Key Digital ISync Pro - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 179 Old 11-11-2006, 09:15 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
vinodk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Camarillo, California
Posts: 2,216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Has anybody used this video processor? If so how is the performance compared to VP50? There is a great clearance sale going on at Digital Connection on this processor. It got a good review in July 2006 issue of HT mag.

Vinod
vinodk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 179 Old 11-11-2006, 01:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jim Boden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinodk View Post

Has anybody used this video processor? If so how is the performance compared to VP50? There is a great clearance sale going on at Digital Connection on this processor. It got a good review in July 2006 issue of HT mag.

Very interesting. Looks like a new product I could be interested in. Any idea of its MSRP?

Hope someone responds with the lowdown.
Jim Boden is offline  
post #3 of 179 Old 11-12-2006, 01:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kei Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Huntington Beach, CA, US
Posts: 4,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Boden View Post

Very interesting. Looks like a new product I could be interested in. Any idea of its MSRP?

Hope someone responds with the lowdown.

Hi Jim,

The iSync Pro is the silver version of the iSync HD, which is being discontinued as KD tightens up their SKUs. There is about 40 units left on the current sale. The MSRP is $1500, the sale price almost half that and returning customers get even more. You can PM me about the AVS Member price.
Kei Clark is offline  
post #4 of 179 Old 11-13-2006, 12:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kei Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Huntington Beach, CA, US
Posts: 4,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Here's the link to the official AVS Member power buy.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=749983
Kei Clark is offline  
post #5 of 179 Old 11-13-2006, 02:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
jkscherk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 501
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I too would be interested in anyone's experiences. Quality of scaling compared to DVDO, Lumagen?

Quality of deinterlacing comapred to Faroudja, Sil504, Realta, etc?

It looks like it only does predefined output resolutions: 480i/p, 720p, 1080i/p. Kind of limiting in that regard.

I looked at the manual.....also somewhat unclear to me if it supports RGBHV output at higher resolutions.
jkscherk is offline  
post #6 of 179 Old 11-13-2006, 03:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kei Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Huntington Beach, CA, US
Posts: 4,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkscherk View Post

I too would be interested in anyone's experiences. Quality of scaling compared to DVDO, Lumagen?

Quality of deinterlacing comapred to Faroudja, Sil504, Realta, etc?

It looks like it only does predefined output resolutions: 480i/p, 720p, 1080i/p. Kind of limiting in that regard.

I looked at the manual.....also somewhat unclear to me if it supports RGBHV output at higher resolutions.

Unfortunately, I can't really give you a comparison of the scaling quality as I am currently using a small 37" display set at 1080P, but lets just say it is similar to previous DVDO.

There are more output resolutions which you can find on the power buy page that covers capabilities of most digital displays.

There are no RGBHV output options, only HDMI/Component/C and S Video.
Kei Clark is offline  
post #7 of 179 Old 11-13-2006, 03:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
vinodk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Camarillo, California
Posts: 2,216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I tried their somewhat similar unit few months ago, the KD HDMI 4x1 switcher/scaler. The scaling & deinterlacing was quite good. It may not be as full featured as DVDO, Lumagen or other scalers out there but may meet needs of some people or for use in a secondary system. Certainly the info available on this unit even at KD's website is inconsistent.

Vinod
vinodk is offline  
post #8 of 179 Old 11-13-2006, 05:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
jkscherk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 501
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
no rgbhv leaves us crt fp guys out. too bad as it looks like a decent piece for the $$.
jkscherk is offline  
post #9 of 179 Old 11-13-2006, 05:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eric.exe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 2,340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Wow, that's a hell of a deal.

Question on it though: Can it do HD inverse telecine?
eric.exe is offline  
post #10 of 179 Old 11-14-2006, 06:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jim Boden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kei Clark View Post

Unfortunately, I can't really give you a comparison of the scaling quality as I am currently using a small 37" display set at 1080P, but lets just say it is similar to previous DVDO.

There are more output resolutions which you can find on the power buy page that covers capabilities of most digital displays.

There are no RGBHV output options, only HDMI/Component/C and S Video.

This is a bit confusing. Below is a quote under video output from the user manual:

HDMI or Component (YPbPr) or RGB with separate (composite H/V Sync)

It implies, perhaps incorrectly, that it supports RGB output. Also, it does not have S-Video output.
Jim Boden is offline  
post #11 of 179 Old 11-14-2006, 06:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
jkscherk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 501
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Boden View Post

This is a bit confusing. Below is a quote under video output from the user manual:

HDMI or Component (YPbPr) or RGB with separate (composite H/V Sync)

It implies, perhaps incorrectly, that it supports RGB output.


