1635 Old 03-04-2006, 12:57 PM
Member
 
chris03053's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: N.H.
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey rdjam, have you checked the auto switching between the inputs yet? How's it work? Any long delay between the inputs?

If it's expensive, i'll buy it! (2004)
If it's expensive, i can't afford it! (2008)
chris03053 is offline  
post #200 of 1635 Old 03-04-2006, 09:41 PM
Senior Member
 
stlblufan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Manhattan
Posts: 329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Too much wine.
stlblufan is offline  
post #201 of 1635 Old 03-05-2006, 05:07 AM
Newbie
 
canaldoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Alongside the beautiful Grand Union waterway at Black Jack's Lock in Harefield, West London, UK
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I received mine at about the same time. I have not posted much about it because it refuses to "talk" to either of my Denon players (A1-XV and 3910) via HDMI and only with a video "stutter" on DVI. I am planning to check its performance thro' component in the next few days. I obtained a Samsung HD850 but still have to fully evaluate this. Invision and Calibre are "looking in to it" - but I expect it will turn out to be an HDMI issue with Denon! Why do we have to put up with all this interference with the software - do all the original artistes consent to these modifications? Perhaps conspiracy theorists should look elsewhere and NOT at Calibre - they were "let down" by component suppliers and as far as I am concerned have been quite upfront about everything - I don't like the fact that my VHG will not talk to my Denons - which have been mutilated by HDMI and its "copy protection" - THAT IS NOT CALIBRE'S FAULT !!

""Canaldoc""
canaldoc is offline  
post #202 of 1635 Old 03-05-2006, 01:20 PM
Member
 
JohnWH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ddin't rdjam find a solution to this, something about telling the VHD to pass through the denon's HDCP query to the display instead of relying on the player to issue a query per device in the display chain...

John.
JohnWH is offline  
post #203 of 1635 Old 03-05-2006, 08:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
c722's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,001
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by c722 View Post

2)a feature question: in the menu there is a pic position adjustment. Are you able to move a 2.35 image all the way down in a 16:9 frame ?

hi rdjam, did u manage to try this out ? Thanks!
c722 is offline  
post #204 of 1635 Old 03-06-2006, 01:31 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
rdjam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 9,736
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hi All,

Really sorry about not getting much of an update this weekend, got a bit busy and then last night was watching a hidef movie!

The Denons definitely have a problem somewhere with HDMI - I did get the 3910 working thru DVI, with an adaptor cable (I forget offhand what I set the Vantage HD to in the "HDMI Audio Settings, but it's in a previous post).

The auto-switching (ie outputing 50 or 60 Hz, based on the timing of the input) has started working now. It is possible that I rebooted the VHD at some point after I set it to "Auto" and that this caused the setting to take properly. It wasn't consistent in the beginning, but I can honestly say it always switches now.

The "locking in" of an input, and then producing an output DOES take a few seconds, so I would say it is a bit slow to identify and lock, but it always gets it right. I have tried it with various devices at various resolutions and it hasn't put a foot wrong yet.

I even tried it with a Sony Hi-def video camera, outputting component at 1440 x 1080i, and it got it spot on.

Sorry, I didn't try the "repositioning" thing yet, but I'll give it a try this week.

Overall, I would say the deinterlacing and scaling on the Vantage HD have been superior to anything else I've seen. This is what I expected (and why I ordered it) so I am pleased. The image quality is also very good.

The only problem left that I haven't solved is that the picture adjustment settings (ie contrast, brightness, sharpness, color, etc) sometimes "stick". I.e. when I go to the Sky Satellite source from the DVD source, the settings remain as they were for the DVD input, instead of switching to those I had set for the Sky input. If I pull up the menu, the settings are all showing the correct values for the Sky input, but the screen clearly reflects that the device hasn't actually used those settings. If I then make a one-increment change to any of the settings, they all suddenly "switch-on" and the screen changes to reflect the settings.

It's really not a big problem once you understand it - no doubt it'll be a simple fix when there is a firmware update.

Everything else is brilliant.
rdjam is offline  
post #205 of 1635 Old 03-06-2006, 06:40 AM
Senior Member
 
stlblufan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Manhattan
Posts: 329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cancelled my order. At this point, I'm going to wait for reviews of the VXP vs. the Realta. That said, I'm leaning towards the Crystalio II with the media player. Good luck to all of you VHD owners!
stlblufan is offline  
post #206 of 1635 Old 03-06-2006, 10:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
kuebler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Lucerne, Switzerland
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdjam View Post

...
It's really not a big problem once you understand it - no doubt it'll be a simple fix when there is a firmware update.

Everything else is brilliant.

Glad to hear that. I'm still eagerly waiting for delivery of mine. Can now only be weeks left...

Falk Kuebler
kuebler is offline  
post #207 of 1635 Old 03-06-2006, 10:47 AM
Member
 
jallerding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just received the Vantage HD this morning in the US. Bad thing is I won't be able to check it out until later tomorrow.
jallerding is offline  
post #208 of 1635 Old 03-06-2006, 11:18 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Gary Murrell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 10,927
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
where the heck are you guys in the US ordering the unit from, does AVS sell it ??

Edit: I see that AVS does

-Gary
Gary Murrell is offline  
post #209 of 1635 Old 03-06-2006, 11:24 AM
Senior Member
 
stlblufan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Manhattan
Posts: 329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jallerding View Post

Just received the Vantage HD this morning in the US. Bad thing is I won't be able to check it out until later tomorrow.

Good lord! From where did you order? Prior to cancelling the order I placed in November, my distributor told me that it would be shipped to me no sooner than March 17!!
stlblufan is offline  
post #210 of 1635 Old 03-06-2006, 11:44 AM
Member
 
jallerding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stlblufan View Post

Good lord! From where did you order? Prior to cancelling the order I placed in November, my distributor told me that it would be shipped to me no sooner than March 17!!

We are a Vantage dealer so it came direct from Calibre UK.
jallerding is offline  
Reply Video Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off