Composite to component adapter - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 07-07-2006, 07:40 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
zanspgn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a way to connect a composite output on a VCR to a component input on a switch I have? I don't want to spend a lot of money and I can't find an adapter on the internet.
zanspgn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 07-07-2006, 07:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Allan Jayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Nashua, NH USA
Posts: 1,721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't know of any NTSC composite to 480i component adapters but I do know of several NTSC composite to 480p component adapters. One of the latter that is not too expensive secondhand and that is pretty good is called a DVDO iScan Plus.

Remember when lines and logos burned the TV screen? I was at a concert where a musical selection made extremely heavy use of about four of the keys of the piano.
Allan Jayne is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 07-07-2006, 08:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
Hunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Houston, TX USA
Posts: 583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
You have two choices for best performance. I have used both and they are the only units that do no degrade the image. Unfortunately, neither is a current product -

Monster Entec made a Composite to S-Video converter. It was around $900.00 new, very few were sold, and it is virtually impossible to find.

Kramer made a unit that also converts either Composite or S-Video to Component. Street price was around $270.00.

Other units did not perform as well and/or used A/D and D/A conversion with artifacts.

Due to space considerations I no longer use the Kramer. If you'd be interested in it shoot me an email - it's still in mint condition and I'd be interested in making space in the closet ...

hlm3@att.net

Regards,

- Hunter
Hunter is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 07-08-2006, 04:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Carled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2,965
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
An old DVHS deck with component output off ebay is an option. A JVC DR30000 for example.
Carled is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 07-08-2006, 08:49 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
zanspgn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What about a way to convert s-video to component? I forgot I have an s-video output on the VHS deck.

BTW, I discovered that if you connect a composite cable to the green component input you get a B/W picture. If you split the composite signal and plug into red and green component you get a red picture, plug into green and blue you get a blue picture, plug into all three you get a purple picture.
zanspgn is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 07-08-2006, 09:44 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
zanspgn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I found an s-video to component adapter at infocus.com for $25. Svideo.com sells a composite to s-video adapter for $4. Prices shown include shipping. Hopefully this will work. Thanks for your thoughts.

Rick Martin
zanspgn is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 07-08-2006, 02:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Carled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2,965
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by zanspgn
BTW, I discovered that if you connect a composite cable to the green component input you get a B/W picture. If you split the composite signal and plug into red and green component you get a red picture, plug into green and blue you get a blue picture, plug into all three you get a purple picture.
That's why component is called YPbPr. Y = black and white, Pb = blue, Pr = red.
Carled is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 07-10-2006, 10:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Erik Garci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Durham, NC, USA
Posts: 4,770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Erik Garci is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 07-12-2006, 02:51 PM
Newbie
 
stratman79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
check out a website called svideo and put composite to component adapter in the search on that site. there may be some items you can use.
stratman79 is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 07-13-2006, 08:52 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
zanspgn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I found out there are 2 types of svideo connectors - 4 pin and 7 pin. The infocus adapter uses a 7 pin svideo connector which works with an infocus projector. So I guess the only way to get composite to component is to use a convertor/processor. I will research this some more, but I may just not worry about it. I was just trying to eliminate a switch, but it looks like I'd be replacing a switch with a convertor.
zanspgn is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 07-21-2006, 10:35 AM
Newbie
 
mrsaraiva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zanspgn
What about a way to convert s-video to component? I forgot I have an s-video output on the VHS deck.

BTW, I discovered that if you connect a composite cable to the green component input you get a B/W picture. If you split the composite signal and plug into red and green component you get a red picture, plug into green and blue you get a blue picture, plug into all three you get a purple picture.
Seeing this is the avs forum, ppl will call me heretic and throw rocks at me, still...
Before i had a video card that could output to component(and a tv that could accept the input, for that matters), i used to rip apart the s-video and wire it to a composite cable. Worked like a charm, of course pic quality wasn't great, but...

Back on topic, since you can go from s-video to scart, i think you can mod S-Video to YPbPr

Some expert correct me if i'm wrong
mrsaraiva is offline  
Closed Thread Video Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off