That's what I thought so I asked the question for clarification. I'm going to read the maual in some more detail.
jkscherk is offline  
post #12 of 179 Old 11-14-2006, 07:33 AM
Member
 
int3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also, what are the differences between isync HD and HDLeeza? From the reference spec, it seems that HDLeeza supports more input/output resolutions and SDI. Any other differences especially with regards to VP performance.
int3 is offline  
post #13 of 179 Old 11-14-2006, 09:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kei Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Huntington Beach, CA, US
Posts: 4,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Boden View Post

This is a bit confusing. Below is a quote under video output from the user manual:

HDMI or Component (YPbPr) or RGB with separate (composite H/V Sync)

It implies, perhaps incorrectly, that it supports RGB output. Also, it does not have S-Video output.

My bad on the S-Video out, I was looking at the tiny text on their manual that came with the unit.

As for the RGBHV out, it does not state that is part of the output signal types, however in the control section, there is a menu entry that allows you to choose Y-Cb-Cr (I believe that should be Y-Pb-Pr) or RGBHV, which sounds like it will transcode the signal. I will go get a breakout cable and try it on my monitor and report back.
Kei Clark is offline  
post #14 of 179 Old 11-14-2006, 09:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kei Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Huntington Beach, CA, US
Posts: 4,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkscherk View Post

That's what I thought so I asked the question for clarification. I'm going to read the maual in some more detail.

I just checked with KD and it does indeed output RGBHV. Sorry for the incorrect info.
Kei Clark is offline  
post #15 of 179 Old 11-14-2006, 08:49 PM
Newbie
 
vince238's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Kei,

Can you confirm whether your Isync HD/Pro's HDMI and Components inputs can accept 480i and 576i resolution formats?

The owner manual on Key Digital's website mentioned these formats are supported where as the (same model) user manual on Digital Connection's website did not.

Your help is much appreciated. Thank you.
vince238 is offline  
post #16 of 179 Old 11-14-2006, 09:30 PM
Member
 
int3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are you sure about this? Earlier I downloaded the isync manual from the KD website and
the owner manual on Key digital website also mentions that the only resolutions supported through the HD inputs(HDMI and Component) are 480p, 576p, 720p and 1080i.
int3 is offline  
post #17 of 179 Old 11-14-2006, 11:53 PM
Newbie
 
vince238's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
int3,

Please refer to page 8/31 in the iSync HD /Pro User manual under Input & Output Features. Within the Resolution Supported column for both the HDMI and Components video inputs you should able to find the following:

1920 x 1080i at 60/50 Hz
1280 x 720p at 60/50 Hz
720 x 480p & 480i at 60Hz
720 x 576p & 576i at 50 Hz

Do let me know of your thoughts.
vince238 is offline  
post #18 of 179 Old 11-14-2006, 11:58 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
vinodk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Camarillo, California
Posts: 2,216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I received my ISync Pro today. So far I am satisfied. Component input does accept 480i & I was quite surprised that there was no lipsync delay with analog 480i converted to digital 1080p to Samsung DLP tv. I have not tested 480i input for HDMI. For the price its a bargain for what it does. I am going to hook Flea HDMI to it once I recieve it.

Vinod
vinodk is offline  
post #19 of 179 Old 11-15-2006, 01:14 AM
Member
 
lundmatt1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This seems like a great scaler for a first-time buyer like me. I'm looking to put together a nice setup for my master bedroom and thought I'd go with a 42" plasma which would have a 1024 x 768 resolution.

It looks like this scaler doesn't support that resolution, though. Does anyone know if support for this output resolution is planned for a future firmware upgrade?
lundmatt1 is offline  
post #20 of 179 Old 11-15-2006, 06:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jim Boden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinodk View Post

I received my ISync Pro today. So far I am satisfied. Component input does accept 480i & I was quite surprised that there was no lipsync delay with analog 480i converted to digital 1080p to Samsung DLP tv. I have not tested 480i input for HDMI. For the price its a bargain for what it does. I am going to hook Flea HDMI to it once I recieve it.

Let us know how the Flea works with the iSync. I'm looking at the possibility of getting a Flea as well.

How does the iSync perform with HD? Do you see any improvement after installing it? I would like to know how it handles HD. I suspect it's probably bob and weave, meaning it takes half of a 1080 signal (540) and throws the rest away. I currently have a Faroudja DVP-1000 and that's how it operates.
Jim Boden is offline  
post #21 of 179 Old 11-15-2006, 06:58 AM
Member
 
int3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vince238 View Post

int3,
Please refer to page 8/31 in the iSync HD /Pro User manual under Input & Output Features. Within the Resolution Supported column for both the HDMI and Components video inputs you should able to find the following:
1920 x 1080i at 60/50 Hz
1280 x 720p at 60/50 Hz
720 x 480p & 480i at 60Hz
720 x 576p & 576i at 50 Hz
Do let me know of your thoughts.

I downloaded the manual from KD website last friday, and it did not have 480i in the suported resolutions for HDMI and Component. After I saw your email, I went back and downloaded the manual and 480i now appears in the supported resolutions. Very interesting!
There was another post from vinodk today that the Isync Pro that he received, does not support 480i on component. This makes me wonder if KD is going to release new firmware that allows iSync to support these resolutions.
int3 is offline  
post #22 of 179 Old 11-15-2006, 07:30 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
vinodk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Camarillo, California
Posts: 2,216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 18
ISync Pro does properly deinterlace 1080i to 1080p according to the review in July' 06 issue of HTmag. It takes all input resolutions to 1080p & then outputs the chosen resolution. Atleast in my setup HD programming looks more 3D with more detail. It does excellent job of deinterlacing film. Video deinterlacing for HD is also very good but not the best. I think that video deinterlacing is a tad better on VP50 but not by much. All in all, so far it seems like a keeper.

Vinod
vinodk is offline  
post #23 of 179 Old 11-15-2006, 09:06 AM
Senior Member
 
Randomcreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinodk View Post

ISync Pro does properly deinterlace 1080i to 1080p according to the review in July' 06 issue of HTmag. It takes all input resolutions to 1080p & then outputs the chosen resolution. Atleast in my setup HD programming looks more 3D with more detail. It does excellent job of deinterlacing film. Video deinterlacing for HD is also very good but not the best. I think that video deinterlacing is a tad better on VP50 but not by much. All in all, so far it seems like a keeper.

As far as video deinterlacing, the spec sheet indicates "motion assisted deinterlacing". Is this the same as motion adaptive deinterlacing and does the iSCAN do this on a pixel by pixel basis or regionally? Can you tell me if the PQ with 1080i feed of fast motion sports and with horizontal pans is much improved using this video processor when deinterlacing 1080i HD signal to 1080P? Can you point to a technical review of the picture quality benefits? Is there any noise reduction feature? The Home Theater Magazine review was lame IMO and didn't provideenough information to make an informed choice.
Randomcreek is offline  
post #24 of 179 Old 11-15-2006, 10:17 AM
Member
 
stixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
if the iSync had motion adaptive, I would jump on it in a second.
stixx is offline  
post #25 of 179 Old 11-15-2006, 11:01 AM
Member
 
stixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If any of you guys have looked at the spec sheet on the KD website, youll note that it doesn't give a consumer much relevant info. All I see are a bunch of KD proprietary terminologies. Hard to make a comparison between their product and those of DVDO, Lumagen, etc.

So I called KD directly, and was told that they are not allowed to share any information that is not on the website. When I explained that the data on the website is truly a bunch of KD terms that really dont offer value to a consumer, he agreed but would not release any additional info.

My only question, as stated above, is if the iSync using the old "bob and weave" or a more advanced "motion adaptive" deinterlacing technique.

The company is a bit too withholding for my tastes.
stixx is offline  
post #26 of 179 Old 11-15-2006, 11:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kei Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Huntington Beach, CA, US
Posts: 4,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
stixx,

Sorry, I can give you any more information, and my contact is out of reach. I'm a little short on time because we're holding a demo/party with AVS for EHExpo with both iSync Pro and Crystalio II. I'll post my impressions after the show.
Kei Clark is offline  
post #27 of 179 Old 11-15-2006, 05:29 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
vinodk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Camarillo, California
Posts: 2,216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I agree that the review in HT mag is a bit abbreviated & info on KD website is very inconsistent. I am not a technical person therefore I cannot provide all the technical info. My impression is only subjective. All I can say is that HD looks better with ISync Pro doing the 1080i to 1080p conversion than Samsung doing it. Unfortunately there are not many reviews out there for this product.

Vinod
vinodk is offline  
post #28 of 179 Old 11-15-2006, 07:00 PM
Newbie
 
vince238's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


There was another post from vinodk today that the Isync Pro that he received, does not support 480i on component.

On the contrary, his statement did confirmed : "Component input does accept 480i & I was quite surprised that there was no lipsync delay".
vince238 is offline  
post #29 of 179 Old 11-15-2006, 08:02 PM
Member
 
int3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vince238 View Post

On the contrary, his statement did confirmed : "Component input does accept 480i & I was quite surprised that there was no lipsync delay".

Sorry Vince, you are correct.
I am getting dyslectic
int3 is offline  
post #30 of 179 Old 11-15-2006, 11:13 PM
Member
 
jeffwp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: melbourne australia
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there anybody here who runs their iscan pro or iscanhd at 1080p or1050p to a crt projector [via moome card] and can comment on it?
jeffwp is offline  
Reply Video Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off